$170 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Sep 17, 2014 Check-out: Sep 18, 2014

The Betsy Hotel, South Beach

5 stars
1440 Ocean Drive, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.5
out of 5
48 reviews
fabulous

Location, staff and amenities are great. Everyone cheerful and very helpful. Had a great time. Will... See full review

  • Meggie's Mom
  • Sep 6, 2014
Location & Customer Service was Perfect

Stayed at The Betsy for a week around Labor Day. Great stay. Beach is steps away. Private chairs... See full review

  • Beach Lover9999
  • Sep 5, 2014
Spa, steak and rainfall showers – hotel covers all the SoBe bases

Named for Betsy Ross, this Ocean Drive hotel is a standout among South Beach's many Art Deco hotels and winner of prestigious 4 Star Forbes Plaque. The boutique hotel's colonial design was a departure for architect L. Murray Dixon who designed other notable hotels in the area. Today's Betsy merges tradition and technology. Outside, find a white plantation façade complete with wooden shutters. Inside, behold 21st century amenities such as bath mirrors with built-in LCD TV and Bose sound and rainfall showerheads. The lobby's BLT Steak, a modern American chophouse and bistro, is a magnet for foodies.

Highlights
  • 63-room boutique hotel on Ocean Drive
  • Colonial architecture and modern amenities
  • Rooftop wellness garden offering spa treatments
  • BLT Steak, a contemporary American steakhouse, on site
  • Easy  beach access and secluded garden pool
Rooms

The 63 beachside rooms and suites mimic the traditional flair of the hotel, with contemporary touches here and there. Think plantation-style shutters, striped armchairs and fresh potted orchids that pop against geometric throw pillows and white Frette linens. Bathrooms are outfitted to the nines. Mirrors have built-in LCD TVs and Bose sound systems.  Kallista de Stile shower wands and rain forest shower-heads promote relaxation. Wi-Fi is included in the resort fee.

Features

Located on South Beach's most prestigious boulevard, the hotel affords easy access to vibrant nightlife, dining and shopping.  Guests can unwind at the garden pool or visit the rooftop Wellness garden for massages in the open air. An in-house fitness center provides free headphones, weight and cardio machines, chilled towels and a yoga and stretching area.

 

For prime steaks, seafood and chicken served with French finesse, book a table at BLT Steak, a bistro that charms with good steaks and stylish ambiance.

Transportation
  • Miami International Airport (11 miles)
  • Fort Lauderdale/Hollywood International Airport (29 miles)
Attractions
  • Collins Avenue (0.2 mi/ 0.3 km)
  • Art Deco District (0.3 mi/ 0.5 km)
  • Washington Avenue (0.4 mi/ 0.6 km)
  • Lummus Park (0.5 mi/ 0.8 km)
  • Lincoln Road (1 mi/ 1.6 km)
  • Miami Beach Convention Center (1 mi/ 1.6 km)
  • Miami Convention Center (7 mi/ 11.3 km)
Business
  • Meeting space for smaller groups
  • Catering services
  • Wi-Fi
Policies and fees
  • There is $16 daily resort fee plus 13 percent taxes is payable to the hotel. The fee includes Wi-Fi.
  • Valet parking fee is $37.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

25.7865 -80.1296
Area served
Miami Beach, FL
Nearby airports
Miami International Airport
Area description
Located on fashionable Ocean Drive, across from the beach and within walking distance of Lincoln road.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Betsy Hotel, South Beach also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

