$345 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Jan 4, 2015 Check-out: Jan 5, 2015

The Betsy Hotel, South Beach

5 stars
1440 Ocean Drive, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.5
out of 5
50 reviews
A brief stay at the Betsy

My six year old and I had a very pleasant stay at the Betsy. The staff was amazing and the BLT... See full review

  • mish and zo
  • Oct 26, 2014
Tropical Greenbrier

First off, look at The Greenbrier Resort. The Betsy is a near replica boutique of that resort.... See full review

  • 5starforless
  • Sep 14, 2014
Spa, steak and rainfall showers – hotel covers all the SoBe bases

Named for Betsy Ross, this Ocean Drive hotel is a standout among South Beach's many Art Deco hotels and winner of prestigious 4 Star Forbes Plaque. The boutique hotel's colonial design was a departure for architect L. Murray Dixon who designed other notable hotels in the area. Today's Betsy merges tradition and technology. Outside, find a white plantation façade complete with wooden shutters. Inside, behold 21st century amenities such as bath mirrors with built-in LCD TV and Bose sound and rainfall showerheads. The lobby's BLT Steak, a modern American chophouse and bistro, is a magnet for foodies.

Highlights
  • 63-room boutique hotel on Ocean Drive
  • Colonial architecture and modern amenities
  • Rooftop wellness garden offering spa treatments
  • BLT Steak, a contemporary American steakhouse, on site
  • Easy  beach access and secluded garden pool
Rooms

The 63 beachside rooms and suites mimic the traditional flair of the hotel, with contemporary touches here and there. Think plantation-style shutters, striped armchairs and fresh potted orchids that pop against geometric throw pillows and white Frette linens. Bathrooms are outfitted to the nines. Mirrors have built-in LCD TVs and Bose sound systems.  Kallista de Stile shower wands and rain forest shower-heads promote relaxation. Wi-Fi is included in the resort fee.

Features

Located on South Beach's most prestigious boulevard, the hotel affords easy access to vibrant nightlife, dining and shopping.  Guests can unwind at the garden pool or visit the rooftop Wellness garden for massages in the open air. An in-house fitness center provides free headphones, weight and cardio machines, chilled towels and a yoga and stretching area.

 

For prime steaks, seafood and chicken served with French finesse, book a table at BLT Steak, a bistro that charms with good steaks and stylish ambiance.

Transportation
  • Miami International Airport (11 miles)
  • Fort Lauderdale/Hollywood International Airport (29 miles)
Attractions
  • Collins Avenue (0.2 mi/ 0.3 km)
  • Art Deco District (0.3 mi/ 0.5 km)
  • Washington Avenue (0.4 mi/ 0.6 km)
  • Lummus Park (0.5 mi/ 0.8 km)
  • Lincoln Road (1 mi/ 1.6 km)
  • Miami Beach Convention Center (1 mi/ 1.6 km)
  • Miami Convention Center (7 mi/ 11.3 km)
Business
  • Meeting space for smaller groups
  • Catering services
  • Wi-Fi
Policies and fees
  • There is $16 daily resort fee plus 13 percent taxes is payable to the hotel. The fee includes Wi-Fi.
  • Valet parking fee is $37.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Betsy Hotel, South Beach also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

The Betsy Hotel, South Beach Rooms

Classic 2 Double bed
Our Classic Double Room accommodates up to 4 guests. It features all of our standard in-room amenities to provide a welcoming, tropical retreat. Light and airy interiors offer 250 square feet of space and give way to a view of neighboring Art Deco buildings, providing the latest technology, luxury bath amenities and fine Sferra linens to suit your every need.
Classic Pool View King bed
Behind plantation-style shutters, our Classic Pool View King Rooms offer 250 square feet of understated elegance and comfort and sleeps up to 2 guests. Ruminate with a view of our tranquil Courtyard Pool or take one of the many books from your in-room library and stretch out on our voluptuous king bed. Our Superior Rooms provide the latest technology, luxury bath amenities and fine Sferra linens to suit your every need.
Classic Pool View 2 Double bed
Behind plantation-style shutters, our Classic Pool View Double Rooms offer 250 square feet of understated elegance and comfort and sleeps up to 4 guests. Ruminate with a view of our tranquil Courtyard Pool or take one of the many books from your in-room library and stretch out on our voluptuous king bed. Our Superior Rooms provide the latest technology, luxury bath amenities and fine Sferra linens to suit your every need.
Classic Ocean View 1 King bed
Our Classic Ocean View King Rooms are cozy and bright, sunlit rooms overlooking Lummus Park and the Atlantic Ocean, sleeping up to 2 guests. Wrap yourself in our contemporary Colonial design, with 250 square feet of space to enjoy all of our standard in-room amenities, the latest technology, luxury bath products and fine Sferra linen.
Classic Ocean View 2 Double bed
Our Classic Ocean View Double Rooms are cozy and bright, sunlit rooms overlooking Lummus Park and the Atlantic Ocean, sleeping up to 4 guests. Wrap yourself in our contemporary Colonial design, with 250 square feet of space to enjoy all of our standard in-room amenities, the latest technology, luxury bath products and fine Sferra linen.
Master Suite 1 King bed
Light, bright, and undeniably charming, our Master Suites were designed with elegant entertaining in mind. Our Master Suites come complete with a separate living and entertaining area and sleep up to 4 guests. These Suites offer 550 square feet of space with a view of the neighboring Art Deco buildings, a king bed in the Master Bedroom and a sofa bed for additional sleeping accommodation.
Master Suite 2 Double bed
Light, bright, and undeniably charming, our Master Suites were designed with elegant entertaining in mind. Our Master Suites come complete with a separate living and entertaining area and sleep up to 4 guests. These Suites offer 550 square feet of space with a view of the neighboring Art Deco buildings, two double beds in the Master Bedroom and a sofa bed for additional sleeping accommodation.
Classic 1 King bed
Our Classic King Room accommodates up to 2 guests. It features all of our standard in-room amenities to provide a welcoming, tropical retreat. Light and airy interiors offer 250 square feet of space and give way to a view of neighboring Art Deco buildings, providing the latest technology, luxury bath amenities and fine Sferra linens to suit your every need.

