$78 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Sep 14, 2015 Check-out: Sep 17, 2015

The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

4 stars
View map of 1736 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Overall score

3.3 / 5
5.01.0
611 out of 611
Amenities:
3.3
Cleanliness:
3.5
Hotel staff:
3.6
Comfort:
3.3
Location:
4.3
Value:
3.4

68% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Johnny swanson
Friends
Los Angeles, CA.
Mar 13, 2014

great location

upon arrival the check in staff was rude but the rest of my stay was fine. Its a party hotel so its very noisy but that may be what some people are looking for when traveling to Miami.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Friends

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

BEACH! BEACH! BEACH!

Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
engl0141
Friends
Brooklyn, NY
Mar 13, 2014

good value for South Beach

The staff was super friendly and the free happy hour and beach lounge chairs was a nice perk. However, I gave a lower rating because the room itself was less than desirable. There was a GIANT cockroach in my room when I got there. Also, the cold water on the bathroom faucet didn't work and there was no ice machine in the hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Friends

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Wet WIllie's has the best adult slushy bar and nachos!!

Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Golfer no
Couples
Raleigh n.c.
Mar 10, 2014

Needs to be upgraded

Lacks closet space ,safe is located near floor ,you have to knee on floor to operate .bathroom has no space for personal items . Towels have be kept under sink , no place hang towels . Shower had a foul Oder ,bathroom door could not lock .

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Art Vandacore
Friends
FL
Mar 7, 2014

Ok hotel

The hotel is fine. Happy hour great. Had a bad experience with Valet, but c'est la vie!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Friends

Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
MLW86
Couples
Boston, MA
Mar 4, 2014

Below Average Experience

My husband and I just returned from a 3 night stay at the Catalina Hotel. While the hotel served its purpose, I would not recommend staying here unless you're below the age of 25 and/or your only intention while in Miami is to party. I would have found this hotel acceptable 5-10 years ago, but as a person in my late 20's, this is not the kind of hotel experience I was looking for. The hotel looks modern, cute and chic on the website, but once you see it in person, you realize it was made to look modern in the cheapest way possible. Honestly, the worst part was the smell. Not only does the hotel itself have a strange stench, but our room also had an unpleasant smell of its own. We even bought an air freshener to try and mask it, but that didn't really do the trick. There was definitely a drainage issue in the shower, and the shower would flood over a little bit into the bathroom floor. The water temperature was also very difficult to regulate and was usually *very* hot. A couple of other things to note: -The location of the hotel is good. It's about a 5 minute walk to the beach and only about 1/2 mile from the Ocean Drive strip. We walked everywhere and never took a cab. -Our room was small, which we expected, but that didn't really bother us. -The hallways of the hotel were very dark - not really a huge deal, but just kind of strange. -The mini fridge in the room was very dirty. The door was clear, so it was obvious that it hadn't been cleaned in quite some time. A quick swipe of Windex would do the trick, but it was clear that no one had bothered to do that in a while. All in all, the hotel is a bit run down and could just really use a deep cleaning. As I said, it served its purpose, but we spent the least amount of time possible in the room. The location is good, but don't expect much from the hotel if you end up staying here.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Irachka
Couples
Brooklyn, ny
Mar 1, 2014

Great location

Because of the great location this hotel was awesome. The rooms are small but also comfortable nothing really bothered us at all because we were there not to stay in the hotel but to enjoy all sorts of activities.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
E. Islandguy
Single
Boston
Feb 26, 2014

Great location

The location was great, close to the beach and right in the middle of the nightlife. The property is made up of three separate buildings. It has a fun style, but like most hotels in the area, it is an old hotel and you can sense it once you get away from the lobby. Good food and a fun staff. I would visit again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Single

Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
mr. carter
Couples
michigan
Feb 26, 2014

the stay

It was okay, the rooms are smaller then they appear.staff was great. Excellent bar and music. Good location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
klc1977
Couples
Des Moines, Ia
Feb 23, 2014

great location but otherwise not impressed

First off the location to the beach and some shopping and dining is great! The hotel itself is just ehh. From reading other reviews I wasn't expecting much and didn't get much. The check-in process was slow but the front desk people were very friendly and helpful. The rooms are super small. We had a king size bed(which was comfy) and it took up most of the room. No dresser and the bathroom was tiny. The hotel is past due an update. To us it wasn't worth the price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Lincoln ped mall is close for dining and shopping

Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mister H
Single
Hamptons, NY
Feb 22, 2014

Great Stay

Hotel is in the perfect location. Rooftop pool is perfect to lay out. Overall, an amazing trip. I will be back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Single

Back to menu Return to top