$162 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 26, 2015 Check-out: May 27, 2015

The Beacon Hotel

4 stars
View map of 720 Ocean Drive, Miami Beach, FL 33139

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
145 reviews
Great couple trip

The service was excellent and they are equipped with amenities that are needed to go to the beach... See full review

  • Cliff H.
  • May 14, 2015
South Beach

The staff is what makes this Hotel wonderful. From Julio the bellman, to Reynaldo and Silvana at... See full review

  • Julia M
  • May 5, 2015
The Beacon Hotel on Ocean Drive gives you South Beach how it is meant to be experienced. Here, you have direct access to seven miles of sand and surf, unrivaled nightlife, premier shopping, and exquisite cuisine. At the center of South Florida's premier vacation destination, the Beacon Hotel blends timeless Art Deco elegance with the best beaches, dining and entertainment that South Beach has to offer.

Sitting in the heart of a stylish beach community, the Beacon Hotel South Beach offers guests direct access to a wealth of recreation and entertainment. At 720 Ocean Drive, the Beacon Hotel is wedged between seven-miles of beach relaxation to the east and the trendy shopping of Collins Avenue and the nightlife of Washington Avenue to the west. Other notable destinations - including the Lincoln Road pedestrian mall, the Miami Beach Convention Center, and the Jackie Gleason Theater - are a short distance away.

Valet Parking available for $25 per car per day.

Additional amenities include Complimentary beach chairs and beach towels.

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Beacon Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5

The Beacon Hotel Rooms

Deluxe Double Room
Presents views of the city and a vibrant nightlife, two top of the line perfect sleeper full size beds by Serta, Mascioni luxury Italian linen, resort amenities by Pascal Morabito, in-room safe, personalized in-room temperature control, laundry valet services, Flat Panel LED television, Cable TV, IP Phones with voicemail and data port features, in-room mini-bars, in-room safety boxes, beach towels, beach chairs, and marble floors.
Run of House
Presents views of the city and a vibrant nightlife, a run of the house room with two full size, one king size, or one queen size top of the line perfect sleeper bed by Serta, Mascioni luxury Italian linen, resort amenities by Pascal Morabito, in-room safe, personalized in-room temperature control, laundry valet services, Flat Panel LED television, Cable TV, IP Phones with voicemail and data port features, in-room mini-bars, in-room safety boxes, beach towels, beach chairs and marble floors.
Ocean Front King Room
Offers breathtaking vistas of the turquoise waters of the Atlantic, ultra-comfortable presidential king size bed by Serta, Mascioni luxury Italian linen, resort amenities by Pascal Morabito, in-room safe, personalized in-room temperature control, laundry valet services, Flat Panel LED television, Cable TV, IP Phones with voicemail and data port features, in-room mini-bars, in-room safety boxes, beach towels, beach chairs, and marble floors.
Deluxe King Room
Presents views of the city and a vibrant nightlife, ultra-comfortable presidential king size bed by Serta, Mascioni luxury Italian linen, resort amenities by Pascal Morabito, in-room safe, personalized in-room temperature control, laundry valet services, Flat Panel LED television, Cable TV, IP Phones with voicemail and data port features, in-room mini-bars, in-room safety boxes, beach towels, beach chairs and marble floors.

Amenities

  • Free buffet breakfast
  • Free internet
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Dining
Free buffet breakfast
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Internet
Free internet
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Wheelchair accessible elevators
Ramp access to buildings
Brailled elevators

Dining

The Place Restaurant
The Beacon's indoor/outdoor restaurant has instantly become one of Art Deco's most frequented dining spots. Serving an arrangement of international cuisine, the Place's beachfront terrace also serves up the best views on Ocean Drive.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
3:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Ratings and reviews for The Beacon Hotel

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
39 out of 145
Amenities:
3.5
Cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4.8
Value:
3.9

87% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Beacon Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Julia M
Business
Leesburg
May 5, 2015

South Beach

The staff is what makes this Hotel wonderful. From Julio the bellman, to Reynaldo and Silvana at the front desk . They were so friendly and helpful. This is a great location. Breakfast is very good. The rooms are small but for the amount of time you actually spend in your room it's okay. I would recommend this hotel to all my friends.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Beacon Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Boston to Korea
Business
Stoneham
Feb 27, 2015

Room by the beach

Over all the hotel was ok, but the air conditioning was very loud.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Beacon Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Diandra A.
Business
Maryland
Nov 22, 2014

Loved It!

