$345 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Jan 4, 2015 Check-out: Jan 5, 2015

The Betsy Hotel, South Beach

5 stars
1440 Ocean Drive, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.5
out of 5
50 reviews
A brief stay at the Betsy

My six year old and I had a very pleasant stay at the Betsy. The staff was amazing and the BLT... See full review

  • mish and zo
  • Oct 26, 2014
Tropical Greenbrier

First off, look at The Greenbrier Resort. The Betsy is a near replica boutique of that resort.... See full review

  • 5starforless
  • Sep 14, 2014
Spa, steak and rainfall showers – hotel covers all the SoBe bases

Named for Betsy Ross, this Ocean Drive hotel is a standout among South Beach's many Art Deco hotels and winner of prestigious 4 Star Forbes Plaque. The boutique hotel's colonial design was a departure for architect L. Murray Dixon who designed other notable hotels in the area. Today's Betsy merges tradition and technology. Outside, find a white plantation façade complete with wooden shutters. Inside, behold 21st century amenities such as bath mirrors with built-in LCD TV and Bose sound and rainfall showerheads. The lobby's BLT Steak, a modern American chophouse and bistro, is a magnet for foodies.

Highlights
  • 63-room boutique hotel on Ocean Drive
  • Colonial architecture and modern amenities
  • Rooftop wellness garden offering spa treatments
  • BLT Steak, a contemporary American steakhouse, on site
  • Easy  beach access and secluded garden pool
Rooms

The 63 beachside rooms and suites mimic the traditional flair of the hotel, with contemporary touches here and there. Think plantation-style shutters, striped armchairs and fresh potted orchids that pop against geometric throw pillows and white Frette linens. Bathrooms are outfitted to the nines. Mirrors have built-in LCD TVs and Bose sound systems.  Kallista de Stile shower wands and rain forest shower-heads promote relaxation. Wi-Fi is included in the resort fee.

Features

Located on South Beach's most prestigious boulevard, the hotel affords easy access to vibrant nightlife, dining and shopping.  Guests can unwind at the garden pool or visit the rooftop Wellness garden for massages in the open air. An in-house fitness center provides free headphones, weight and cardio machines, chilled towels and a yoga and stretching area.

 

For prime steaks, seafood and chicken served with French finesse, book a table at BLT Steak, a bistro that charms with good steaks and stylish ambiance.

Transportation
  • Miami International Airport (11 miles)
  • Fort Lauderdale/Hollywood International Airport (29 miles)
Attractions
  • Collins Avenue (0.2 mi/ 0.3 km)
  • Art Deco District (0.3 mi/ 0.5 km)
  • Washington Avenue (0.4 mi/ 0.6 km)
  • Lummus Park (0.5 mi/ 0.8 km)
  • Lincoln Road (1 mi/ 1.6 km)
  • Miami Beach Convention Center (1 mi/ 1.6 km)
  • Miami Convention Center (7 mi/ 11.3 km)
Business
  • Meeting space for smaller groups
  • Catering services
  • Wi-Fi
Policies and fees
  • There is $16 daily resort fee plus 13 percent taxes is payable to the hotel. The fee includes Wi-Fi.
  • Valet parking fee is $37.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Betsy Hotel, South Beach also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

