$195 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Dec 21, 2014 Check-out: Dec 22, 2014

The Betsy Hotel, South Beach

5 stars
1440 Ocean Drive, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.5
out of 5
50 reviews
A brief stay at the Betsy

My six year old and I had a very pleasant stay at the Betsy. The staff was amazing and the BLT... See full review

  • mish and zo
  • Oct 26, 2014
Tropical Greenbrier

First off, look at The Greenbrier Resort. The Betsy is a near replica boutique of that resort.... See full review

  • 5starforless
  • Sep 14, 2014
Spa, steak and rainfall showers – hotel covers all the SoBe bases

Named for Betsy Ross, this Ocean Drive hotel is a standout among South Beach's many Art Deco hotels and winner of prestigious 4 Star Forbes Plaque. The boutique hotel's colonial design was a departure for architect L. Murray Dixon who designed other notable hotels in the area. Today's Betsy merges tradition and technology. Outside, find a white plantation façade complete with wooden shutters. Inside, behold 21st century amenities such as bath mirrors with built-in LCD TV and Bose sound and rainfall showerheads. The lobby's BLT Steak, a modern American chophouse and bistro, is a magnet for foodies.

Highlights
  • 63-room boutique hotel on Ocean Drive
  • Colonial architecture and modern amenities
  • Rooftop wellness garden offering spa treatments
  • BLT Steak, a contemporary American steakhouse, on site
  • Easy  beach access and secluded garden pool
Rooms

The 63 beachside rooms and suites mimic the traditional flair of the hotel, with contemporary touches here and there. Think plantation-style shutters, striped armchairs and fresh potted orchids that pop against geometric throw pillows and white Frette linens. Bathrooms are outfitted to the nines. Mirrors have built-in LCD TVs and Bose sound systems.  Kallista de Stile shower wands and rain forest shower-heads promote relaxation. Wi-Fi is included in the resort fee.

Features

Located on South Beach's most prestigious boulevard, the hotel affords easy access to vibrant nightlife, dining and shopping.  Guests can unwind at the garden pool or visit the rooftop Wellness garden for massages in the open air. An in-house fitness center provides free headphones, weight and cardio machines, chilled towels and a yoga and stretching area.

 

For prime steaks, seafood and chicken served with French finesse, book a table at BLT Steak, a bistro that charms with good steaks and stylish ambiance.

Transportation
  • Miami International Airport (11 miles)
  • Fort Lauderdale/Hollywood International Airport (29 miles)
Attractions
  • Collins Avenue (0.2 mi/ 0.3 km)
  • Art Deco District (0.3 mi/ 0.5 km)
  • Washington Avenue (0.4 mi/ 0.6 km)
  • Lummus Park (0.5 mi/ 0.8 km)
  • Lincoln Road (1 mi/ 1.6 km)
  • Miami Beach Convention Center (1 mi/ 1.6 km)
  • Miami Convention Center (7 mi/ 11.3 km)
Business
  • Meeting space for smaller groups
  • Catering services
  • Wi-Fi
Policies and fees
  • There is $16 daily resort fee plus 13 percent taxes is payable to the hotel. The fee includes Wi-Fi.
  • Valet parking fee is $37.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Betsy Hotel, South Beach also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

