$66 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Jul 31, 2014 Check-out: Aug 1, 2014

The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

4 stars
1736 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.2
out of 5
647 reviews
Awesome family fun

Awesome staff, very kid friendly. Free happy hour every day. Beautiful pols and great food! would... See full review

  • Tata and Piti
  • Jul 8, 2014
Wonderful staycation!

My friend and I stayed here last weekend for a little weekend getaway for our birthdays and it was... See full review

  • Boca girls
  • Jun 29, 2014
Stylish South Beach hotel with free happy hour and bustling nightlife

When in South Beach, lounge, dine and cocktail like the locals. The nightlife sizzles at the Catalina Hotel and Beach Club, thanks to two rooftop pools, three bars and two restaurants, including the people-watching hub Maxine's. The Catalina celebrates its boutique style with bold design elements such as stark white seating and linens and sumptuous red walls and lamps. Poolside beds reflect South Beach's quintessential luxurious approach to everyday living.

Highlights
  • Two rooftop pools, three bars and two restaurants, including South Beach favorite Maxine's
  • Free shuttle from Miami International Airport
  • Free happy hour from 7 p.m. to 8 p.m.
  • VIP passes to South Beach clubs
Rooms

Who says white has to be boring? The hue makes a dramatic statement when paired with red walls or damask-print. Floor-to-ceiling curtains lend softness to the rooms, where Tempur-pedic mattresses, 300-count Belgian sheets and goose down comforters are standard amenities. Space isn't an issue. Each room holds enough square footage to accommodate an in-house masseuse.

Features

 


The hotel hands out VIP passes to the hottest clubs, but the property is a nightlife magnet on its own. Visitors can sample sashimi in Kung-Fu Kitchen & Sushi or mingle with other singles at the rooftop pool. Go ahead: Order a cocktail from the cabana bed.

 

When it's time to catch a flight home, guests can cut their travel time via the free airport shuttle. An in-house system also enables visitors to modify, buy and confirm their flights from the hotel lobby.

Transportation
  • Miami International Airport (12 miles)
  • Fort Lauderdale/Hollywood International Airport (27 miles)
Attractions
  • Lincoln Road
  • Ocean Drive
  • Collins Avenue
  • Art Deco Historic District
  • Downtown Miami
  • Miami Beach Convention Center
Business
  • Wi-Fi and high-speed Internet access available
Policies and fees

Credit card is required upon check-in. No cash deposits are accepted. The hotel will authorize your credit card at check in for up to $100 per night of stay in addition to nightly room rate. Please understand that if you are using a Check Card, this authorization will limit your card use for up to 10 days or until your issuing bank releases the authorization hold.

Resort fee is $15 plus tax per night payable at property and includes airport pick up from Miami International Airport, complimentary happy hour from 7 p.m. to 8 p.m. daily and two beach chairs and beach towels per day.

Must be at least 18 years of age to check in.

Valet parking costs $32 a day.

Please be advised, the airport shuttle's last pickup from Miami International Airport is 6pm on 12/31/11.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

25.7932 -80.1296
Area served
Miami Beach, Florida
Nearby airports
Hotel is located 7 Miles East of MIA Airport
Area description
1732 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139 Located on Collins Ave in heart of Entertainment District.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5

The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club Rooms

In the Mix - Double
Your coming to South Beach to have a good time but don't want to skimp on comfort. You like to have some extra room and a desk to send a few emails to your colleagues back at work who aren't as lucky as you. More mature in design, these rooms feature 2 double beds, dark wood and ivory furnishings with Tempur-pedic mattresses, 100% cotton linens, and spa bathrobes. 190 square feet - perfect for 4
In the Mix - Queen
Your coming to South Beach to have a good time but don't want to skimp on comfort. You like to have some extra room and a desk to send a few emails to your colleagues back at work who aren't as lucky as you. More mature in design, these rooms feature 1 queen bed, dark wood and ivory furnishings with Tempur-pedic mattresses, 100% cotton linens, and spa bathrobes. 190 square feet - perfect for 2
Living Large
You're coming to South Beach to work but will be sure to make time to play. You're looking for a quiet, spacious, comfortable room where you can work and relax. You expect your room to have a desk, a plasma TV, complimentary wireless and daily newspaper delivery, in addition to our legendary Tempur-pedic mattresses, 100% cotton linens and spa bathrobes. When it's time to relax you are an elevator ride away from our rooftop pool.
On a Budget
You're on a budget and you need a clean room to shower and a comfortable bed to sleep between beach, bar and restaurant hopping. For the young at heart and backpackers in spirit. We wouldn't exactly call this a hostel - as they still come fully loaded with Tempur-pedic mattresses, 100% cotton linens, spa bathrobes and the Catalina signature red & white decor. 125 square feet
2 Queens Better Than One
Your coming to South Beach to have a good time but don't want to skimp on comfort. You like to have some extra room and a desk to send a few emails to your colleagues back at work who aren't as lucky as you. More mature in design, these rooms feature 2 queen beds, dark wood and ivory furnishings with Tempur-pedic mattresses, 100% cotton linens, and spa bathrobes. 190 square feet - perfect for 2

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Airport shuttle
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Pool
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Transportation
Airport shuttle
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Dining

