$98 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Jun 8, 2015 Check-out: Jun 9, 2015

The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

4 stars
View map of 1736 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Overall score

3.3 / 5
5.01.0
696 out of 696
Amenities:
3.3
Cleanliness:
3.5
Hotel staff:
3.6
Comfort:
3.3
Location:
4.3
Value:
3.4

68% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
MMIS Analyst
Business
Phoenix, Arizona
Dec 6, 2012

By Far the Best on South Beach

The Catalina Hotel is well worth it, make sure you eat at Maxine's.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
klc1977
Business
Des Moines, Ia
Feb 23, 2014

great location but otherwise not impressed

First off the location to the beach and some shopping and dining is great! The hotel itself is just ehh. From reading other reviews I wasn't expecting much and didn't get much. The check-in process was slow but the front desk people were very friendly and helpful. The rooms are super small. We had a king size bed(which was comfy) and it took up most of the room. No dresser and the bathroom was tiny. The hotel is past due an update. To us it wasn't worth the price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Lincoln ped mall is close for dining and shopping

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mister H
Business
Hamptons, NY
Feb 22, 2014

Great Stay

Hotel is in the perfect location. Rooftop pool is perfect to lay out. Overall, an amazing trip. I will be back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Bskis
Business
South Lake Tahoe, CA
Feb 15, 2014

Dissapointed

This hotel reminded us of the old western hotels where there was a grand façade to make the property look larger and more impressive. Considerable attention to detail has been made on the exterior bar/restaurant areas of these three connected properties. However, our room was very small, the bed worn out, air conditioning barely functioning and bathroom the size of a postage stamp. Upon our arrival the safe didn't work and it took two requests to have it fixed. The toilet wouldn't flush as the valve constantly stuck and needed to be replaced - no response to our requests for repair, Hence for three days we had to take the top off the tank and do manually. The bathroom door had improvised hinge pins which resulted in our not being able to leave it open. Renovations were just done cheaply and did not measure up to the price charged or expectations.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Grillfish - great dinner and service.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
js austin
Business
austin
Feb 14, 2014

pretty good

I loved the great location, and super nice desk staff, door men- really good manners.The beach staff rude, and the GM not helpful when escalated an issue with my room. Couldn't sleep, loud people, super loud AC. The rooftop pool was a nice bonus. Really nice to have good restaurant with live music right there.Concierge very helpful. Nice guy. Some waiters super nice, others not so helpful. Couldn't find the shuttle from MIA, so had to pay for one. Bed super uncomfortable, old. Great place for 150 a night but would be really upset if I paid the 300 they were asking. Didn't know there was a free town shuttle until last day- that would have been handy.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

taxis are rude, crazy driving, won't get out of car or help with bags, and won't take you around town refuses.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Christy 30th trip
Business
Dallas, Texas
Feb 12, 2014

Great girls trip

It was an ok hotel. .. It was very close to the beach. ..

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

The restaurants close to the ocean were really nice and offered lots of variety. ..

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Destination wedding coupl
Business
New Jersey
Feb 10, 2014

South beach in Februrary

Pros: close walk to the beach, fun atmosphere, the employees try to help, Maxine's restaurant is 24 hours, location is near shops, walgreens, etc.. Cons: they charged for an upgrade for early check-in, there was only 1 employee at the front desk, the rooms are outdated, it can be loud (thin walls) but this wasn't a problem on our trip, no view of the ocean

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
ChrissyRom
Business
New Jersey
Feb 10, 2014

First Boutique in Miami

The last few times I stayed in Miami was at Loews and Fontainbleu. This was my first boutique hotel experience. Very cute decor and cozy for my short stay. I attended a wedding this time and only stayed in the hotel for sleep and shower. Cons: the hallways were dark and a little musty; the room was small with no view; the rooms very basic with some updates. But I must say the guest services were excellent. Everyone was very polite and accommodating. The location was central to everywhere I wanted to be. Free hotel shuttle was also key. I would recommend this place for people on a budget, wanting to explore the outside of their hotel room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Great Gatsby
Business
NYC
Feb 3, 2014

Great Gatsby

Hip hotel with a great location and value oriented

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Retail King
Business
Oregon
Jan 29, 2014

good time, rooms are beachy

I had a great time in general while in South Beach for business. The Staff were all really Fantastic, for sure. The room was inexpensive and a bit below my normal business travel expectations but it was a block off the beach, and a couple of blocks away from the conference center. Over all at the end of the day, I would go back just make sure I wound up on the other side where the rooms were a bit nicer.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
The absolute Worst
Business
Been there, done that
Jan 28, 2014

Bday weekend!!!

Hotel is Ok, they're upgrading so to speak so it Smells like paint. The hallways are dim and old appearing. Staff was nice, open bar between 7-8p everyday was a little perk. Overall, I wouldn't come back but it's suitable for a quick getaway if your not looking for a lot of upgrades.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Cameo club a good spot

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top