The Betsy Hotel, South Beach Rooms

Classic 2 Double bed
Our Classic Double Room accommodates up to 4 guests. It features all of our standard in-room amenities to provide a welcoming, tropical retreat. Light and airy interiors offer 250 square feet of space and give way to a view of neighboring Art Deco buildings, providing the latest technology, luxury bath amenities and fine Sferra linens to suit your every need.
Classic Pool View King bed
Behind plantation-style shutters, our Classic Pool View King Rooms offer 250 square feet of understated elegance and comfort and sleeps up to 2 guests. Ruminate with a view of our tranquil Courtyard Pool or take one of the many books from your in-room library and stretch out on our voluptuous king bed. Our Superior Rooms provide the latest technology, luxury bath amenities and fine Sferra linens to suit your every need.
Classic Pool View 2 Double bed
Behind plantation-style shutters, our Classic Pool View Double Rooms offer 250 square feet of understated elegance and comfort and sleeps up to 4 guests. Ruminate with a view of our tranquil Courtyard Pool or take one of the many books from your in-room library and stretch out on our voluptuous king bed. Our Superior Rooms provide the latest technology, luxury bath amenities and fine Sferra linens to suit your every need.
Classic Ocean View 1 King bed
Our Classic Ocean View King Rooms are cozy and bright, sunlit rooms overlooking Lummus Park and the Atlantic Ocean, sleeping up to 2 guests. Wrap yourself in our contemporary Colonial design, with 250 square feet of space to enjoy all of our standard in-room amenities, the latest technology, luxury bath products and fine Sferra linen.
Classic Ocean View 2 Double bed
Our Classic Ocean View Double Rooms are cozy and bright, sunlit rooms overlooking Lummus Park and the Atlantic Ocean, sleeping up to 4 guests. Wrap yourself in our contemporary Colonial design, with 250 square feet of space to enjoy all of our standard in-room amenities, the latest technology, luxury bath products and fine Sferra linen.
Master Suite 1 King bed
Light, bright, and undeniably charming, our Master Suites were designed with elegant entertaining in mind. Our Master Suites come complete with a separate living and entertaining area and sleep up to 4 guests. These Suites offer 550 square feet of space with a view of the neighboring Art Deco buildings, a king bed in the Master Bedroom and a sofa bed for additional sleeping accommodation.
Master Suite 2 Double bed
Light, bright, and undeniably charming, our Master Suites were designed with elegant entertaining in mind. Our Master Suites come complete with a separate living and entertaining area and sleep up to 4 guests. These Suites offer 550 square feet of space with a view of the neighboring Art Deco buildings, two double beds in the Master Bedroom and a sofa bed for additional sleeping accommodation.
Classic 1 King bed
Our Classic King Room accommodates up to 2 guests. It features all of our standard in-room amenities to provide a welcoming, tropical retreat. Light and airy interiors offer 250 square feet of space and give way to a view of neighboring Art Deco buildings, providing the latest technology, luxury bath amenities and fine Sferra linens to suit your every need.

Amenities

  • Free internet
  • Outdoor pool
General
Concierge
Pet friendly
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Spa
Solarium
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Internet
Free internet
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA) compliant
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Service dogs allowed
Service animals allowed
Public areas wheelchair accessible for disabled
Wheelchair accessible elevators
Visual emergency alarm for hearing impaired guest

Dining

Roofdeck
Betsys rooftop Deck is expansive with sweeping views of the Atlantic, offering a Wellness Garden with a full range of spa treatments, therapies and complimentary sunrise yoga. Specialty cocktails and light fare are offered from dawn to dusk, and beyond.
BLT Steak
As the name "Bistro Laurent Tourondel" suggests , Chef Tourondel presents his adaptation of the American Steakhouse, elevating it with his signature style and all-around finesse. The result is the Modern American Steakhouse. BLT Steak integrates traditional elements of a cozy French Bistro with those of a stylish, urbane boite. In 2012, BLT Steak opened its first full Sushi and Raw Bar at The Betsy.
Lobby Bar
The Lobby Bar at The Betsy is the place to see and be seen. Enjoy exceptional cocktails in our living room style Lobby and Live Jazz Music every Wednesday and Thursday night.
BBar
Designed with a hint of vintage glamour, an underground speakeasy entertainment space called, B Bar, offers an exclusive and unique venue to host private events, dinners, or receptions.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (50)

Ratings and reviews for The Betsy Hotel, South Beach

Overall score

4.5 / 5
5.01.0
50 out of 50
Amenities:
4.3
Room cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.7
Room comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.8
Value:
4.1

96% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Betsy Hotel, South Beach

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Davelyrics
Business
New York
Oct 30, 2013

Perfect

Hard to imagine a better hotel experience than the Betsy. Beauty, style, location, staff, amenities. Right on the beach and walking distance to Lincoln road. I will definitely make it my place to stay in Miami.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

The hotel has its own chair, umbrella and towel rental on the prime beach real estate with the price of a reservation.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Betsy Hotel, South Beach

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Claretny Brito
Business
Maracay, Venezuela
Oct 2, 2013

Fantastic Family Getaway!!!

