$195 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: May 25, 2015 Check-out: May 26, 2015

The Betsy Hotel, South Beach

5 stars
View map of 1440 Ocean Drive, Miami Beach, FL 33139

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
4.5
out of 5
58 reviews
Long Weekend Getaway

The Betsy was amazing! We chose the hotel based on reviews online, but didn't know much about it... See full review

  • Sarah B.
  • Apr 6, 2015
Great romantic trip

This hotel really is nice in every which way, its not inexpensive but worth it. Be careful of the... See full review

  • Talachas
  • Mar 24, 2015
Spa, steak and rainfall showers – hotel covers all the SoBe bases

Named for Betsy Ross, this Ocean Drive hotel is a standout among South Beach's many Art Deco hotels and winner of prestigious 4 Star Forbes Plaque. The boutique hotel's colonial design was a departure for architect L. Murray Dixon who designed other notable hotels in the area. Today's Betsy merges tradition and technology. Outside, find a white plantation façade complete with wooden shutters. Inside, behold 21st century amenities such as bath mirrors with built-in LCD TV and Bose sound and rainfall showerheads. The lobby's BLT Steak, a modern American chophouse and bistro, is a magnet for foodies.

Highlights
  • 61-room boutique hotel on Ocean Drive
  • Colonial architecture and modern amenities
  • Ocean Deck wellness garden offering spa treatments
  • BLT Steak, a contemporary American steakhouse, on site
  • Easy  beach access and secluded garden pool
Rooms
The 61 beachside rooms and suites mimic the traditional flair of the hotel, with contemporary touches here and there. Think plantation-style shutters, striped armchairs and fresh potted orchids that pop against geometric throw pillows and white Sferra linens. Bathrooms are outfitted to the nines. Mirrors have built-in LCD TVs and Bose sound systems.  Kallista de Stile shower wands and rain forest shower-heads promote relaxation. Wi-Fi is included in the resort fee.
Features
Located on South Beach's most prestigious boulevard, the hotel affords easy access to vibrant nightlife, dining and shopping.  Guests can unwind at the garden pool or visit the ocean deck wellness garden for massages in the open air. An in-house fitness center provides free headphones, weight and cardio machines, chilled towels and a yoga and stretching area. For prime steaks, seafood and chicken served with French finesse, book a table at BLT Steak, a bistro that charms with good steaks and stylish ambiance.
Transportation
  • Miami International Airport (11 miles)
  • Fort Lauderdale/Hollywood International Airport (29 miles)
Attractions
  • Collins Avenue (0.2 mi/ 0.3 km)
  • Art Deco District (0.3 mi/ 0.5 km)
  • Washington Avenue (0.4 mi/ 0.6 km)
  • Lummus Park (0.5 mi/ 0.8 km)
  • Lincoln Road (1 mi/ 1.6 km)
  • Miami Beach Convention Center (1 mi/ 1.6 km)
  • Miami Convention Center (7 mi/ 11.3 km)
Business
  • Meeting space for smaller groups
  • Catering services
  • Wi-Fi
Policies and fees
  • There is $20 daily resort fee plus 13 percent taxes is payable to the hotel. The fee includes Wi-Fi.
  • Valet parking fee is $43.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Betsy Hotel, South Beach also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5