The Betsy Hotel, South Beach Rooms

Classic 2 Double bed
Our Classic Double Room accommodates up to 4 guests. It features all of our standard in-room amenities to provide a welcoming, tropical retreat. Light and airy interiors offer 250 square feet of space and give way to a view of neighboring Art Deco buildings, providing the latest technology, luxury bath amenities and fine Sferra linens to suit your every need.
Classic Pool View King bed
Behind plantation-style shutters, our Classic Pool View King Rooms offer 250 square feet of understated elegance and comfort and sleeps up to 2 guests. Ruminate with a view of our tranquil Courtyard Pool or take one of the many books from your in-room library and stretch out on our voluptuous king bed. Our Superior Rooms provide the latest technology, luxury bath amenities and fine Sferra linens to suit your every need.
Classic Pool View 2 Double bed
Behind plantation-style shutters, our Classic Pool View Double Rooms offer 250 square feet of understated elegance and comfort and sleeps up to 4 guests. Ruminate with a view of our tranquil Courtyard Pool or take one of the many books from your in-room library and stretch out on our voluptuous king bed. Our Superior Rooms provide the latest technology, luxury bath amenities and fine Sferra linens to suit your every need.
Classic Ocean View 1 King bed
Our Classic Ocean View King Rooms are cozy and bright, sunlit rooms overlooking Lummus Park and the Atlantic Ocean, sleeping up to 2 guests. Wrap yourself in our contemporary Colonial design, with 250 square feet of space to enjoy all of our standard in-room amenities, the latest technology, luxury bath products and fine Sferra linen.
Classic Ocean View 2 Double bed
Our Classic Ocean View Double Rooms are cozy and bright, sunlit rooms overlooking Lummus Park and the Atlantic Ocean, sleeping up to 4 guests. Wrap yourself in our contemporary Colonial design, with 250 square feet of space to enjoy all of our standard in-room amenities, the latest technology, luxury bath products and fine Sferra linen.
Master Suite 1 King bed
Light, bright, and undeniably charming, our Master Suites were designed with elegant entertaining in mind. Our Master Suites come complete with a separate living and entertaining area and sleep up to 4 guests. These Suites offer 550 square feet of space with a view of the neighboring Art Deco buildings, a king bed in the Master Bedroom and a sofa bed for additional sleeping accommodation.
Master Suite 2 Double bed
Light, bright, and undeniably charming, our Master Suites were designed with elegant entertaining in mind. Our Master Suites come complete with a separate living and entertaining area and sleep up to 4 guests. These Suites offer 550 square feet of space with a view of the neighboring Art Deco buildings, two double beds in the Master Bedroom and a sofa bed for additional sleeping accommodation.
Classic 1 King bed
Our Classic King Room accommodates up to 2 guests. It features all of our standard in-room amenities to provide a welcoming, tropical retreat. Light and airy interiors offer 250 square feet of space and give way to a view of neighboring Art Deco buildings, providing the latest technology, luxury bath amenities and fine Sferra linens to suit your every need.

Amenities

  • Free internet
  • Outdoor pool
General
Concierge
Pet friendly
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Spa
Solarium
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Internet
Free internet
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA) compliant
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Service dogs allowed
Service animals allowed
Public areas wheelchair accessible for disabled
Wheelchair accessible elevators
Visual emergency alarm for hearing impaired guest

Dining

Roofdeck
Betsys rooftop Deck is expansive with sweeping views of the Atlantic, offering a Wellness Garden with a full range of spa treatments, therapies and complimentary sunrise yoga. Specialty cocktails and light fare are offered from dawn to dusk, and beyond.
BLT Steak
As the name "Bistro Laurent Tourondel" suggests , Chef Tourondel presents his adaptation of the American Steakhouse, elevating it with his signature style and all-around finesse. The result is the Modern American Steakhouse. BLT Steak integrates traditional elements of a cozy French Bistro with those of a stylish, urbane boite. In 2012, BLT Steak opened its first full Sushi and Raw Bar at The Betsy.
Lobby Bar
The Lobby Bar at The Betsy is the place to see and be seen. Enjoy exceptional cocktails in our living room style Lobby and Live Jazz Music every Wednesday and Thursday night.
BBar
Designed with a hint of vintage glamour, an underground speakeasy entertainment space called, B Bar, offers an exclusive and unique venue to host private events, dinners, or receptions.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (48)

Ratings and reviews for The Betsy Hotel, South Beach

Overall score

4.5 / 5
5.01.0
48 out of 48
Amenities:
4.3
Room cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.7
Room comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.8
Value:
4.1

96% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Betsy Hotel, South Beach

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Gregory12
Georgia, USA
Sep 26, 2011

Great Escape

No regrets with this trip. The room was a little smaller than expected, but overall stay was great. Great location, friendly professional staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Betsy Hotel, South Beach

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
BC145
Michigan
Jul 7, 2011

Hotel Betsy South Beach Miami

GREAT LOCATION!!!! Beautiful property! classy, yet relaxed! Excellent and gracious staff!! Covered beach chairs with towels just accross the street and onto the beach was a nice added touch! Food is a little pricey in general in South Beach as a whole so just prepare for that. If you are looking for a good pool hangout hotel, this is not it, but has a nice small pool. No hot tub. Within easy walking distance to EVERYTHING great!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

CVS and Walgreens within walking distace for anything you forgot at home or could not take on the airplane.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Betsy Hotel, South Beach

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
NY
May 2, 2011

Could be so great, but...

