$78 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Sep 14, 2015 Check-out: Sep 17, 2015

The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

4 stars
View map of 1736 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Overall score

3.3 / 5
5.01.0
613 out of 613
Amenities:
3.3
Cleanliness:
3.5
Hotel staff:
3.6
Comfort:
3.3
Location:
4.3
Value:
3.4

68% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Poetictee
Friends
bronx ny
Jun 30, 2014

girls getaway

It was awesome.. Very cozy. Great staff.. Awesome atmosphere!! Would def come back!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Friends

Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Boca girls
Friends
Boca raton, florida
Jun 29, 2014

Wonderful staycation!

My friend and I stayed here last weekend for a little weekend getaway for our birthdays and it was perfect! Great price, exteremly helpful and kind staff, and very clean. This is now my 3rd stay here and I will continue to go back!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Friends

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Juvia for a nice rooftop dinner!

Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
eyebetiny
Friends
SF, CALIFORNIA
Jun 27, 2014

prime location

On a main street near the beach, great staff and hotel ambiance! The bed were clean and comfy. They offer a complimentary happy hour and free bike rental! The bathrooms and towels will stay again, for sure!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Friends

Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
claudia mb
Friends
atlanta, ga
Jun 27, 2014

nice digs, questionable concierge and bartender

Overall I had a good experience. The staff was very friendly and personable, especially the doormen. The doormen went out of their way to talk to my sister and I and let us in on all of the best restaurants and clubs frequented by the locals while also securing us free passes and discounts to many of them. They were more helpful than the concierge who never seemed to be at his desk. The rooms were clean, except the bathroom could have used a better scrub. The lobby was a bit dingy and the hallways had a bit of a wet, moldy smell to them, however the finished in each room were lovely, the bamboo pool, rooftop pool, and Zen garden were well maintained. We did have one incident with the staff during their complimentary happy hour where the bartender seemed to deliberately serve only the Caucasian patrons promptly while skipping over all the patrons of color regardless of the fact that they had been waiting to be served way before the Caucasian patrons. Also I had to come down the front desk several times to have my keycard reactivated because the locka on each room door was either not charged or faulty. Overall I had a good time and I would come back as long as they upgraded my room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Friends

Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
SOBE Lover 2014
Single
Greenwich CT
Jun 27, 2014

Great Location, Great Room, Great Staff

I am a big traveler and admittedly a bit more mature but young at heart. So when I find a hotel with a great staff, that is pretty, clean and in a good location I want to go back. Now is it 5 star no but they have 5 star people qualities. First they are all very nice, second the room is updated and spacious, third the team is helpful and the restaurants and bars are open all night. This hotel is close to the larger properties so you can take advantage of their restaurants, bars, pools etc for a fee of course but that is a plus for me or you can eat at the restaurants at the hotel which are very good. The location is in a more sophisticated section but their is still a great vibe and did I mention free happy hour from 7-8 as well as free shuttle service. Stay their and you will be happy in SOBE!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Single

Money-saving tip: In Hotel

Look at the hotel website and understand all the freebies before you go.

Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
tegano
Couples
ft lauderdale fl
Jun 26, 2014

The Staycation that felt like a weekend Getaway.

Upon arriving at the hotel I was a little disappointed that they didn't have a parking garage or any type of free guest parking. I had to pay an extra 35 dollars for valet parking overnight. Other then that the room was a little smaller than what it appeared to be in the pictures. After all is said and done though they had great amenities, a roomy shower a comfortable bed And free happy hour to hotel guests from 7 to 8. Me and my wife had fun. My only request is that you guys get softer blankets..those things were stiff as crackers. Thank you for the experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

You can rent these nice beach cruiser bicycles for 2 hours..only 10 bucks. Highly recommended to see the sights and take in south beach. Cool thing is u can drop them off at any bike station..so ride to where u need to go and leave them at a nearby bike station

Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Brandon Brandon
Friends
Los Angeles
Jun 25, 2014

Loved it!

Hotel Catalina caters to there guests in every way possible. Open Bar nightly from 7p-8p, rooftop pool (happy hour 12-4p), free taxi rides within south beach, and beach chairs and towels when heading to the beach, which is a block away. Great experience overall.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Friends

Entertainment tip: Long walk from hotel

South Beach lounges: between 7th and 11th street on Ocean Dr. Clubs are between 12th and 15th street in Washington

Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Lully
Single
Houston, Tx
Jun 23, 2014

Nice hotel except for random mini bar charge

Stayed here 1 night in June 2014. Giving them a more negative review than I originally planned because they charged my credit card for taking food from their mini bar which I never touched. Other than charging me for items I didn't buy, the hotel is decent. The rooms were clean and nice. The beds were good too. I could have done without the thin bathroom walls that allow you to hear into the next door bathroom. I could hear everything my neighbors were saying (and doing). The happy hour is good - a lot of the hotel guests were in the bar/lobby area taking advantage of the "free" drinks (free if you don't count the $15 resort fee you have to pay). It's a good way to socialize with other guests if you want. Because of things like the happy hour, this hotel is ideal for travelers in their 20s and 30s. Other amenities that I liked: They have bicycles you can borrow staring at 10 am. The hotel is conveniently located. It's very close to the Lincoln Mall and the beach is basically across the street. Because of its great location, parking sucks (but that's true of all hotels in the area). If you want to park at the hotel, you will be charged $35. I didn't find any other alternatives, but maybe I didnt look hard enough. I didn't see any public parking garages that were chaper for overnight parking and street parking was limited to 3 hours (it may be different after a certain time, but I never actually found an open spot to check)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Single

Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Missy8888
Friends
Washington, DC
Jun 22, 2014

good enough

This hotel had a lot of good points. It was well located, clean and the staff was nice. The first room we got smelled like disinfectant, and upon request, we were given another room, which was great, but right next to the lobby and the lobby bar, with loud music and louder drunk people until early morning hours, which was kind of annoying. Not all the bartenders are good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Friends

Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Gracie Dee
Couples
Fairfax, Virginia
Jun 21, 2014

Great Location

The Staffs are friendly, helpful and accommodating. Location is great, walkable to great spots; outdoor mall, and espaniola way!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Back to menu Return to top