$160 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Sep 24, 2014 Check-out: Sep 25, 2014

The Betsy Hotel, South Beach

5 stars
1440 Ocean Drive, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.5
out of 5
48 reviews
Tropical Greenbrier

First off, look at The Greenbrier Resort. The Betsy is a near replica boutique of that resort.... See full review

  • 5starforless
  • Sep 14, 2014
fabulous

Location, staff and amenities are great. Everyone cheerful and very helpful. Had a great time. Will... See full review

  • Meggie's Mom
  • Sep 6, 2014
Spa, steak and rainfall showers – hotel covers all the SoBe bases

Named for Betsy Ross, this Ocean Drive hotel is a standout among South Beach's many Art Deco hotels and winner of prestigious 4 Star Forbes Plaque. The boutique hotel's colonial design was a departure for architect L. Murray Dixon who designed other notable hotels in the area. Today's Betsy merges tradition and technology. Outside, find a white plantation façade complete with wooden shutters. Inside, behold 21st century amenities such as bath mirrors with built-in LCD TV and Bose sound and rainfall showerheads. The lobby's BLT Steak, a modern American chophouse and bistro, is a magnet for foodies.

Highlights
  • 63-room boutique hotel on Ocean Drive
  • Colonial architecture and modern amenities
  • Rooftop wellness garden offering spa treatments
  • BLT Steak, a contemporary American steakhouse, on site
  • Easy  beach access and secluded garden pool
Rooms

The 63 beachside rooms and suites mimic the traditional flair of the hotel, with contemporary touches here and there. Think plantation-style shutters, striped armchairs and fresh potted orchids that pop against geometric throw pillows and white Frette linens. Bathrooms are outfitted to the nines. Mirrors have built-in LCD TVs and Bose sound systems.  Kallista de Stile shower wands and rain forest shower-heads promote relaxation. Wi-Fi is included in the resort fee.

Features

Located on South Beach's most prestigious boulevard, the hotel affords easy access to vibrant nightlife, dining and shopping.  Guests can unwind at the garden pool or visit the rooftop Wellness garden for massages in the open air. An in-house fitness center provides free headphones, weight and cardio machines, chilled towels and a yoga and stretching area.

 

For prime steaks, seafood and chicken served with French finesse, book a table at BLT Steak, a bistro that charms with good steaks and stylish ambiance.

Transportation
  • Miami International Airport (11 miles)
  • Fort Lauderdale/Hollywood International Airport (29 miles)
Attractions
  • Collins Avenue (0.2 mi/ 0.3 km)
  • Art Deco District (0.3 mi/ 0.5 km)
  • Washington Avenue (0.4 mi/ 0.6 km)
  • Lummus Park (0.5 mi/ 0.8 km)
  • Lincoln Road (1 mi/ 1.6 km)
  • Miami Beach Convention Center (1 mi/ 1.6 km)
  • Miami Convention Center (7 mi/ 11.3 km)
Business
  • Meeting space for smaller groups
  • Catering services
  • Wi-Fi
Policies and fees
  • There is $16 daily resort fee plus 13 percent taxes is payable to the hotel. The fee includes Wi-Fi.
  • Valet parking fee is $37.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

25.7865 -80.1296
Area served
Miami Beach, FL
Nearby airports
Miami International Airport
Area description
Located on fashionable Ocean Drive, across from the beach and within walking distance of Lincoln road.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Betsy Hotel, South Beach also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

