$209 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 12, 2014 Check-out: May 15, 2014

The Beacon Hotel

4 stars
720 Ocean Drive, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
114 reviews
Terrific hotel

Great staff- especially Derek and Marisa. Friendly and helpful. Immaculate hotel. Great location.... See full review

  • Sandylane
  • Feb 23, 2014
the wonderful spectacular beacon hotel

great view clean rooms nice size rooms everyone was so nice valet parking only $20 a day cannot... See full review

  • Dee 58 years old
  • Jul 24, 2013
Boutique beauty on legendary Ocean Drive near nightlife, shopping

This 75-room hotel is located on neon-lit Ocean Drive. It entices guests with a true South Beach experience. The boutique hotel boasts lovely Art Deco touches such as inlaid tile floors and etched glass.  The hotel is oceanfront and packs value into the price. Guests receive free Wi-Fi, beach towels and chairs to use during their stay, free coffee Seattle's Best coffee in the mornings and a free continental breakfast at Johnny Rockets next door.

Highlights
  • Boutique Art Deco hotel on legendary Ocean Drive, the center of South Beach nightlife
  • Walk to Collins and Washington avenues and Lincoln Road
  • Sidewalk dining at The Place Restaurant, plus continental breakfast at Johnny Rockets next door
  • Free Wi-Fi, in-room beach towels, beach chairs and Seattle's Best coffee  
Rooms

The lobby is a show of neon light, geometric upholstery and a stunning mezzanine. The 73 rooms and two VIP suites, however, are more subtle in style. Some rooms benefit from beach views and all are decorated in a tasteful palette of beige and white. Marble floors keep feet cool after a long day at the beach.

 

Guests rest on 320-thread count Italian linens and Serta Perfect Sleeper Beds. In every room, free Wi-Fi, LCD flatscreens and IP phones are standard. Room service is also available.

Features

As a nightlife destination, South Beach is an undisputed capital. But there's people watching to be done from this hotel, too. Request a sidewalk table at The Place for some of the best entertainment on Ocean Drive, live music and fresh mojitos from The Bar.

 

Prime oceanfront space isn't the only draw. Travelers on the budget will be grateful for the free continental breakfast at Johnny Rockets next door (9 a.m. to 11 a.m.), free Seattle's Best coffee (7 a.m. to 11 a.m.) and free beach towels and chairs to use during their stay.

Transportation
  • Fort Lauderdale/Hollywood International Airport (27 miles)
  • Miami International Airport (10 miles)
  • Miami Beach Convention Center (1 mile)
Attractions
  • Ocean Drive
  • Mansion
  • Nikki Beach
  • Lummus Park
  • Star Island
  • Port of Miami
  • Collins Avenue
  • Lincoln Road
  • Jackie Gleason Theater
  • Gianni Versace's Casa Casuarina
Business
  • 24-hour business center with desktop computers
  • Free Wi-Fi throughout the property

The Beacon Hotel Rooms

Deluxe Double Room
Presents views of the city and a vibrant nightlife, two top of the line perfect sleeper full size beds by Serta, Mascioni luxury Italian linen, resort spa amenities by Aveeda, in-room safe, personalized in-room temperature control, laundry valet services, Flat Panel LCD television, Cable TV, IP Phones with voicemail and data port features, in-room mini-bars, in-room safety boxes, beach towels, beach chairs and marble floors.
Run of House
Presents views of the city and a vibrant nightlife, a run of the house room with two full size, one king size, or one queen size top of the line perfect sleeper bed by Serta, Mascioni luxury Italian linen, resort spa amenities by Aveeda, in-room safe, personalized in-room temperature control, laundry valet services, Flat Panel LCD television, Cable TV, IP Phones with voicemail and data port features, in-room mini-bars, in-room safety boxes, beach towels, beach chairs and marble floors.
Ocean Front King Room
Offers breathtaking vistas of the turquoise waters of the Atlantic, ultra-comfortable presidential king size bed by Serta, Mascioni luxury Italian linen, resort spa amenities by Aveeda, in-room safe, personalized in-room temperature control, laundry valet services, Flat Panel LCD television, Cable TV, IP Phones with voicemail and data port features, in-room mini-bars, in-room safety boxes, beach towels, beach chairs and marble floors.
Deluxe King Room
Presents views of the city and a vibrant nightlife, ultra-comfortable presidential king size bed by Serta, Mascioni luxury Italian linen, resort spa amenities by Aveeda, in-room safe, personalized in-room temperature control, laundry valet services, Flat Panel LCD television, Cable TV, IP Phones with voicemail and data port features, in-room mini-bars, in-room safety boxes, beach towels, beach chairs and marble floors.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Beacon Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5

Hotel Map

25.7771 -80.1309
Area served
720 Ocean Dr. South Miami Beach
Nearby airports
Miami International Airport and Fort Lauderdale International Airport
Area description
From Miami International Airport take highway 836 South 10 miles and from Fort Lauderdale take I-95 North 22 miles.

