$78 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Dec 23, 2014 Check-out: Dec 25, 2014

The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

4 stars
1736 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.2
out of 5
545 reviews
Awesome staff

The people who work here are so much fun. They are friendly and helpful. The bartenders and waiters... See full review

  • Melanie in Miami
  • Nov 27, 2014
nice hotel

convenient and nice, the hotel staffs were really nice See full review

  • chris980
  • Nov 18, 2014
Stylish South Beach hotel with free happy hour and bustling nightlife

When in South Beach, lounge, dine and cocktail like the locals. The nightlife sizzles at the Catalina Hotel and Beach Club, thanks to two rooftop pools, three bars and two restaurants, including the people-watching hub Maxine's. The Catalina celebrates its boutique style with bold design elements such as stark white seating and linens and sumptuous red walls and lamps. Poolside beds reflect South Beach's quintessential luxurious approach to everyday living.

Highlights
  • Two rooftop pools, three bars and two restaurants, including South Beach favorite Maxine's
  • Free shuttle from Miami International Airport
  • Free happy hour from 7 p.m. to 8 p.m.
  • VIP passes to South Beach clubs
Rooms

Who says white has to be boring? The hue makes a dramatic statement when paired with red walls or damask-print. Floor-to-ceiling curtains lend softness to the rooms, where Tempur-pedic mattresses, 300-count Belgian sheets and goose down comforters are standard amenities. Space isn't an issue. Each room holds enough square footage to accommodate an in-house masseuse.

Features

 


The hotel hands out VIP passes to the hottest clubs, but the property is a nightlife magnet on its own. Visitors can sample sashimi in Kung-Fu Kitchen & Sushi or mingle with other singles at the rooftop pool. Go ahead: Order a cocktail from the cabana bed.

 

When it's time to catch a flight home, guests can cut their travel time via the free airport shuttle. An in-house system also enables visitors to modify, buy and confirm their flights from the hotel lobby.

Transportation
  • Miami International Airport (12 miles)
  • Fort Lauderdale/Hollywood International Airport (27 miles)
Attractions
  • Lincoln Road
  • Ocean Drive
  • Collins Avenue
  • Art Deco Historic District
  • Downtown Miami
  • Miami Beach Convention Center
Business
  • Wi-Fi and high-speed Internet access available
Policies and fees

Credit card is required upon check-in. No cash deposits are accepted. The hotel will authorize your credit card at check in for up to $100 per night of stay in addition to nightly room rate. Please understand that if you are using a Check Card, this authorization will limit your card use for up to 10 days or until your issuing bank releases the authorization hold.

Resort fee is $15 plus tax per night payable at property and includes airport pick up from Miami International Airport, complimentary happy hour from 7 p.m. to 8 p.m. daily and two beach chairs and beach towels per day.

Must be at least 18 years of age to check in.

Valet parking costs $32 a day.

Please be advised, the airport shuttle's last pickup from Miami International Airport is 6pm on 12/31/11.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5

The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club Rooms

In the Mix - Double
Your coming to South Beach to have a good time but don't want to skimp on comfort. You like to have some extra room and a desk to send a few emails to your colleagues back at work who aren't as lucky as you. More mature in design, these rooms feature 2 double beds, dark wood and ivory furnishings with Tempur-pedic mattresses, 100% cotton linens, and spa bathrobes. 190 square feet - perfect for 4
In the Mix - Queen
Your coming to South Beach to have a good time but don't want to skimp on comfort. You like to have some extra room and a desk to send a few emails to your colleagues back at work who aren't as lucky as you. More mature in design, these rooms feature 1 queen bed, dark wood and ivory furnishings with Tempur-pedic mattresses, 100% cotton linens, and spa bathrobes. 190 square feet - perfect for 2
Living Large
You're coming to South Beach to work but will be sure to make time to play. You're looking for a quiet, spacious, comfortable room where you can work and relax. You expect your room to have a desk, a plasma TV, complimentary wireless and daily newspaper delivery, in addition to our legendary Tempur-pedic mattresses, 100% cotton linens and spa bathrobes. When it's time to relax you are an elevator ride away from our rooftop pool.
On a Budget
You're on a budget and you need a clean room to shower and a comfortable bed to sleep between beach, bar and restaurant hopping. For the young at heart and backpackers in spirit. We wouldn't exactly call this a hostel - as they still come fully loaded with Tempur-pedic mattresses, 100% cotton linens, spa bathrobes and the Catalina signature red & white decor. 125 square feet
2 Queens Better Than One
Your coming to South Beach to have a good time but don't want to skimp on comfort. You like to have some extra room and a desk to send a few emails to your colleagues back at work who aren't as lucky as you. More mature in design, these rooms feature 2 queen beds, dark wood and ivory furnishings with Tempur-pedic mattresses, 100% cotton linens, and spa bathrobes. 190 square feet - perfect for 2