Amenities

  • Free internet
  • Outdoor pool
General
Concierge
Pet friendly
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Spa
Solarium
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Internet
Free internet
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA) compliant
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Service dogs allowed
Service animals allowed
Public areas wheelchair accessible for disabled
Wheelchair accessible elevators
Visual emergency alarm for hearing impaired guest

Dining

Roofdeck
Betsys rooftop Deck is expansive with sweeping views of the Atlantic, offering a Wellness Garden with a full range of spa treatments, therapies and complimentary sunrise yoga. Specialty cocktails and light fare are offered from dawn to dusk, and beyond.
BBar
Designed with a hint of vintage glamour, an underground speakeasy entertainment space called, B Bar, offers an exclusive and unique venue to host private events, dinners, or receptions.
BLT Steak
As the name "Bistro Laurent Tourondel" suggests , Chef Tourondel presents his adaptation of the American Steakhouse, elevating it with his signature style and all-around finesse. The result is the Modern American Steakhouse. BLT Steak integrates traditional elements of a cozy French Bistro with those of a stylish, urbane boite. In 2012, BLT Steak opened its first full Sushi and Raw Bar at The Betsy.
Lobby Bar
The Lobby Bar at The Betsy is the place to see and be seen. Enjoy exceptional cocktails in our living room style Lobby and Live Jazz Music every Wednesday and Thursday night.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (50)

Ratings and reviews for The Betsy Hotel, South Beach

Overall score

4.5 / 5
5.01.0
50 out of 50
Amenities:
4.3
Room cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.7
Room comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.8
Value:
4.1

96% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Betsy Hotel, South Beach

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
STUVW
Business
Fairfield, CT
Feb 21, 2014

Mixed Review

The staff was very friendly and accomodating. With that said, they offered to store one of my bags which could not be stored comfortably in our room, because the rooms are very small. When I went to check out & get the bag to pack it, they had lost it. While they offered to go out and buy me a new bag, or give me something else to pack, it was too late and we were able to overpack the clothes in the other 3 bags we had. We usually left the room early and returned late in the day around 4. On one day, housekeeping didnt get to the room until 4:30 and I sent them away as I didn't want them cleaning while we were there. Lastly, the rooms are tiny. Some drwaers did not open completely because the bed was to close, etc. Everything cleared by fractions of an inch.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Betsy Hotel, South Beach

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New jersey
Oct 8, 2010

ok

The hotel is nice very stylish But the problem is It's no t a 5 star its a boutique 5 star so there are noises of trucks n stuff in d morning The gym is tiny The pool on ground floor is horrible The pool on rooftop was getting fixed when we went there so that I might be good Overall the stay is good but nothing exceptional

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Everything is walkable it might be a good idea to hire a bicycle

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Betsy Hotel, South Beach

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Shrwsbury, MA
Sep 8, 2010

The Betsy Hotel Miami Beach

We arrived at approximately 10:30 and our rooms weren't ready. We were able to store our luggage and went shopping. The hotel is very close to the shops and the beach. They told us that they would call us when the room was ready. By 2:30 we were very hot and wanted to change into our bathing suits to go to the beach. They told us they would call housekeeping and check status. A half hour later, they told us it would be 20 minutes. We felt as is we were getting the run around. If they told us that the rooms wouldn't be ready until "X" time, it would have been better. The hotel had a very strong musty smell, but was very nicely decorated. The room was spacious, had a very nice bathroom with a TV in the mirror! Cool touch. The aircondintioning was either blasting freezing air or the room was too warm. If you had the bed closest to the unit, you had to burrow way under the covers and then kick them off when the room got too warm. When you go to the beach, you check in at a booth and they give you towels, put a terry cover on your chair and there's an umbrella.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Betsy Hotel, South Beach

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
NY
May 2, 2011

Could be so great, but...

