$178 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Mar 8, 2015 Check-out: Mar 11, 2015

The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

4 stars
View map of 1736 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.3
out of 5
604 reviews
Good

Good hotel overall. However, layout is weird, and corridor is funky and stinky. See full review

  • P. T.
  • Feb 10, 2015
Birthday decorations

They did an amazing job !!!! The food was super good the staff is extremely friendly , the room was... See full review

  • Maria P.
  • Feb 9, 2015
Stylish South Beach hotel with free happy hour and bustling nightlife

When in South Beach, lounge, dine and cocktail like the locals. The nightlife sizzles at the Catalina Hotel and Beach Club, thanks to two rooftop pools, three bars and two restaurants, including the people-watching hub Maxine's. The Catalina celebrates its boutique style with bold design elements such as stark white seating and linens and sumptuous red walls and lamps. Poolside beds reflect South Beach's quintessential luxurious approach to everyday living.

Highlights
  • Two rooftop pools, three bars and two restaurants, including South Beach favorite Maxine's
  • Free shuttle from Miami International Airport
  • Free happy hour from 7 p.m. to 8 p.m.
  • VIP passes to South Beach clubs
Rooms

Who says white has to be boring? The hue makes a dramatic statement when paired with red walls or damask-print. Floor-to-ceiling curtains lend softness to the rooms, where Tempur-pedic mattresses, 300-count Belgian sheets and goose down comforters are standard amenities. Space isn't an issue. Each room holds enough square footage to accommodate an in-house masseuse.

Features

 


The hotel hands out VIP passes to the hottest clubs, but the property is a nightlife magnet on its own. Visitors can sample sashimi in Kung-Fu Kitchen & Sushi or mingle with other singles at the rooftop pool. Go ahead: Order a cocktail from the cabana bed.

 

When it's time to catch a flight home, guests can cut their travel time via the free airport shuttle. An in-house system also enables visitors to modify, buy and confirm their flights from the hotel lobby.

Transportation
  • Miami International Airport (12 miles)
  • Fort Lauderdale/Hollywood International Airport (27 miles)
Attractions
  • Lincoln Road
  • Ocean Drive
  • Collins Avenue
  • Art Deco Historic District
  • Downtown Miami
  • Miami Beach Convention Center
Business
  • Wi-Fi and high-speed Internet access available
Policies and fees

Credit card is required upon check-in. No cash deposits are accepted. The hotel will authorize your credit card at check in for up to $100 per night of stay in addition to nightly room rate. Please understand that if you are using a Check Card, this authorization will limit your card use for up to 10 days or until your issuing bank releases the authorization hold.

Resort fee is $15 plus tax per night payable at property and includes airport pick up from Miami International Airport, complimentary happy hour from 7 p.m. to 8 p.m. daily and two beach chairs and beach towels per day.

Must be at least 18 years of age to check in.

Valet parking costs $32 a day.

Please be advised, the airport shuttle's last pickup from Miami International Airport is 6pm on 12/31/11.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5

The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club Rooms

In the Mix - Double
Your coming to South Beach to have a good time but don't want to skimp on comfort. You like to have some extra room and a desk to send a few emails to your colleagues back at work who aren't as lucky as you. More mature in design, these rooms feature 2 double beds, dark wood and ivory furnishings with Tempur-pedic mattresses, 100% cotton linens, and spa bathrobes. 190 square feet - perfect for 4
In the Mix - Queen
Your coming to South Beach to have a good time but don't want to skimp on comfort. You like to have some extra room and a desk to send a few emails to your colleagues back at work who aren't as lucky as you. More mature in design, these rooms feature 1 queen bed, dark wood and ivory furnishings with Tempur-pedic mattresses, 100% cotton linens, and spa bathrobes. 190 square feet - perfect for 2
Living Large
You're coming to South Beach to work but will be sure to make time to play. You're looking for a quiet, spacious, comfortable room where you can work and relax. You expect your room to have a desk, a plasma TV, complimentary wireless and daily newspaper delivery, in addition to our legendary Tempur-pedic mattresses, 100% cotton linens and spa bathrobes. When it's time to relax you are an elevator ride away from our rooftop pool.
On a Budget
You're on a budget and you need a clean room to shower and a comfortable bed to sleep between beach, bar and restaurant hopping. For the young at heart and backpackers in spirit. We wouldn't exactly call this a hostel - as they still come fully loaded with Tempur-pedic mattresses, 100% cotton linens, spa bathrobes and the Catalina signature red & white decor. 125 square feet
2 Queens Better Than One
Your coming to South Beach to have a good time but don't want to skimp on comfort. You like to have some extra room and a desk to send a few emails to your colleagues back at work who aren't as lucky as you. More mature in design, these rooms feature 2 queen beds, dark wood and ivory furnishings with Tempur-pedic mattresses, 100% cotton linens, and spa bathrobes. 190 square feet - perfect for 2

