$178 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Jan 12, 2015 Check-out: Jan 15, 2015

The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

4 stars
1736 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.2
out of 5
551 reviews
Short work related trip

The Catalina, never fails to impress, there are some less than flattering reviews here. But I... See full review

  • Ed07093
  • Dec 21, 2014
Awesome staff

The people who work here are so much fun. They are friendly and helpful. The bartenders and waiters... See full review

  • Melanie in Miami
  • Nov 27, 2014
The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club located at 1732 Collins Avenue will offer affordable luxury and great value in a stylish and sophisticated environment. This hotel is much more than just a place to sleep, although guest rooms are equipped with Tempu-Pedic Swedish Mattresses, 300-thread count Belgian sheets, goose down comforters and pillows; the Catalina Hotel and Beach Club intertwines scintillating style and harmonious sophistication. Resort Fee is $15 + tax per night payable at property and includes: airport pick up from Miami Int'l Airport, complimentary Happy Hour from 7-8 pm daily and two beach chairs and beach towels per day. Credit card is required upon check-in. No cash deposits are accepted. The hotel will authorize your credit card at check in for up to $100 per night of stay in addition to nightly room rate. Please understand that if you are using a "Check Card", this authorization will limit your card use for up to 10 days or until your issuing bank releases the authorization hold.

Must be at least 18 years of age to check-in.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5

The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club Rooms

In the Mix - Double
Your coming to South Beach to have a good time but don't want to skimp on comfort. You like to have some extra room and a desk to send a few emails to your colleagues back at work who aren't as lucky as you. More mature in design, these rooms feature 2 double beds, dark wood and ivory furnishings with Tempur-pedic mattresses, 100% cotton linens, and spa bathrobes. 190 square feet - perfect for 4
In the Mix - Queen
Your coming to South Beach to have a good time but don't want to skimp on comfort. You like to have some extra room and a desk to send a few emails to your colleagues back at work who aren't as lucky as you. More mature in design, these rooms feature 1 queen bed, dark wood and ivory furnishings with Tempur-pedic mattresses, 100% cotton linens, and spa bathrobes. 190 square feet - perfect for 2
Living Large
You're coming to South Beach to work but will be sure to make time to play. You're looking for a quiet, spacious, comfortable room where you can work and relax. You expect your room to have a desk, a plasma TV, complimentary wireless and daily newspaper delivery, in addition to our legendary Tempur-pedic mattresses, 100% cotton linens and spa bathrobes. When it's time to relax you are an elevator ride away from our rooftop pool.
On a Budget
You're on a budget and you need a clean room to shower and a comfortable bed to sleep between beach, bar and restaurant hopping. For the young at heart and backpackers in spirit. We wouldn't exactly call this a hostel - as they still come fully loaded with Tempur-pedic mattresses, 100% cotton linens, spa bathrobes and the Catalina signature red & white decor. 125 square feet
2 Queens Better Than One
Your coming to South Beach to have a good time but don't want to skimp on comfort. You like to have some extra room and a desk to send a few emails to your colleagues back at work who aren't as lucky as you. More mature in design, these rooms feature 2 queen beds, dark wood and ivory furnishings with Tempur-pedic mattresses, 100% cotton linens, and spa bathrobes. 190 square feet - perfect for 2

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Airport shuttle
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Pool
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Transportation
Airport shuttle
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Dining

Maxine Restaurant & Bar
The Maxine Restaurant at The Catalina Hotel & Beach Club is open and serves breakfast all day long! The Challah bread French toast is already known to be the best on South Beach. Located in our North building the restaurant, caf, and bar is a great place to people watch while enjoying cocktails and delicious treats.
Kung Fu Sushi
Kung Fu Sushi is an eclectic mix of sushi and Asian food with a real kick. The menu ranges from Seabass to Japanese Red Snapper Rolls, and you'll definitely want to cleanse the palate with signature sake cocktails like the Tokyo Rose or Japanese Jade. The delicious and affordable fare is served amidst dcor that is just as impressive. Partnering with famed artist Lebo to showcase his work, this sexy mod-Asian bistro will offer a complete experience for your senses. As the choice of unique establishments offered becomes increasingly limited in Miami Beach, travelers can continue to rely on the South Beach Group as the source for lifestyle hotels and restaurants that are always original and interesting.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (551)

Ratings and reviews for The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Overall score

3.2 / 5
5.01.0
551 out of 551
Amenities:
3.3
Room cleanliness:
3.5
Hotel staff:
3.6
Room comfort:
3.3
Location:
4.3
Value:
3.4

67% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Bicycle race fan
Business
Atlanta, GA
Oct 15, 2013