The Betsy Hotel, South Beach Rooms

Classic 2 Double bed
Our Classic Double Room accommodates up to 4 guests. It features all of our standard in-room amenities to provide a welcoming, tropical retreat. Light and airy interiors offer 250 square feet of space and give way to a view of neighboring Art Deco buildings, providing the latest technology, luxury bath amenities and fine Sferra linens to suit your every need.
Classic Pool View King bed
Behind plantation-style shutters, our Classic Pool View King Rooms offer 250 square feet of understated elegance and comfort and sleeps up to 2 guests. Ruminate with a view of our tranquil Courtyard Pool or take one of the many books from your in-room library and stretch out on our voluptuous king bed. Our Superior Rooms provide the latest technology, luxury bath amenities and fine Sferra linens to suit your every need.
Classic Pool View 2 Double bed
Behind plantation-style shutters, our Classic Pool View Double Rooms offer 250 square feet of understated elegance and comfort and sleeps up to 4 guests. Ruminate with a view of our tranquil Courtyard Pool or take one of the many books from your in-room library and stretch out on our voluptuous king bed. Our Superior Rooms provide the latest technology, luxury bath amenities and fine Sferra linens to suit your every need.
Classic Ocean View 1 King bed
Our Classic Ocean View King Rooms are cozy and bright, sunlit rooms overlooking Lummus Park and the Atlantic Ocean, sleeping up to 2 guests. Wrap yourself in our contemporary Colonial design, with 250 square feet of space to enjoy all of our standard in-room amenities, the latest technology, luxury bath products and fine Sferra linen.
Classic Ocean View 2 Double bed
Our Classic Ocean View Double Rooms are cozy and bright, sunlit rooms overlooking Lummus Park and the Atlantic Ocean, sleeping up to 4 guests. Wrap yourself in our contemporary Colonial design, with 250 square feet of space to enjoy all of our standard in-room amenities, the latest technology, luxury bath products and fine Sferra linen.
Master Suite 1 King bed
Light, bright, and undeniably charming, our Master Suites were designed with elegant entertaining in mind. Our Master Suites come complete with a separate living and entertaining area and sleep up to 4 guests. These Suites offer 550 square feet of space with a view of the neighboring Art Deco buildings, a king bed in the Master Bedroom and a sofa bed for additional sleeping accommodation.
Master Suite 2 Double bed
Light, bright, and undeniably charming, our Master Suites were designed with elegant entertaining in mind. Our Master Suites come complete with a separate living and entertaining area and sleep up to 4 guests. These Suites offer 550 square feet of space with a view of the neighboring Art Deco buildings, two double beds in the Master Bedroom and a sofa bed for additional sleeping accommodation.
Classic 1 King bed
Our Classic King Room accommodates up to 2 guests. It features all of our standard in-room amenities to provide a welcoming, tropical retreat. Light and airy interiors offer 250 square feet of space and give way to a view of neighboring Art Deco buildings, providing the latest technology, luxury bath amenities and fine Sferra linens to suit your every need.

Amenities

  • Free internet
  • Outdoor pool
General
Concierge
Pet friendly
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Spa
Solarium
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Internet
Free internet
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA) compliant
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Service dogs allowed
Service animals allowed
Public areas wheelchair accessible for disabled
Wheelchair accessible elevators
Visual emergency alarm for hearing impaired guest

Dining

Roofdeck
Betsys rooftop Deck is expansive with sweeping views of the Atlantic, offering a Wellness Garden with a full range of spa treatments, therapies and complimentary sunrise yoga. Specialty cocktails and light fare are offered from dawn to dusk, and beyond.
BBar
Designed with a hint of vintage glamour, an underground speakeasy entertainment space called, B Bar, offers an exclusive and unique venue to host private events, dinners, or receptions.
BLT Steak
As the name "Bistro Laurent Tourondel" suggests , Chef Tourondel presents his adaptation of the American Steakhouse, elevating it with his signature style and all-around finesse. The result is the Modern American Steakhouse. BLT Steak integrates traditional elements of a cozy French Bistro with those of a stylish, urbane boite. In 2012, BLT Steak opened its first full Sushi and Raw Bar at The Betsy.
Lobby Bar
The Lobby Bar at The Betsy is the place to see and be seen. Enjoy exceptional cocktails in our living room style Lobby and Live Jazz Music every Wednesday and Thursday night.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (50)

Ratings and reviews for The Betsy Hotel, South Beach

Overall score

4.9 / 5
5.01.0
10 out of 50
Amenities:
4.7
Room cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4.6
Location:
5
Value:
4.4

100% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Betsy Hotel, South Beach

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
mish and zo
Business
toronto, cananda
Oct 26, 2014

A brief stay at the Betsy

My six year old and I had a very pleasant stay at the Betsy. The staff was amazing and the BLT steak restaurant for dinner and breakfast was delish!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Betsy Hotel, South Beach

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Meggie's Mom
Business
boston, ma
Sep 6, 2014

fabulous

Location, staff and amenities are great. Everyone cheerful and very helpful. Had a great time. Will definitely go back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Check other attractions in Miami other than just the beach.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Betsy Hotel, South Beach

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Claretny Brito
Business
Maracay, Venezuela
Oct 2, 2013

Fantastic Family Getaway!!!

