$78 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Sep 14, 2015 Check-out: Sep 17, 2015

The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

4 stars
View map of 1736 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.3
out of 5
611 reviews
Couple Trip

It was great enjoy the stay right by the beach I enjoy the staff the location was great used uber... See full review

  • Tyneequa W.
  • Aug 1, 2015
Great getaway!

I had concerns after reading people's reviews but it didn't take long to realize that those people... See full review

  • Curtis P.
  • Jul 31, 2015

Sophisticated but fun, the Catalina Hotel and Beach Club Miami Beach combines the classic elegance of Europe with the hip vibe of a beach club. The decor is relaxing with soft neutrals and splashes of color. It's resplendent with two pools, four bars and a rooftop terrace. The pools are the hotel's most popular amenity. The Bamboo Pool brings in the ambiance of tropical getaway with bamboo trees, comfy cabanas and even a cabana boy to fetch towels, sunscreen or anything else you might need. The Rooftop Pool affords you sky-high views of Miami Beach with private cabanas, a fully stocked bar and plenty of luxurious lounge beds to soak in the Florida rays.

Rooms

Who says white has to be boring? The hue makes a dramatic statement when paired with red walls or damask-print. Floor-to-ceiling curtains lend softness to the rooms, where Tempur-pedic mattresses, 300-count Belgian sheets and goose down comforters are standard amenities. Space isn't an issue. Each room holds enough square footage to accommodate an in-house masseuse.

Property features

 


The hotel hands out VIP passes to the hottest clubs, but the property is a nightlife magnet on its own. Visitors can sample sashimi in Kung-Fu Kitchen & Sushi or mingle with other singles at the rooftop pool. Go ahead: Order a cocktail from the cabana bed.

 

When it's time to catch a flight home, guests can cut their travel time via the free airport shuttle. An in-house system also enables visitors to modify, buy and confirm their flights from the hotel lobby.

Highlights

It isn't Miami Beach without visiting the ocean. Guests of the hotel are treated to two complimentary beach lounge chairs at the Beach Club and access to Catalina beach-cruiser style bicycles. Start the morning at the Red Bar and Cafe for freshly baked pastries, soft bagels and all the coffee you need. Try unique dishes at the swanky Fung Ku, a kitschy Asian bistro located inside the hotel that's open late, so you can stop by after dancing at the nearby Hush Bar & Lounge. Maxine's Bistro and Bar serves yummy breakfast all day long but also serves up an afternoon delight of fun cocktails and plenty of casual fare.

Nearby attractions
  • Lincoln Road
  • Ocean Drive
  • Collins Avenue
  • Art Deco Historic District
  • Downtown Miami
  • Miami Beach Convention Center
Business
  • Wi-Fi and high-speed Internet access available
Transportation
  • Miami International Airport (12 miles)
  • Fort Lauderdale/Hollywood International Airport (27 miles)
Policies

Credit card is required upon check-in. No cash deposits are accepted. The hotel will authorize your credit card at check in for up to $100 per night of stay in addition to nightly room rate. Please understand that if you are using a Check Card, this authorization will limit your card use for up to 10 days or until your issuing bank releases the authorization hold.

Resort fee is $15 plus tax per night payable at property and includes airport pick up from Miami International Airport, complimentary happy hour from 7 p.m. to 8 p.m. daily and two beach chairs and beach towels per day.

Must be at least 18 years of age to check in.

Valet parking costs $32 a day.

Please be advised, the airport shuttle's last pickup from Miami International Airport is 6pm on 12/31/11.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club also booked these hotels.

★★★★
$89
3.3 / 5 221 reviews
★★★
$68
3.5 / 5 253 reviews
★★★★★
$139
4.0 / 5 257 reviews
★★★
$78
3.6 / 5 154 reviews
★★★★
$118
3.9 / 5 119 reviews
★★★
$119
3.3 / 5 96 reviews
★★★
$75
3.3 / 5 199 reviews
★★★★
$119
3.5 / 5 119 reviews
★★★
$99
2.8 / 5 337 reviews

