$73 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Apr 22, 2014 Check-out: Apr 23, 2014

The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

4 stars
1736 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.2
out of 5
447 reviews
Everything we needed

On arrival we were offered an upgrade to a Suite for a mere $15.00 (£8.96) a day. We took the... See full review

  • Engrave It
  • Apr 14, 2014
Would definately stay again

Hotel takes youback in time . Seems like it is off of a movie from the 30's-50's. The staff can not... See full review

  • KUCAREVI
  • Apr 6, 2014
Stylish South Beach hotel with free happy hour and bustling nightlife

When in South Beach, lounge, dine and cocktail like the locals. The nightlife sizzles at the Catalina Hotel and Beach Club, thanks to two rooftop pools, three bars and two restaurants, including the people-watching hub Maxine's. The Catalina celebrates its boutique style with bold design elements such as stark white seating and linens and sumptuous red walls and lamps. Poolside beds reflect South Beach's quintessential luxurious approach to everyday living.

Highlights
  • Two rooftop pools, three bars and two restaurants, including South Beach favorite Maxine's
  • Free shuttle from Miami International Airport
  • Free happy hour from 7 p.m. to 8 p.m.
  • VIP passes to South Beach clubs
Rooms

Who says white has to be boring? The hue makes a dramatic statement when paired with red walls or damask-print. Floor-to-ceiling curtains lend softness to the rooms, where Tempur-pedic mattresses, 300-count Belgian sheets and goose down comforters are standard amenities. Space isn't an issue. Each room holds enough square footage to accommodate an in-house masseuse.

Features

 


The hotel hands out VIP passes to the hottest clubs, but the property is a nightlife magnet on its own. Visitors can sample sashimi in Kung-Fu Kitchen & Sushi or mingle with other singles at the rooftop pool. Go ahead: Order a cocktail from the cabana bed.

 

When it's time to catch a flight home, guests can cut their travel time via the free airport shuttle. An in-house system also enables visitors to modify, buy and confirm their flights from the hotel lobby.

Transportation
  • Miami International Airport (12 miles)
  • Fort Lauderdale/Hollywood International Airport (27 miles)
Attractions
  • Lincoln Road
  • Ocean Drive
  • Collins Avenue
  • Art Deco Historic District
  • Downtown Miami
  • Miami Beach Convention Center
Business
  • Wi-Fi and high-speed Internet access available
Policies and fees

Credit card is required upon check-in. No cash deposits are accepted. The hotel will authorize your credit card at check in for up to $100 per night of stay in addition to nightly room rate. Please understand that if you are using a Check Card, this authorization will limit your card use for up to 10 days or until your issuing bank releases the authorization hold.

Resort fee is $15 plus tax per night payable at property and includes airport pick up from Miami International Airport, complimentary happy hour from 7 p.m. to 8 p.m. daily and two beach chairs and beach towels per day.

Must be at least 18 years of age to check in.

Valet parking costs $32 a day.

Please be advised, the airport shuttle's last pickup from Miami International Airport is 6pm on 12/31/11.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club Rooms

In the Mix - Double
Your coming to South Beach to have a good time but don't want to skimp on comfort. You like to have some extra room and a desk to send a few emails to your colleagues back at work who aren't as lucky as you. More mature in design, these rooms feature 2 double beds, dark wood and ivory furnishings with Tempur-pedic mattresses, 100% cotton linens, and spa bathrobes. 190 square feet - perfect for 4
In the Mix - Queen
Your coming to South Beach to have a good time but don't want to skimp on comfort. You like to have some extra room and a desk to send a few emails to your colleagues back at work who aren't as lucky as you. More mature in design, these rooms feature 1 queen bed, dark wood and ivory furnishings with Tempur-pedic mattresses, 100% cotton linens, and spa bathrobes. 190 square feet - perfect for 2
Living Large
You're coming to South Beach to work but will be sure to make time to play. You're looking for a quiet, spacious, comfortable room where you can work and relax. You expect your room to have a desk, a plasma TV, complimentary wireless and daily newspaper delivery, in addition to our legendary Tempur-pedic mattresses, 100% cotton linens and spa bathrobes. When it's time to relax you are an elevator ride away from our rooftop pool.
On a Budget
You're on a budget and you need a clean room to shower and a comfortable bed to sleep between beach, bar and restaurant hopping. For the young at heart and backpackers in spirit. We wouldn't exactly call this a hostel - as they still come fully loaded with Tempur-pedic mattresses, 100% cotton linens, spa bathrobes and the Catalina signature red & white decor. 125 square feet
2 Queens Better Than One
Your coming to South Beach to have a good time but don't want to skimp on comfort. You like to have some extra room and a desk to send a few emails to your colleagues back at work who aren't as lucky as you. More mature in design, these rooms feature 2 queen beds, dark wood and ivory furnishings with Tempur-pedic mattresses, 100% cotton linens, and spa bathrobes. 190 square feet - perfect for 2

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Airport shuttle
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Pool
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Transportation
Airport shuttle
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5

Hotel Map

25.7932 -80.1296
Area served
Miami Beach, Florida
Nearby airports
Hotel is located 7 Miles East of MIA Airport
Area description
1732 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139 Located on Collins Ave in heart of Entertainment District.