We really loves this hotel!. Location, comfort, restaurants, personal, everything and every detail is right and appropriate. If we would recommend it... Absolutely YES!! We will come back for sure on our next visit to Miami Beach

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

BLT STEAK, just... Awesome!!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Betsy Hotel, South Beach

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
momminus1
Business
new hampshire
Apr 29, 2013

Will stay here next time too!

Only stayed one night but have also stayed at the Beacon. We liked this location best as it has access to beach, Ocean Drive and Lincoln Mall shopping (oh, Starbucks didn't hurt). Beautiful hotel, very friendly and helpful staff. Easy in and out for us. Hopefully longer stay next time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

Marlins Park, Marlins baseball. Great stadium, easy taxi ride, enjoy a great night out at a ball game.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Betsy Hotel, South Beach

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Luv 2 Go
Business
Chapel Hill, NC
Apr 6, 2013

Betsy Best

The location can't be surpassed: steps to Lummus Park and the beach, an easy walk to Lincoln and Espanola Way. A delicious restaurant. A quiet pool. An awesome rooftop bar. Our stay wasn't perfect: a Miami downpour ended up flooding our room minutes after we unpacked. Our daughter called us, and she stood in the center of the room with the ice bucket and three towels trying to soak up the damage. The staff moved us to another room, but left behind many of our clothes. The new keys didn't work. But a great hotel stands behind the experience it promises, and The Betsy did just that. Stay here!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Betsy Hotel, South Beach

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Westminster, MD
Oct 18, 2010

Amazing !!

The Betsy is an amazing hotel. Staff was extremely attentive and helpful. Rooms were immaculate. Hotel is at the tail end of Ocean Drive but everything you would want dining, shopping is a short walk. Beach is across the street and beach chairs and umbrellas are included in the resort fee ($15 a day - good deal). We loved the Betsy and would recommend it highly. Great experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

More shopping and dining is available at Lincoln Rd about 3 blocks north of the Betsy.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Betsy Hotel, South Beach

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Valhalla, New York
Aug 31, 2009

A real gem

Since I haven't travelled in a while, the experience at this hotel helped to make my trip outstanding. The staff was so caring and took time out to help me whenever I needed it. I was travelling with my 86 year old mother and they were so kind to her and very watchful of her. Great location, in walking distance of shops, beach and restaurants.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Would recommend Osteria de Trattoria which was in walking distance with outstanding Italian food and service.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Betsy Hotel, South Beach

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
brooklyn traveler
Business
Brooklyn NY
Aug 16, 2009

Very good hotel at a great location

Perfect location, great service, quiet room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Short walk to the beach.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Betsy Hotel, South Beach

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Santiago's
Business
Connecticut
Aug 3, 2009

The Betsy: South Beach, Miami

The Betsy Hotel was a great place to stay. The staff was excellent and always willing to answer questions. They made sure they knew your name. Hotel is very clean and near Lincoln Blvd, restaurants, and in front of the beach. Beach chairs, umbrella, and towels at the beach were free for those staying at the hotel. Valet is somewhat pricey. $30.00 per night. Would defintely stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Walking distance to stores. Lots of great shopping places. If you have a car you are near Bayside where there are shops, restaurants, and cruises around the bay.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Betsy Hotel, South Beach

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
young family with toddler
Business
washington, dc
Jul 8, 2009

very nice hotel in great location

Very nice hotel and great restaurant. The staff are very nice. Rooms are a bit small if you have a child with you. The hotel would be perfect if the rooms could have balconies. However, overall this is a fantastic boutique hotel with great ambience and in a great location. Will definitely go back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

BLT Steakhouse (in hotel) is excellent.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top