$159 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Nov 17, 2014 Check-out: Nov 19, 2014

The Beacon Hotel

4 stars
720 Ocean Drive, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
119 reviews
Prime location & Wonderful staff :)

The Beacon Hotel welcomes it's guests with top of the line service that makes anyone feel at home... See full review

  • Soon to be World Traveler
  • Jul 25, 2014
Yearly getaway

Everything was great. My Co-workers and I have visited south beach for the last four years around... See full review

  • oscar dela banana
  • Jun 10, 2014
The Beacon Hotel on Ocean Drive gives you South Beach how it is meant to be experienced. Here, you have direct access to seven miles of sand and surf, unrivaled nightlife, premier shopping, and exquisite cuisine. At the center of South Florida's premier vacation destination, the Beacon Hotel blends timeless Art Deco elegance with the best beaches, dining and entertainment that South Beach has to offer.

Sitting in the heart of a stylish beach community, the Beacon Hotel South Beach offers guests direct access to a wealth of recreation and entertainment. At 720 Ocean Drive, the Beacon Hotel is wedged between seven-miles of beach relaxation to the east and the trendy shopping of Collins Avenue and the nightlife of Washington Avenue to the west. Other notable destinations - including the Lincoln Road pedestrian mall, the Miami Beach Convention Center, and the Jackie Gleason Theater - are a short distance away.

Additional amenities include Complimentary beach chairs and beach towels.

Hotel Map

25.7771 -80.1309
Area served
720 Ocean Dr. South Miami Beach
Nearby airports
Miami International Airport and Fort Lauderdale International Airport
Area description
From Miami International Airport take highway 836 South 10 miles and from Fort Lauderdale take I-95 North 22 miles.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Beacon Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5

The Beacon Hotel Rooms

Deluxe Double Room
Presents views of the city and a vibrant nightlife, two top of the line perfect sleeper full size beds by Serta, Mascioni luxury Italian linen, resort spa amenities by Aveeda, in-room safe, personalized in-room temperature control, laundry valet services, Flat Panel LCD television, Cable TV, IP Phones with voicemail and data port features, in-room mini-bars, in-room safety boxes, beach towels, beach chairs and marble floors.
Run of House
Presents views of the city and a vibrant nightlife, a run of the house room with two full size, one king size, or one queen size top of the line perfect sleeper bed by Serta, Mascioni luxury Italian linen, resort spa amenities by Aveeda, in-room safe, personalized in-room temperature control, laundry valet services, Flat Panel LCD television, Cable TV, IP Phones with voicemail and data port features, in-room mini-bars, in-room safety boxes, beach towels, beach chairs and marble floors.
Ocean Front King Room
Offers breathtaking vistas of the turquoise waters of the Atlantic, ultra-comfortable presidential king size bed by Serta, Mascioni luxury Italian linen, resort spa amenities by Aveeda, in-room safe, personalized in-room temperature control, laundry valet services, Flat Panel LCD television, Cable TV, IP Phones with voicemail and data port features, in-room mini-bars, in-room safety boxes, beach towels, beach chairs and marble floors.
Deluxe King Room
Presents views of the city and a vibrant nightlife, ultra-comfortable presidential king size bed by Serta, Mascioni luxury Italian linen, resort spa amenities by Aveeda, in-room safe, personalized in-room temperature control, laundry valet services, Flat Panel LCD television, Cable TV, IP Phones with voicemail and data port features, in-room mini-bars, in-room safety boxes, beach towels, beach chairs and marble floors.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
On-site Ocean View Meeting Space up to 12 persons.

Dining

The Place Restaurant
The Beacon's new indoor/outdoor restaurant has instantly become one of the Deco District's most frequented dining spots. Serving an arrangement of international cuisine the Place's beachfront terrace also serves up the best views on Ocean Drive.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (119)

Ratings and reviews for The Beacon Hotel

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
13 out of 119
Amenities:
3.4
Room cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.7
Room comfort:
4.5
Location:
4.8
Value:
3.9

92% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Beacon Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Dee 58 years old
Business
Gloucester Virginia
Jul 24, 2013

the wonderful spectacular beacon hotel

great view clean rooms nice size rooms everyone was so nice valet parking only $20 a day cannot park yourself on Ocean Drive it is so crowded to park The Beacon hotel has a wonderful staff to park your car my valet gentleman was not only cute but took very good care of my car that's all you have to do is called the hotel and tell them you need your car and its right there at the front of hotel the view is spectacular the food is so great that's all you have to do is go down the steps of the hotel and you can eat at the hotel which has great food or you can go anywhere there seafood steak some hot dogs to Mexican wonderful entertainment the beach is beautiful you have to see it for yourself I cannot wait to go back to the Beacon had a great view for the 4th of July did not even have to leave my room they have a mini bar in your room food in your room your choice it's wonderful I cannot wait to go back again The Beacon hotel will definitely see me it is a wonderful place to be the view is spectacular everything around is spectacular from the management to the management to the valet parking to the ladies that clean the room to the waitresses and the bartenders thank you I cannot wait to come back Dee Gloucester Virginia

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

everything is at your front door at the Beacon hotel from dining entertainment shopping anything you want

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Beacon Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Depps
Business
Minneapolis
Mar 21, 2013

Great Staff!