Dining

Maxine Restaurant & Bar
The Maxine Restaurant at The Catalina Hotel & Beach Club is open and serves breakfast all day long! The Challah bread French toast is already known to be the best on South Beach. Located in our North building the restaurant, caf, and bar is a great place to people watch while enjoying cocktails and delicious treats.
Kung Fu Sushi
Kung Fu Sushi is an eclectic mix of sushi and Asian food with a real kick. The menu ranges from Seabass to Japanese Red Snapper Rolls, and you'll definitely want to cleanse the palate with signature sake cocktails like the Tokyo Rose or Japanese Jade. The delicious and affordable fare is served amidst dcor that is just as impressive. Partnering with famed artist Lebo to showcase his work, this sexy mod-Asian bistro will offer a complete experience for your senses. As the choice of unique establishments offered becomes increasingly limited in Miami Beach, travelers can continue to rely on the South Beach Group as the source for lifestyle hotels and restaurants that are always original and interesting.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (447)

Ratings and reviews for The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Overall score

3.2 / 5
447 out of 447
Amenities:
3.2
Room cleanliness:
3.4
Hotel staff:
3.5
Room comfort:
3.2
Location:
4.2
Value:
3.3

66% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

4
LouisDaniel
Los Angeles
Mar 31, 2014

Great Affordable Party Spot

The hotel was good plAce to stay. The service was great everyone was helpful and met our needs. The pool area was a little messy there was bamboo in pool and it was kinda quite so we decide to go to beach instead they have a good area with chairs if you're a guest and they provide towels. The locations is right in the center of Collins so you can always find something to do. It was music week this week so maybe they don't usually blast music all night in the lobby, that was kinda loud but again they might not always do it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Time-saving tip: In Hotel

The Catalina has a restaurant, attached it's delish affordable meal, ( they say they can't do room service and that you have to go pick it up next door, but if you ask nicely they will bring to your room)

Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

4
MelCol
NY
Mar 31, 2014

MMC FUN STAY

The hotel room was a normal size for any Miami hotel, Well lit room ! Full length mirrors in the room! Entertainment every night in the hotel during MMC. Located near walgreens for in room goodies ! Staff was very friendly and accommodating, Tyrell was a great help for night clubs ! Overall good experience here !

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

1
Sleepless in miami beach
Miami beach, Florida
Mar 28, 2014

Sleepless in Miami Beach

Base thumping music played until 5 am every night of the week, heard from our room in a different building from the dj. Took 15 minutes for desk reception to acknowledge me for check in. Description of hotel DOES NOT accurately depict the decor, relaxation, etc. will not book a room there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

1
diGiorgi78
Santiago, Chile
Mar 28, 2014

Did not comply

Lies everywhere! The cocktails happy hour from 7 to 8 pm is not in every bar at the hotel. "Big towels", lie. Late checkout, another lie. Extremely loud music by late night at 100 ft of our room. No breakfast included, extremely long waiting time in the valet parking (40 to 50 minutes). Hotel's web page didn't tell you any of this. Definetly, we won't get back to that hotel. Period.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

3
The great one
New York
Mar 27, 2014

Nice room, great location

Room was nice. Could have been a bit bigger but it suited me for two nights. Staff was very friendly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

4
Monic
New Jersey
Mar 26, 2014

Couple getaway

The first person that I spoke to in the front desk was very unhelpful and literally made us wait to check in at exactly 3pm but then the second guy I spoke to checked us in right away with no questions ask and it was a lil before 3pm. Any other than that the hotel is okay for the price. My room is always clean. I love how the hotel has happy hour and free drinks from 7pm-8pm and that is a big plus. The place is just a little walk to Ocean Dr but majority of the time we take the taxi coming back for like $6 because we are too drunk to walk back. Lol The staff that really helped us the most is Miguel, he made our stay very covinient.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

4
Coop5
New York
Mar 24, 2014

perfect for spring break

stayed a week here for spring break with friends from college. great bang for the buck and beautiful location!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

3
la estresada
new jersey
Mar 23, 2014

room was kind of small.

We spend 3 nights over there. The personal doesn't speak spanish and The room was smaller than I expected. Next time I will rather choose another hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
2
Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

3
biike weeker
south beach, Miami Beach, fl
Mar 19, 2014

would go again

We didn't use many hotel amenities but they were available. Parking and small room ( which I'm guessing is the standard for the area) are my only true complaints. Staff was very accommodating and helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

4
sandmandli
switzerland
Mar 17, 2014

Feels good

Since years I am going to Catalina. It's a great hotel, cool styling and friendly staff. It makes me coming home everytime I travel to Miami. A pitty they are not offering a frequent guest pass ;-)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
2
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

It's all there

Back to menu Return to top