$78 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Dec 21, 2014 Check-out: Dec 24, 2014

The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

4 stars
1736 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.2
out of 5
544 reviews
Awesome staff

The people who work here are so much fun. They are friendly and helpful. The bartenders and waiters... See full review

  • Melanie in Miami
  • Nov 27, 2014
nice hotel

convenient and nice, the hotel staffs were really nice See full review

  • chris980
  • Nov 18, 2014
Stylish South Beach hotel with free happy hour and bustling nightlife

When in South Beach, lounge, dine and cocktail like the locals. The nightlife sizzles at the Catalina Hotel and Beach Club, thanks to two rooftop pools, three bars and two restaurants, including the people-watching hub Maxine's. The Catalina celebrates its boutique style with bold design elements such as stark white seating and linens and sumptuous red walls and lamps. Poolside beds reflect South Beach's quintessential luxurious approach to everyday living.

Highlights
  • Two rooftop pools, three bars and two restaurants, including South Beach favorite Maxine's
  • Free shuttle from Miami International Airport
  • Free happy hour from 7 p.m. to 8 p.m.
  • VIP passes to South Beach clubs
Rooms

Who says white has to be boring? The hue makes a dramatic statement when paired with red walls or damask-print. Floor-to-ceiling curtains lend softness to the rooms, where Tempur-pedic mattresses, 300-count Belgian sheets and goose down comforters are standard amenities. Space isn't an issue. Each room holds enough square footage to accommodate an in-house masseuse.

Features

 


The hotel hands out VIP passes to the hottest clubs, but the property is a nightlife magnet on its own. Visitors can sample sashimi in Kung-Fu Kitchen & Sushi or mingle with other singles at the rooftop pool. Go ahead: Order a cocktail from the cabana bed.

 

When it's time to catch a flight home, guests can cut their travel time via the free airport shuttle. An in-house system also enables visitors to modify, buy and confirm their flights from the hotel lobby.

Transportation
  • Miami International Airport (12 miles)
  • Fort Lauderdale/Hollywood International Airport (27 miles)
Attractions
  • Lincoln Road
  • Ocean Drive
  • Collins Avenue
  • Art Deco Historic District
  • Downtown Miami
  • Miami Beach Convention Center
Business
  • Wi-Fi and high-speed Internet access available
Policies and fees

Credit card is required upon check-in. No cash deposits are accepted. The hotel will authorize your credit card at check in for up to $100 per night of stay in addition to nightly room rate. Please understand that if you are using a Check Card, this authorization will limit your card use for up to 10 days or until your issuing bank releases the authorization hold.

Resort fee is $15 plus tax per night payable at property and includes airport pick up from Miami International Airport, complimentary happy hour from 7 p.m. to 8 p.m. daily and two beach chairs and beach towels per day.

Must be at least 18 years of age to check in.

Valet parking costs $32 a day.

Please be advised, the airport shuttle's last pickup from Miami International Airport is 6pm on 12/31/11.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5

The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club Rooms

In the Mix - Double
Your coming to South Beach to have a good time but don't want to skimp on comfort. You like to have some extra room and a desk to send a few emails to your colleagues back at work who aren't as lucky as you. More mature in design, these rooms feature 2 double beds, dark wood and ivory furnishings with Tempur-pedic mattresses, 100% cotton linens, and spa bathrobes. 190 square feet - perfect for 4
In the Mix - Queen
Your coming to South Beach to have a good time but don't want to skimp on comfort. You like to have some extra room and a desk to send a few emails to your colleagues back at work who aren't as lucky as you. More mature in design, these rooms feature 1 queen bed, dark wood and ivory furnishings with Tempur-pedic mattresses, 100% cotton linens, and spa bathrobes. 190 square feet - perfect for 2
Living Large
You're coming to South Beach to work but will be sure to make time to play. You're looking for a quiet, spacious, comfortable room where you can work and relax. You expect your room to have a desk, a plasma TV, complimentary wireless and daily newspaper delivery, in addition to our legendary Tempur-pedic mattresses, 100% cotton linens and spa bathrobes. When it's time to relax you are an elevator ride away from our rooftop pool.
On a Budget
You're on a budget and you need a clean room to shower and a comfortable bed to sleep between beach, bar and restaurant hopping. For the young at heart and backpackers in spirit. We wouldn't exactly call this a hostel - as they still come fully loaded with Tempur-pedic mattresses, 100% cotton linens, spa bathrobes and the Catalina signature red & white decor. 125 square feet
2 Queens Better Than One
Your coming to South Beach to have a good time but don't want to skimp on comfort. You like to have some extra room and a desk to send a few emails to your colleagues back at work who aren't as lucky as you. More mature in design, these rooms feature 2 queen beds, dark wood and ivory furnishings with Tempur-pedic mattresses, 100% cotton linens, and spa bathrobes. 190 square feet - perfect for 2

