$168 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Apr 20, 2015 Check-out: Apr 23, 2015

The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

4 stars
View map of 1736 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Overall score

3.3 / 5
5.01.0
612 out of 612
Amenities:
3.3
Cleanliness:
3.5
Hotel staff:
3.6
Comfort:
3.3
Location:
4.3
Value:
3.4

68% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Monic
Business
New Jersey
Mar 26, 2014

Couple getaway

The first person that I spoke to in the front desk was very unhelpful and literally made us wait to check in at exactly 3pm but then the second guy I spoke to checked us in right away with no questions ask and it was a lil before 3pm. Any other than that the hotel is okay for the price. My room is always clean. I love how the hotel has happy hour and free drinks from 7pm-8pm and that is a big plus. The place is just a little walk to Ocean Dr but majority of the time we take the taxi coming back for like $6 because we are too drunk to walk back. Lol The staff that really helped us the most is Miguel, he made our stay very covinient.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Coop5
Business
New York
Mar 24, 2014

perfect for spring break

stayed a week here for spring break with friends from college. great bang for the buck and beautiful location!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
LouisDaniel
Business
Los Angeles
Mar 31, 2014

Great Affordable Party Spot

The hotel was good plAce to stay. The service was great everyone was helpful and met our needs. The pool area was a little messy there was bamboo in pool and it was kinda quite so we decide to go to beach instead they have a good area with chairs if you're a guest and they provide towels. The locations is right in the center of Collins so you can always find something to do. It was music week this week so maybe they don't usually blast music all night in the lobby, that was kinda loud but again they might not always do it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: In Hotel

The Catalina has a restaurant, attached it's delish affordable meal, ( they say they can't do room service and that you have to go pick it up next door, but if you ask nicely they will bring to your room)

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
MelCol
Business
NY
Mar 31, 2014

MMC FUN STAY

The hotel room was a normal size for any Miami hotel, Well lit room ! Full length mirrors in the room! Entertainment every night in the hotel during MMC. Located near walgreens for in room goodies ! Staff was very friendly and accommodating, Tyrell was a great help for night clubs ! Overall good experience here !

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jevon
Business
Connecticut
Apr 10, 2014

Good

Great hotel, staff, and location. Perfect spot for my 2day Mia trip. Only bad thing I didn't like is the smell of the water. Made the room smell Like mildue

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
deepan s
Business
Sammamish, WA
Apr 13, 2014

3 night vacation @Catalina beach club

- Location was just perfect...it was couple of blocks away from main shopping area, and just a block away from beach - Amenities was good - Free Wifi + great concierge service (for rental car + shuttle to malls, restaurant recommendation) - Room comfort was below par - It looked dated, floors were old, bath was basic, mattress was ok. But everything was clean and well maintained. - Free hourly shuttle to/from airport - Really nice hotel for a couple getaway Overall, for the price, I would highly recommend this hotel, given it's prime location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

While you stay @Catalina, check-out Havana (Cuban cuisine) and Pizza Bar on Collins ave (24hr pizza joint), within few blocks from the hotel.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
MY EXP
Business
Texas
Apr 28, 2014

good experience

I stayed there for 1 night and my over all experience was good. Let me elobarate that. Cons: There were flees flying in bathroom. Looby is too dark. looks like need more lights in lobby. Parking is $35 per 24 hour but itsnot for 24 hour. Cars needs to be taken out once you chek out. More bright light needed in room. Only 3 small lights neaby bed. Pros: There is no water fountain in Hotel but staff was nice to fill up bottles from bar. Location is preety good. valet parking service if very good(You need to pay for that hough) Beds were very comfortable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Andrew and Amanda
Business
Iowa
Apr 29, 2014

great stay for our anniversary

We had a great stay for our 10th wedding anniversary. We ate at two of their restaurants. Both were great. Prices were reasonable. They had karaoke one night. It was so much fun! They were very excited to celebrate our anniversary with us. We will definitely stay again the next time we visit Miami.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

We had dinner at their in house Asian restaurant, and we had breakfast at their diner called Maxine's. Best way to eat there in my opinion.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Ohio
Jan 26, 2010

A big bang for my buck!

My boyfriend and I wanted to get away to South Beach and have a fun weekend away. We were within walking distance to Ocean Dr. and all it has to offer, plus the staff was extremely nice! Access to the beach was only a block away and there were two pools to choose from, both of which were smaller, but had lounging beds or canopy's to hang out in! The rooftop pool has a bar as well, which was convenient. The Catalina consists of three buildings in one, so it was a neat place to hang out. The free hour of happy hour drinks was nice too. It could have been a little closer to the strip of great restaurants/clubs on Ocean Dr. and it could have been cleaned up a bit (fresh coat of paint, etc.) though our room was clean and the bed as SUPER comfortable! The staff was great. I would recommend this for couples who want to get away and party or singles, not for a romantic getaway or for families as it becomes noisy at times due to singles up all hours of the night. This was the biggest bang for our buck. They also let us check in an hour and half early at no extra charge!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Miami
May 17, 2010

The Catalina

I had the time of my life!!!!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

News Cafe had the best breakfast in the world!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top