$195 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Dec 21, 2014 Check-out: Dec 23, 2014

The Betsy Hotel, South Beach

5 stars
1440 Ocean Drive, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.5
out of 5
50 reviews
A brief stay at the Betsy

My six year old and I had a very pleasant stay at the Betsy. The staff was amazing and the BLT... See full review

  • mish and zo
  • Oct 26, 2014
Tropical Greenbrier

First off, look at The Greenbrier Resort. The Betsy is a near replica boutique of that resort.... See full review

  • 5starforless
  • Sep 14, 2014
Spa, steak and rainfall showers – hotel covers all the SoBe bases

Named for Betsy Ross, this Ocean Drive hotel is a standout among South Beach's many Art Deco hotels and winner of prestigious 4 Star Forbes Plaque. The boutique hotel's colonial design was a departure for architect L. Murray Dixon who designed other notable hotels in the area. Today's Betsy merges tradition and technology. Outside, find a white plantation façade complete with wooden shutters. Inside, behold 21st century amenities such as bath mirrors with built-in LCD TV and Bose sound and rainfall showerheads. The lobby's BLT Steak, a modern American chophouse and bistro, is a magnet for foodies.

Highlights
  • 63-room boutique hotel on Ocean Drive
  • Colonial architecture and modern amenities
  • Rooftop wellness garden offering spa treatments
  • BLT Steak, a contemporary American steakhouse, on site
  • Easy  beach access and secluded garden pool
Rooms

The 63 beachside rooms and suites mimic the traditional flair of the hotel, with contemporary touches here and there. Think plantation-style shutters, striped armchairs and fresh potted orchids that pop against geometric throw pillows and white Frette linens. Bathrooms are outfitted to the nines. Mirrors have built-in LCD TVs and Bose sound systems.  Kallista de Stile shower wands and rain forest shower-heads promote relaxation. Wi-Fi is included in the resort fee.

Features

Located on South Beach's most prestigious boulevard, the hotel affords easy access to vibrant nightlife, dining and shopping.  Guests can unwind at the garden pool or visit the rooftop Wellness garden for massages in the open air. An in-house fitness center provides free headphones, weight and cardio machines, chilled towels and a yoga and stretching area.

 

For prime steaks, seafood and chicken served with French finesse, book a table at BLT Steak, a bistro that charms with good steaks and stylish ambiance.

Transportation
  • Miami International Airport (11 miles)
  • Fort Lauderdale/Hollywood International Airport (29 miles)
Attractions
  • Collins Avenue (0.2 mi/ 0.3 km)
  • Art Deco District (0.3 mi/ 0.5 km)
  • Washington Avenue (0.4 mi/ 0.6 km)
  • Lummus Park (0.5 mi/ 0.8 km)
  • Lincoln Road (1 mi/ 1.6 km)
  • Miami Beach Convention Center (1 mi/ 1.6 km)
  • Miami Convention Center (7 mi/ 11.3 km)
Business
  • Meeting space for smaller groups
  • Catering services
  • Wi-Fi
Policies and fees
  • There is $16 daily resort fee plus 13 percent taxes is payable to the hotel. The fee includes Wi-Fi.
  • Valet parking fee is $37.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Betsy Hotel, South Beach also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

