$66 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 29, 2014 Check-out: Jul 30, 2014

The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

4 stars
1736 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.2
out of 5
651 reviews
Awesome family fun

Awesome staff, very kid friendly. Free happy hour every day. Beautiful pols and great food! would... See full review

  • Tata and Piti
  • Jul 8, 2014
Wonderful staycation!

My friend and I stayed here last weekend for a little weekend getaway for our birthdays and it was... See full review

  • Boca girls
  • Jun 29, 2014
Stylish South Beach hotel with free happy hour and bustling nightlife

When in South Beach, lounge, dine and cocktail like the locals. The nightlife sizzles at the Catalina Hotel and Beach Club, thanks to two rooftop pools, three bars and two restaurants, including the people-watching hub Maxine's. The Catalina celebrates its boutique style with bold design elements such as stark white seating and linens and sumptuous red walls and lamps. Poolside beds reflect South Beach's quintessential luxurious approach to everyday living.

Highlights
  • Two rooftop pools, three bars and two restaurants, including South Beach favorite Maxine's
  • Free shuttle from Miami International Airport
  • Free happy hour from 7 p.m. to 8 p.m.
  • VIP passes to South Beach clubs
Rooms

Who says white has to be boring? The hue makes a dramatic statement when paired with red walls or damask-print. Floor-to-ceiling curtains lend softness to the rooms, where Tempur-pedic mattresses, 300-count Belgian sheets and goose down comforters are standard amenities. Space isn't an issue. Each room holds enough square footage to accommodate an in-house masseuse.

Features

 


The hotel hands out VIP passes to the hottest clubs, but the property is a nightlife magnet on its own. Visitors can sample sashimi in Kung-Fu Kitchen & Sushi or mingle with other singles at the rooftop pool. Go ahead: Order a cocktail from the cabana bed.

 

When it's time to catch a flight home, guests can cut their travel time via the free airport shuttle. An in-house system also enables visitors to modify, buy and confirm their flights from the hotel lobby.

Transportation
  • Miami International Airport (12 miles)
  • Fort Lauderdale/Hollywood International Airport (27 miles)
Attractions
  • Lincoln Road
  • Ocean Drive
  • Collins Avenue
  • Art Deco Historic District
  • Downtown Miami
  • Miami Beach Convention Center
Business
  • Wi-Fi and high-speed Internet access available
Policies and fees

Credit card is required upon check-in. No cash deposits are accepted. The hotel will authorize your credit card at check in for up to $100 per night of stay in addition to nightly room rate. Please understand that if you are using a Check Card, this authorization will limit your card use for up to 10 days or until your issuing bank releases the authorization hold.

Resort fee is $15 plus tax per night payable at property and includes airport pick up from Miami International Airport, complimentary happy hour from 7 p.m. to 8 p.m. daily and two beach chairs and beach towels per day.

Must be at least 18 years of age to check in.

Valet parking costs $32 a day.

Please be advised, the airport shuttle's last pickup from Miami International Airport is 6pm on 12/31/11.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

25.7932 -80.1296
Area served
Miami Beach, Florida
Nearby airports
Hotel is located 7 Miles East of MIA Airport
Area description
1732 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139 Located on Collins Ave in heart of Entertainment District.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5

The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club Rooms

In the Mix - Double
Your coming to South Beach to have a good time but don't want to skimp on comfort. You like to have some extra room and a desk to send a few emails to your colleagues back at work who aren't as lucky as you. More mature in design, these rooms feature 2 double beds, dark wood and ivory furnishings with Tempur-pedic mattresses, 100% cotton linens, and spa bathrobes. 190 square feet - perfect for 4
In the Mix - Queen
Your coming to South Beach to have a good time but don't want to skimp on comfort. You like to have some extra room and a desk to send a few emails to your colleagues back at work who aren't as lucky as you. More mature in design, these rooms feature 1 queen bed, dark wood and ivory furnishings with Tempur-pedic mattresses, 100% cotton linens, and spa bathrobes. 190 square feet - perfect for 2
Living Large
You're coming to South Beach to work but will be sure to make time to play. You're looking for a quiet, spacious, comfortable room where you can work and relax. You expect your room to have a desk, a plasma TV, complimentary wireless and daily newspaper delivery, in addition to our legendary Tempur-pedic mattresses, 100% cotton linens and spa bathrobes. When it's time to relax you are an elevator ride away from our rooftop pool.
On a Budget
You're on a budget and you need a clean room to shower and a comfortable bed to sleep between beach, bar and restaurant hopping. For the young at heart and backpackers in spirit. We wouldn't exactly call this a hostel - as they still come fully loaded with Tempur-pedic mattresses, 100% cotton linens, spa bathrobes and the Catalina signature red & white decor. 125 square feet
2 Queens Better Than One
Your coming to South Beach to have a good time but don't want to skimp on comfort. You like to have some extra room and a desk to send a few emails to your colleagues back at work who aren't as lucky as you. More mature in design, these rooms feature 2 queen beds, dark wood and ivory furnishings with Tempur-pedic mattresses, 100% cotton linens, and spa bathrobes. 190 square feet - perfect for 2

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Airport shuttle
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Pool
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Transportation
Airport shuttle
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Dining

