$66 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Jul 29, 2014 Check-out: Jul 30, 2014

The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

4 stars
1736 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.2
out of 5
651 reviews
Awesome family fun

Awesome staff, very kid friendly. Free happy hour every day. Beautiful pols and great food! would... See full review

  • Tata and Piti
  • Jul 8, 2014
Wonderful staycation!

My friend and I stayed here last weekend for a little weekend getaway for our birthdays and it was... See full review

  • Boca girls
  • Jun 29, 2014
Stylish South Beach hotel with free happy hour and bustling nightlife

When in South Beach, lounge, dine and cocktail like the locals. The nightlife sizzles at the Catalina Hotel and Beach Club, thanks to two rooftop pools, three bars and two restaurants, including the people-watching hub Maxine's. The Catalina celebrates its boutique style with bold design elements such as stark white seating and linens and sumptuous red walls and lamps. Poolside beds reflect South Beach's quintessential luxurious approach to everyday living.

Highlights
  • Two rooftop pools, three bars and two restaurants, including South Beach favorite Maxine's
  • Free shuttle from Miami International Airport
  • Free happy hour from 7 p.m. to 8 p.m.
  • VIP passes to South Beach clubs
Rooms

Who says white has to be boring? The hue makes a dramatic statement when paired with red walls or damask-print. Floor-to-ceiling curtains lend softness to the rooms, where Tempur-pedic mattresses, 300-count Belgian sheets and goose down comforters are standard amenities. Space isn't an issue. Each room holds enough square footage to accommodate an in-house masseuse.

Features

 


The hotel hands out VIP passes to the hottest clubs, but the property is a nightlife magnet on its own. Visitors can sample sashimi in Kung-Fu Kitchen & Sushi or mingle with other singles at the rooftop pool. Go ahead: Order a cocktail from the cabana bed.

 

When it's time to catch a flight home, guests can cut their travel time via the free airport shuttle. An in-house system also enables visitors to modify, buy and confirm their flights from the hotel lobby.

Transportation
  • Miami International Airport (12 miles)
  • Fort Lauderdale/Hollywood International Airport (27 miles)
Attractions
  • Lincoln Road
  • Ocean Drive
  • Collins Avenue
  • Art Deco Historic District
  • Downtown Miami
  • Miami Beach Convention Center
Business
  • Wi-Fi and high-speed Internet access available
Policies and fees

Credit card is required upon check-in. No cash deposits are accepted. The hotel will authorize your credit card at check in for up to $100 per night of stay in addition to nightly room rate. Please understand that if you are using a Check Card, this authorization will limit your card use for up to 10 days or until your issuing bank releases the authorization hold.

Resort fee is $15 plus tax per night payable at property and includes airport pick up from Miami International Airport, complimentary happy hour from 7 p.m. to 8 p.m. daily and two beach chairs and beach towels per day.

Must be at least 18 years of age to check in.

Valet parking costs $32 a day.

Please be advised, the airport shuttle's last pickup from Miami International Airport is 6pm on 12/31/11.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club Rooms