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Airport shuttle
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Pool
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Transportation
Airport shuttle
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Dining

Maxine Restaurant & Bar
The Maxine Restaurant at The Catalina Hotel & Beach Club is open and serves breakfast all day long! The Challah bread French toast is already known to be the best on South Beach. Located in our North building the restaurant, caf, and bar is a great place to people watch while enjoying cocktails and delicious treats.
Kung Fu Sushi
Kung Fu Sushi is an eclectic mix of sushi and Asian food with a real kick. The menu ranges from Seabass to Japanese Red Snapper Rolls, and you'll definitely want to cleanse the palate with signature sake cocktails like the Tokyo Rose or Japanese Jade. The delicious and affordable fare is served amidst dcor that is just as impressive. Partnering with famed artist Lebo to showcase his work, this sexy mod-Asian bistro will offer a complete experience for your senses. As the choice of unique establishments offered becomes increasingly limited in Miami Beach, travelers can continue to rely on the South Beach Group as the source for lifestyle hotels and restaurants that are always original and interesting.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (545)

Ratings and reviews for The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Overall score

3.2 / 5
5.01.0
545 out of 545
Amenities:
3.3
Room cleanliness:
3.5
Hotel staff:
3.6
Room comfort:
3.3
Location:
4.3
Value:
3.4

67% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Kelly Superstar
Business
massachusetts
Apr 2, 2013

girls weekend getaway

I did read all the reviews before staying and I was a little worried about the noise but if your hear to party when you come back it will be quite..If you wanna go for an all night party vacation this is a great place to stay more of a younger crowd if you want classy and quite hotel def not the place to stay...the only problem I had was I had requested a room w two double beds and got one King size but the staff waived my hotel fee and moved us quicky the next day even though we said we didn't need to be moved. Staff was very friendly!!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Bears123
Business
Miami, FL
Apr 1, 2013

Not a 4 star hotel!!

Hotel was terrible, it was more like a 2 star motel, I am not sure why its advertised as a 4 star hotel when we confirmed with the staff that it's a 3 1/2 star hotel; very misleading. The staff was amazing though! Extremely professional and helpful, we decided not stay because it was not up to our standards and they were very nice and completely understood.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
love2bfree
Business
Las Vegas, NV, USA
Mar 27, 2013

Ehh! Not good

This hotel was bittersweet. Location is great and the hotel amenities are good (dining , beach towels, beach cruisers,etc). However, there is a $15 per night beach resort fee + state/county taxes so beware. The staff are not professional or attentive. They are incredibly rude. There were a handful of good employees. The bell hops were the only ones that were thoughtful. Personally, Guy should be running the place. The rooms are nice, however, the room we had smelled like paint. The bathrooms weren't in best of shape either. To add more salt to the wound, the electrician opened our door without knocking. He had to replace the bulbs and no one told him the room was occupied. Also, we planned on eating at the sushi restaurant below the room only to get an emergency menu offering a few items because they ran out. Overall, take your money and time somewhere else. For the price paid, this hotel was not with it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Close to Lincoln Mall, Ocean Drive, Beach

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Natasha3028
Business
Washington, DC
Mar 26, 2013

Reverberating Stay

We did not know our hotel was in the center of the Techno Music Festival during Spring Break. If you do not like this music, and we DID NOT, then you are in for a pounding week of assaulting sounds playing from noon to 5 AM every day. The hotel staff was terrific and accomodating . The place could use some updating with rugs and curtains. Rooms small. We never could enjoy the pool areas because of the blasting music all day. Not a way to spend a vacation.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Lincoln Road for restaurants.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
LaureNYC
Business
Queens, NY
Mar 25, 2013

Good for what you're paying

Stayed here with my boyfriend one weekend. Overall you're getting what you pay for at this place. It's not comparable to the luxury hotels on the beach. If you just need a decent place to sleep while in Miami and aren't looking for a luxury hotel then I'd recommend it. Rooms are roomy and comfortable. No bells and whistles. There were tiny ants in the bathroom though...yuck. The free happy hour is well liquor only. Maxine's Restaurant (part of the hotel) is surprisingly good - especially for late night post-club eating. The pools were dirty. We did not use them. Beach is across the street. Each hotel has a section reserved. Not easy to find your hotel's section - need better directions. You walk through the downstairs bar to leave the hotel. Conveniently located on the strip close to everything. I recommend for younger people looking for an affordable trendy hotel. May be too noisy for older couples..

