The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

4 stars
View map of 1736 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.3
out of 5
606 reviews
Couple Trip

It was great enjoy the stay right by the beach I enjoy the staff the location was great used uber... See full review

  • Tyneequa W.
  • Aug 1, 2015
Hotel is a blast!!!!

Had an amazing experience lots of amenities and friendly staff. Hotel is very clean and the... See full review

  • Jon L.
  • Jul 21, 2015

Sophisticated but fun, the Catalina Hotel and Beach Club Miami Beach combines the classic elegance of Europe with the hip vibe of a beach club. The decor is relaxing with soft neutrals and splashes of color. It's resplendent with two pools, four bars and a rooftop terrace. The pools are the hotel's most popular amenity. The Bamboo Pool brings in the ambiance of tropical getaway with bamboo trees, comfy cabanas and even a cabana boy to fetch towels, sunscreen or anything else you might need. The Rooftop Pool affords you sky-high views of Miami Beach with private cabanas, a fully stocked bar and plenty of luxurious lounge beds to soak in the Florida rays.

Rooms

Who says white has to be boring? The hue makes a dramatic statement when paired with red walls or damask-print. Floor-to-ceiling curtains lend softness to the rooms, where Tempur-pedic mattresses, 300-count Belgian sheets and goose down comforters are standard amenities. Space isn't an issue. Each room holds enough square footage to accommodate an in-house masseuse.

Property features

 


The hotel hands out VIP passes to the hottest clubs, but the property is a nightlife magnet on its own. Visitors can sample sashimi in Kung-Fu Kitchen & Sushi or mingle with other singles at the rooftop pool. Go ahead: Order a cocktail from the cabana bed.

 

When it's time to catch a flight home, guests can cut their travel time via the free airport shuttle. An in-house system also enables visitors to modify, buy and confirm their flights from the hotel lobby.

Highlights

It isn't Miami Beach without visiting the ocean. Guests of the hotel are treated to two complimentary beach lounge chairs at the Beach Club and access to Catalina beach-cruiser style bicycles. Start the morning at the Red Bar and Cafe for freshly baked pastries, soft bagels and all the coffee you need. Try unique dishes at the swanky Fung Ku, a kitschy Asian bistro located inside the hotel that's open late, so you can stop by after dancing at the nearby Hush Bar & Lounge. Maxine's Bistro and Bar serves yummy breakfast all day long but also serves up an afternoon delight of fun cocktails and plenty of casual fare.

Nearby attractions
  • Lincoln Road
  • Ocean Drive
  • Collins Avenue
  • Art Deco Historic District
  • Downtown Miami
  • Miami Beach Convention Center
Business
  • Wi-Fi and high-speed Internet access available
Transportation
  • Miami International Airport (12 miles)
  • Fort Lauderdale/Hollywood International Airport (27 miles)
Policies

Credit card is required upon check-in. No cash deposits are accepted. The hotel will authorize your credit card at check in for up to $100 per night of stay in addition to nightly room rate. Please understand that if you are using a Check Card, this authorization will limit your card use for up to 10 days or until your issuing bank releases the authorization hold.

Resort fee is $15 plus tax per night payable at property and includes airport pick up from Miami International Airport, complimentary happy hour from 7 p.m. to 8 p.m. daily and two beach chairs and beach towels per day.

Must be at least 18 years of age to check in.

Valet parking costs $32 a day.

Please be advised, the airport shuttle's last pickup from Miami International Airport is 6pm on 12/31/11.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club Rooms

In the Mix - Double
Your coming to South Beach to have a good time but don't want to skimp on comfort. You like to have some extra room and a desk to send a few emails to your colleagues back at work who aren't as lucky as you. More mature in design, these rooms feature 2 double beds, dark wood and ivory furnishings with Tempur-pedic mattresses, 100% cotton linens, and spa bathrobes. 190 square feet - perfect for 4
In the Mix - Queen
Your coming to South Beach to have a good time but don't want to skimp on comfort. You like to have some extra room and a desk to send a few emails to your colleagues back at work who aren't as lucky as you. More mature in design, these rooms feature 1 queen bed, dark wood and ivory furnishings with Tempur-pedic mattresses, 100% cotton linens, and spa bathrobes. 190 square feet - perfect for 2
Living Large
You're coming to South Beach to work but will be sure to make time to play. You're looking for a quiet, spacious, comfortable room where you can work and relax. You expect your room to have a desk, a plasma TV, complimentary wireless and daily newspaper delivery, in addition to our legendary Tempur-pedic mattresses, 100% cotton linens and spa bathrobes. When it's time to relax you are an elevator ride away from our rooftop pool.
On a Budget
You're on a budget and you need a clean room to shower and a comfortable bed to sleep between beach, bar and restaurant hopping. For the young at heart and backpackers in spirit. We wouldn't exactly call this a hostel - as they still come fully loaded with Tempur-pedic mattresses, 100% cotton linens, spa bathrobes and the Catalina signature red & white decor. 125 square feet
2 Queens Better Than One
Your coming to South Beach to have a good time but don't want to skimp on comfort. You like to have some extra room and a desk to send a few emails to your colleagues back at work who aren't as lucky as you. More mature in design, these rooms feature 2 queen beds, dark wood and ivory furnishings with Tempur-pedic mattresses, 100% cotton linens, and spa bathrobes. 190 square feet - perfect for 2

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Airport shuttle
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Pool
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Transportation
Airport shuttle
Accessibility
Accessible Rooms/Facilities

Hotel Map

25.7932 -80.1296
Area served
Miami Beach, Florida
Nearby airports
Hotel is located 7 Miles East of MIA Airport
Area description
1732 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139 Located on Collins Ave in heart of Entertainment District.

