$98 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Mar 30, 2015 Check-out: Apr 2, 2015

The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

4 stars
View map of 1736 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Overall score

3.3 / 5
5.01.0
612 out of 612
Amenities:
3.3
Cleanliness:
3.5
Hotel staff:
3.6
Comfort:
3.3
Location:
4.3
Value:
3.4

68% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Heats fan.
Business
North Plainfield, New Jersey
Jul 26, 2014

Short vacation

The hotel was not what we were expecting. We had a small room for 3 girls. Very small. Very unorganized place. The drinks from happy hour wasn't great at all. The food was too expensive. It was just a horrible experience all together. Wouldn't go back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Lincoln road has some great Cuban food.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Cor from SRQ
Business
Sarasota, FL
Jul 25, 2014

Miami Beach Catalina Impresses

One of our favorite things...there are actually three different hotels included in the Hotel Catalina. This gave us access to multiple restaurants, multiple pools, and multiple lounges...all on property. 10 minute walk over to the Strip...so if you want to save money, have the true Miami Beach Boutique Hotel experience, and be able to walk to everything (or use the hotels golf cart taxi which is free...just be sure to tip him)...then The Catalina is an excellent stay...we will definitely be back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: In Hotel

Use the onsite golf cart concierge...they can take you anywhere in south beach quickly...free of charge. Just be sure to give him a tip.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Mary Poppins Mom
Business
North Dakota
Jul 24, 2014

Little disappointing

The staff was very nice and friendly. However, attention was needed to the building. The stairways, hallways, etc. were in desperate need of vacuuming. No parking garage or lot provided.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

The beach was just a couple of blocks away.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Parents2
Business
Cincinnati, Ohio
Jul 22, 2014

Excellent location

I booked this hotel for my parents for one night. They loved the location and the cleaning. My parents want to come back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
nene12
Business
Atlanta, Ga
Jul 22, 2014

Good for one night

Stayed here my last night in Miami. Good for one night, not much space. I had to call down 4 times just to get ice which took 3 hours to get delivered.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Z. Ivette
Business
Winter Springs
Jul 17, 2014

Catalina

This hotel is for a younger generation who enjoys crowd and extreme noise all night long. The rooms are very uncomfortable and there’s not even a drawer to put your clothes on. Further, there’s a $35.00 charge for valet parking and this information is not listed on the ad. The so called free drinks are only offered for one hour – from 7 to 8. It is only gyn, vodka and rum – the cheapest there is. We had to beg to be transferred to another hotel so we would not lose our money. Moreover, unless you are a young person who likes crowds and loud places please do not book at this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
SammyATL
Business
Atlanta, Georgia
Jul 12, 2014

couple getaway

Nothing to complain about the location or the room itself or even the greeters .the only thing is is that our room was a lil bit small we were supposed to get a king and end up getting a queen instead. Also our room was in the 1st floor by the sushi bar so we could hear them partying until 3 a.m. My only complaint was that we booked a shuttle to the airport the night before checkout and not only was the guy really rude on the phone he also didn't book my reservation . The next morning one of the Butlers was being very pushy tryinh to get us to take a taxi he said even though our reservation was at 9 it could take about an hour and a half to two hours . After waiting 45 minutes we found out no reservation was made we ended up having to take a taxi and paying $45 to the airport for a taxi (even thou the shuttle bus was complementary) the taxi guy told us this is something that always happens and we are not the first one to complain about the shuttle bus reservation.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Rio Sansation on Lincoln Street , its a Brazilian restaurant with great atmosphere good price an awesome service ....just a short walk from the hotel

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Andrew1978
Business
Naples florida
Jul 9, 2014

Worse management ever seen

This is the 5th time i been here, and the hotel has change to be a bad bad experience, overcharge drinks, to finish with the valet pushing and pushing to pay the valet fee and cash, i have to assume he was going to pocket the money that he confront me on front of hotel treating me on front of everyone, manager was told did nothing a 20 some years old guy who did nothing at all, so if you like to have a nice vacation i recommend to stay away from this hotel by the way is part of southbeach group hotels

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Will not stay here

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
SMF loves New Orleans
Business
Pikesville MD
Jul 9, 2014

Sounds great on paper....

location and quality - great!! However the management allowed a large group of extremely loud, inebriated young people to completely take over the roof top pool, along with a blaring DJ, which rendered it completely useless to anyone except those in the "in crowd." Dance disco Music in lobby is played loud enough to curtail relaxing during the day in the room. Not sure what management is thinking - does catering to an ultra young and loud crown make management sense? We called the front desk and music was turned down but not sure at all why they couldn't at least play something a little more middle of the road. Room was spectacularly CLEAN and lovely

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

hua hua Mexican was the BEST and very reasonable

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
jjjen
Business
Milwaukee, WI
Jul 9, 2014

Enjoyed our stay :)

Great location!! Staff was very helpful only downfall was that our bed was not so comfortable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top