The Betsy Hotel, South Beach Rooms

Classic 2 Double bed
Our Classic Double Room accommodates up to 4 guests. It features all of our standard in-room amenities to provide a welcoming, tropical retreat. Light and airy interiors offer 250 square feet of space and give way to a view of neighboring Art Deco buildings, providing the latest technology, luxury bath amenities and fine Sferra linens to suit your every need.
Classic Pool View King bed
Behind plantation-style shutters, our Classic Pool View King Rooms offer 250 square feet of understated elegance and comfort and sleeps up to 2 guests. Ruminate with a view of our tranquil Courtyard Pool or take one of the many books from your in-room library and stretch out on our voluptuous king bed. Our Superior Rooms provide the latest technology, luxury bath amenities and fine Sferra linens to suit your every need.
Classic Pool View 2 Double bed
Behind plantation-style shutters, our Classic Pool View Double Rooms offer 250 square feet of understated elegance and comfort and sleeps up to 4 guests. Ruminate with a view of our tranquil Courtyard Pool or take one of the many books from your in-room library and stretch out on our voluptuous king bed. Our Superior Rooms provide the latest technology, luxury bath amenities and fine Sferra linens to suit your every need.
Classic Ocean View 1 King bed
Our Classic Ocean View King Rooms are cozy and bright, sunlit rooms overlooking Lummus Park and the Atlantic Ocean, sleeping up to 2 guests. Wrap yourself in our contemporary Colonial design, with 250 square feet of space to enjoy all of our standard in-room amenities, the latest technology, luxury bath products and fine Sferra linen.
Classic Ocean View 2 Double bed
Our Classic Ocean View Double Rooms are cozy and bright, sunlit rooms overlooking Lummus Park and the Atlantic Ocean, sleeping up to 4 guests. Wrap yourself in our contemporary Colonial design, with 250 square feet of space to enjoy all of our standard in-room amenities, the latest technology, luxury bath products and fine Sferra linen.
Master Suite 1 King bed
Light, bright, and undeniably charming, our Master Suites were designed with elegant entertaining in mind. Our Master Suites come complete with a separate living and entertaining area and sleep up to 4 guests. These Suites offer 550 square feet of space with a view of the neighboring Art Deco buildings, a king bed in the Master Bedroom and a sofa bed for additional sleeping accommodation.
Master Suite 2 Double bed
Light, bright, and undeniably charming, our Master Suites were designed with elegant entertaining in mind. Our Master Suites come complete with a separate living and entertaining area and sleep up to 4 guests. These Suites offer 550 square feet of space with a view of the neighboring Art Deco buildings, two double beds in the Master Bedroom and a sofa bed for additional sleeping accommodation.
Classic 1 King bed
Our Classic King Room accommodates up to 2 guests. It features all of our standard in-room amenities to provide a welcoming, tropical retreat. Light and airy interiors offer 250 square feet of space and give way to a view of neighboring Art Deco buildings, providing the latest technology, luxury bath amenities and fine Sferra linens to suit your every need.

Amenities

  • Free internet
  • Outdoor pool
General
Concierge
Pet friendly
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Spa
Solarium
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Internet
Free internet
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA) compliant
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Service dogs allowed
Service animals allowed
Public areas wheelchair accessible for disabled
Wheelchair accessible elevators
Visual emergency alarm for hearing impaired guest

Dining

Roofdeck
Betsys rooftop Deck is expansive with sweeping views of the Atlantic, offering a Wellness Garden with a full range of spa treatments, therapies and complimentary sunrise yoga. Specialty cocktails and light fare are offered from dawn to dusk, and beyond.
BLT Steak
As the name "Bistro Laurent Tourondel" suggests , Chef Tourondel presents his adaptation of the American Steakhouse, elevating it with his signature style and all-around finesse. The result is the Modern American Steakhouse. BLT Steak integrates traditional elements of a cozy French Bistro with those of a stylish, urbane boite. In 2012, BLT Steak opened its first full Sushi and Raw Bar at The Betsy.
Lobby Bar
The Lobby Bar at The Betsy is the place to see and be seen. Enjoy exceptional cocktails in our living room style Lobby and Live Jazz Music every Wednesday and Thursday night.
BBar
Designed with a hint of vintage glamour, an underground speakeasy entertainment space called, B Bar, offers an exclusive and unique venue to host private events, dinners, or receptions.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (50)

Ratings and reviews for The Betsy Hotel, South Beach

Overall score

4.5 / 5
5.01.0
50 out of 50
Amenities:
4.3
Room cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.7
Room comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.8
Value:
4.1

96% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Betsy Hotel, South Beach

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
mish and zo
Business
toronto, cananda
Oct 26, 2014

A brief stay at the Betsy

My six year old and I had a very pleasant stay at the Betsy. The staff was amazing and the BLT steak restaurant for dinner and breakfast was delish!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Betsy Hotel, South Beach

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
5starforless
Business
Ohio
Sep 14, 2014

