$88 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: May 11, 2015 Check-out: May 12, 2015

The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

4 stars
View map of 1736 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Overall score

3.3 / 5
5.01.0
690 out of 690
Amenities:
3.3
Cleanliness:
3.5
Hotel staff:
3.6
Comfort:
3.3
Location:
4.3
Value:
3.4

68% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
stephyrox
Business
New York, NY
Jun 2, 2014

amazing weekend getaway

Fantastic service and great attention. I was skeptical because some reviews say they have loud music and they couldn't sleep but thats not true. You can't heard any nose ti guys it also depends which part of the hotel you stay in but I was on the first level and didn't hear any noise. The room was very clean no roaches no stains absolutely clean. Can't complain, great price and good location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

If you rent a car the valet parking is pretty expensive. About 2 blocks down from the hotel there is a parking lot and its so much cheaper definitely park there. It's on 16st between Collins and Washington.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Wedding Guest 1
Business
Austin, Texas
Jun 1, 2014

Good for wedding guests

Three of my friends and I recently stayed here for a friend's wedding on South Beach. Overall the hotel worked well for our needs - it was nice enough, perfect distance from the wedding festivities and the beach, walking distance to incredible food and clubs, etc. The staff was friendly, helpful and fairly responsive. The room was much smaller than we anticipated, especially considering we upgraded to a larger room (we had four girls, so it was a little crowded, but seeing as we were not in the room much, it worked out fine and the beds fits us all comfortably). They are also incredibly accommodating should you want to add additional nights onto your original stay, which was great! My only complaint was that our room was still dirty when we arrived - it looked as if it had been haphazardly cleaned, but there was still trash in the trash can (which was already full), dirty towels hanging in the bathroom, and used toiletries in the shower. We asked them to come clean the room, and it was taken care of the next day. I would definitely recommend this place though, especially for a group of people looking to stay on South Beach for an inexpensive amount.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Be careful of your belongings on the beach. We were told that theft on South Beach is a major problem, and not one that is heavily talked about.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Marloncito
Business
Tampa
Jun 1, 2014

Cool hotel

Cool rooftop pool. Cool rain shower head. Cool lobby. Cool bamboo garden. Cool location in Collins Ave walking distance to everything!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Katsuya restaurant in SLS hotel!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Autumnj
Business
Pittsburgh, pa
May 31, 2014

Bearable

$15 a day resort fee!!! When we first checked in our room was hot muggy and bugs everywhere, including dead bugs around the bathroom sink like the room had not been thoroughly cleaned since it was last occupied. We had to complain to the front desk and they moved us to a suite in the dorster building which was much better! If you stay in this hotel you must book a suite or upgrade when you get there because the standard rooms are absolutely unbearable. The rooftop pool area was about the best thing the hotel had to offer. The Maxine restaurant is good for breakfast! $34 a day parking also!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Kilamal
Business
Miami
May 30, 2014

Perfect place to relax !

I decided to treat myself to a short stay at the Catalina and couldn't be happier with my decision, the pool was the reason I returned and it continued to exceed my expectations, the staff, the drinks the music and atmosphere, everything, loved it ! The room was clean and the bed was so comfortable, only problem I had were both days my door was opened by house keeping while I was in the room, I didn't like that, they were very apologetic though, overall wonderful stay, and I'll definitely be back

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Troy Bossshit
Business
Miami,Fl
May 29, 2014

Memorial weekend exp.

It was perfect for the situation. The people were great and I felt like it was a relaxing atmosphere.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

purchase your own liquor.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Kira15
Business
Collins ave
May 28, 2014

Don't book here

Over all this place was by far the worst. Staff wasn't great over all just don't book here

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

On the middle of Collins

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Cassie989007
Business
New Jersey
May 27, 2014

Awesome spot

Awesome location, your barely going to stay in your room but overall the staff was friendly, room was clean, and you were able to sleep when you got s chance to (no loud clubs next door).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Next door is a awesome sushi spot.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
FreeCity
Business
Atlanta
May 20, 2014

Last min decision

Driving down from Atl to Mia and made a last min decision to stay in a hotel instead of with friends. Being that this hotel was booked literally an hr before we arrived it was a good deal esp being right on Collins. It was pretty clean, and affordable. Overall it was a good last min deal. There is a mandatory resort fee of like 15 per night however.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
StudentDoc
Business
New York, NY
May 19, 2014

Turn up get away!

The hotel is just a block away from the beach and had 3 different accommodations styles and restauraunts to choose from. They provide towels and beach chairs at no additional cost, which easily saves you 50 bucks a day. Valet is ok at $30 bucks a day, but they can be a bit slow getting your car so it's always best to go alert them 15-20 mins before you actually want to leave. The room was pretty dope tho and had a nice small balcony. Shower is fantastic! It's huge and the hot water is endless.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top