$118 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Apr 27, 2015 Check-out: Apr 28, 2015

The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

4 stars
View map of 1736 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Overall score

3.3 / 5
5.01.0
627 out of 627
Amenities:
3.3
Cleanliness:
3.5
Hotel staff:
3.6
Comfort:
3.3
Location:
4.3
Value:
3.4

68% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
ann super girl
Business
NY
Sep 15, 2013

Customer service needs improvement

First let me say that I enjoy my stay in Miami Beach very much and part of it is for sure Catalina Hotel. The rooms were clean and comfortable, though I have to change my room since the first room they gave me lacked a bath tub and the hair dryer was not working. The front desk person was very helpful in giving me a second room which was fantastic. So far five stars for them. The second day it was rainy and I decided to spend some hours in the rooftop pool until I meet my friends later. So there were 2 bartenders there very busy talking to each other and pretended they didnt notice me standing there for like 5 min or more. I was the only one there. I excused myself for interrupting their conversation and I asked them what drinks they have (I am not a frequent drinker) and the girl bartender give me an obvious attitude, she told me that they have "everything that I can see" and showed me the shelf behind her. I dont like when people give me attitude. I politely thanked them and went downstairs to Maxime bar where their amazing bartender fixed me a nice drink. The last day I arranged with catalina hotel people to have the shuttle pick me up to Miami airport. They register my name to the system and I had piece of mind. Well not so fast. When I checked out the next day and I was waiting for the shuttle the front desk told me that the shuttle should be expected in a 15 min period. He didnt wanted to check if shuttle is coming because according to him its not 15 min yet????????? Go figure!!!!!!!!! People, please I have a flight to attend!!!!!!!!! Well after 10 min I was getting nervous so I asked again firmly if the shuttle is coming or no. The front desk person told me at that time that they are going to reimburse me the fee for a taxi and I should take a taxi. So much for a ride to airport. I almost lost my flight. I took the taxi, I have yet to see if my money will go back to my account....... Its a nice hotel to stay the beach is amazing but some of their staff need classes on communication and effectiveness and service. Thats all.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Bruno Alveniz
Business
Atlanta, Georgia
Sep 14, 2013

Great

The price was just great nice size room very good short walk to everything

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Step

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Michelle b1
Business
Atlanta ,GA
Sep 4, 2013

Great stay

The hotel was walking distance from the beach as well as Lincoln street and many clubs. The atmosphere was very young and fun.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Kimcesar
Business
Brooklyn, NY, USA
Sep 2, 2013

Great Stay

I was there for a birthday getaway. The best thing is to go to the bar during happy hour 7pm-8pm although they only have vodka, gin, and rum on the list. The room I stay in it was clean but I found some tissues on the floor and some paper in the safe deposit box. I stay on the first floor room 126 and early in the morning there are people outside making noise in the hallway and the exit door was there been hearing it all day. But the good thing is it's only one block to the beach and the staff gives you free beach towels. Their pools are nice but when it rains and the seats seats got wet. I'm willing to stay there again but not on the first floor.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Great location to the beach

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
JOJO LALWANI
Business
PARIS
Sep 1, 2013

the best in town

I often come to Miami. It was 2nd chance to stay in catalina. I stayed in few 5star hotel's in Miami before , but if you are here just for fun and wanna enjoy 24hrs a day . Please go to this hotel . I can say the best in south beach. 7 to 9 pm free drinks , amazing n sexy crowd, freindly staff, nice rooms, good pool, delicious restaurants. But if u think u wanna hotel just for sleep , please don't go to this hotel , I should say please don't go to south beach. , suggestions : not for the family

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: In Hotel

You live only once . Try this hotel

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Dunkin Man
Business
North Wales, PA
Aug 30, 2013

A good family escape.

The room was a little small,as was the bed. But, for oNe nighT,it sufficed. We originally had a two bed room which they upgraded for $20; and, tHe upgrade gave us a single king bed which we were not pleased with.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Food was very good as was our waitress.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
marmar418
Business
Detroit, MI
Aug 26, 2013

it was ok

The hotel was not that great but it is tolerable. Nothing too crazy that you "can't live with" for a few days. Location was great and staff were super nice and friendly. The rooms are a little small and doesn't leave too much room for moving around and for luggage.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Swattie
Business
Baltimore, MD
Aug 26, 2013

Meh...

Upon arrival, my friend and I were placed into a King room which nice, and and smelled beautifully. The problem is, I put in for 2 beds. The front desk blamed alck ofcommunication between the hotel and Orbiz. Either way, he kindly switch us into a room with double beds. This room (in Maxines) was dark and dank. It had a strong aroma of gunjaweed and the bathroom sink had that stinky rotting sink smell. I suppose it was ok for the few nights we were there, as my friend was not very fussy. I normally stay in a condo at the Shelborne which was under construction at the time, so I was hugely disappointed. The first room in the Dorsey was fine, but the room we stayed in made me not want to stay there again. The staff was all quite nice, but there ar better places to stay in southbeach.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Queen Q
Business
Brooklyn, NY
Aug 21, 2013

CATALINA you could have done better to make your guest feel comfortable

My stay at the Catalina hotel was okay. For it to be rated as a "4 star hotel" I was under the impression that I was going to get good experience. When my friend and I arrive the front desk clerk a female was not pleasant. She spoke and understood English but would speak Spanish in some of her sentences. She was not helpful or patient in the questions I had. When we went to our rooms the bathroom had a slight smell of a septic tank. The rooms were small. And the pictures on the site of the rooms are not the same. We were under the impression we were getting a standard room which is the red and white room but instead we were placed an all white room with tarnished furniture on the first floor adjacent to a public men's bathroom. When we informed the front desk they stated there was nothing that can be done. The concierge were good and friendly. But the front desk were not pleasant.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
JPTraveler
Business
West Virginia, USA
Aug 15, 2013

Good Hotel

Good location, clean rooms, friendly staff. No coffee service in the room and it was a bit awkward having the toilet separate from the sink and shower - as in opposite sides of the room. Good place to stay overall and certainly much better than a run-of-the-mill chain hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There are many more budget-friendly options for dining outside the hotel.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top