Location and design are not everything... particularly in a hotel. Service is important too... The Bettsy has a fantastic location and a beautiful design... but their service is amateurish at best. People are very nice and all, but it is disorganized and they don't meet the quality standards you would expect in such a place. The good news is that it could be easy to fix.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

The concierge, [...], is great

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Betsy Hotel, South Beach

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Shay & Tracy: Power Travel Couple
Business
Fayetteville, NC
Jul 14, 2009

GREAT LOCATION!

Okay...first you must know that I am VERY picky with hotels and we only stay at 4-5 star places. The Betsy was small but cozy/comfortable. The location was close to everything (food/shopping/nightlife) but far enough away from the loud noise that seems to go on all night/every night. We are party people but we also like to sleep. The bed was very comfortable and the room was clean. Our room was cleaned 2x/daily for some reason...fine by me. We had an ocean view rm and the only thing we didn't like was the misleading view. The hotel only has 3 floors (we were on the 2nd) so you don't really get the ocean view you think you will get(hint: I wouldn't pay xtra for it). The ocean is across the street and down a path (about a 3-5min walk) and this can not really be seen from your windows. We did not like the fact that the chairs & the umbrella included actually carried a xtra daily fee and is actually run by another company that closes up shop at 5pm. They really should extend the beach chair hours. We were just getting out to the beach around 4pm and would have liked to see the sun set and relax well in to the night. The pool was small and nothing special so we didn't bother with it. The bathroom was very small but clean. There was no tissue paper holder in the bathroom (never had that before) and the shower was made by some designer who didn't think that water actually gets on the floor if you don't have a door! The restaurant in the hotel (BLT steakhouse) was good but VERY expensive and not enough food for the money. Everyone(staff) was very nice and remembered our names when we came and went. The customer service/location was phenomenal and for that we would stay again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Betsy Hotel, South Beach

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Half Marathon Crazed
Business
Texas, USA
Dec 13, 2011

Fantastic roof top

Fantastic service! Check in and out was flawless. Rooms were turned down each night, water bottles replaced daily. Close to Espana Way, Lincoln Rd mall, and lots of restaurants. Had taxi cab waiting for us the day we left. $33.00 cab ride from airport to South Beach. Excellant staff and very helpful consierge.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Betsy Hotel, South Beach

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
JennMA
Business
Concord, MA, USA
Jan 24, 2012

Nice Place

My friend and I stayed at the Betsy as a winter getaway from the cold. We left our husbands and kids at home to celebrate our birthdays in the warm sun. The weather was perfect. The hotel is situated on Ocean Drive with a Starbucks and bike rental across the street. The swimming pool is outside at ground level surrounded by the building itself. It is not heated and hardly gets any sun so don't come here for the pool. But the roof top deck has a few really comfortable lounge chairs and a beautiful view of the ocean. The beach is located directly across the street and two towels and chairs are included in the stay rate. The staff was very friendly and accommodating. Our room was small but expected with a boutique hotel. We enjoyed being at the north end of Ocean Drive. Close enough to walk or bike to everything yet far enough away from the trendy bars to not have to hear them or deal with the drunk late night crowd associated with them. (not that there is anything wrong with that!). The bar and restaurant in the hotel are top notch and the food was excellent. We had a great stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Betsy Hotel, South Beach

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mickal
Business
Cincinnati, Ohio
Sep 17, 2012

Business trip

I arrived late Friday and left early Sunday and was gone on business most of Saturday. Room and bath were very clean and well appointed but "smallish." Staff friendly and helpful. In room bar and snacks were varied and nice but expensive as they always are. Refrigerator locked for some reason upon my return Saturday after long day when I wanted a quick cold one -- aggravating. If you like TV there are 2 nice ones, 1 in bath. Room service breakfast was excellent quality and timely but the earliest serving at 8:15 is late if you need to be somewhere. I'd go back. It's not inexpensive but hey its on South Beach and a higher end hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Betsy Hotel, South Beach

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
RogerH
Business
New york
Jul 9, 2013

4th of July getaway

The hotel is at a perfect location. The room is clean and comfortable. The pool and the rooftop are huge plus. However, the staff is not professional enough to charge this rate. I would still go back if there is an discount.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Betsy Hotel, South Beach

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
dado dantas
Business
curitiba, brazil
Aug 12, 2013

size of the room

great location but the room was not as big as it should be, the roof top and massages service was terrible

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

zuma restaurant

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top