We really loves this hotel!. Location, comfort, restaurants, personal, everything and every detail is right and appropriate. If we would recommend it... Absolutely YES!! We will come back for sure on our next visit to Miami Beach

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

BLT STEAK, just... Awesome!!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Betsy Hotel, South Beach

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
The playah
Business
St Louis
Sep 11, 2013

Great Place

Overall great place and location, wonderful staff and nice restaurant.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

All restaurants along Ocean Drive will cost and most will try to get you to stop at their restaurant advertising a 20% discount. Most restaurants have their 18% gratuity included in the bill. Try to make happy hour and save on drinks.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Betsy Hotel, South Beach

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
dado dantas
Business
curitiba, brazil
Aug 12, 2013

size of the room

great location but the room was not as big as it should be, the roof top and massages service was terrible

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

zuma restaurant

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Betsy Hotel, South Beach

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
RogerH
Business
New york
Jul 9, 2013

4th of July getaway

The hotel is at a perfect location. The room is clean and comfortable. The pool and the rooftop are huge plus. However, the staff is not professional enough to charge this rate. I would still go back if there is an discount.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Betsy Hotel, South Beach

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
momminus1
Business
new hampshire
Apr 29, 2013

Will stay here next time too!

Only stayed one night but have also stayed at the Beacon. We liked this location best as it has access to beach, Ocean Drive and Lincoln Mall shopping (oh, Starbucks didn't hurt). Beautiful hotel, very friendly and helpful staff. Easy in and out for us. Hopefully longer stay next time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

Marlins Park, Marlins baseball. Great stadium, easy taxi ride, enjoy a great night out at a ball game.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Betsy Hotel, South Beach

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Luv 2 Go
Business
Chapel Hill, NC
Apr 6, 2013

Betsy Best

The location can't be surpassed: steps to Lummus Park and the beach, an easy walk to Lincoln and Espanola Way. A delicious restaurant. A quiet pool. An awesome rooftop bar. Our stay wasn't perfect: a Miami downpour ended up flooding our room minutes after we unpacked. Our daughter called us, and she stood in the center of the room with the ice bucket and three towels trying to soak up the damage. The staff moved us to another room, but left behind many of our clothes. The new keys didn't work. But a great hotel stands behind the experience it promises, and The Betsy did just that. Stay here!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Betsy Hotel, South Beach

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Lucy mom
Business
Pennsylvania
Oct 29, 2012

Perfect south beach boutique hotel

The Betsy was just what we were looking for! Classy and chic but cozy and comfortable. Wonderful staff, great restaurant, perfect location. We look forward to a return visit!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Betsy Hotel, South Beach

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mickal
Business
Cincinnati, Ohio
Sep 17, 2012

Business trip

I arrived late Friday and left early Sunday and was gone on business most of Saturday. Room and bath were very clean and well appointed but "smallish." Staff friendly and helpful. In room bar and snacks were varied and nice but expensive as they always are. Refrigerator locked for some reason upon my return Saturday after long day when I wanted a quick cold one -- aggravating. If you like TV there are 2 nice ones, 1 in bath. Room service breakfast was excellent quality and timely but the earliest serving at 8:15 is late if you need to be somewhere. I'd go back. It's not inexpensive but hey its on South Beach and a higher end hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Betsy Hotel, South Beach

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
JennMA
Business
Concord, MA, USA
Jan 24, 2012

Nice Place

My friend and I stayed at the Betsy as a winter getaway from the cold. We left our husbands and kids at home to celebrate our birthdays in the warm sun. The weather was perfect. The hotel is situated on Ocean Drive with a Starbucks and bike rental across the street. The swimming pool is outside at ground level surrounded by the building itself. It is not heated and hardly gets any sun so don't come here for the pool. But the roof top deck has a few really comfortable lounge chairs and a beautiful view of the ocean. The beach is located directly across the street and two towels and chairs are included in the stay rate. The staff was very friendly and accommodating. Our room was small but expected with a boutique hotel. We enjoyed being at the north end of Ocean Drive. Close enough to walk or bike to everything yet far enough away from the trendy bars to not have to hear them or deal with the drunk late night crowd associated with them. (not that there is anything wrong with that!). The bar and restaurant in the hotel are top notch and the food was excellent. We had a great stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top