Great staff. Everyone was very helpful, professional & courteous. They really wanted to make sure that I was happy. The room was great - clean, large and surprisingly quiet given all the action happening on the street. My only negative is the hostess & server in the restaurant. I know that breakfast is included w/my room, but don't seat me at a bad table below a loud speaker & then ignore me. She took my order & I never saw her again. No water. No "how is everything?". Nothing. They were more focused in getting people off the street at the expense of paying guests.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Beacon Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Travel Gal
Business
Portland, OR
Apr 21, 2011

One night stay

I stayed one night after a cruise, before flying home. I loved the veiw from my room and how close I was to the beach and great shopping too. The staff were friendly and the hotel though old, was clean. My only complaint were the windows were old and thin, and didn't block street sounds, luckly I brought my earplugs and slept well.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Beacon Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Arlington, VA
Mar 19, 2011

Happily Surprised

My flight landed in Miami at 6:15 am from S. America. I was eager to check in after a red-eye flight. Obviously, I didn't expect to get my room immediately upon arrival, however, I was a little disappointed that it took until 2 pm (which I was informed was in their SLA). So maybe that's not a fair complaint, just a matter of circumstance. Additionally, they tried putting me in a room with 2 queens when I had reserved 1 king. Again, they were eager to fix the mistake, but wanted to note it here. On a positive side, the staff was very friendly - top notch. The room was very nice once I did check in. The noon check-out was a pleasant surprise and you can't beat the location of the hotel on Ocean Drive. The complimentary breakfast is nothing to write home about, however when you do order food from their restaurant, it's quite good. I'd definitely recommend this hotel and the only reason I didn't rank it perfect because of the couple things I mentioned above. However, mistakes happen and they quickly did what they could to remedy them earning them 4 stars.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Beacon Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
ATLANTA
Feb 21, 2011

Great Location

I booked this hotel at the very last minute after already arriving in Miami and discovering I didn't have a place to stay for boat show weekend. I arrived prior to check in time to the hotel and the front desk staff was very accommodating, allowing me to check in early (noonish) which was great. The room was very clean and comfortable. However, I didn't realize that I couldn't see out of my room window with the shade down but people could see in from across the outdoor corridor. Didn't realize this until I went out of my room to get ice and once across from my room could see every detail inside the room when the lights were on! Also, the fitness center was more like a closet, not really worth the trip to the lobby. And the free breakfast in the morning was served promptly but then I could never get a refill on my coffee or any attention after the food was served. I eventually left without a coffee refill after waiting 20 minutes.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Beacon Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
mrp in FTL
Business
Pompano Beach, FL
Jul 15, 2010

Ocean Drive without the Hype

Met with friends who live on Miami Beach for dinner, which naturally included the clubs afterwards; so the best thing was to 'get a room'. Didn't see a valet sign when I drove by, but no big deal, there was a public garage a couple blocks away that was probably cheaper in the long run. Check in was easy and the desk representative apologized for the lack of a valet sign, and all around a good guy. My second floor room facing Ocean Drive was clean with a huge bed, mini-bar, plasma and a couple chairs. I was a little worried about the noise factor, but it was actually quiet. The bath was fine for me, but somebody over 6' might have a problem with the ceiling height in there, but was actually very clean and had the art deco feel it was originally designed with. The free continental breakfast required stopping at the desk and requesting your comp, and heading to the front terrace. The coupon allows a selection of basics, but all fine. Check out was a breeze and the desk clerk remembered my name from our prior interaction, nice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

If you don't see the valet sign, just pull up and you'll be taken care of

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Beacon Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Texan who loves Miami
Business
Austin, TX
Jan 2, 2010

Small hotel but great location

Just booked one night for New Years Eve. Never stayed at this hotel but it was one of the only ones without a minimum night stay for the holiday. Did not know what to expect. When I arrived the front desk attendant was very friendly and informative. The room was very clean and when I arrived in the room there was a rose on the bed and a personal note from the staff for a Happy New Year. Very nice touch. The hotel was very quiet even though of being in the heart of South Beach right on Ocean Drive. Location fantastic with the beach across the street. I wish I could have stayed longer. I will definitely visit the Beacon hotel again for my quick trips.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Being on Ocean Drive makes it an easy walk to best nightlife!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Beacon Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
monga711
Business
dc
Dec 1, 2009

DCA to MIA

nice location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Beacon Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Serving overseas
Nov 14, 2009

Great service! and righteous staff!

Can't find a better location if you're looking for fun on South Beach. Great park & beach view, right on the strip, walking distance to all the restaurants, bars, clubs. Great value given the location - given the great price, the rooms are modest but clean & comfy. Quite despite noise from the strip nearby. Great for me & anyone primarily there to hang out on the beach. The staff is fanstastic - like an idiot, I left my company BlackBerry in the room; they not only tracked it down & found it for me but also painlessly arranged to send it to me overseas.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Beacon Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Notre Dame, IN
Oct 19, 2009

Location is Key

In the heart of South Beach. Professional and attentive staff made stay stress free. Restaurants and nightlife by foot... and don"t forget about the beach! Beach towels and chairs provided in room. Would stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Great food on the strip.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top