Dining

The Place Restaurant
The Beacon's new indoor/outdoor restaurant has instantly become one of the Deco District's most frequented dining spots. Serving an arrangement of international cuisine the Place's beachfront terrace also serves up the best views on Ocean Drive.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
On-site Ocean View Meeting Space up to 12 persons.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (114)

Ratings and reviews for The Beacon Hotel

Overall score

3.4 / 5
11 out of 114
Amenities:
3.3
Room cleanliness:
3.7
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3.4
Location:
4.6
Value:
3.4

73% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Beacon Hotel

Reviewer score

5
Sandylane
Scarsdale, New York
Feb 23, 2014

Terrific hotel

Great staff- especially Derek and Marisa. Friendly and helpful. Immaculate hotel. Great location. Steps from beach. Would highly recommend this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

We went to Juvia for dinner. Gorgeous view. Memorable in every way.

Review of The Beacon Hotel

Reviewer score

4
KCT. W
New York, NY
Jan 2, 2014

Great hotel

Great location. Friendly staff. We had a good time!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of The Beacon Hotel

Reviewer score

4
nindo
UK
Sep 2, 2012

great location

hotel was very clean, staff very helpful. beds changed everyday, beach towels and beach chairs provided by hotel, the beach was across the road great location and great value with breakfast included. The only negative was that the bathroom was very small

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

ocean drive is full of all types of bars and restaurants

Review of The Beacon Hotel

Reviewer score

2
Anonymous
Washington D.C
May 8, 2011

Nice staff but hotel is not that great

The staff at the hotel were very nice, however, I have stayed at other SoBe hotels and the Beacon was the worst as far as the room and environment. The room looked old, the bed frame and dresser looked like something my grandparents would have. Now I know most SoBe hotels have small rooms that have not been updated; old bathrooms, but the room at the Beacon was depressing. No vibrancy to the room at all. Dull beige walls, a view of rooftop to another building. The worst of all was the constant noise from doors being slammed. You could hear everytime someone came in or left their room, the worst was the noise from the exit doors at the end of each hallway. I looked out the room to see what the hell was going on, and noticed you can hear doors being slammed on floors your not even on. I read reviews on the Beacon before booking my room, and most of the reviews were really good....not sure who's writing those reviews. My sister and I were looking for fun, we had to venture to other hotels and enjoy their vibrant lobby. The bar at the Beacon was always empty. Even on the days that we were rained in, the bar was still empty. There was a flood warning so we couldn't really go out and we couldn't relax in the room due to the constant sound of slamming doors, so we took a cab ride to Dolphin mall. I was so ready to go that my flight didn't leave until 12:15pm, my sister's flight was leaving at 7:45am. I was so ready to go that I got up at 5am and left with her to go to the airport. I would never stay there again. I'd rather stay at hotel Shelly again or the Catalina. I complained to the guy at the front desk about the noise but he just smiled. No use in arguing with him, there was nothing he could do besides have better doors installed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Review of The Beacon Hotel

Reviewer score

1
Anonymous
Stamford, CT
May 10, 2010

Bed bugs, bed bugs, bed bugs

Family with a 3 year old. Bed bugs ate us alive. Poor service and dirty hotel are the other reasons that made us check out earlier than planned. Only reason this hotel still in service is the location. I would not recommend this hotel to anyone.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Review of The Beacon Hotel

Reviewer score

4
Love the Beach!
Michigan
Mar 10, 2010

Great Location

Have stayed at the Beacon many times. It can't be beat for it's location. They've put new beach chairs in the rooms that have backpacks built in and have enough room to pack a full day's worth of beach going gear. The rooms are small (consistent with the other South Beach boutique hotels) but the beds are very comfortable. I hope the roof top deck gets its certificate of occupancy soon--what a great place to lay in the sun if it's too windy for the beach. The only caution is to watch your credit card statements very carefully. The last 3 times I've stayed there I've found charges for the mini-bar--which I never use. They've removed the charges each time after I called and told them I do not use this service. It's still an irritation to find I was mistakenly charged for something--on THREE separate stays.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

If you get dinner at a sidewalk cafe before 8pm many offer a 50% discount. Makes dining on Ocean Drive very affordable. There are tons of dining choices available.

Review of The Beacon Hotel

Reviewer score

3
2Palmer
Phoenix, AZ
Sep 22, 2009

In The Heart of The Action

The location is fantastic for being in the heart of South Beach. Close to clubs and fabulous food. Lots of action and great for people watching. Perfect for a short weekend trip. Downside is the lack of a pool and noisy because the hotel is old. The elevator is tiny and so are the bathrooms. Upside is it is right across from the beach.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of The Beacon Hotel

Reviewer score

1
Pieterek
Palmetto Florida
Aug 19, 2009

The worst hotel on the best location

We got a very stinking room

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Review of The Beacon Hotel

Reviewer score

4
Anonymous
Chicago.Il
Aug 15, 2009

great location

everything was great, great room , great location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

bar Clevender

Review of The Beacon Hotel

Reviewer score

5
Anonymous
Sugar Land, TX
May 2, 2009

A great place to stay!

We were in Miami to attend a funeral and stayed at the Beacon. The staff was very helpful, the room was deco and immaculate, and the venue was awesome. There are plenty of places to eat and dance. I would highly recommend this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Back to menu Return to top