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Juancarlos82
Business
Stockholm, Sweden
Mar 20, 2013

Party Hotel

Expensive hotel that wasn't up to standards compared to other "World Hotels". Its more like a hostel or a 2 star hotel. The staff at the reception didn't know World Hotel policies and wasn't able to help me earn air miles.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

BAOLI, The best restaurant in Miami

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Reggie KM
Business
Vancouver, BC
Mar 19, 2013

Horrible!

This hotel is disgusting and I would tell anyone thinking about booking it to go elsewhere, the only thing good about this hotel was the location, since it was only 5 mins from the beach, Lincoln Ave and about 10 or so mins from Ocean Drive, other than that nothing else good about this hotel. First off they charge a resort fee and there is nothing of a resort feel at all. Secondly, when I first booked this hotel I had asked for early check in since we were only staying for 2 days and were getting a early flight in. The hotel had said it would be fine, and put a note on our booking confirmation. So we got to the hotel around 830am, and the person at the desk mentioned check out was at 11am so that they would have a room ready for us around noon, we were fine with this since we decided to go have breakfast and lounge on the beach, even though they shouldve had the room ready. We went back to the hotel around noon and there was a different guy at the desk and we asked if our room was ready and he said check in was not til 3pm we told him the guy in the morning told us he would have a room for us by noon, this guy didnt want to help at all and said he wasnt sure why he would say that since check in was 3pm and that was final. I have never been to a hotel were early check in was ever a problem. Anyhow this guy was like ok come back in an hour and they would have the room ready. We came back a little more than an hour later and the room was still not ready and they didnt seem to have any kind or organization at all. So in the end we got our room at 245pm when we were told by noon. Ridiculous, then once we got to the room the room was very small the sink was clogged and the light in the shower would go on and off so showered in the dark here and there and at one point the water got cold as well. Room seemed really outdated and just looked old and dirty regardless if it was cleaned or not. And they offered shuttle service to and from the aiport which we were not informed and asked for a credit which the original front desk guy agreed to and said upon checkout he would give us the credit. Also the day we were leaving we were renting a car to drive to Orlando, since we werent going to airport just Hertz about 6-7 blocks away we asked if we could be dropped off there instead of airport and the initial front desk guy said yes that wouldnt be a problem. On morning of checkout nor did we get a ride to Hertz we werent offered any credit as promised since it was the 2nd guy at front desk that didnt care about service, also not sure why they dont keep notes since them they wouldnt have a problem when one guy offers something and the other guy apparently doesnt have a clue and refuses to offer it. So overall this hotel sucks it is nothing close to 4 star, I would say max 2.5 star and max 3 because of the location. If you are looking for a place just to crash and dont care about the rooms being old, smelly, ugly, and outdated and front desks not being organized and providing no service at all then this hotel is for you.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Anything on Lincoln Ave is good for dinner and I would Ocean Drive for happy hour and lunch!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Ylin
Business
Passaic county, nj
Mar 15, 2013

Never Again!!!

First of all, the hotel is very pretty from the outside. The staff was nice and the environment was great. BUT the room was dirty, there was bugs on our sheets and the bathroom was DISGUSTING!!! My cousin and I threw out our towels because we were afraid it had bugs on it. Our clothes was always in our luggage because we did not want to bring nothing weird home. The bathroom needs bleach to remove the mildew between the tiles in the shower. In addition, the stairwell that lead towards one of their pools smelled. Finally, their rooftop pool beds are just gross.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Konstantin
Business
Moscow,Russia
Mar 8, 2013

good location for fun

good location close to the beach and other activities. But not so good for family. Very noisy at night

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
tim cummings
Business
barrington, rhode island
Feb 21, 2013

excellent all around

great package, close to beaches, resturants, stores, bars, clean rooms, friendly people, will repeat

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top