Location and design are not everything... particularly in a hotel. Service is important too... The Bettsy has a fantastic location and a beautiful design... but their service is amateurish at best. People are very nice and all, but it is disorganized and they don't meet the quality standards you would expect in such a place. The good news is that it could be easy to fix.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Dining tip: In Hotel

The concierge, [...], is great

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Betsy Hotel, South Beach

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Canada
Oct 23, 2010

Best Location and Luxury in South Beach

Exceptional service! Very centrally located. Delicious restaurant BLT in the the hotel. Couldn't have asked for a better visit.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Osteria del Teatro - amazing italian food within a short walk of The Betsy...

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Betsy Hotel, South Beach

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Westminster, MD
Oct 18, 2010

Amazing !!

The Betsy is an amazing hotel. Staff was extremely attentive and helpful. Rooms were immaculate. Hotel is at the tail end of Ocean Drive but everything you would want dining, shopping is a short walk. Beach is across the street and beach chairs and umbrellas are included in the resort fee ($15 a day - good deal). We loved the Betsy and would recommend it highly. Great experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

More shopping and dining is available at Lincoln Rd about 3 blocks north of the Betsy.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Betsy Hotel, South Beach

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
New jersey
Oct 8, 2010

ok

The hotel is nice very stylish But the problem is It's no t a 5 star its a boutique 5 star so there are noises of trucks n stuff in d morning The gym is tiny The pool on ground floor is horrible The pool on rooftop was getting fixed when we went there so that I might be good Overall the stay is good but nothing exceptional

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
2
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Everything is walkable it might be a good idea to hire a bicycle

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Betsy Hotel, South Beach

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Shrwsbury, MA
Sep 8, 2010

The Betsy Hotel Miami Beach

We arrived at approximately 10:30 and our rooms weren't ready. We were able to store our luggage and went shopping. The hotel is very close to the shops and the beach. They told us that they would call us when the room was ready. By 2:30 we were very hot and wanted to change into our bathing suits to go to the beach. They told us they would call housekeeping and check status. A half hour later, they told us it would be 20 minutes. We felt as is we were getting the run around. If they told us that the rooms wouldn't be ready until "X" time, it would have been better. The hotel had a very strong musty smell, but was very nicely decorated. The room was spacious, had a very nice bathroom with a TV in the mirror! Cool touch. The aircondintioning was either blasting freezing air or the room was too warm. If you had the bed closest to the unit, you had to burrow way under the covers and then kick them off when the room got too warm. When you go to the beach, you check in at a booth and they give you towels, put a terry cover on your chair and there's an umbrella.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Betsy Hotel, South Beach

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Florianopolis, SC (Brazil)
Jul 6, 2010

Excellent!!!!

BLT restaurant is an outstanding complementation for The Betsy. If I did not have to go to other restaurants I would not have a problem to have all my meals there. The beach service is as good as you would expect. Last but not least, the hotel staff is outstanding.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Two excellent Italian restaurants: Osteria del Teatro ($$$) and Tua Casa ($$$$). But don't miss BLT Steak at the hotel Lobby.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Betsy Hotel, South Beach

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Raleigh, NC
Jun 18, 2010

Perfect South Beach hotel

After 2 weeks travelling around Peru with a rucksack, we wanted some luxurious R&R on a Miami beach... and The Betsy was fantastic! The staff were very helpful, the room was gorgeous (and very clean), the whole hotel incl. roof-top lounge area was amazing... we'd definitely go back. The hotel is right on the (private) beach front, and yet only 0.5 mi from Lincoln Rd shops and lots of fun restaurants. We'd definitely recommend it based on our 4-day mid-June stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Lincoln Rd shops are only a short walk away - and there are also many great cheap restaurants in that area... also, just 2 (?) doors down from The Betsy is The Front Porch cafe which does a great all-day breakfast.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Betsy Hotel, South Beach

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Washington, DC
May 12, 2010

The Betsy is a good bet!

The Betsy was a great place for our babymoon! They were able to check us in really early on the day of our arrival, which was wonderful. The location is fabulous, right in the heart of south beach, and easy walking distance to Lincoln road mall. The restaurant at the hotel is a bit expensive, but the food was great! Hotel staff were friendly and accomodating. I would definitely stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The Front Porch Cafe is right next to the hotel, and has pretty good food and reasonable prices.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top

Change search