The Betsy Hotel, South Beach Rooms

Classic 2 Double bed
Our Classic Double Room accommodates up to 4 guests. It features all of our standard in-room amenities to provide a welcoming, tropical retreat. Light and airy interiors offer 250 square feet of space and give way to a view of neighboring Art Deco buildings, providing the latest technology, luxury bath amenities and fine Sferra linens to suit your every need.
Classic Pool View King bed
Behind plantation-style shutters, our Classic Pool View King Rooms offer 250 square feet of understated elegance and comfort and sleeps up to 2 guests. Ruminate with a view of our tranquil Courtyard Pool or take one of the many books from your in-room library and stretch out on our voluptuous king bed. Our Superior Rooms provide the latest technology, luxury bath amenities and fine Sferra linens to suit your every need.
Classic Pool View 2 Double bed
Behind plantation-style shutters, our Classic Pool View Double Rooms offer 250 square feet of understated elegance and comfort and sleeps up to 4 guests. Ruminate with a view of our tranquil Courtyard Pool or take one of the many books from your in-room library and stretch out on our voluptuous king bed. Our Superior Rooms provide the latest technology, luxury bath amenities and fine Sferra linens to suit your every need.
Classic Ocean View 1 King bed
Our Classic Ocean View King Rooms are cozy and bright, sunlit rooms overlooking Lummus Park and the Atlantic Ocean, sleeping up to 2 guests. Wrap yourself in our contemporary Colonial design, with 250 square feet of space to enjoy all of our standard in-room amenities, the latest technology, luxury bath products and fine Sferra linen.
Classic Ocean View 2 Double bed
Our Classic Ocean View Double Rooms are cozy and bright, sunlit rooms overlooking Lummus Park and the Atlantic Ocean, sleeping up to 4 guests. Wrap yourself in our contemporary Colonial design, with 250 square feet of space to enjoy all of our standard in-room amenities, the latest technology, luxury bath products and fine Sferra linen.
Master Suite 1 King bed
Light, bright, and undeniably charming, our Master Suites were designed with elegant entertaining in mind. Our Master Suites come complete with a separate living and entertaining area and sleep up to 4 guests. These Suites offer 550 square feet of space with a view of the neighboring Art Deco buildings, a king bed in the Master Bedroom and a sofa bed for additional sleeping accommodation.
Master Suite 2 Double bed
Light, bright, and undeniably charming, our Master Suites were designed with elegant entertaining in mind. Our Master Suites come complete with a separate living and entertaining area and sleep up to 4 guests. These Suites offer 550 square feet of space with a view of the neighboring Art Deco buildings, two double beds in the Master Bedroom and a sofa bed for additional sleeping accommodation.
Classic 1 King bed
Our Classic King Room accommodates up to 2 guests. It features all of our standard in-room amenities to provide a welcoming, tropical retreat. Light and airy interiors offer 250 square feet of space and give way to a view of neighboring Art Deco buildings, providing the latest technology, luxury bath amenities and fine Sferra linens to suit your every need.

Amenities

  • Free internet
  • Outdoor pool
General
Concierge
Pet friendly
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Spa
Solarium
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Internet
Free internet
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA) compliant
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Service dogs allowed
Service animals allowed
Public areas wheelchair accessible for disabled
Wheelchair accessible elevators
Visual emergency alarm for hearing impaired guest

Dining

Roofdeck
Betsys rooftop Deck is expansive with sweeping views of the Atlantic, offering a Wellness Garden with a full range of spa treatments, therapies and complimentary sunrise yoga. Specialty cocktails and light fare are offered from dawn to dusk, and beyond.
BLT Steak
As the name "Bistro Laurent Tourondel" suggests , Chef Tourondel presents his adaptation of the American Steakhouse, elevating it with his signature style and all-around finesse. The result is the Modern American Steakhouse. BLT Steak integrates traditional elements of a cozy French Bistro with those of a stylish, urbane boite. In 2012, BLT Steak opened its first full Sushi and Raw Bar at The Betsy.
Lobby Bar
The Lobby Bar at The Betsy is the place to see and be seen. Enjoy exceptional cocktails in our living room style Lobby and Live Jazz Music every Wednesday and Thursday night.
BBar
Designed with a hint of vintage glamour, an underground speakeasy entertainment space called, B Bar, offers an exclusive and unique venue to host private events, dinners, or receptions.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (48)

Ratings and reviews for The Betsy Hotel, South Beach

Overall score

4.5 / 5
5.01.0
48 out of 48
Amenities:
4.3
Room cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.7
Room comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.8
Value:
4.1

96% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Betsy Hotel, South Beach

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Washington, DC
May 12, 2010

The Betsy is a good bet!

