$98 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Apr 21, 2015 Check-out: Apr 23, 2015

The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

4 stars
View map of 1736 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Overall score

3.3 / 5
5.01.0
622 out of 622
Amenities:
3.3
Cleanliness:
3.5
Hotel staff:
3.6
Comfort:
3.3
Location:
4.3
Value:
3.4

68% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Great Gatsby
Business
NYC
Feb 3, 2014

Great Gatsby

Hip hotel with a great location and value oriented

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Retail King
Business
Oregon
Jan 29, 2014

good time, rooms are beachy

I had a great time in general while in South Beach for business. The Staff were all really Fantastic, for sure. The room was inexpensive and a bit below my normal business travel expectations but it was a block off the beach, and a couple of blocks away from the conference center. Over all at the end of the day, I would go back just make sure I wound up on the other side where the rooms were a bit nicer.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
The absolute Worst
Business
Been there, done that
Jan 28, 2014

Bday weekend!!!

Hotel is Ok, they're upgrading so to speak so it Smells like paint. The hallways are dim and old appearing. Staff was nice, open bar between 7-8p everyday was a little perk. Overall, I wouldn't come back but it's suitable for a quick getaway if your not looking for a lot of upgrades.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Cameo club a good spot

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
CJ in PA
Business
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Jan 23, 2014

How did this get 4 stars?

I was very disappointed with this place. Small room with NO Dresser? Had a musty smell too. Have you ever stayed in a hotel room where you had to keep your clothes in your suitcase? How about one with 4 stars? The main desk staff was not very friendly. Especially when we were leaving and it took an hour for the valet service to bring the car around. They didn't seem to care even a little bit. The only reason I gave this 2 stars instead of 1 or none was because of the great staff at the bar and in the restaurant at Maxine's (their restaurant/bar). Food was pretty good there too. I have no plans to go back, though.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Sam 1986
Business
Philadelphia, PA
Jan 22, 2014

Perfect Location, Pool and Price!

I was absolutely amazed at the value to pay one price for a great pool, 3 clubs and a great room all a block from the beach and about 5-6 blocks from all the fun art deco areas off Ocean dr. I can't wait to go back and I would definitely stay here again. FYI anyone that complains this is loud shouldn't complain this is a hotel for younger people and younger couples. I saw some disgruntled elderly people- just stay somewhere else!!! This is designed for a party atmosphere!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

For breakfast there's two ways to go about this: walk to ocean drive and go cheap by paying $5 for just eggs or something simple. OR for an amazing breakfast that has some great food but a bit more expensive go to The Front Porch on Ocean Drive across from the Villagio condos. Best breakfast I had my whole vacation!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
eveeve
Business
New york
Jan 18, 2014

We enjoyed!

Great times in Miami. We will be back someday!!!!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
ava j
Business
Charlotte North Carolina
Jan 13, 2014

Best Bang for your Buck

Staff was great especially the parking valet Chris, rooms were clean and location was absolutely perfect. I will be definitely be making this a must stay on my return trip.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Mattmac
Business
Atlanta
Jan 9, 2014

This is no 4 star Property

I will have difficulty ever using site ratings for hotels moving forward. The property was frightening. Not at all meant for a business traveler. Mostly foreign travelers looking to pay a good price. I only paid a $106 rate, but when I saw a 4 star rating, I thought this was going to be a steal. It was not. Parts of the hotel are really bad (state they are refurbishing). For example, my original room was in an area with broken down sheetrock in the halls. They had a security guard literally walking every single hallway to ensure safety since you can actually get to hotel rooms through the restaurant downstairs. Anyone can access these elevators. Since I did not feel safe, I went back and asked for a room near the lobby. Would not recommend at all for a family, a business traveler. Really meant for a group of young travelers that are in a big group and looking for a cheap lodging alternative.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Gaza kid
Business
Newyork
Jan 8, 2014

Average getaway

There were no toothpaste in the bathroom. Hotel staff was ok. Hotel doesn't provide any food whatsoever. Bed had sctahes on the sides. Gave me a double bed when I booked a king bed. Over price for room it wasn't worth the price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
surtex
Business
Maryland
Jan 4, 2014

Fantastic first time experience in Miami

What can I say... The only what I didn't like is room size. They are like matchbox. Not enough space if it's more than two people. Hotel stuff is polite and will give you all necessary information. Nice looking bartenders. Booze prices are with tip. Also, hotel doesn't have included meals in price so you need to count extra money for this. Beach is less then five minutes by walk.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: In Hotel

Hotel has a really good bar with happy hour every day for hotel guests. Also, every day is some deal for three clubs around with VIP entrance.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top