The staff was very nice, the food was great! and everything was very clean!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

everything is just around the corner!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Beacon Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Exotic25
Business
Washington, DC
Oct 14, 2014

I'd stay here again

I really appreciate the complimentary breakfast and wifi, even in the room. Not many SoBe hotels provide that. Worth the money.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Beacon Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
oscar dela banana
Business
Ithaca, New York
Jun 10, 2014

Yearly getaway

Everything was great. My Co-workers and I have visited south beach for the last four years around the same time and we plan on staying there again next year. Staff made us all feel at home service was excellent!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Mangos night life was really fun and the food was great

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Beacon Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Kadee
Business
Hbg, PA
May 21, 2014

Amazing stay.....

I had the time of my life. The staff at the Beacon Hotel were all amazing. Very helpful & polite when it came to giving directions & recommendations. Very clean, in the perfect location. Beach right across the street, in walking distance to EVERYTHING literally. We took a cab from the airport to the hotel which was a flat rate of $32 and the same amount when we left to return back home after our vacation. All the clubs & food spots are right there. You do not need to rent a car at all, unless you just want to but I wouldn't recommend it, parking is expensive and hard to find. The Beacon Hotel will always be my choice when visiting Miami SOBE! Thanks a million Beacon, I had the time of my life.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

shopping, nightlife, dining, beach and just over all, everything was right there. Collins Ave has all the shops you want as well as Washington Ave. Highly recommend this hotel.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Beacon Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Luxy412
Business
Boston, Ma
Jan 5, 2013

Tiny Room

Tiny room, absolutely NO counter space in the bathroom!! I'm a girl.. where am i supposed to put my makeup? my blow dryer? toiletries? ect... The location is good if you want to be in a tourist trap area, over pay for average food and have people smoking at the table next to you while eating as well as pedestrians bumping your chair. Ocean drive is for amateurs! Stay at a better hotel on Collins!! The room is not worth the price. I won't ever stay here again. The only good thing about this hotel is the water shower pressure and free breakfast. Also they tell you they provide chairs on the beach for you... BE AWARE this means there are 2 beach chairs in your hotel that you must lug back and forth to the beach yourself... BOOO!!! This should be a 2 star hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Go to Lincoln Road for a variety of food, shopping and people watching.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Beacon Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Maggie and Anne
Business
St. Louis, MO
Aug 27, 2012

Great South Beach Vacation

Great getaway for 2 young girlfriends despite approaching tropical storm. Hotel was in a great location. We were able to hit the clubs and either walk or take a short cab ride back. The beach is also right across the street which was great. The hotel was clean and quiet. Couldn't ask for much more.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Try Mango (restaurant/club) during the afternoon. Down a block or two on Ocean Dr. Live music, very colorful and lots of fun!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Beacon Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
NCW14
Business
Washington dc
Jun 18, 2012

Good for Short trips

The hotel was definitely in an awesome location if u have never been to south beach and want it all within walking distance. The hotel was clean but it was ALWAYS FREEZING but I guess hot as the devil would have been worse. Only real complaint was that it was very difficult to get towels and wash clothes. When we arrive they only gave us one wash clothes and it took numerous called to get them to bring us more. It was three people on the room. Great bonus was the complimentary daily breakfast and delicious food right at ur doorsteps. I'd stay again in future.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Beacon Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Seattle
May 2, 2011

Great Hotel

Perfect location very nice staff - art deco - clean - food good expensive but they have happy hour deals. Be aware and do not go to the beach at night - would recommend the Beacon and would stay again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top