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Airport shuttle
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Pool
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Transportation
Airport shuttle
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Dining

Maxine Restaurant & Bar
The Maxine Restaurant at The Catalina Hotel & Beach Club is open and serves breakfast all day long! The Challah bread French toast is already known to be the best on South Beach. Located in our North building the restaurant, caf, and bar is a great place to people watch while enjoying cocktails and delicious treats.
Kung Fu Sushi
Kung Fu Sushi is an eclectic mix of sushi and Asian food with a real kick. The menu ranges from Seabass to Japanese Red Snapper Rolls, and you'll definitely want to cleanse the palate with signature sake cocktails like the Tokyo Rose or Japanese Jade. The delicious and affordable fare is served amidst dcor that is just as impressive. Partnering with famed artist Lebo to showcase his work, this sexy mod-Asian bistro will offer a complete experience for your senses. As the choice of unique establishments offered becomes increasingly limited in Miami Beach, travelers can continue to rely on the South Beach Group as the source for lifestyle hotels and restaurants that are always original and interesting.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (544)

Ratings and reviews for The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Overall score

3.2 / 5
5.01.0
544 out of 544
Amenities:
3.3
Room cleanliness:
3.5
Hotel staff:
3.6
Room comfort:
3.3
Location:
4.3
Value:
3.4

67% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Losso
Brooklyn ny
Oct 12, 2012

Couple getaway

It's was a good experience everybody is friendly every day was a pool party.. Plus they let u smoke in your room with out no smoking fee ..

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
jd92
Business
philadelphia, pa
Apr 21, 2013

love the catalina!

I have stayed at the Catalina 3 years in a row and will definitely stay there again. The staff is the best, the location is perfect and the environment is so hip and fun. Even better (if possible) are the amenities including two great pools (one on the rooftop!) and free beach towels and lounge chairs! The food is also excellent and the bar provides drinks that will (literally) knock your socks off. The only complaint we had (which occurred this year only) was that the air conditioner was SO LOUD we would turn it really low to freeze the room during the day so that we could turn it off and sleep comfortably over night. Again, this was only a problem this year and we aren't that picky so we didn't complain. Although they are so accommodating that i'm sure it would have been fixed for us had we just asked!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Hompie
Business
Cuijk
Apr 19, 2013

Stinks

Service and quality is very poor They take an extra charge on your credit card but you cannot charge anything to room ,so no reason to do this. I did not ask for all those products for sale in room so I don't want any charge except room

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Lisakoi
Business
Naples, Fl
Apr 19, 2013

Great for the younger crowd.

My boyfriend and I stayed here for a one night getaway for my Birthday and cannot wait to plan our next stay and The Catalina Hotel. Staff was very friendly upon pit arrival and even opened the doors for us. We were able to check in an hour early and were very impressed by our room. We stayed in the upgraded "D-Room" that had a large, very comfortable king bed, huge walk in shower, lovely new and attractive bathroom fixtures and beautiful furniture. We both said it seemed like we were staying in the same room try photographed for the website. We had a same balcony that overlooked a small courtyard, no much of a view but nothing to complain about. The room was very clean. Headed up to the rooftop pool and bar and were amazed. Outdoor terry clothed covered mattress cabanas lined around the small plunge pool while upbeat music played and cold cocktails were enjoyed. Beautiful city views and a fun atmosphere. Headed to the beach that is only steps away at Collins and 18th street where we used the free voucher the hotel gave us for two lounging chairs in the beach. They also have a FREE happy hour at any of their three bars from 7-8 every night which saved us alot of money on pre-dinner drinks. All the resturants on the grounds are very well decorated. We ate at Maxine's twice which is open 24 hours, serves breakfast till 3pm. Very good. They have valet parking at the hotel for $35 a night but we used a lot that was the next street behind the hotel and got overnight parking for $25! We were also able to take the car out as many times as we pleased but never did because everything you need is walking distance away. I would totally stay here again but would say its defiantly more for a younger crowd. We are 24-28. Alot of travelers and younger people. Perfect for couples, a girls trip away, ect. We paid $120 for the room but booked it the night before so I think it was a great deal. $135 with tax and there is a $15 resort fee not included. I honestly think if you stay at The Catilina in the "D-room" you will not be disapointed!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: In Hotel

Free happy hour 7-8pm and free beach lounge chairs! Double check your bill at the resturants! Tip is included.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
MikePie
Business
NYC
Apr 16, 2013

Good room, great location, great price!