The Betsy Hotel, South Beach Rooms

Classic 2 Double bed
Our Classic Double Room accommodates up to 4 guests. It features all of our standard in-room amenities to provide a welcoming, tropical retreat. Light and airy interiors offer 250 square feet of space and give way to a view of neighboring Art Deco buildings, providing the latest technology, luxury bath amenities and fine Sferra linens to suit your every need.
Classic Pool View King bed
Behind plantation-style shutters, our Classic Pool View King Rooms offer 250 square feet of understated elegance and comfort and sleeps up to 2 guests. Ruminate with a view of our tranquil Courtyard Pool or take one of the many books from your in-room library and stretch out on our voluptuous king bed. Our Superior Rooms provide the latest technology, luxury bath amenities and fine Sferra linens to suit your every need.
Classic Pool View 2 Double bed
Behind plantation-style shutters, our Classic Pool View Double Rooms offer 250 square feet of understated elegance and comfort and sleeps up to 4 guests. Ruminate with a view of our tranquil Courtyard Pool or take one of the many books from your in-room library and stretch out on our voluptuous king bed. Our Superior Rooms provide the latest technology, luxury bath amenities and fine Sferra linens to suit your every need.
Classic Ocean View 1 King bed
Our Classic Ocean View King Rooms are cozy and bright, sunlit rooms overlooking Lummus Park and the Atlantic Ocean, sleeping up to 2 guests. Wrap yourself in our contemporary Colonial design, with 250 square feet of space to enjoy all of our standard in-room amenities, the latest technology, luxury bath products and fine Sferra linen.
Classic Ocean View 2 Double bed
Our Classic Ocean View Double Rooms are cozy and bright, sunlit rooms overlooking Lummus Park and the Atlantic Ocean, sleeping up to 4 guests. Wrap yourself in our contemporary Colonial design, with 250 square feet of space to enjoy all of our standard in-room amenities, the latest technology, luxury bath products and fine Sferra linen.
Master Suite 1 King bed
Light, bright, and undeniably charming, our Master Suites were designed with elegant entertaining in mind. Our Master Suites come complete with a separate living and entertaining area and sleep up to 4 guests. These Suites offer 550 square feet of space with a view of the neighboring Art Deco buildings, a king bed in the Master Bedroom and a sofa bed for additional sleeping accommodation.
Master Suite 2 Double bed
Light, bright, and undeniably charming, our Master Suites were designed with elegant entertaining in mind. Our Master Suites come complete with a separate living and entertaining area and sleep up to 4 guests. These Suites offer 550 square feet of space with a view of the neighboring Art Deco buildings, two double beds in the Master Bedroom and a sofa bed for additional sleeping accommodation.
Classic 1 King bed
Our Classic King Room accommodates up to 2 guests. It features all of our standard in-room amenities to provide a welcoming, tropical retreat. Light and airy interiors offer 250 square feet of space and give way to a view of neighboring Art Deco buildings, providing the latest technology, luxury bath amenities and fine Sferra linens to suit your every need.

Amenities

  • Free internet
  • Outdoor pool
General
Concierge
Pet friendly
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Spa
Solarium
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Internet
Free internet
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA) compliant
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Service dogs allowed
Service animals allowed
Public areas wheelchair accessible for disabled
Wheelchair accessible elevators
Visual emergency alarm for hearing impaired guest

Dining

Roofdeck
Betsys rooftop Deck is expansive with sweeping views of the Atlantic, offering a Wellness Garden with a full range of spa treatments, therapies and complimentary sunrise yoga. Specialty cocktails and light fare are offered from dawn to dusk, and beyond.
BLT Steak
As the name "Bistro Laurent Tourondel" suggests , Chef Tourondel presents his adaptation of the American Steakhouse, elevating it with his signature style and all-around finesse. The result is the Modern American Steakhouse. BLT Steak integrates traditional elements of a cozy French Bistro with those of a stylish, urbane boite. In 2012, BLT Steak opened its first full Sushi and Raw Bar at The Betsy.
Lobby Bar
The Lobby Bar at The Betsy is the place to see and be seen. Enjoy exceptional cocktails in our living room style Lobby and Live Jazz Music every Wednesday and Thursday night.
BBar
Designed with a hint of vintage glamour, an underground speakeasy entertainment space called, B Bar, offers an exclusive and unique venue to host private events, dinners, or receptions.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
4:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for The Betsy Hotel, South Beach

Overall score

4.4 / 5
5.01.0
28 out of 58
Amenities:
4.1
Cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.6
Comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.7
Value:
3.8

96% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Betsy Hotel, South Beach

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Sarah B.
Business
N/A
Apr 6, 2015

Long Weekend Getaway

The Betsy was amazing! We chose the hotel based on reviews online, but didn't know much about it before arriving. The staff and service was amazing and SO helpful and friendly. The room was extremely clean and well-kept. The hotel itself is very clean and very cool. We ate at BLT twice for dinner because everything we had was AMAZING. We absolutely loved the location - around the corner from bars and clubs we went to during Miami Music Week, but off the main road so you feel like you're really away from the noise and chaos of all the parties. We used the private beach every day and the staff who manages the beach chairs/towels/umbrellas was so friendly and accomodating. We can't say enough about how much we enjoyed our stay and we're already looking forward to booking next year's trip at the Betsy!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Betsy Hotel, South Beach

