$98 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Apr 21, 2015 Check-out: Apr 23, 2015

The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

4 stars
View map of 1736 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Overall score

3.3 / 5
5.01.0
622 out of 622
Amenities:
3.3
Cleanliness:
3.5
Hotel staff:
3.6
Comfort:
3.3
Location:
4.3
Value:
3.4

68% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Judarell
Business
Weston, FL
Nov 23, 2013

Catalina just right!

Great service by all staff members. Beautiful decor inside hotel in all 3 buildings. Very nice yet small rooms but very clean, modern, and comfortable. Really cute rooftop pool and bar, amazing sunset! We were 3 long time friends in our late 30's looking for walking distance to the beach, Lincoln Rd., and other top hotels. We were central to ALL of these. The rooms were pricey, almost 300/night. But divided by 3 it was great and I would stay here again for sure.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Regent Cocktail Club a couple of blocks away is a treasure. Great live music, speak-easy bar, comfortable seating and good service.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
kayjay305
Business
Miami, Florida
Nov 13, 2013

Great Experience

I've stayed at this hotel a few times and have had an exceptional stay every time. The staff is great and friendly. Rooms always nice and clean. Provides all the amentities I like for a hotel to provide (towels, iron, iron board, etc). The hotel also provided coupons to the restaurants and bars it connects to. Free drinks for an hour too!!! Rooftop was a nice place to relax and get away.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Jet Set NYer
Business
New York, NY
Nov 4, 2013

Nothing special

The Catalina was typical of boutique South Beach hotels. Lobby was attractive and clean, decorated for Halloween. The room was tiny and not very fresh. My friend wiped down the bathroom with clorox wipes. The beds didn't seem very fresh. We requested more sheets and were directed to the linen closet down the hall... The tv had to have been at least 10 years old and was in a cut out close to the ceiling. The room itself was very small. Just enough room for two queen beds with basically no walking space... Also like every other SoBe hotel they offer valet car service ($35 I think). The cars are parked in a lot a few blocks away. I requested the car for 7am on the morning of my departure. The valet had trouble finding it and the car did not arrive until 7:30 or so. It served it's purpose as it was a very short stay, but I probably would not come back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
slimini
Business
New York, New York
Nov 2, 2013

shower disaster and smell

terrible showering experience and smelly hallways.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Jimmy's diner and dave's cafe

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
HilBil872
Business
Lubbock, TX
Oct 30, 2013

Very trendy and fun place to stay!

Very cool and uniquely decorated hotel near fun night life and interesting shops. Nice but a little over-priced hotel restaurants. The beds were very comfortable and the room was clean, very friendly staff, would stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Red Star
Business
Saint louis,MO
Oct 30, 2013

Party Freinds :) !!!

Location is very good.Close to the beach, fine restaraunt. ,Rooms clean, with the dark style wall inside . Some rooms got small balcony.Reasonable price if you want to save some $ monney on your self :). we stay there with friends around age 30 .Good sushi restaraunt was in our building, And roof top pool with bar it's was awesome. Staff was very freindly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Many good restaraunt around Hotel

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
picky travelers from bost
Business
boston, massachusetts
Oct 28, 2013

birthday getaway

Room was very small. Bathroom smelled like sewage. Location was excellent and staff was excellent. Liked the shuttle service to Airport. Bed was low not really comfortable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Lincoln road

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Elsita
Business
Buenos Aires
Oct 26, 2013

Excellent friends getaway

Perhaps if a tea coffeemaker and facial tissues were included in the room it would just be perfect

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Wonderful to walk around during the day and night

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
25 yr old couple
Business
Atlanta, GA
Oct 22, 2013

Fair - great location, friendly staff, & decent price

We stayed for a few nights, extending my wife's business trip during the week. We didn't have any trouble with noise like most people have mentioned but it wasn't the cleanest or comfy-est sleep we got. It was what we expected and I know there are probably even worse places for this price range. I would stay here if you're on budget and just want to stay on south beach. If I came back I'd definitely pay a little more to stay in a nicer hotel down the street. Strengths: location is perfect (blocks away from shopping & restuarant), price is fair. Weaknesses: bathrooms aren't the cleanest or nicest you've seen, walls are thin so you can hear everything, lighting in hotel and room is dark, & bed and pillows aren't comfortable at all. lots of things were outdated, like TVs, doors needed some new knobs & stuff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Gaaaarlic bread
Business
New York
Oct 18, 2013

Go somewhere else!!!

Great location! Two pools! The Rooms are Tiny! I was uncomfortable to say the least. Awesome staff for the most part except the manager Andy Portugal! He had a nasty attitude and was bias towards my friends and I.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top