In the Mix - Double
Your coming to South Beach to have a good time but don't want to skimp on comfort. You like to have some extra room and a desk to send a few emails to your colleagues back at work who aren't as lucky as you. More mature in design, these rooms feature 2 double beds, dark wood and ivory furnishings with Tempur-pedic mattresses, 100% cotton linens, and spa bathrobes. 190 square feet - perfect for 4
In the Mix - Queen
Your coming to South Beach to have a good time but don't want to skimp on comfort. You like to have some extra room and a desk to send a few emails to your colleagues back at work who aren't as lucky as you. More mature in design, these rooms feature 1 queen bed, dark wood and ivory furnishings with Tempur-pedic mattresses, 100% cotton linens, and spa bathrobes. 190 square feet - perfect for 2
Living Large
You're coming to South Beach to work but will be sure to make time to play. You're looking for a quiet, spacious, comfortable room where you can work and relax. You expect your room to have a desk, a plasma TV, complimentary wireless and daily newspaper delivery, in addition to our legendary Tempur-pedic mattresses, 100% cotton linens and spa bathrobes. When it's time to relax you are an elevator ride away from our rooftop pool.
On a Budget
You're on a budget and you need a clean room to shower and a comfortable bed to sleep between beach, bar and restaurant hopping. For the young at heart and backpackers in spirit. We wouldn't exactly call this a hostel - as they still come fully loaded with Tempur-pedic mattresses, 100% cotton linens, spa bathrobes and the Catalina signature red & white decor. 125 square feet
2 Queens Better Than One
Your coming to South Beach to have a good time but don't want to skimp on comfort. You like to have some extra room and a desk to send a few emails to your colleagues back at work who aren't as lucky as you. More mature in design, these rooms feature 2 queen beds, dark wood and ivory furnishings with Tempur-pedic mattresses, 100% cotton linens, and spa bathrobes. 190 square feet - perfect for 2

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Airport shuttle
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Pool
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Transportation
Airport shuttle
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5

Hotel Map

25.7932 -80.1296
Area served
Miami Beach, Florida
Nearby airports
Hotel is located 7 Miles East of MIA Airport
Area description
1732 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139 Located on Collins Ave in heart of Entertainment District.

Dining

Maxine Restaurant & Bar
The Maxine Restaurant at The Catalina Hotel & Beach Club is open and serves breakfast all day long! The Challah bread French toast is already known to be the best on South Beach. Located in our North building the restaurant, caf, and bar is a great place to people watch while enjoying cocktails and delicious treats.
Kung Fu Sushi
Kung Fu Sushi is an eclectic mix of sushi and Asian food with a real kick. The menu ranges from Seabass to Japanese Red Snapper Rolls, and you'll definitely want to cleanse the palate with signature sake cocktails like the Tokyo Rose or Japanese Jade. The delicious and affordable fare is served amidst dcor that is just as impressive. Partnering with famed artist Lebo to showcase his work, this sexy mod-Asian bistro will offer a complete experience for your senses. As the choice of unique establishments offered becomes increasingly limited in Miami Beach, travelers can continue to rely on the South Beach Group as the source for lifestyle hotels and restaurants that are always original and interesting.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (651)

Ratings and reviews for The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Overall score

3.2 / 5
5.01.0
651 out of 651
Amenities:
3.3
Room cleanliness:
3.5
Hotel staff:
3.5
Room comfort:
3.3
Location:
4.2
Value:
3.3

66% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Najeed
Dallas, TX
Sep 16, 2013

Pleasant Stay

I have all good thoughts about the hotel. We stayed at the Dorset building but I cannot comment on the hotels' other two buildings. They have three adjacent building which accommodate the guest. Ground level pool is very spacious and the roof top pool is more for relaxing. The hotel felt safe and the surrounding area the same. The bartenders during happy hour were nice to everyone.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
heavy d 6941
Miami
Sep 16, 2013

I love mimai

At first the your lady get me a room that I didnt like but I when back to the front desk and thay took care of me then it hot better ...the roof top pool was every nice had a ball was there four days

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Everything is right there

Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
ann super girl
NY
Sep 15, 2013