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Airport shuttle
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Pool
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Transportation
Airport shuttle
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Dining

Maxine Restaurant & Bar
The Maxine Restaurant at The Catalina Hotel & Beach Club is open and serves breakfast all day long! The Challah bread French toast is already known to be the best on South Beach. Located in our North building the restaurant, caf, and bar is a great place to people watch while enjoying cocktails and delicious treats.
Kung Fu Sushi
Kung Fu Sushi is an eclectic mix of sushi and Asian food with a real kick. The menu ranges from Seabass to Japanese Red Snapper Rolls, and you'll definitely want to cleanse the palate with signature sake cocktails like the Tokyo Rose or Japanese Jade. The delicious and affordable fare is served amidst dcor that is just as impressive. Partnering with famed artist Lebo to showcase his work, this sexy mod-Asian bistro will offer a complete experience for your senses. As the choice of unique establishments offered becomes increasingly limited in Miami Beach, travelers can continue to rely on the South Beach Group as the source for lifestyle hotels and restaurants that are always original and interesting.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
3:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (604)

Ratings and reviews for The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Overall score

3.3 / 5
5.01.0
604 out of 604
Amenities:
3.3
Cleanliness:
3.5
Hotel staff:
3.6
Comfort:
3.3
Location:
4.3
Value:
3.4

68% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
MMIS Analyst
Business
Phoenix, Arizona
Dec 6, 2012

By Far the Best on South Beach

The Catalina Hotel is well worth it, make sure you eat at Maxine's.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Luguofang
Business
19902 Flax Flower Dr Richmond Taxas
Aug 12, 2013

all good

people is good there, food is good, room is clean, and their location is so good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
ctothegurgol
Business
Niagara, Canada
Aug 2, 2013

Affordable SOBE

The Catalina was delightful. The staff were friendly and accommodating. Our first room was too near the rooftop pool so had the blare of music- I was immediately changed to a room on the first floor away from the noise. It is a fun & funky hotel- it is not the poshest on the strip but neither is the price tag. The food, the drinks & the atmosphere were totally in keeping with its brand... good, plentiful & hip. We had a Living Large room and the bed was superb. Only notable lack was no tissues in the room, no coffee maker and cheap toilet paper. All of which I could live without for the location & price tag.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Seek out the Wynwood Art district with all the funky graffiti walls- and dine at the Wynwood Kitchen & Bar- AWESOME!!! Ask for Antonio.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
C Gold
Business
Philly
Jul 31, 2013

Never again !!! Mold and more mold

I honestly never wrote a review in my life. I went to Miami this past week and stayed at the Catalina for 4 days. My girlfriends and I decided this experience was so bad we had to review this hotel ! The original room we were in was In the same building as Maxine's restaurant. Old dirty dark and extremely smelly. You come out the elevator and there is a terrible mold smell disguised in bleach. Our room upon first glance for 2 of us ( we got 2 rooms on the third floor) was ok. Then we put out clothes away in the closet and looked up and saw so much mold we were gagging. We called the front desk instead of manager coming a cleaning lady was sent with more bleach. ?? I told her no more bleach this is dangerous and needs to be shut down and removed. She looked up and her mouth opened. She started sending pics to her boss and ran out room. We got a call that they were sorry but couldn't move us out that room till the next day. No offer to comp the night no offer to move to one of the other buildings they have. Disgusted !!!!!! Then rain starts and our windows literally starting leaking like it was raining in our room right over an outlet. We call again and manager says "ill send towels". Which never came!!!!!!!! They moves us 24 hours later to the Dorset which was brighter and cleaner but still issues. Clogged sink! No security in the Dorset nor front desk. Anyone can walk in and sit in dark lobby and wait for a young girl at night to come in. Not safe. Horrible experience. Ill spend more and enjoy a cleaner safer hotel anyday.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
LuAnn who travels
Business
Illinois
Jul 25, 2013

