$195 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Sep 7, 2014 Check-out: Sep 8, 2014

The Betsy Hotel, South Beach

5 stars
1440 Ocean Drive, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.5
out of 5
52 reviews
Excellent experience

The Betsy is a beautiful, historic hotel in South Beach on Ocean Drive, near all the nightlife but... See full review

  • chicagomeg
  • May 2, 2014
Romantic City break before Cruise from Miami

Certainly not cheap but almost perfect in any other way for a boutique hotel. Be prepared to tip... See full review

  • GWB1
  • Apr 15, 2014
Spa, steak and rainfall showers – hotel covers all the SoBe bases

Named for Betsy Ross, this Ocean Drive hotel is a standout among South Beach's many Art Deco hotels and winner of prestigious 4 Star Forbes Plaque. The boutique hotel's colonial design was a departure for architect L. Murray Dixon who designed other notable hotels in the area. Today's Betsy merges tradition and technology. Outside, find a white plantation façade complete with wooden shutters. Inside, behold 21st century amenities such as bath mirrors with built-in LCD TV and Bose sound and rainfall showerheads. The lobby's BLT Steak, a modern American chophouse and bistro, is a magnet for foodies.

Highlights
  • 63-room boutique hotel on Ocean Drive
  • Colonial architecture and modern amenities
  • Rooftop wellness garden offering spa treatments
  • BLT Steak, a contemporary American steakhouse, on site
  • Easy  beach access and secluded garden pool
Rooms

The 63 beachside rooms and suites mimic the traditional flair of the hotel, with contemporary touches here and there. Think plantation-style shutters, striped armchairs and fresh potted orchids that pop against geometric throw pillows and white Frette linens. Bathrooms are outfitted to the nines. Mirrors have built-in LCD TVs and Bose sound systems.  Kallista de Stile shower wands and rain forest shower-heads promote relaxation. Wi-Fi is included in the resort fee.

Features

Located on South Beach's most prestigious boulevard, the hotel affords easy access to vibrant nightlife, dining and shopping.  Guests can unwind at the garden pool or visit the rooftop Wellness garden for massages in the open air. An in-house fitness center provides free headphones, weight and cardio machines, chilled towels and a yoga and stretching area.

 

For prime steaks, seafood and chicken served with French finesse, book a table at BLT Steak, a bistro that charms with good steaks and stylish ambiance.

Transportation
  • Miami International Airport (11 miles)
  • Fort Lauderdale/Hollywood International Airport (29 miles)
Attractions
  • Collins Avenue (0.2 mi/ 0.3 km)
  • Art Deco District (0.3 mi/ 0.5 km)
  • Washington Avenue (0.4 mi/ 0.6 km)
  • Lummus Park (0.5 mi/ 0.8 km)
  • Lincoln Road (1 mi/ 1.6 km)
  • Miami Beach Convention Center (1 mi/ 1.6 km)
  • Miami Convention Center (7 mi/ 11.3 km)
Business
  • Meeting space for smaller groups
  • Catering services
  • Wi-Fi
Policies and fees
  • There is $16 daily resort fee plus 13 percent taxes is payable to the hotel. The fee includes Wi-Fi.
  • Valet parking fee is $37.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

25.7865 -80.1296
Area served
Miami Beach, FL
Nearby airports
Miami International Airport
Area description
Located on fashionable Ocean Drive, across from the beach and within walking distance of Lincoln road.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Betsy Hotel, South Beach also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