The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club Rooms

In the Mix - Double
Your coming to South Beach to have a good time but don't want to skimp on comfort. You like to have some extra room and a desk to send a few emails to your colleagues back at work who aren't as lucky as you. More mature in design, these rooms feature 2 double beds, dark wood and ivory furnishings with Tempur-pedic mattresses, 100% cotton linens, and spa bathrobes. 190 square feet - perfect for 4
In the Mix - Queen
Your coming to South Beach to have a good time but don't want to skimp on comfort. You like to have some extra room and a desk to send a few emails to your colleagues back at work who aren't as lucky as you. More mature in design, these rooms feature 1 queen bed, dark wood and ivory furnishings with Tempur-pedic mattresses, 100% cotton linens, and spa bathrobes. 190 square feet - perfect for 2
Living Large
You're coming to South Beach to work but will be sure to make time to play. You're looking for a quiet, spacious, comfortable room where you can work and relax. You expect your room to have a desk, a plasma TV, complimentary wireless and daily newspaper delivery, in addition to our legendary Tempur-pedic mattresses, 100% cotton linens and spa bathrobes. When it's time to relax you are an elevator ride away from our rooftop pool.
On a Budget
You're on a budget and you need a clean room to shower and a comfortable bed to sleep between beach, bar and restaurant hopping. For the young at heart and backpackers in spirit. We wouldn't exactly call this a hostel - as they still come fully loaded with Tempur-pedic mattresses, 100% cotton linens, spa bathrobes and the Catalina signature red & white decor. 150 square feet
2 Queens Better Than One
Your coming to South Beach to have a good time but don't want to skimp on comfort. You like to have some extra room and a desk to send a few emails to your colleagues back at work who aren't as lucky as you. More mature in design, these rooms feature 2 queen beds, dark wood and ivory furnishings with Tempur-pedic mattresses, 100% cotton linens, and spa bathrobes. 190 square feet - perfect for 2

Amenities

  • Free internet
  • Airport shuttle
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Pet friendly
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Solarium
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Internet
Free internet
Transportation
Airport shuttle
Accessibility
Accessible Rooms/Facilities
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Service animals allowed
Public areas wheelchair accessible for disabled
Ramp access to buildings

Dining

Maxine Restaurant & Bar
The Maxine Restaurant at The Catalina Hotel & Beach Club is open and serves breakfast all day long! The Challah bread French toast is already known to be the best on South Beach. Located in our North building the restaurant, caf, and bar is a great place to people watch while enjoying cocktails and delicious treats.
FKU Fung Ku
FKU Fung Ku is an eclectic mix of sushi and Asian food with a real kick. The menu ranges from Seabass to Japanese Red Snapper Rolls, and you'll definitely want to cleanse the palate with signature sake cocktails like the Tokyo Rose or Japanese Jade. The delicious and affordable fare is served amidst decor that is just as impressive. Partnering with famed artist Lebo to showcase his work, this sexy mod-Asian bistro will offer a complete experience for your senses. As the choice of unique establishments offered becomes increasingly limited in Miami Beach, travelers can continue to rely on the South Beach Group as the source for lifestyle hotels and restaurants that are always original and interesting.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
3:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Overall score

3.3 / 5
5.01.0
611 out of 611
Amenities:
3.3
Cleanliness:
3.5
Hotel staff:
3.6
Comfort:
3.3
Location:
4.3
Value:
3.4

68% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Losso
Couples
Brooklyn ny
Oct 12, 2012

Couple getaway

It's was a good experience everybody is friendly every day was a pool party.. Plus they let u smoke in your room with out no smoking fee ..

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Julio Dominguez
Family
Chicago
Aug 18, 2015

Mothers Day Weekend

I decided to to something different for my mom on Mother's Day, I wanted something special but I was not happy with my overall experience at the Catalina. The Bamboo pool they advertise was always dirty and the rooftop pool was too little. The walking you had to do to get to each pool was ridiculous. Room service wasn't great. The bistro next door has good food..oh and lots of roaches in their patio!They advertise the happy hour for their guests, which is great! Just didn't like the attitude of the girl behind the bar lol. She made, the only thing we were happy about , she made it unpleasant to be there and enjoy cocktails before heading out for the night. I've stayed in different hotels in Miami Beach/South Beach and I like to try new ones for new experiences but definitely not going back to The Catalina.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Gina F.
Friends
N/A
Aug 17, 2015

Miami Summer Vacation!

