$78 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Sep 14, 2015 Check-out: Sep 17, 2015

The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

4 stars
View map of 1736 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Overall score

3.3 / 5
5.01.0
613 out of 613
Amenities:
3.3
Cleanliness:
3.5
Hotel staff:
3.6
Comfort:
3.3
Location:
4.3
Value:
3.4

68% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
KUCAREVI
Family
LEXINGTON, NC
Apr 6, 2014

Would definately stay again

Hotel takes youback in time . Seems like it is off of a movie from the 30's-50's. The staff can not be beat. Rooms are large with high ceilings, and huge bathrooms . It is very close to everything you need. Beach is 1 block, shopping is 1 block . Food at hotel is great but pricy, but all types of food available within a block. Two pools available , one on the roof the other is on ground level. The ground pool is very secluded to be 100 feet off the main road. It is surrounded by bamboo trees that seem to have been there forever.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Money-saving tip: In Hotel

Hass free shuttle to MIA, also free shuttle to anywhere you need to go

Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Alfredo R.
Single
Clark
Jul 23, 2015

Weekly solo trip from New Jersey

I traveled from New Jersey for the week and got room 205. The room was nice not a lot of room but I didn't have cold water in my shower all week. I did complain once to the front desk they were gonna send someone up and never did so I toughed it out and just enjoyed my vacation regardless. I didn't want to complain but it was pretty bad. Besides that my stay was great and I enjoyed my time and Ivan the bartender is great service to your hotel. Thanks and I'll see you again soon.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Single

Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Monica D.
Couples
Brooklyn
Jul 22, 2015

Great experience

I absolutely loved my stay at The Catalina. Everything from the staff to the accommodations was exceptional. As soon as I landed the free shuttle bus from the airport was outside. When I checked in my room was upgraded free of charge, and I was so grateful. The hotel is beautiful and the free beach chair voucher was really helpful. The food at the attached Maxine's diner was really good. Service there was spotty, especially my last night there with the unwelcomed bugs on and under the table but then we just took our food to go. All in all I would stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Jon L.
Couples
N/A
Jul 21, 2015

Hotel is a blast!!!!

Had an amazing experience lots of amenities and friendly staff. Hotel is very clean and the location is central to everything!!!! I can't wait to go back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Jose M.
Couples
N/A
Jul 19, 2015

Weekend getaway

The staff was great, we loved that the towels and chairs were included with the hotel package whenever we went to the beach. Clean and neat hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Katherine J.
Friends
N/A
Jul 18, 2015

SUPER DEAL!

Great location for the price! Loved the modern decor, pools, and they even had cute bikes available for rent to cruise around South Beach!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Friends

Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Raisa
Friends
N/A
Jul 15, 2015

Girls Weekend

I was there for 4days with 3 friends. We stayed in the main Catalina building, the beds were very comfortable but the room was a lot smaller than we thought it was going to be. 95 of the staff was really friendly, the bartender was our favorite not only because of the awesome drinks but she was very nice. Happy hour everyday and food 24/7 was a plus, although the food was a little on the pricey side but it is to be expected in that area. Definitely look for cheaper eats around there, they do exist!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Friends

Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Lois N.
Family
New Iberia
Jul 13, 2015

Soso trip

The rooms were just too small. The maids didn't do a real cleaning. The beds were too low and soft. There wasn't a chair to sit on. They party too much.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mimi H.
Couples
N/A
Jul 11, 2015

Great time!

Loved Jean, Ivan and Chloe they were all so nice friendly and helpful!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Kim C.
Couples
N/A
Jul 10, 2015

great stay, but needs a little more work

Pros: The hotel's location was perfect. Right within a few blocks reach of wet willies, fat Tuesdays, senior frogs, Miami ink, the beach, etc... The staff were exceptional and the concierge was fantastic! The breakfast food choices were delicious. Cons: The room held a lot of moisture so it smelled of mildew the sink leaked a lot (and there was excess water on the bathroom floor because of it) dinner service (outside seating) was subpar. The carpet in the hotel is old and needs to be replaced and the elevator can be renovated, but other than those minor things....we enjoyed our stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Rafael b.
Friends
wayne
Jul 8, 2015

Horrible

Hotel has a nasty odor from the lobby to the room. No response to complaints - one of the worst I've stayed at on south beach and I've stayed at a lot from lower priced to top of the line.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Friends

Back to menu Return to top