Customer service needs improvement

First let me say that I enjoy my stay in Miami Beach very much and part of it is for sure Catalina Hotel. The rooms were clean and comfortable, though I have to change my room since the first room they gave me lacked a bath tub and the hair dryer was not working. The front desk person was very helpful in giving me a second room which was fantastic. So far five stars for them. The second day it was rainy and I decided to spend some hours in the rooftop pool until I meet my friends later. So there were 2 bartenders there very busy talking to each other and pretended they didnt notice me standing there for like 5 min or more. I was the only one there. I excused myself for interrupting their conversation and I asked them what drinks they have (I am not a frequent drinker) and the girl bartender give me an obvious attitude, she told me that they have "everything that I can see" and showed me the shelf behind her. I dont like when people give me attitude. I politely thanked them and went downstairs to Maxime bar where their amazing bartender fixed me a nice drink. The last day I arranged with catalina hotel people to have the shuttle pick me up to Miami airport. They register my name to the system and I had piece of mind. Well not so fast. When I checked out the next day and I was waiting for the shuttle the front desk told me that the shuttle should be expected in a 15 min period. He didnt wanted to check if shuttle is coming because according to him its not 15 min yet????????? Go figure!!!!!!!!! People, please I have a flight to attend!!!!!!!!! Well after 10 min I was getting nervous so I asked again firmly if the shuttle is coming or no. The front desk person told me at that time that they are going to reimburse me the fee for a taxi and I should take a taxi. So much for a ride to airport. I almost lost my flight. I took the taxi, I have yet to see if my money will go back to my account....... Its a nice hotel to stay the beach is amazing but some of their staff need classes on communication and effectiveness and service. Thats all.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Bruno Alveniz
Atlanta, Georgia
Sep 14, 2013

Great

The price was just great nice size room very good short walk to everything

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Step

Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Michelle b1
Atlanta ,GA
Sep 4, 2013

Great stay

The hotel was walking distance from the beach as well as Lincoln street and many clubs. The atmosphere was very young and fun.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Kimcesar
Brooklyn, NY, USA
Sep 2, 2013

Great Stay

I was there for a birthday getaway. The best thing is to go to the bar during happy hour 7pm-8pm although they only have vodka, gin, and rum on the list. The room I stay in it was clean but I found some tissues on the floor and some paper in the safe deposit box. I stay on the first floor room 126 and early in the morning there are people outside making noise in the hallway and the exit door was there been hearing it all day. But the good thing is it's only one block to the beach and the staff gives you free beach towels. Their pools are nice but when it rains and the seats seats got wet. I'm willing to stay there again but not on the first floor.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Great location to the beach

Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
JOJO LALWANI
Business
PARIS
Sep 1, 2013

the best in town

I often come to Miami. It was 2nd chance to stay in catalina. I stayed in few 5star hotel's in Miami before , but if you are here just for fun and wanna enjoy 24hrs a day . Please go to this hotel . I can say the best in south beach. 7 to 9 pm free drinks , amazing n sexy crowd, freindly staff, nice rooms, good pool, delicious restaurants. But if u think u wanna hotel just for sleep , please don't go to this hotel , I should say please don't go to south beach. , suggestions : not for the family

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: In Hotel

You live only once . Try this hotel

Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Dunkin Man
North Wales, PA
Aug 30, 2013

A good family escape.

The room was a little small,as was the bed. But, for oNe nighT,it sufficed. We originally had a two bed room which they upgraded for $20; and, tHe upgrade gave us a single king bed which we were not pleased with.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: In Hotel

Food was very good as was our waitress.

Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
marmar418
Detroit, MI
Aug 26, 2013

it was ok

The hotel was not that great but it is tolerable. Nothing too crazy that you "can't live with" for a few days. Location was great and staff were super nice and friendly. The rooms are a little small and doesn't leave too much room for moving around and for luggage.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Swattie
Baltimore, MD
Aug 26, 2013

Meh...

Upon arrival, my friend and I were placed into a King room which nice, and and smelled beautifully. The problem is, I put in for 2 beds. The front desk blamed alck ofcommunication between the hotel and Orbiz. Either way, he kindly switch us into a room with double beds. This room (in Maxines) was dark and dank. It had a strong aroma of gunjaweed and the bathroom sink had that stinky rotting sink smell. I suppose it was ok for the few nights we were there, as my friend was not very fussy. I normally stay in a condo at the Shelborne which was under construction at the time, so I was hugely disappointed. The first room in the Dorsey was fine, but the room we stayed in made me not want to stay there again. The staff was all quite nice, but there ar better places to stay in southbeach.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Back to menu Return to top