$88 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: May 6, 2015 Check-out: May 7, 2015

The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

4 stars
View map of 1736 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Overall score

3.3 / 5
5.01.0
652 out of 652
Amenities:
3.3
Cleanliness:
3.5
Hotel staff:
3.6
Comfort:
3.3
Location:
4.3
Value:
3.4

68% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Jane Aire
Business
Boca Raton, Florida
Jun 7, 2014

I was upgraded to a suite for free due to an AC issue.

I want to say I paid for the cheapest room. It was small but we were in Miami for one night and planned just to sleep when we got back early AM. The front desk guy upgraded us for free to a suite due to an AC issue in our room. The suite was awesome. I was very happy in the end.... Staff was great. Book the suite side of the hotel if you can.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Nigel D.
Business
NYC
Jun 6, 2014

Another great stay at the Catalina

Great location, free shuttle to and from the airport, nice rooftop pool and a 24 hour restaurant.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Melissa A.C.
Business
Sioux Falls, SD
Jun 3, 2014

Saved our Vacation!

My family and I (5 of us in total) had a long layover in Miami, returning from the Dominican. I opted for a hotel on South Beach because my aunt/uncle had never been. Was thrilled when I found the Catalina offered a free airport/hotel shuttle. Right off the bat, the shuttle driver was amazing. Super friendly. Patient. Upon arrival at the hotel, it was busy and loud (FREE HAPPY HOUR FROM 7-8PM) but the staff checking us in was still patient and helpful. They put us in rooms close to each other and in the "quieter" building. The rooms were absolutely stunning. Dated a bit of course, but the decor was phenomenal. Beds were BEYOND comfortable!!! The bartenders and servers all were friendly and quick and happy to help in any way. After only being there for an hour, we decided to change our flights and stay an extra day. The concierge was very nice and helpful in helping us see as much of Miami as we could. Of our 7-day vacation, these 2 days at the Catalina were by far the best days of all! Thank you so much!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: In Hotel

Happy hour from 7-8!!!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Intermediate jet setter
Business
Miami beach Florida
Jun 3, 2014

Great vibe for Miami beach

I stayed for 1 night at the hotel and wished I would have been able to take full advantage of all the hotel aminaties... Great value for the location

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short drive from hotel

concierge is very helpful

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Melissa A.C.
Business
Sioux Falls, SD
Jun 3, 2014

Cute, Friendly & Great Location

The staff at this adorable hotel were beyond friendly and helpful. Great location. Food and drinks were fresh and delicious. 3 different buildings to "hang out in" and the concierge and staff are fab. I can't say enough great things about this place!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Maxine's has great food and especially breakfast!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
stephyrox
Business
New York, NY
Jun 2, 2014

amazing weekend getaway

Fantastic service and great attention. I was skeptical because some reviews say they have loud music and they couldn't sleep but thats not true. You can't heard any nose ti guys it also depends which part of the hotel you stay in but I was on the first level and didn't hear any noise. The room was very clean no roaches no stains absolutely clean. Can't complain, great price and good location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

If you rent a car the valet parking is pretty expensive. About 2 blocks down from the hotel there is a parking lot and its so much cheaper definitely park there. It's on 16st between Collins and Washington.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Wedding Guest 1
Business
Austin, Texas
Jun 1, 2014

Good for wedding guests

Three of my friends and I recently stayed here for a friend's wedding on South Beach. Overall the hotel worked well for our needs - it was nice enough, perfect distance from the wedding festivities and the beach, walking distance to incredible food and clubs, etc. The staff was friendly, helpful and fairly responsive. The room was much smaller than we anticipated, especially considering we upgraded to a larger room (we had four girls, so it was a little crowded, but seeing as we were not in the room much, it worked out fine and the beds fits us all comfortably). They are also incredibly accommodating should you want to add additional nights onto your original stay, which was great! My only complaint was that our room was still dirty when we arrived - it looked as if it had been haphazardly cleaned, but there was still trash in the trash can (which was already full), dirty towels hanging in the bathroom, and used toiletries in the shower. We asked them to come clean the room, and it was taken care of the next day. I would definitely recommend this place though, especially for a group of people looking to stay on South Beach for an inexpensive amount.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Be careful of your belongings on the beach. We were told that theft on South Beach is a major problem, and not one that is heavily talked about.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Marloncito
Business
Tampa
Jun 1, 2014

Cool hotel

Cool rooftop pool. Cool rain shower head. Cool lobby. Cool bamboo garden. Cool location in Collins Ave walking distance to everything!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Katsuya restaurant in SLS hotel!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Autumnj
Business
Pittsburgh, pa
May 31, 2014

Bearable

$15 a day resort fee!!! When we first checked in our room was hot muggy and bugs everywhere, including dead bugs around the bathroom sink like the room had not been thoroughly cleaned since it was last occupied. We had to complain to the front desk and they moved us to a suite in the dorster building which was much better! If you stay in this hotel you must book a suite or upgrade when you get there because the standard rooms are absolutely unbearable. The rooftop pool area was about the best thing the hotel had to offer. The Maxine restaurant is good for breakfast! $34 a day parking also!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Kilamal
Business
Miami
May 30, 2014

Perfect place to relax !

I decided to treat myself to a short stay at the Catalina and couldn't be happier with my decision, the pool was the reason I returned and it continued to exceed my expectations, the staff, the drinks the music and atmosphere, everything, loved it ! The room was clean and the bed was so comfortable, only problem I had were both days my door was opened by house keeping while I was in the room, I didn't like that, they were very apologetic though, overall wonderful stay, and I'll definitely be back

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top