Dining

Maxine Restaurant & Bar
The Maxine Restaurant at The Catalina Hotel & Beach Club is open and serves breakfast all day long! The Challah bread French toast is already known to be the best on South Beach. Located in our North building the restaurant, caf, and bar is a great place to people watch while enjoying cocktails and delicious treats.
Kung Fu Sushi
Kung Fu Sushi is an eclectic mix of sushi and Asian food with a real kick. The menu ranges from Seabass to Japanese Red Snapper Rolls, and you'll definitely want to cleanse the palate with signature sake cocktails like the Tokyo Rose or Japanese Jade. The delicious and affordable fare is served amidst dcor that is just as impressive. Partnering with famed artist Lebo to showcase his work, this sexy mod-Asian bistro will offer a complete experience for your senses. As the choice of unique establishments offered becomes increasingly limited in Miami Beach, travelers can continue to rely on the South Beach Group as the source for lifestyle hotels and restaurants that are always original and interesting.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
3:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (606)

Ratings and reviews for The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Overall score

3.3 / 5
5.01.0
606 out of 606
Amenities:
3.3
Cleanliness:
3.5
Hotel staff:
3.6
Comfort:
3.3
Location:
4.3
Value:
3.4

68% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Goon29
Business
New York
Nov 25, 2014

R&T

Didn't enjoy the very much. Staff wasn't very pleasant. They assign me to the wrong room then had to stay there one night which was uncomfortable. Best thing was the shuttle leaving. The driver was very down to earth, worthy of a nice tip.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Motor City Mad Man
Business
Detroit MI
Nov 19, 2014

Awesome location Small private retreat feel

I usually stay at the larger resorts on the beach, but with the prices thru the roof this time of year, I looked at the Catalina for its affordable price. I must admit that the service, rooms, restaurants were at par if not better than at the larger resorts on the beach. The ONLY downside is that you have to cross the street to go to the beach, but that is it! I even ordered a drink on the beach, and the bartender ran all the way back to the hotel to get it. Now that is service

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Come again customer
Business
Michigan
Nov 19, 2014

Great location for beach, shopping, and partying

The location is perfect! You are in the middle of all the activity. The beach is across the street...the food is great...and the shopping is excellent! Everything is in walking distance. From 7 to 8 p.m every evening the drinks are free!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
chris980
Business
LA
Nov 18, 2014

nice hotel

convenient and nice, the hotel staffs were really nice

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Stacy 7305
Business
New York
Nov 14, 2014

Great stay for price

I had a great comfortable stay with my mother for a nice mini vacay. The staff is friendly And the location is great right across the street from the beach .

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Renathat
Business
Los angeles, CA
Oct 30, 2014

Perfect location, tight room

You cannot get any better location if you are looking for fun. In the heart of Miami Beach, lots of tourists, bars, restaurants. 3 friends and I decided to share a room and was just impossible. although there were 2 queen beds was just so tight that we barely had where to put our luggages. The room doesnt fit more than 2 confortly, otherwise, better upgrade you room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Wendy Vee
Business
New York, NY
Oct 14, 2014

Had its ups and downs

The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club definitely had its ups and downs. To start off: my friends and I were set up in a room that seemed to be located in the part of the hotel that had not yet been renovated, so it smelled musty and moldy upon arrival. There was very little lighting and our phone was not working until the day before we left, as a result, we had to run to the concierge to get towels or other things we needed. That was very disappointing. Other annoyances included the television in the room, which was one of those big box tvs, and the picture was blurry and the ipod dock was not working either. Since my group and I did not plan to stay in our room much, as we would be out most of the time, these minor things did not bother us much as the smell, the phone and the lighting. All in all, the experience with our room could have been better. However, outside of our room, I was happy with the rest of the hotel. The staff was great! They were very friendly and accommodating. Maxine's Bistro, which was located right outside of our room, had really good food. The bartenders and waiters were great. The rooftop pool was also really nice, it was small but the atmosphere was cool, as was the music. I would recommend this hotel if you get a room in any of the other renovated buildings, because it was a cool place to stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
JLPM
Business
Mexico
Oct 13, 2014

Not what it used to be

the first time i came to this hotel was 6 years ago. Seems like they have done no maintenance at all.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Danny Summer
Business
Arlington, VA
Oct 10, 2014

Nice hotel in South Beach

When we get the hotel, it's decorating for the Halloween theme which I think is quite energetic. The room is clean. The location is great. Five minutes walk to Lincoln Rd. and the beach. The service is quite nice and responsive.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Neil from NY
Business
New York City
Oct 8, 2014

The BEST in SOUTH BEACH

I visit Miami 3 times a year and have stayed at many hotels on Collins Ave. I found that The Catalina is by far the best hotel ive stayed at. They are extremely friendly and accomadating. Tyrrel the consierge gentlemen was very helpful in introducing activities of the hotel and food selection. The staff in general has great communication qualities. Thank you and i will definately be back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Mangoes Tropical

Back to menu Return to top