I enjoyed my stay a lot at the Catalina. The staff is super nice and friendly, especially Jean, at the front desk. This hotel is also across from the beach, and within walking distance to Lincoln Avenue and Collins Avenue where they have all the nice shops and restaurants. In addition, this hotel offers a voucher for free beach chairs, beach towrl, and serves a free happy hour every evening. For those who want a pool, this hotel has two of them, along with two good restaurants. The only negative feedback that I have is that the rooms weren't too spacious or modern, and didn't have any extra tables to put your stuff. My bed was literally next to the room door, and I didn't like that. The bathroom was very low average. It was small, and I would have preferred a fully closed sliding bath door. The bath towels were washed, but I could still see some hair and stains on it from previous use. So the rooms were not my favorite, but at least I was able to sleep fine, and the mattress was comfy! Overall, my experience was positive and fun at this hotel. I would recommend to others. Thank you! :)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Friends

Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Kimberly L.
Friends
N/A
Aug 10, 2015

Great girls weekend!

Me and a girlfriend wanted a quick getaway to south beach and the Catalina was a great place to stay! Walking distance to plenty of restaurants, Lincoln road shopping and the beach was really helpful so we didn't have to rent a car. A free airport shuttle means we had to pay NOTHING for transportation at all! The mattresses in the rooms felt sooooo nice and Maxine's bistro had delicious food AND cocktails! The complimentary cocktail hour was free and the lines weren't too long. There were also board games to enjoy during downtime. I went to the beach daily and the chairs and umbrellas were conveniently right across the street. This is a great little spot!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Friends

Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Tyneequa W.
Couples
Cayce
Aug 1, 2015

Couple Trip

It was great enjoy the stay right by the beach I enjoy the staff the location was great used uber the whole time a lot of things at your fingertips

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Curtis P.
Friends
N/A
Jul 31, 2015

Great getaway!

I had concerns after reading people's reviews but it didn't take long to realize that those people are idiots. The staff is awesome! From the people at the front desk, to the bartender, to the manager at their restaurants, to house keeping, all amazing! The room was great, the location couldn't have been more perfect. Next time I go to Miami, I don't have to look for another hotel. Catalina feels like home to me. Thank you to the entire staff there, keep doing what you're doing!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Friends

Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
DeLF.
Friends
Brooklyn
Jul 31, 2015

Would not recommend this hotel at all

The hotel itself is has a smell of dampness as if the carpets need to be replaced, we didn't get out beds made or towel exchange until three days into our stay. I replenished my own towels due to the fact the towel cart with clean towels are left in the middle of the hall way. The Banboo pool chairs and cabanas mats on chairs are worn and some chairs were broken, the water in pool needs to be refreshed the color of water is grayish white. Same thing for the roof top pool. The terry cloth like covers are dirty and are worn. Lionel was called at the service desk for a heavier bed sheet and he said some one would bring it. No one ever came. Whenever you asked staff for anything they would say call front desk. Even if they had the item you needed in their hand. I don't think the resort fees of $20 a day should be charged the upkeep is horrible. I don't feel gratuity on the restaurants connected in the hotel should be included because are at Maxine Restaurant and the waitress on 7/29 at approximately 11:30 was horrible so y should I be forced to pay gratuity if the service was horrible.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Friends

Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
daisja m.
Friends
N/A
Jul 30, 2015

Miami turn up

Second time staying at the Catalina came down with a few friends for my girlfriends birthday and we had a blast!. I wish the open bar was more than just an hour

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Friends

Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Shon A.
Couples
N/A
Jul 30, 2015

Birthday Trip

good hotel, good customer service and the restaurants were perfect for convenience. Rooms were roomy semi updated, lots of stores close by and the nightlife the hotel offered was great. The bamboo pool was perfect! Would definitely stay again just next time I would upgrade to the suite!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Alfredo R.
Single
Clark
Jul 23, 2015

Weekly solo trip from New Jersey

I traveled from New Jersey for the week and got room 205. The room was nice not a lot of room but I didn't have cold water in my shower all week. I did complain once to the front desk they were gonna send someone up and never did so I toughed it out and just enjoyed my vacation regardless. I didn't want to complain but it was pretty bad. Besides that my stay was great and I enjoyed my time and Ivan the bartender is great service to your hotel. Thanks and I'll see you again soon.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Single

Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Monica D.
Couples
Brooklyn
Jul 22, 2015

Great experience

I absolutely loved my stay at The Catalina. Everything from the staff to the accommodations was exceptional. As soon as I landed the free shuttle bus from the airport was outside. When I checked in my room was upgraded free of charge, and I was so grateful. The hotel is beautiful and the free beach chair voucher was really helpful. The food at the attached Maxine's diner was really good. Service there was spotty, especially my last night there with the unwelcomed bugs on and under the table but then we just took our food to go. All in all I would stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Back to menu Return to top