$245 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Apr 29, 2015 Check-out: Apr 30, 2015

The Betsy Hotel, South Beach

5 stars
View map of 1440 Ocean Drive, Miami Beach, FL 33139

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
4.5
out of 5
54 reviews
Long Weekend Getaway

The Betsy was amazing! We chose the hotel based on reviews online, but didn't know much about it... See full review

  • Sarah B.
  • Apr 6, 2015
Great romantic trip

This hotel really is nice in every which way, its not inexpensive but worth it. Be careful of the... See full review

  • Talachas
  • Mar 24, 2015
Spa, steak and rainfall showers – hotel covers all the SoBe bases

Named for Betsy Ross, this Ocean Drive hotel is a standout among South Beach's many Art Deco hotels and winner of prestigious 4 Star Forbes Plaque. The boutique hotel's colonial design was a departure for architect L. Murray Dixon who designed other notable hotels in the area. Today's Betsy merges tradition and technology. Outside, find a white plantation façade complete with wooden shutters. Inside, behold 21st century amenities such as bath mirrors with built-in LCD TV and Bose sound and rainfall showerheads. The lobby's BLT Steak, a modern American chophouse and bistro, is a magnet for foodies.

Highlights
  • 63-room boutique hotel on Ocean Drive
  • Colonial architecture and modern amenities
  • Rooftop wellness garden offering spa treatments
  • BLT Steak, a contemporary American steakhouse, on site
  • Easy  beach access and secluded garden pool
Rooms

The 63 beachside rooms and suites mimic the traditional flair of the hotel, with contemporary touches here and there. Think plantation-style shutters, striped armchairs and fresh potted orchids that pop against geometric throw pillows and white Frette linens. Bathrooms are outfitted to the nines. Mirrors have built-in LCD TVs and Bose sound systems.  Kallista de Stile shower wands and rain forest shower-heads promote relaxation. Wi-Fi is included in the resort fee.

Features

Located on South Beach's most prestigious boulevard, the hotel affords easy access to vibrant nightlife, dining and shopping.  Guests can unwind at the garden pool or visit the rooftop Wellness garden for massages in the open air. An in-house fitness center provides free headphones, weight and cardio machines, chilled towels and a yoga and stretching area.

 

For prime steaks, seafood and chicken served with French finesse, book a table at BLT Steak, a bistro that charms with good steaks and stylish ambiance.

Transportation
  • Miami International Airport (11 miles)
  • Fort Lauderdale/Hollywood International Airport (29 miles)
Attractions
  • Collins Avenue (0.2 mi/ 0.3 km)
  • Art Deco District (0.3 mi/ 0.5 km)
  • Washington Avenue (0.4 mi/ 0.6 km)
  • Lummus Park (0.5 mi/ 0.8 km)
  • Lincoln Road (1 mi/ 1.6 km)
  • Miami Beach Convention Center (1 mi/ 1.6 km)
  • Miami Convention Center (7 mi/ 11.3 km)
Business
  • Meeting space for smaller groups
  • Catering services
  • Wi-Fi
Policies and fees
  • There is $16 daily resort fee plus 13 percent taxes is payable to the hotel. The fee includes Wi-Fi.
  • Valet parking fee is $37.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Betsy Hotel, South Beach also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5