Maxine Restaurant & Bar
The Maxine Restaurant at The Catalina Hotel & Beach Club is open and serves breakfast all day long! The Challah bread French toast is already known to be the best on South Beach. Located in our North building the restaurant, caf, and bar is a great place to people watch while enjoying cocktails and delicious treats.
Kung Fu Sushi
Kung Fu Sushi is an eclectic mix of sushi and Asian food with a real kick. The menu ranges from Seabass to Japanese Red Snapper Rolls, and you'll definitely want to cleanse the palate with signature sake cocktails like the Tokyo Rose or Japanese Jade. The delicious and affordable fare is served amidst dcor that is just as impressive. Partnering with famed artist Lebo to showcase his work, this sexy mod-Asian bistro will offer a complete experience for your senses. As the choice of unique establishments offered becomes increasingly limited in Miami Beach, travelers can continue to rely on the South Beach Group as the source for lifestyle hotels and restaurants that are always original and interesting.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (647)

Ratings and reviews for The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Overall score

3.2 / 5
5.01.0
647 out of 647
Amenities:
3.3
Room cleanliness:
3.4
Hotel staff:
3.5
Room comfort:
3.3
Location:
4.2
Value:
3.3

66% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Experience Traveler TB
okc
Apr 7, 2013

PERFECT HOTEL PERFECT LOCATION

Staff was very friendly and helpful, great location one block from beach and two blocks from the out door mall the Maxine building was my favorite And the restaurant there MAXINES has the best Food in South Beach and if u want great drinks go to the bar there Eva is the best bartender around Cant wait to go back

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: In Hotel

Maxines food is by far the best

Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Judarell
Weston, FL
Nov 23, 2013

Catalina just right!

Great service by all staff members. Beautiful decor inside hotel in all 3 buildings. Very nice yet small rooms but very clean, modern, and comfortable. Really cute rooftop pool and bar, amazing sunset! We were 3 long time friends in our late 30's looking for walking distance to the beach, Lincoln Rd., and other top hotels. We were central to ALL of these. The rooms were pricey, almost 300/night. But divided by 3 it was great and I would stay here again for sure.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Regent Cocktail Club a couple of blocks away is a treasure. Great live music, speak-easy bar, comfortable seating and good service.

Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
kayjay305
Miami, Florida
Nov 13, 2013

Great Experience

I've stayed at this hotel a few times and have had an exceptional stay every time. The staff is great and friendly. Rooms always nice and clean. Provides all the amentities I like for a hotel to provide (towels, iron, iron board, etc). The hotel also provided coupons to the restaurants and bars it connects to. Free drinks for an hour too!!! Rooftop was a nice place to relax and get away.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Jet Set NYer
New York, NY
Nov 4, 2013

Nothing special

The Catalina was typical of boutique South Beach hotels. Lobby was attractive and clean, decorated for Halloween. The room was tiny and not very fresh. My friend wiped down the bathroom with clorox wipes. The beds didn't seem very fresh. We requested more sheets and were directed to the linen closet down the hall... The tv had to have been at least 10 years old and was in a cut out close to the ceiling. The room itself was very small. Just enough room for two queen beds with basically no walking space... Also like every other SoBe hotel they offer valet car service ($35 I think). The cars are parked in a lot a few blocks away. I requested the car for 7am on the morning of my departure. The valet had trouble finding it and the car did not arrive until 7:30 or so. It served it's purpose as it was a very short stay, but I probably would not come back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
slimini
New York, New York
Nov 2, 2013

shower disaster and smell

terrible showering experience and smelly hallways.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Jimmy's diner and dave's cafe

Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Red Star
Saint louis,MO
Oct 30, 2013

Party Freinds :) !!!

Location is very good.Close to the beach, fine restaraunt. ,Rooms clean, with the dark style wall inside . Some rooms got small balcony.Reasonable price if you want to save some $ monney on your self :). we stay there with friends around age 30 .Good sushi restaraunt was in our building, And roof top pool with bar it's was awesome. Staff was very freindly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Many good restaraunt around Hotel

Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
HilBil872
Lubbock, TX
Oct 30, 2013

Very trendy and fun place to stay!

Very cool and uniquely decorated hotel near fun night life and interesting shops. Nice but a little over-priced hotel restaurants. The beds were very comfortable and the room was clean, very friendly staff, would stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
picky travelers from bost
boston, massachusetts
Oct 28, 2013

birthday getaway

Room was very small. Bathroom smelled like sewage. Location was excellent and staff was excellent. Liked the shuttle service to Airport. Bed was low not really comfortable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Lincoln road

Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Elsita
Buenos Aires
Oct 26, 2013

Excellent friends getaway

Perhaps if a tea coffeemaker and facial tissues were included in the room it would just be perfect

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Wonderful to walk around during the day and night

Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
25 yr old couple
Atlanta, GA
Oct 22, 2013

Fair - great location, friendly staff, & decent price

We stayed for a few nights, extending my wife's business trip during the week. We didn't have any trouble with noise like most people have mentioned but it wasn't the cleanest or comfy-est sleep we got. It was what we expected and I know there are probably even worse places for this price range. I would stay here if you're on budget and just want to stay on south beach. If I came back I'd definitely pay a little more to stay in a nicer hotel down the street. Strengths: location is perfect (blocks away from shopping & restuarant), price is fair. Weaknesses: bathrooms aren't the cleanest or nicest you've seen, walls are thin so you can hear everything, lighting in hotel and room is dark, & bed and pillows aren't comfortable at all. lots of things were outdated, like TVs, doors needed some new knobs & stuff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Losso
Brooklyn ny
Oct 18, 2013

fantastic

great hotel great bar pool and the room is nice . .

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Back to menu Return to top