We read reviews online and we were kind of weary about our stay at first, nonetheless, a friend of ours had stayed here before so we thought we'd book it because of the location and complimentary services. The hotel shuttle was great and arrived on time at the airport. We got to the hotel and had to wait a little bit for check in (they charge $30 for early check-in) or you can wait it out and go explore town or hang at the pool. We waited and came back while they held our bags for free. The room was alright at the most -- had the basics of what you need to stay for the night. I wouldn't suggest coming here for a romantic get-away however its the perfect place to crash. We left for a cruise the next day and they held our bags during the morning before our cruise. When we returned four days later, we did not know if they would actually allow us to use the shuttle service to go to the airport or even hold our bags while we explore SOBE during the day. Nonetheless, no questions asked, and they did just that with smiles. The doormen are super nice and actually remember you so tip them well!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Trudi from Indy
Business
Indianapolis, Indiana
Apr 15, 2013

Beware: they charge $35.00 per 24 hours for parking

If you rent a car and get to the hotel; beware: they will charge parking fee of $35.00 per night! However: we talked to another tourist. Per his recommendation we found down on Collins Avenue at 16th street a parking garage.(Turn right to 16th street from Collins going from the hotel) We got charged only $16.00 per night. It is about 5 minutes walk but it is worth it! Since we arrived late: we had to put up with the fee. It took almost up to 30 minutes for the staff to pull out our rental car the next day. (I bet they have some spot at the same parking garage) Next day we immediately moved the rental car to the 16th street parking garage. The front desk assumed we parked with them 3 nights so at the check out: they wanted to charge for 3-day worth of parking. I had to have the necessary conversation with them to proove otherwise. Also: the bathroom's shower had the most idiotic design. The shower's glass wall covered only half of the tub, so the water floated out to the floor; (and no: there was no shower door the close the area) The room setting and the furniture doesn't match with a 4 star, rather a 3 star rank. The pool was not very clean either. Overall: good for crashing and for the location because everything is approachable from there. If you want more cleaner and crisper room: choose a 5 star hotel. It is a zoo around the hotel: party 24*7 with very laud music and crowd. However: luckily: we didn't hear the noise even though we were on the second floor.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Key Largo Tourists
Business
Key Largo FL
Apr 8, 2013

Great Location !

We had a great time at The Catalina. Location can't be beat. It is across from 5 star hoels, in the heart of the action in South Beach.Walking distance to Lincoln Road and Washington Av. It is a remodeled old art deco building, very hip and colurful. Do not consider this hotel if you are looking to relax and sleep, or are traveling with children. It is an adult, party atmosphere with a DJ in the lobby, playing until midnight. Music can be heard in the room. Most guests are in full party mode, and you hear them being loud in the hallway throughout the night.Very quiet in the morning, since most guests sleep in.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Make sure to visit Hispaniola Way, a short walk from the hotel. It is a very charming street with lots of good restaurants and bars, as well as a few stores. Fr safety, it is closd to car traffic, just like Lincoln Road.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Experience Traveler TB
Business
okc
Apr 7, 2013

PERFECT HOTEL PERFECT LOCATION

Staff was very friendly and helpful, great location one block from beach and two blocks from the out door mall the Maxine building was my favorite And the restaurant there MAXINES has the best Food in South Beach and if u want great drinks go to the bar there Eva is the best bartender around Cant wait to go back

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Maxines food is by far the best

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
The curious viajero
Business
NY
Apr 5, 2013

Tasteless decadence. Mediocre rooms. Not worth the savings

The entire establishment smells like cheap detergent mixed with bathroom spray. Our room was close to the lobby and was therefore very noisy. The service was subpar at best.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Traveler Laurie
Business
Fort myers, FL
Apr 4, 2013

Not a good experience.

The hotel room had an ant issue. When I came back to my room ants had covered my tooth brush and other personal items. I had to throw them all away. The valet shut off my car incorrectly and killed the battery. I would not recommend.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Joe smooth
Business
Miami, FL
Apr 2, 2013

Great get away for te single folks

I had an amazing time especially during the part the live band showed up and played awesome tunes! Overall I would def recommend you visit the Catalina! Joel

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top