This Hotel Caters for a Different Crowd

This hotel is in the center of the Miami Beach scene, catering to a young, free-swinging, party-going crowd. The parking is Extremely Limited, so valet parking costs $35.00/night; and the constant car/bus/bike/pedestrian traffic causes confusing congestion. The hotel is designed in clean whites, reds & blacks; this week with lots of Hallowe'en decorations; but the carpet was very thread-bare and dirty. My room was clean and spare, but the window looked out onto the blank wall of the building only a few feet away. There are 2 restaurants next door, with coupons for drinks, and a bar in the hotel. The beach is across the street, and the pedestrian shopping area is only a few blocks away. This is not a hotel for families with young, impressionable children, or for older folks who want a good nights rest.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: In Hotel

Night life is EVERYWHERE in Miami Beach.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Leonardo Aviles
Business
Chicago Illinois
Oct 10, 2013

Great Stay and Wonderful Weekend

Thank you to all the staff, service was very good, the location is excellent, the environment and the food at all restaurants and bars in the hotel are a wonderful experience no to mention your exceptional price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Just around the corner by Lincoln Mall you can find everything you want.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
ATLover
Business
Chicago, IL
Oct 2, 2013

Some complications

When booking the hotel, the pictures of the rooms and the hotel appear to be very nice but when we came to the hotel it was not as impressive as the pictures appear. This was especially true when we got our room. The room was absolutely small and did not look like the pictures. After thinking about it I went to talk to the front desk about the discrepancy and he was able to provide an upgrade to a suite (which is what is pictured) for $50. I quickly took the deal as I found out it was night a day. If you book here, make sure to ask if the room is in the main hotel or the two neighboring ones which they own. They place us in the adjacent one called Dorset and the room was significantly nicer.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
NNarcis
Business
Toronto
Oct 1, 2013

Good time!!!

I have read mixed reviews but I have to say this is my forth time staying at the Catalina and I have no complaints. I find the staff friendly and accommodating. Our flight was in the evening and I spoke to one if the staff and I was able to check out late, 4:00pm which allowed me to enjoy the pool before heading back home. The rooms were clean and love happy hour!!! I would recommend this hotel !!! I would definitely be coming back!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
TigerVic
Business
Virginia
Sep 24, 2013

weekend vacation

This hotel was average at best. Front desk and concierge were very friendly and helpful, other than that, rudeness prevailed. The bartenders at the rooftop pool were excellent.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

grillfish

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Najeed
Business
Dallas, TX
Sep 16, 2013

Pleasant Stay

I have all good thoughts about the hotel. We stayed at the Dorset building but I cannot comment on the hotels' other two buildings. They have three adjacent building which accommodate the guest. Ground level pool is very spacious and the roof top pool is more for relaxing. The hotel felt safe and the surrounding area the same. The bartenders during happy hour were nice to everyone.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
heavy d 6941
Business
Miami
Sep 16, 2013

I love mimai

At first the your lady get me a room that I didnt like but I when back to the front desk and thay took care of me then it hot better ...the roof top pool was every nice had a ball was there four days

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Everything is right there

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
ann super girl
Business
NY
Sep 15, 2013

Customer service needs improvement

First let me say that I enjoy my stay in Miami Beach very much and part of it is for sure Catalina Hotel. The rooms were clean and comfortable, though I have to change my room since the first room they gave me lacked a bath tub and the hair dryer was not working. The front desk person was very helpful in giving me a second room which was fantastic. So far five stars for them. The second day it was rainy and I decided to spend some hours in the rooftop pool until I meet my friends later. So there were 2 bartenders there very busy talking to each other and pretended they didnt notice me standing there for like 5 min or more. I was the only one there. I excused myself for interrupting their conversation and I asked them what drinks they have (I am not a frequent drinker) and the girl bartender give me an obvious attitude, she told me that they have "everything that I can see" and showed me the shelf behind her. I dont like when people give me attitude. I politely thanked them and went downstairs to Maxime bar where their amazing bartender fixed me a nice drink. The last day I arranged with catalina hotel people to have the shuttle pick me up to Miami airport. They register my name to the system and I had piece of mind. Well not so fast. When I checked out the next day and I was waiting for the shuttle the front desk told me that the shuttle should be expected in a 15 min period. He didnt wanted to check if shuttle is coming because according to him its not 15 min yet????????? Go figure!!!!!!!!! People, please I have a flight to attend!!!!!!!!! Well after 10 min I was getting nervous so I asked again firmly if the shuttle is coming or no. The front desk person told me at that time that they are going to reimburse me the fee for a taxi and I should take a taxi. So much for a ride to airport. I almost lost my flight. I took the taxi, I have yet to see if my money will go back to my account....... Its a nice hotel to stay the beach is amazing but some of their staff need classes on communication and effectiveness and service. Thats all.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Bruno Alveniz
Business
Atlanta, Georgia
Sep 14, 2013

Great

The price was just great nice size room very good short walk to everything

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Step

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Michelle b1
Business
Atlanta ,GA
Sep 4, 2013

Great stay

The hotel was walking distance from the beach as well as Lincoln street and many clubs. The atmosphere was very young and fun.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top