Tropical Greenbrier

First off, look at The Greenbrier Resort. The Betsy is a near replica boutique of that resort. Everyone is more than courteous, professional, and willing to exceed your expectation. This was the first hotel I've personally ever stayed where the Resort Fee of $16 per day actually provides a tangible benefit of two beach recliner chairs and an umbrella (normally $65). The only downside of having a boutique hotel environment is the is limited space to have amenities you could find at a large streamline hotel. The location is perfect if you want a quiet Miami Beach experience that's central to the activities in the area. We will absolutely be repeat guests. One recommendation, do not stay in City View rooms, it's a view of an alley. We stayed in pool view which was very pleasant and quiet.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Pied à Terre has amazing food and wine. Lobster melts in your mouth with NO BUTTER and the Risotto is made with only a drop of cream, it was the best!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Betsy Hotel, South Beach

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Meggie's Mom
Business
boston, ma
Sep 6, 2014

fabulous

Location, staff and amenities are great. Everyone cheerful and very helpful. Had a great time. Will definitely go back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Check other attractions in Miami other than just the beach.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Betsy Hotel, South Beach

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Beach Lover9999
Business
Atlanta
Sep 5, 2014

Location & Customer Service was Perfect

Stayed at The Betsy for a week around Labor Day. Great stay. Beach is steps away. Private chairs and umbrellas available on the beach. Front desk, restaurant staff, doormen, valets, all very customer service focused. Rented a car but didn't need one. Everything is walkable. (And Starbucks is across the street!) Couple of downsides, bathrooms are nice, but small and valet parking is $42/day. Will definitely stay again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Don't rent a car. You won't need it.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Betsy Hotel, South Beach

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
G'leon
Business
North Palm Beach, Fl
Aug 23, 2014

Great over night

A beautiful place with fantastic staff. A little noise from room above. Will try the restaurant next time we are in Miami Beach.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Betsy Hotel, South Beach

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
chicagomeg
Business
Chicago
May 2, 2014

Excellent experience

The Betsy is a beautiful, historic hotel in South Beach on Ocean Drive, near all the nightlife but far away enough from it that it won't bother you if that's not what you're in to. There's clearly a commitment to service here - the staff could not have been better, and the rooms and amenities were excellent for the most part (the pool is a little small and shaded, but you're right across the street from the beach).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Betsy Hotel, South Beach

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
GWB1
Business
Staffordhire UK
Apr 15, 2014

Romantic City break before Cruise from Miami

Certainly not cheap but almost perfect in any other way for a boutique hotel. Be prepared to tip for most things and accept and the daily 16$ resort fee - don't forget to use the beach hotel facility and the roof bar and spa. Check each bill as to whether gratuity is inc or not - different bars areas/ staff vary. Otherwise the hotel is close to all the action on South beach , Lincoln Rd Shops and the beach whist being quiet and calm inside to chill out in beautiful surroundings - pool nice but can be shaded as on ground floor.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

Taxi from the airport should be around 30$ DONT be conned by drivers taking you the long way round the Mway/ ring road (95) as will cost 45$ - they will also try this when you take taxis to Malls or the Port.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Betsy Hotel, South Beach

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Amy L
Business
Chicago, IL
Mar 24, 2014

Fun trip!

A great hotel (service, location & décor). Really enjoyed the pool and rooftop deck. I will happily stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Betsy Hotel, South Beach

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
STUVW
Business
Fairfield, CT
Feb 21, 2014

Mixed Review

The staff was very friendly and accomodating. With that said, they offered to store one of my bags which could not be stored comfortably in our room, because the rooms are very small. When I went to check out & get the bag to pack it, they had lost it. While they offered to go out and buy me a new bag, or give me something else to pack, it was too late and we were able to overpack the clothes in the other 3 bags we had. We usually left the room early and returned late in the day around 4. On one day, housekeeping didnt get to the room until 4:30 and I sent them away as I didn't want them cleaning while we were there. Lastly, the rooms are tiny. Some drwaers did not open completely because the bed was to close, etc. Everything cleared by fractions of an inch.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Betsy Hotel, South Beach

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
RelaxMiam1
Business
Durham, NC
Jan 31, 2014

Great views and a very pleasant stay

We had a great ocean view from our room. There is a very nice indoor pool for guests. Also, the beach is right across the street! Staff were very nice and ensured a pleasant stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Long walk from hotel

Walk south on Ocean Avenue and you will not be disappointed

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top