The Betsy Hotel, South Beach Rooms

Classic 2 Double bed
Our Classic Double Room accommodates up to 4 guests. It features all of our standard in-room amenities to provide a welcoming, tropical retreat. Light and airy interiors offer 250 square feet of space and give way to a view of neighboring Art Deco buildings, providing the latest technology, luxury bath amenities and fine Sferra linens to suit your every need.
Classic Pool View King bed
Behind plantation-style shutters, our Classic Pool View King Rooms offer 250 square feet of understated elegance and comfort and sleeps up to 2 guests. Ruminate with a view of our tranquil Courtyard Pool or take one of the many books from your in-room library and stretch out on our voluptuous king bed. Our Superior Rooms provide the latest technology, luxury bath amenities and fine Sferra linens to suit your every need.
Classic Pool View 2 Double bed
Behind plantation-style shutters, our Classic Pool View Double Rooms offer 250 square feet of understated elegance and comfort and sleeps up to 4 guests. Ruminate with a view of our tranquil Courtyard Pool or take one of the many books from your in-room library and stretch out on our voluptuous king bed. Our Superior Rooms provide the latest technology, luxury bath amenities and fine Sferra linens to suit your every need.
Classic Ocean View 1 King bed
Our Classic Ocean View King Rooms are cozy and bright, sunlit rooms overlooking Lummus Park and the Atlantic Ocean, sleeping up to 2 guests. Wrap yourself in our contemporary Colonial design, with 250 square feet of space to enjoy all of our standard in-room amenities, the latest technology, luxury bath products and fine Sferra linen.
Classic Ocean View 2 Double bed
Our Classic Ocean View Double Rooms are cozy and bright, sunlit rooms overlooking Lummus Park and the Atlantic Ocean, sleeping up to 4 guests. Wrap yourself in our contemporary Colonial design, with 250 square feet of space to enjoy all of our standard in-room amenities, the latest technology, luxury bath products and fine Sferra linen.
Master Suite 1 King bed
Light, bright, and undeniably charming, our Master Suites were designed with elegant entertaining in mind. Our Master Suites come complete with a separate living and entertaining area and sleep up to 4 guests. These Suites offer 550 square feet of space with a view of the neighboring Art Deco buildings, a king bed in the Master Bedroom and a sofa bed for additional sleeping accommodation.
Master Suite 2 Double bed
Light, bright, and undeniably charming, our Master Suites were designed with elegant entertaining in mind. Our Master Suites come complete with a separate living and entertaining area and sleep up to 4 guests. These Suites offer 550 square feet of space with a view of the neighboring Art Deco buildings, two double beds in the Master Bedroom and a sofa bed for additional sleeping accommodation.
Classic 1 King bed
Our Classic King Room accommodates up to 2 guests. It features all of our standard in-room amenities to provide a welcoming, tropical retreat. Light and airy interiors offer 250 square feet of space and give way to a view of neighboring Art Deco buildings, providing the latest technology, luxury bath amenities and fine Sferra linens to suit your every need.

Amenities

  • Free internet
  • Outdoor pool
General
Concierge
Pet friendly
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Spa
Solarium
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Internet
Free internet
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA) compliant
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Service dogs allowed
Service animals allowed
Public areas wheelchair accessible for disabled
Wheelchair accessible elevators
Visual emergency alarm for hearing impaired guest

Dining

Roofdeck
Betsys rooftop Deck is expansive with sweeping views of the Atlantic, offering a Wellness Garden with a full range of spa treatments, therapies and complimentary sunrise yoga. Specialty cocktails and light fare are offered from dawn to dusk, and beyond.
BLT Steak
As the name "Bistro Laurent Tourondel" suggests , Chef Tourondel presents his adaptation of the American Steakhouse, elevating it with his signature style and all-around finesse. The result is the Modern American Steakhouse. BLT Steak integrates traditional elements of a cozy French Bistro with those of a stylish, urbane boite. In 2012, BLT Steak opened its first full Sushi and Raw Bar at The Betsy.
Lobby Bar
The Lobby Bar at The Betsy is the place to see and be seen. Enjoy exceptional cocktails in our living room style Lobby and Live Jazz Music every Wednesday and Thursday night.
BBar
Designed with a hint of vintage glamour, an underground speakeasy entertainment space called, B Bar, offers an exclusive and unique venue to host private events, dinners, or receptions.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (52)

Ratings and reviews for The Betsy Hotel, South Beach

Overall score

4.5 / 5
5.01.0
52 out of 52
Amenities:
4.2
Room cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.7
Room comfort:
4.5
Location:
4.8
Value:
4.2

96% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Betsy Hotel, South Beach

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Cate01
MI
Nov 30, 2011

5 Star Experience

Beautiful hotel, friendly and attentive staff at all levels. They really couldn't do enough for us. Food from BLT absolutely delicious. Would highly recommend this hotel to anyone looking for something special.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Miami Culinary Tours - Lunch Tour.

