$98 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Mar 31, 2015 Check-out: Apr 1, 2015

The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

4 stars
View map of 1736 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Overall score

3.3 / 5
5.01.0
612 out of 612
Amenities:
3.3
Cleanliness:
3.5
Hotel staff:
3.6
Comfort:
3.3
Location:
4.3
Value:
3.4

68% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
C Gold
Business
Philly
Jul 31, 2013

Never again !!! Mold and more mold

I honestly never wrote a review in my life. I went to Miami this past week and stayed at the Catalina for 4 days. My girlfriends and I decided this experience was so bad we had to review this hotel ! The original room we were in was In the same building as Maxine's restaurant. Old dirty dark and extremely smelly. You come out the elevator and there is a terrible mold smell disguised in bleach. Our room upon first glance for 2 of us ( we got 2 rooms on the third floor) was ok. Then we put out clothes away in the closet and looked up and saw so much mold we were gagging. We called the front desk instead of manager coming a cleaning lady was sent with more bleach. ?? I told her no more bleach this is dangerous and needs to be shut down and removed. She looked up and her mouth opened. She started sending pics to her boss and ran out room. We got a call that they were sorry but couldn't move us out that room till the next day. No offer to comp the night no offer to move to one of the other buildings they have. Disgusted !!!!!! Then rain starts and our windows literally starting leaking like it was raining in our room right over an outlet. We call again and manager says "ill send towels". Which never came!!!!!!!! They moves us 24 hours later to the Dorset which was brighter and cleaner but still issues. Clogged sink! No security in the Dorset nor front desk. Anyone can walk in and sit in dark lobby and wait for a young girl at night to come in. Not safe. Horrible experience. Ill spend more and enjoy a cleaner safer hotel anyday.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
LuAnn who travels
Business
Illinois
Jul 25, 2013

Good stay

This is a quirky fun place to stay that gives you a lot for the buck. One block from the beach and even I in a wheelchair found it easy to get to. Close to Lincoln Ave and many other places to eat. We were a party of 11 ages from 15 months to 78 years old. It has something for everyone. Was kid friendly. A beach fee is charge each day but gives you a chair and towels at the beach and unlimited towels at the great pool too. Pool is nice when the beach gets too hot in afternoon. They also provide a shuttle to the airport which most do not. I am an amputee and found it to be very accommodating and staff was very helpful too. Food in Maxines was fresh and priced right . One of the best things is the happy hour from 7-8 with free drinks with rum, vodka, gin, and whiskey. I would go back in a heartbeat.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Lots of fast food for kids (McDonald's and others) or pizza, subs and others. Lots of classy and more expensive if you want that too.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
pam2013
Business
minneapolis mn
Jul 12, 2013

The Worst

The hotel advertise balcony/patio, it was only big enough to put your feet on. it was like a ledge with bars to hold on to. The lobby smelled like sewerd and the hotel staff/room service barely speak english. I didnt like my experience at all not for the price they are charging. The only good thing was that it is walking distance to the beach

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Love Miami 44
Business
Detroit, Michigan
Jul 10, 2013

This Hotel consist of three totally different locations. One with BUGS. One with out.

The first location where the rooms are cheaper and had roaches. I woke up in the middle of the night to a family of them. Disgusted... I contacted to front desk and they upgraded us with no problem. They tried to put us in the same hotel but I wasn't having it. The Catalina hotel consist of three separate hotels that's the three prices listed. We were upgraded to the Living Large at the Dorset hotel. It was very specious, clean, and bug free. I would stay their again along as they stay bug free.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Souvenir shopping close

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
NYCJulie
Business
New York, NY, USA
Jul 9, 2013

great location, inexpensive

I don't know that I would stay here again. It is in a great location and it was a great price but it needs some work. Our room seemed like a cruise ship cabin and it didn't feel clean. The common spaces didnt feel clean either. The roof pool was under construction. I do love the restaurant attached to the property for brunch though, I will be back for that!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Bunbun
Business
Dallas, Texas
Jul 6, 2013

Quite good hotel!

The room was pretty small, I cant even walk to my bed straightly. However, I love the bed much!! The bathroom is really small also, it doesnt have a bathtub. The location is fine, however it's a quite distance from Ocean Drive!!! Love their bar and restaurant!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
East Coast Lola
Business
East Coast
Jun 30, 2013

Stay somewhere else

If you like bugs crawling all over your things, small confined spaces, bad tasting food, and a rude staff then this is the place for you. After traveling for more than five hours, all I wanted to do was check in and relax. Two hours later, I finally got a clean room (sort of) after the manager begrudgingly spoke to me. If I wanted this kind of stress I could have stayed home. If it weren't for the playoffs and all the hotels were not booked up, I would have checked out on the spot. One morning when I returned to my room after spending time on the beach, my room key did not work. I called down to the front desk and asked if someone could let me into the room and the response I got was "I'm busy." Truly unprofessional and certainly not a way to treat a paying customer. Then, what's up with the shower? Why not have a full door so the water does not get EVERYWHERE? *Catalina's only saving grace is Carlos. He always had a smile and was always willing to assist guests. There are plenty of hotels in South Beach, don't waste your time and energy here.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
traveler1119
Business
White Plains NY
Jun 28, 2013

it's miami

the hotel was okay...i prefer staying at marriotts but nothing was available at marriott properties. I guess it'll do for miami - party party party and good place to just sleep it off

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Steve Patti
Business
NY, NY
Jun 27, 2013

Pass this one by

Old, dark, dingy and smelly. If not the damp moldy smell its the heaver oder of Pine Sol. Food at Maxine's was horrible (both lunch and breakfast) However the Sushi restaurant was very good. Pools were cloudy with stuff float like feathers and debris. Wasn't too happy with this one. By the way, they have a nice courtesy shuttle, however when I asked them to take me to the beach (which is written on the side of the shuttle) because I'm 60 and my sciatica was acting up, they told me to walk.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Kung Fu Sushi

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Visions
Business
Miami
Jun 25, 2013

Night in Catalina hotel

Hotel is good location , good attention ,no is good for children ,

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top