$98 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Jun 3, 2015 Check-out: Jun 4, 2015

The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

4 stars
View map of 1736 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Overall score

3.3 / 5
5.01.0
694 out of 694
Amenities:
3.3
Cleanliness:
3.5
Hotel staff:
3.6
Comfort:
3.3
Location:
4.3
Value:
3.4

68% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
MMIS Analyst
Business
Phoenix, Arizona
Dec 6, 2012

By Far the Best on South Beach

The Catalina Hotel is well worth it, make sure you eat at Maxine's.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Traveler 1648
Business
Netherlands
Dec 14, 2013

Very Stylist, good to explore Miami Beach

We had a great time! Very clean and nice room. Cool rooftop pool.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
GW roadbeast
Business
MS
Dec 3, 2013

Fun trip with my bestie!!!

Well, this hotel gave me some mixed feelings!!! 1st off- I LOOOVED THE LOCATION!!!!! 2nd the morning staff front desk ( that happens to be all girls ) were sooooo VEEERRY friendly and helpful. 3rd ...the bar staff in the Maxine was extremely nice and friendly at allll times. The hotel was very much so alive and festive!!! The majority of the staff was soooo niiice and helpful!!! NOW, comes the bad. The rooms can use a little updating! The shower, well it showers the ENTIRE BATHROOM. There's a modern glass half wall closing off your shower. So when you shower, water is going EVERY WHERE... And I do mean EVERY WHERE!!!! The hotels and hallways were clean-- so much so that you could smell it. The smell of bleach covered the entire room hallways and rooms. My key NEVER WORKED!!! I had to go back to the front desk after every exit to get a new room key! The AM FRONT DESK STAFF was very polite, the afternoon and evening front desk staff was very ( get the out my face ). I tried not to put up a scene, but I was getting very aggrevated about the key situation. The girl in the am staff- offered and stated at first that she would "I will waive your resort FEE for having so much trouble" after the 30th time I went for a new key. Which I was ok with.. BTW- there's an additional taxable resort FEE of 15.00 a day( you won't hear bout till after you book your room ). When I checked out, I told her still - the keys NEVER WORKED. Then she so kindly and politely adds and s to the resort FEE. So now it turns into resort FEES, and she offers to waive another of my resort FEES. ... Soo blaaaaa. It was a somewhat ok visit, I will return to SOBE, and I will taking the extra money into consideration and just booking a diff hotel!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: In Hotel

Ok-- so one good deal!! 7-8.. Happy hour free drinks for one hour. I'm good with that!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
New York Smile
Business
New York, NY
Dec 3, 2013

Great boutique hotel for value and location

A very comfortable hotel with awesome dining as well as atmosphere. You can't beat the location and the price. The bell staff is great too. I've stayed here several times for short stay. Highly recommend.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

They have a happy hour that you can't beat from 7-8pm (trust me) !!!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Caribe Princess
Business
Naples FL
Nov 30, 2013

Great place!!.. Live It!!

Over all a pleasant stay.. However didn't care for the wake up call via the ice machines at 6:00am in the morning outside my window.. Those machines need to be placed elsewhere. Enjoyed everything else!! We will be back! Caribe Princess.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Location to ocean drive and the Sourh Beach Experience.. Priceless!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Katie Samson
Business
West palm, fl
Nov 28, 2013

Awesome place, but watch for the fees

It was an enjoyable stay. Different from any other hotel I've stayed in with its three buildings. But watch for the fees. $30 resort fee. $35 parking. $15 late parking. Lots of extra fees that add up.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
jj a father
Business
nc
Nov 27, 2013

not suitable for family stay

it's too noisy and too wet in the room,free wifi is unreliable for many rooms

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mcastrn
Business
Los Angeles California
Nov 24, 2013

Vacation

Great valet service, bell mans are nice and great location to beach and Lincoln road. Nice resturants in hotel and offered free drinks during happy hour. I would come back!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Lincoln road is 2 blocks awah

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Judarell
Business
Weston, FL
Nov 23, 2013

Catalina just right!

Great service by all staff members. Beautiful decor inside hotel in all 3 buildings. Very nice yet small rooms but very clean, modern, and comfortable. Really cute rooftop pool and bar, amazing sunset! We were 3 long time friends in our late 30's looking for walking distance to the beach, Lincoln Rd., and other top hotels. We were central to ALL of these. The rooms were pricey, almost 300/night. But divided by 3 it was great and I would stay here again for sure.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Regent Cocktail Club a couple of blocks away is a treasure. Great live music, speak-easy bar, comfortable seating and good service.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
kayjay305
Business
Miami, Florida
Nov 13, 2013

Great Experience

I've stayed at this hotel a few times and have had an exceptional stay every time. The staff is great and friendly. Rooms always nice and clean. Provides all the amentities I like for a hotel to provide (towels, iron, iron board, etc). The hotel also provided coupons to the restaurants and bars it connects to. Free drinks for an hour too!!! Rooftop was a nice place to relax and get away.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Jet Set NYer
Business
New York, NY
Nov 4, 2013

Nothing special

The Catalina was typical of boutique South Beach hotels. Lobby was attractive and clean, decorated for Halloween. The room was tiny and not very fresh. My friend wiped down the bathroom with clorox wipes. The beds didn't seem very fresh. We requested more sheets and were directed to the linen closet down the hall... The tv had to have been at least 10 years old and was in a cut out close to the ceiling. The room itself was very small. Just enough room for two queen beds with basically no walking space... Also like every other SoBe hotel they offer valet car service ($35 I think). The cars are parked in a lot a few blocks away. I requested the car for 7am on the morning of my departure. The valet had trouble finding it and the car did not arrive until 7:30 or so. It served it's purpose as it was a very short stay, but I probably would not come back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top