The Betsy was a great place for our babymoon! They were able to check us in really early on the day of our arrival, which was wonderful. The location is fabulous, right in the heart of south beach, and easy walking distance to Lincoln road mall. The restaurant at the hotel is a bit expensive, but the food was great! Hotel staff were friendly and accomodating. I would definitely stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The Front Porch Cafe is right next to the hotel, and has pretty good food and reasonable prices.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Betsy Hotel, South Beach

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New York, NY
Mar 8, 2010

The Betsy

Great personal service. Ideal location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Betsy Hotel, South Beach

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Travel Roxstar
NYC
Nov 1, 2009

The Betsy, Amazing Hotel on Ocean Drive!

The Besty has an eager staff in a stylish, understated hotel that is welcome luxury and calm after a day of simple fun at the beach or busy Ocean drive.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

This Betsy is across the street from a Starbucks and near a Subway and cheap, decent sushi for the days you don't necessarily feel like eating at fancier places, (the majority of which are walking distance when you do). Lincoln Road is a short walk away.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Betsy Hotel, South Beach

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
NY, NY
Oct 24, 2009

Nice Hotel

The hotel is clean. The bathroom is nice. Location is key. I was underwhelmed by the size of the room and the pool. The hotel restaurant's menu was limited. I've stayed in better for less on south beach.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Betsy Hotel, South Beach

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Arlington Heights, Illinois
Aug 31, 2009

The Betsy Hotel, Miami

The hotel staff was extremely nice and helpful. Location is great. Rooms are a bit small, but very clean. Very comfortable beds.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Betsy Hotel, South Beach

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Valhalla, New York
Aug 31, 2009

A real gem

Since I haven't travelled in a while, the experience at this hotel helped to make my trip outstanding. The staff was so caring and took time out to help me whenever I needed it. I was travelling with my 86 year old mother and they were so kind to her and very watchful of her. Great location, in walking distance of shops, beach and restaurants.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Would recommend Osteria de Trattoria which was in walking distance with outstanding Italian food and service.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Betsy Hotel, South Beach

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
brooklyn traveler
Brooklyn NY
Aug 16, 2009

Very good hotel at a great location

Perfect location, great service, quiet room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Short walk to the beach.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Betsy Hotel, South Beach

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Santiago's
Connecticut
Aug 3, 2009

The Betsy: South Beach, Miami

The Betsy Hotel was a great place to stay. The staff was excellent and always willing to answer questions. They made sure they knew your name. Hotel is very clean and near Lincoln Blvd, restaurants, and in front of the beach. Beach chairs, umbrella, and towels at the beach were free for those staying at the hotel. Valet is somewhat pricey. $30.00 per night. Would defintely stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Walking distance to stores. Lots of great shopping places. If you have a car you are near Bayside where there are shops, restaurants, and cruises around the bay.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Betsy Hotel, South Beach

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
cr
little rock
Jul 27, 2009

Loved Miami and The Betsy

We stayed 6 nights and the service was exceptional. Food was great though expensive. Portions were huge and copuld be split. Dinner about $150. for two without desert, but with by the glass wine. Breakfast was very expensive. Down the street was about half price. They could dominate at breakfast as their quality is very good and their service is also. Volume will coe if the price value ratio is in line and the quality is there. A muffin, juice and coffee with some yogurt and fruit shouldn't cost $30. THAT IS WHAT PEOPLE COMING TO MIAMI ARE COMMING FOR. WILL GO BACK--BUT WILL NOT BE EXCLUSIVE TO THEM UNLESS THEY CHANGE THAT. They need to complete their Spa facility to be great!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
3
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Betsy Hotel, South Beach

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
annthefran
yardley, pa
Jul 27, 2009

south beach luxury

the hotel was fabulous, the restaurant was 5 star. rooms beautiful with every amenity you could want and service was great. location was great. was just restored and it is beautiful. we got a great deal as it is considered off season. cant wait to go back - would not even consider staying anywhere else.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

ola nice restaurant great food!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top

Change search