Maxine Restaurant & Bar
The Maxine Restaurant at The Catalina Hotel & Beach Club is open and serves breakfast all day long! The Challah bread French toast is already known to be the best on South Beach. Located in our North building the restaurant, caf, and bar is a great place to people watch while enjoying cocktails and delicious treats.
Kung Fu Sushi
Kung Fu Sushi is an eclectic mix of sushi and Asian food with a real kick. The menu ranges from Seabass to Japanese Red Snapper Rolls, and you'll definitely want to cleanse the palate with signature sake cocktails like the Tokyo Rose or Japanese Jade. The delicious and affordable fare is served amidst dcor that is just as impressive. Partnering with famed artist Lebo to showcase his work, this sexy mod-Asian bistro will offer a complete experience for your senses. As the choice of unique establishments offered becomes increasingly limited in Miami Beach, travelers can continue to rely on the South Beach Group as the source for lifestyle hotels and restaurants that are always original and interesting.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (651)

Ratings and reviews for The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Overall score

3.2 / 5
5.01.0
651 out of 651
Amenities:
3.3
Room cleanliness:
3.5
Hotel staff:
3.5
Room comfort:
3.3
Location:
4.2
Value:
3.3

66% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
East Coast Lola
East Coast
Jun 30, 2013

Stay somewhere else

If you like bugs crawling all over your things, small confined spaces, bad tasting food, and a rude staff then this is the place for you. After traveling for more than five hours, all I wanted to do was check in and relax. Two hours later, I finally got a clean room (sort of) after the manager begrudgingly spoke to me. If I wanted this kind of stress I could have stayed home. If it weren't for the playoffs and all the hotels were not booked up, I would have checked out on the spot. One morning when I returned to my room after spending time on the beach, my room key did not work. I called down to the front desk and asked if someone could let me into the room and the response I got was "I'm busy." Truly unprofessional and certainly not a way to treat a paying customer. Then, what's up with the shower? Why not have a full door so the water does not get EVERYWHERE? *Catalina's only saving grace is Carlos. He always had a smile and was always willing to assist guests. There are plenty of hotels in South Beach, don't waste your time and energy here.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
2
Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
traveler1119
White Plains NY
Jun 28, 2013

it's miami

the hotel was okay...i prefer staying at marriotts but nothing was available at marriott properties. I guess it'll do for miami - party party party and good place to just sleep it off

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
1
Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Steve Patti
Business
NY, NY
Jun 27, 2013

Pass this one by

Old, dark, dingy and smelly. If not the damp moldy smell its the heaver oder of Pine Sol. Food at Maxine's was horrible (both lunch and breakfast) However the Sushi restaurant was very good. Pools were cloudy with stuff float like feathers and debris. Wasn't too happy with this one. By the way, they have a nice courtesy shuttle, however when I asked them to take me to the beach (which is written on the side of the shuttle) because I'm 60 and my sciatica was acting up, they told me to walk.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Kung Fu Sushi

Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Visions
Miami
Jun 25, 2013

Night in Catalina hotel

Hotel is good location , good attention ,no is good for children ,

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Pris C
NYC
Jun 25, 2013

Good for young people

I would not recommend this hotel for families with young children because it gets LOUD at night. We stayed in the main building, the rooms aren't anything fancy but they were relatively clean. The two pools were nice, you can actually swim in the bamboo pool (it goes to about 8ft deep), the rooftop pool was more for lounging. The shuttle service was a nice perk as were the 2 beach chairs that were provided. Overall the staff was very accomodating and the concerige Andre was so helpful with suggestions of things to do/see. Overall I would reccommend this hotel for the young crowd who like to party, its only 1 block away from the beach!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The asian restaurant located next to the hotel was decent and the service was great! (i'm asian so I can vouch that they're food is pretty legit ;)

Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
dc511
Washington, DC
Jun 24, 2013

Decent hotel on a good location

The location is very good and the rooms interior was very refreshing. Friendly staff. Mattress was too soft for my liking.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
WWW1
Connecticut
Jun 24, 2013

Friends Reunion

I called ahead to make sure I had double room instead of jst a king size bed. The customer service was excellent. Location was perfect. One block away from the beach and Lincoln Mall Blvd. The restaurants and pools within the hotel were great. Hotel Lobby and happy hour was fun... the bartenders were very friendly.... I will definetly stay again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Ask questions. Know what u want

Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Missouri Traveler 32
Miami, Fl
Jun 22, 2013

Valet Parking

Expensive to have valet parking. Good location and nice restaurant and room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Shawnshawnchicago
Chicago
Jun 22, 2013

Good price and great location

The location of this hotel is extremely convenient to the south beach, shops and restaurants. Staff in the front desk and the bar there are very friendly and helpful. Rooms are bit smaller than the pictures. The only concern for us is that it might be a bit noisy during late night because of the parties and traffic on the Collins Ave. We were there during the Game Night of the Heat V.S. Spurs and it was a crazily loudly night until early morning. Otherwise, I would say that the price is fairly worthy for the stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Lisa 12345
Chicago , Il
Jun 17, 2013

Not a 4 star standard

This is not a 4 star hotel if you ask me. I was in a bunch of 3 star hotels before , where I had bigger rooms more comfort and less noise.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Back to menu Return to top