The Betsy Hotel, South Beach Rooms

Classic 2 Double bed
Our Classic Double Room accommodates up to 4 guests. It features all of our standard in-room amenities to provide a welcoming, tropical retreat. Light and airy interiors offer 250 square feet of space and give way to a view of neighboring Art Deco buildings, providing the latest technology, luxury bath amenities and fine Sferra linens to suit your every need.
Classic Pool View King bed
Behind plantation-style shutters, our Classic Pool View King Rooms offer 250 square feet of understated elegance and comfort and sleeps up to 2 guests. Ruminate with a view of our tranquil Courtyard Pool or take one of the many books from your in-room library and stretch out on our voluptuous king bed. Our Superior Rooms provide the latest technology, luxury bath amenities and fine Sferra linens to suit your every need.
Classic Pool View 2 Double bed
Behind plantation-style shutters, our Classic Pool View Double Rooms offer 250 square feet of understated elegance and comfort and sleeps up to 4 guests. Ruminate with a view of our tranquil Courtyard Pool or take one of the many books from your in-room library and stretch out on our voluptuous king bed. Our Superior Rooms provide the latest technology, luxury bath amenities and fine Sferra linens to suit your every need.
Classic Ocean View 1 King bed
Our Classic Ocean View King Rooms are cozy and bright, sunlit rooms overlooking Lummus Park and the Atlantic Ocean, sleeping up to 2 guests. Wrap yourself in our contemporary Colonial design, with 250 square feet of space to enjoy all of our standard in-room amenities, the latest technology, luxury bath products and fine Sferra linen.
Classic Ocean View 2 Double bed
Our Classic Ocean View Double Rooms are cozy and bright, sunlit rooms overlooking Lummus Park and the Atlantic Ocean, sleeping up to 4 guests. Wrap yourself in our contemporary Colonial design, with 250 square feet of space to enjoy all of our standard in-room amenities, the latest technology, luxury bath products and fine Sferra linen.
Master Suite 1 King bed
Light, bright, and undeniably charming, our Master Suites were designed with elegant entertaining in mind. Our Master Suites come complete with a separate living and entertaining area and sleep up to 4 guests. These Suites offer 550 square feet of space with a view of the neighboring Art Deco buildings, a king bed in the Master Bedroom and a sofa bed for additional sleeping accommodation.
Master Suite 2 Double bed
Light, bright, and undeniably charming, our Master Suites were designed with elegant entertaining in mind. Our Master Suites come complete with a separate living and entertaining area and sleep up to 4 guests. These Suites offer 550 square feet of space with a view of the neighboring Art Deco buildings, two double beds in the Master Bedroom and a sofa bed for additional sleeping accommodation.
Classic 1 King bed
Our Classic King Room accommodates up to 2 guests. It features all of our standard in-room amenities to provide a welcoming, tropical retreat. Light and airy interiors offer 250 square feet of space and give way to a view of neighboring Art Deco buildings, providing the latest technology, luxury bath amenities and fine Sferra linens to suit your every need.

Amenities

  • Free internet
  • Outdoor pool
General
Concierge
Pet friendly
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Spa
Solarium
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Internet
Free internet
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA) compliant
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Service dogs allowed
Service animals allowed
Public areas wheelchair accessible for disabled
Wheelchair accessible elevators
Visual emergency alarm for hearing impaired guest

Dining

Roofdeck
Betsys rooftop Deck is expansive with sweeping views of the Atlantic, offering a Wellness Garden with a full range of spa treatments, therapies and complimentary sunrise yoga. Specialty cocktails and light fare are offered from dawn to dusk, and beyond.
BLT Steak
As the name "Bistro Laurent Tourondel" suggests , Chef Tourondel presents his adaptation of the American Steakhouse, elevating it with his signature style and all-around finesse. The result is the Modern American Steakhouse. BLT Steak integrates traditional elements of a cozy French Bistro with those of a stylish, urbane boite. In 2012, BLT Steak opened its first full Sushi and Raw Bar at The Betsy.
Lobby Bar
The Lobby Bar at The Betsy is the place to see and be seen. Enjoy exceptional cocktails in our living room style Lobby and Live Jazz Music every Wednesday and Thursday night.
BBar
Designed with a hint of vintage glamour, an underground speakeasy entertainment space called, B Bar, offers an exclusive and unique venue to host private events, dinners, or receptions.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
4:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for The Betsy Hotel, South Beach

Overall score

4.5 / 5
5.01.0
54 out of 54
Amenities:
4.2
Cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.7
Comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.8
Value:
4.1

96% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Betsy Hotel, South Beach

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
RelaxMiam1
Business
Durham, NC
Jan 31, 2014

Great views and a very pleasant stay

We had a great ocean view from our room. There is a very nice indoor pool for guests. Also, the beach is right across the street! Staff were very nice and ensured a pleasant stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Long walk from hotel

Walk south on Ocean Avenue and you will not be disappointed

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Betsy Hotel, South Beach

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Amy L
Business
Chicago, IL
Mar 24, 2014

Fun trip!

