$78 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Aug 9, 2015 Check-out: Aug 12, 2015

The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

4 stars
View map of 1736 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Overall score

3.3 / 5
5.01.0
605 out of 605
Amenities:
3.3
Cleanliness:
3.5
Hotel staff:
3.6
Comfort:
3.3
Location:
4.3
Value:
3.4

68% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
CJ in PA
Business
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Jan 23, 2014

How did this get 4 stars?

I was very disappointed with this place. Small room with NO Dresser? Had a musty smell too. Have you ever stayed in a hotel room where you had to keep your clothes in your suitcase? How about one with 4 stars? The main desk staff was not very friendly. Especially when we were leaving and it took an hour for the valet service to bring the car around. They didn't seem to care even a little bit. The only reason I gave this 2 stars instead of 1 or none was because of the great staff at the bar and in the restaurant at Maxine's (their restaurant/bar). Food was pretty good there too. I have no plans to go back, though.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Sam 1986
Business
Philadelphia, PA
Jan 22, 2014

Perfect Location, Pool and Price!

I was absolutely amazed at the value to pay one price for a great pool, 3 clubs and a great room all a block from the beach and about 5-6 blocks from all the fun art deco areas off Ocean dr. I can't wait to go back and I would definitely stay here again. FYI anyone that complains this is loud shouldn't complain this is a hotel for younger people and younger couples. I saw some disgruntled elderly people- just stay somewhere else!!! This is designed for a party atmosphere!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

For breakfast there's two ways to go about this: walk to ocean drive and go cheap by paying $5 for just eggs or something simple. OR for an amazing breakfast that has some great food but a bit more expensive go to The Front Porch on Ocean Drive across from the Villagio condos. Best breakfast I had my whole vacation!

Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
eveeve
Business
New york
Jan 18, 2014

We enjoyed!

Great times in Miami. We will be back someday!!!!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
ava j
Business
Charlotte North Carolina
Jan 13, 2014

Best Bang for your Buck

Staff was great especially the parking valet Chris, rooms were clean and location was absolutely perfect. I will be definitely be making this a must stay on my return trip.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Mattmac
Business
Atlanta
Jan 9, 2014

This is no 4 star Property

I will have difficulty ever using site ratings for hotels moving forward. The property was frightening. Not at all meant for a business traveler. Mostly foreign travelers looking to pay a good price. I only paid a $106 rate, but when I saw a 4 star rating, I thought this was going to be a steal. It was not. Parts of the hotel are really bad (state they are refurbishing). For example, my original room was in an area with broken down sheetrock in the halls. They had a security guard literally walking every single hallway to ensure safety since you can actually get to hotel rooms through the restaurant downstairs. Anyone can access these elevators. Since I did not feel safe, I went back and asked for a room near the lobby. Would not recommend at all for a family, a business traveler. Really meant for a group of young travelers that are in a big group and looking for a cheap lodging alternative.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
surtex
Business
Maryland
Jan 4, 2014

Fantastic first time experience in Miami

What can I say... The only what I didn't like is room size. They are like matchbox. Not enough space if it's more than two people. Hotel stuff is polite and will give you all necessary information. Nice looking bartenders. Booze prices are with tip. Also, hotel doesn't have included meals in price so you need to count extra money for this. Beach is less then five minutes by walk.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: In Hotel

Hotel has a really good bar with happy hour every day for hotel guests. Also, every day is some deal for three clubs around with VIP entrance.

Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Barbara T
Business
Virginia Beach
Dec 27, 2013

Great SBeach location and amenities for the price

On first arrival, you may be uncertain about this hotel because the main lobby is in need of a makeover in this aging building. We actually stayed in their "Dorset building" where the lobby and restaurant ARE receiving a makeover, and it looked much nicer. The hallways are dark and the carpet needs to be replaced , but the rooms themselves are freshly renovated with very comfortable tempurpedic beds. The staff at the front desk and the onsite restaurants as well as the concierge himself were all very friendly and helpful! The rooftop pool was wonderful with helpful staff and very comfortable places to lounge. There really isn't another place with this SOBE location, so many onsite amenities and in this price range. We would definitely stay here again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

It is a short 3 block walk to Lincoln Mall and all the restaurants and shopping you could want!

Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Bombino
Business
New York and everywhere else
Dec 27, 2013

Gem amongst the competition

This place was a last minute find but turned out to be a pleasant surprise. There is a total of three separate buildings each having something special such as the roof top bar in one, a beautiful backyard pool amongst bamboo trees in another and a lounge/club/lobby in another, a great staff, happy hour that offers quality drinks and the biggest surprise for me was the Brazilian duo featuring a guitar player and female vocalist doing the most beautiful samba, bossa nova and other Brazilian standards under the stars live while you dine or drink. All this not to mention the free shuttle, the central location and hotel décor.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

walgreens 2 blocks away for snacks etc.

Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Roxie Beach
Business
Nashville, TN
Dec 22, 2013

beach trip

Pro: great location; great price Cons: Staff not very friendly; airport shuttle unreliable Best for: independent, low maintenance guests

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Eat at Big Pink!

Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Traveler 1648
Business
Netherlands
Dec 14, 2013

Very Stylist, good to explore Miami Beach

We had a great time! Very clean and nice room. Cool rooftop pool.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top