Good stay

This is a quirky fun place to stay that gives you a lot for the buck. One block from the beach and even I in a wheelchair found it easy to get to. Close to Lincoln Ave and many other places to eat. We were a party of 11 ages from 15 months to 78 years old. It has something for everyone. Was kid friendly. A beach fee is charge each day but gives you a chair and towels at the beach and unlimited towels at the great pool too. Pool is nice when the beach gets too hot in afternoon. They also provide a shuttle to the airport which most do not. I am an amputee and found it to be very accommodating and staff was very helpful too. Food in Maxines was fresh and priced right . One of the best things is the happy hour from 7-8 with free drinks with rum, vodka, gin, and whiskey. I would go back in a heartbeat.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Lots of fast food for kids (McDonald's and others) or pizza, subs and others. Lots of classy and more expensive if you want that too.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
pam2013
Business
minneapolis mn
Jul 12, 2013

The Worst

The hotel advertise balcony/patio, it was only big enough to put your feet on. it was like a ledge with bars to hold on to. The lobby smelled like sewerd and the hotel staff/room service barely speak english. I didnt like my experience at all not for the price they are charging. The only good thing was that it is walking distance to the beach

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Love Miami 44
Business
Detroit, Michigan
Jul 10, 2013

This Hotel consist of three totally different locations. One with BUGS. One with out.

The first location where the rooms are cheaper and had roaches. I woke up in the middle of the night to a family of them. Disgusted... I contacted to front desk and they upgraded us with no problem. They tried to put us in the same hotel but I wasn't having it. The Catalina hotel consist of three separate hotels that's the three prices listed. We were upgraded to the Living Large at the Dorset hotel. It was very specious, clean, and bug free. I would stay their again along as they stay bug free.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Souvenir shopping close

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
NYCJulie
Business
New York, NY, USA
Jul 9, 2013

great location, inexpensive

I don't know that I would stay here again. It is in a great location and it was a great price but it needs some work. Our room seemed like a cruise ship cabin and it didn't feel clean. The common spaces didnt feel clean either. The roof pool was under construction. I do love the restaurant attached to the property for brunch though, I will be back for that!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Bunbun
Business
Dallas, Texas
Jul 6, 2013

Quite good hotel!

The room was pretty small, I cant even walk to my bed straightly. However, I love the bed much!! The bathroom is really small also, it doesnt have a bathtub. The location is fine, however it's a quite distance from Ocean Drive!!! Love their bar and restaurant!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
East Coast Lola
Business
East Coast
Jun 30, 2013

Stay somewhere else

If you like bugs crawling all over your things, small confined spaces, bad tasting food, and a rude staff then this is the place for you. After traveling for more than five hours, all I wanted to do was check in and relax. Two hours later, I finally got a clean room (sort of) after the manager begrudgingly spoke to me. If I wanted this kind of stress I could have stayed home. If it weren't for the playoffs and all the hotels were not booked up, I would have checked out on the spot. One morning when I returned to my room after spending time on the beach, my room key did not work. I called down to the front desk and asked if someone could let me into the room and the response I got was "I'm busy." Truly unprofessional and certainly not a way to treat a paying customer. Then, what's up with the shower? Why not have a full door so the water does not get EVERYWHERE? *Catalina's only saving grace is Carlos. He always had a smile and was always willing to assist guests. There are plenty of hotels in South Beach, don't waste your time and energy here.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
traveler1119
Business
White Plains NY
Jun 28, 2013

it's miami

the hotel was okay...i prefer staying at marriotts but nothing was available at marriott properties. I guess it'll do for miami - party party party and good place to just sleep it off

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top