A great hotel (service, location & décor). Really enjoyed the pool and rooftop deck. I will happily stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Betsy Hotel, South Beach

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
GWB1
Business
Staffordhire UK
Apr 15, 2014

Romantic City break before Cruise from Miami

Certainly not cheap but almost perfect in any other way for a boutique hotel. Be prepared to tip for most things and accept and the daily 16$ resort fee - don't forget to use the beach hotel facility and the roof bar and spa. Check each bill as to whether gratuity is inc or not - different bars areas/ staff vary. Otherwise the hotel is close to all the action on South beach , Lincoln Rd Shops and the beach whist being quiet and calm inside to chill out in beautiful surroundings - pool nice but can be shaded as on ground floor.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

Taxi from the airport should be around 30$ DONT be conned by drivers taking you the long way round the Mway/ ring road (95) as will cost 45$ - they will also try this when you take taxis to Malls or the Port.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Betsy Hotel, South Beach

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
chicagomeg
Business
Chicago
May 2, 2014

Excellent experience

The Betsy is a beautiful, historic hotel in South Beach on Ocean Drive, near all the nightlife but far away enough from it that it won't bother you if that's not what you're in to. There's clearly a commitment to service here - the staff could not have been better, and the rooms and amenities were excellent for the most part (the pool is a little small and shaded, but you're right across the street from the beach).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Betsy Hotel, South Beach

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
annthefran
Business
yardley, pa
Jul 27, 2009

south beach luxury

the hotel was fabulous, the restaurant was 5 star. rooms beautiful with every amenity you could want and service was great. location was great. was just restored and it is beautiful. we got a great deal as it is considered off season. cant wait to go back - would not even consider staying anywhere else.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

ola nice restaurant great food!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Betsy Hotel, South Beach

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Santiago's
Business
Connecticut
Aug 3, 2009

The Betsy: South Beach, Miami

The Betsy Hotel was a great place to stay. The staff was excellent and always willing to answer questions. They made sure they knew your name. Hotel is very clean and near Lincoln Blvd, restaurants, and in front of the beach. Beach chairs, umbrella, and towels at the beach were free for those staying at the hotel. Valet is somewhat pricey. $30.00 per night. Would defintely stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Walking distance to stores. Lots of great shopping places. If you have a car you are near Bayside where there are shops, restaurants, and cruises around the bay.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Betsy Hotel, South Beach

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Cate01
Business
MI
Nov 30, 2011

5 Star Experience

Beautiful hotel, friendly and attentive staff at all levels. They really couldn't do enough for us. Food from BLT absolutely delicious. Would highly recommend this hotel to anyone looking for something special.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Miami Culinary Tours - Lunch Tour.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Betsy Hotel, South Beach

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Lucy mom
Business
Pennsylvania
Oct 29, 2012

Perfect south beach boutique hotel

The Betsy was just what we were looking for! Classy and chic but cozy and comfortable. Wonderful staff, great restaurant, perfect location. We look forward to a return visit!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Betsy Hotel, South Beach

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Luv 2 Go
Business
Chapel Hill, NC
Apr 6, 2013

Betsy Best

The location can't be surpassed: steps to Lummus Park and the beach, an easy walk to Lincoln and Espanola Way. A delicious restaurant. A quiet pool. An awesome rooftop bar. Our stay wasn't perfect: a Miami downpour ended up flooding our room minutes after we unpacked. Our daughter called us, and she stood in the center of the room with the ice bucket and three towels trying to soak up the damage. The staff moved us to another room, but left behind many of our clothes. The new keys didn't work. But a great hotel stands behind the experience it promises, and The Betsy did just that. Stay here!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Betsy Hotel, South Beach

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
momminus1
Business
new hampshire
Apr 29, 2013

Will stay here next time too!

Only stayed one night but have also stayed at the Beacon. We liked this location best as it has access to beach, Ocean Drive and Lincoln Mall shopping (oh, Starbucks didn't hurt). Beautiful hotel, very friendly and helpful staff. Easy in and out for us. Hopefully longer stay next time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

Marlins Park, Marlins baseball. Great stadium, easy taxi ride, enjoy a great night out at a ball game.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top