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Talachas
Business
Singapore
Mar 24, 2015

Great romantic trip

This hotel really is nice in every which way, its not inexpensive but worth it. Be careful of the extra charges for beach service which are not mentioned and charged even if you don't want to use them. The food in the restaurants is very good, no need to leave the place. The terrace is also very nice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Betsy Hotel, South Beach

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
andrew b.
Business
N/A
Feb 23, 2015

Good South Beach Getaway

Great location, staff was very helpful in recommending great places to eat, nice front porch to sit and people watch.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Betsy Hotel, South Beach

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Nelson B.
Business
N/A
Feb 18, 2015

night in Miami

The hotel is a relative oasis of calm and class amid the cacophony of Ocean Drive. Great location. The staff was uniformly friendly and helpful and the restaurant is first-rate. The room itself was quite small -- a good place to sleep and change clothes but that's about all. Of course, one shouldn't go to Miami Beach to hang out in their hotel room. While this complaint isn't specific to the Betsy (street parking is impossible), the valet parking fee is ridiculous.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Betsy Hotel, South Beach

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
G'leon
Business
North Palm Beach, Fl
Aug 23, 2014

Great over night

A beautiful place with fantastic staff. A little noise from room above. Will try the restaurant next time we are in Miami Beach.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Betsy Hotel, South Beach

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Escape from NYC
Business
New York
Jun 21, 2014

SECOND TRIP

The Betsy is quaint, well maintained,serviced hotel. My choice for a boutique style hotel in South Beach recommended improvements - additional food options and better fitness facilities

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Betsy Hotel, South Beach

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
GWB1
Business
Staffordhire UK
Apr 15, 2014

Romantic City break before Cruise from Miami

Certainly not cheap but almost perfect in any other way for a boutique hotel. Be prepared to tip for most things and accept and the daily 16$ resort fee - don't forget to use the beach hotel facility and the roof bar and spa. Check each bill as to whether gratuity is inc or not - different bars areas/ staff vary. Otherwise the hotel is close to all the action on South beach , Lincoln Rd Shops and the beach whist being quiet and calm inside to chill out in beautiful surroundings - pool nice but can be shaded as on ground floor.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

Taxi from the airport should be around 30$ DONT be conned by drivers taking you the long way round the Mway/ ring road (95) as will cost 45$ - they will also try this when you take taxis to Malls or the Port.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Betsy Hotel, South Beach

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
STUVW
Business
Fairfield, CT
Feb 21, 2014

Mixed Review

The staff was very friendly and accomodating. With that said, they offered to store one of my bags which could not be stored comfortably in our room, because the rooms are very small. When I went to check out & get the bag to pack it, they had lost it. While they offered to go out and buy me a new bag, or give me something else to pack, it was too late and we were able to overpack the clothes in the other 3 bags we had. We usually left the room early and returned late in the day around 4. On one day, housekeeping didnt get to the room until 4:30 and I sent them away as I didn't want them cleaning while we were there. Lastly, the rooms are tiny. Some drwaers did not open completely because the bed was to close, etc. Everything cleared by fractions of an inch.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Betsy Hotel, South Beach

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
RelaxMiam1
Business
Durham, NC
Jan 31, 2014

Great views and a very pleasant stay

We had a great ocean view from our room. There is a very nice indoor pool for guests. Also, the beach is right across the street! Staff were very nice and ensured a pleasant stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Long walk from hotel

Walk south on Ocean Avenue and you will not be disappointed

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Betsy Hotel, South Beach

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
The playah
Business
St Louis
Sep 11, 2013

Great Place

Overall great place and location, wonderful staff and nice restaurant.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

All restaurants along Ocean Drive will cost and most will try to get you to stop at their restaurant advertising a 20% discount. Most restaurants have their 18% gratuity included in the bill. Try to make happy hour and save on drinks.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top