Review of The Betsy Hotel, South Beach

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
chicagomeg
Chicago
May 2, 2014

Excellent experience

The Betsy is a beautiful, historic hotel in South Beach on Ocean Drive, near all the nightlife but far away enough from it that it won't bother you if that's not what you're in to. There's clearly a commitment to service here - the staff could not have been better, and the rooms and amenities were excellent for the most part (the pool is a little small and shaded, but you're right across the street from the beach).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of The Betsy Hotel, South Beach

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
GWB1
Staffordhire UK
Apr 15, 2014

Romantic City break before Cruise from Miami

Certainly not cheap but almost perfect in any other way for a boutique hotel. Be prepared to tip for most things and accept and the daily 16$ resort fee - don't forget to use the beach hotel facility and the roof bar and spa. Check each bill as to whether gratuity is inc or not - different bars areas/ staff vary. Otherwise the hotel is close to all the action on South beach , Lincoln Rd Shops and the beach whist being quiet and calm inside to chill out in beautiful surroundings - pool nice but can be shaded as on ground floor.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

Taxi from the airport should be around 30$ DONT be conned by drivers taking you the long way round the Mway/ ring road (95) as will cost 45$ - they will also try this when you take taxis to Malls or the Port.

Review of The Betsy Hotel, South Beach

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
JazzieB
UK
Apr 8, 2014

Loved the Betsy!

Fantastic location on South Beach. Chose hotel for proximity to beach and restaurants and the fact it had excellent reviews and looked colonial - like a mini Singapore Raffles. Lovely reception staff, very helpful bell team, doormen and concierge. Booked smallest room knowing the size but everything in there was perfectly formed. I've stayed at a lot of hotels and the towels at the Betsy were the softest and fluffiest I have ever come across and the products in the bathroom were superb. Found all hotels in South Beach of this standard to be quite expensive but travelled during peak time. Would not hesitate to recommend.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Try out the restaurants down Espanola Way - great alfresco dining and superb quality.

Review of The Betsy Hotel, South Beach

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Amy L
Chicago, IL
Mar 24, 2014

Fun trip!

A great hotel (service, location & décor). Really enjoyed the pool and rooftop deck. I will happily stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of The Betsy Hotel, South Beach

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
STUVW
Fairfield, CT
Feb 21, 2014

Mixed Review

The staff was very friendly and accomodating. With that said, they offered to store one of my bags which could not be stored comfortably in our room, because the rooms are very small. When I went to check out & get the bag to pack it, they had lost it. While they offered to go out and buy me a new bag, or give me something else to pack, it was too late and we were able to overpack the clothes in the other 3 bags we had. We usually left the room early and returned late in the day around 4. On one day, housekeeping didnt get to the room until 4:30 and I sent them away as I didn't want them cleaning while we were there. Lastly, the rooms are tiny. Some drwaers did not open completely because the bed was to close, etc. Everything cleared by fractions of an inch.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of The Betsy Hotel, South Beach

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
RelaxMiam1
Durham, NC
Jan 31, 2014

Great views and a very pleasant stay

We had a great ocean view from our room. There is a very nice indoor pool for guests. Also, the beach is right across the street! Staff were very nice and ensured a pleasant stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Nightlife tip: Long walk from hotel

Walk south on Ocean Avenue and you will not be disappointed

Review of The Betsy Hotel, South Beach

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Davelyrics
New York
Oct 30, 2013

Perfect

Hard to imagine a better hotel experience than the Betsy. Beauty, style, location, staff, amenities. Right on the beach and walking distance to Lincoln road. I will definitely make it my place to stay in Miami.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

The hotel has its own chair, umbrella and towel rental on the prime beach real estate with the price of a reservation.

Review of The Betsy Hotel, South Beach

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Claretny Brito
Maracay, Venezuela
Oct 2, 2013

Fantastic Family Getaway!!!

We really loves this hotel!. Location, comfort, restaurants, personal, everything and every detail is right and appropriate. If we would recommend it... Absolutely YES!! We will come back for sure on our next visit to Miami Beach

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: In Hotel

BLT STEAK, just... Awesome!!!

Review of The Betsy Hotel, South Beach

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
The playah
St Louis
Sep 11, 2013

Great Place

Overall great place and location, wonderful staff and nice restaurant.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

All restaurants along Ocean Drive will cost and most will try to get you to stop at their restaurant advertising a 20% discount. Most restaurants have their 18% gratuity included in the bill. Try to make happy hour and save on drinks.

Review of The Betsy Hotel, South Beach

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
crowdog
northampton england
Sep 5, 2013

perfect family stopover

superb hotel,location,staff and service.Super smooth check in ,from valet,reception,bell services,all very courteous and professional.Modern ,ultra clean room,highly recommend.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Back to menu Return to top

Change search