$149 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 29, 2014 Check-out: Jul 30, 2014

The Beacon Hotel

4 stars
720 Ocean Drive, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
204 reviews
Yearly getaway

Everything was great. My Co-workers and I have visited south beach for the last four years around... See full review

  • oscar dela banana
  • Jun 10, 2014
Terrific hotel

Great staff- especially Derek and Marisa. Friendly and helpful. Immaculate hotel. Great location.... See full review

  • Sandylane
  • Feb 23, 2014
The Beacon Hotel on Ocean Drive gives you South Beach how it is meant to be experienced. Here, you have direct access to seven miles of sand and surf, unrivaled nightlife, premier shopping, and exquisite cuisine. At the center of South Florida's premier vacation destination, the Beacon Hotel blends timeless Art Deco elegance with the best beaches, dining and entertainment that South Beach has to offer.

Sitting in the heart of a stylish beach community, the Beacon Hotel South Beach offers guests direct access to a wealth of recreation and entertainment. At 720 Ocean Drive, the Beacon Hotel is wedged between seven-miles of beach relaxation to the east and the trendy shopping of Collins Avenue and the nightlife of Washington Avenue to the west. Other notable destinations - including the Lincoln Road pedestrian mall, the Miami Beach Convention Center, and the Jackie Gleason Theater - are a short distance away.

Additional amenities include Complimentary beach chairs and beach towels.

Hotel Map

25.7771 -80.1309
Area served
720 Ocean Dr. South Miami Beach
Nearby airports
Miami International Airport and Fort Lauderdale International Airport
Area description
From Miami International Airport take highway 836 South 10 miles and from Fort Lauderdale take I-95 North 22 miles.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Beacon Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5

The Beacon Hotel Rooms

Deluxe Double Room
Presents views of the city and a vibrant nightlife, two top of the line perfect sleeper full size beds by Serta, Mascioni luxury Italian linen, resort spa amenities by Aveeda, in-room safe, personalized in-room temperature control, laundry valet services, Flat Panel LCD television, Cable TV, IP Phones with voicemail and data port features, in-room mini-bars, in-room safety boxes, beach towels, beach chairs and marble floors.
Run of House
Presents views of the city and a vibrant nightlife, a run of the house room with two full size, one king size, or one queen size top of the line perfect sleeper bed by Serta, Mascioni luxury Italian linen, resort spa amenities by Aveeda, in-room safe, personalized in-room temperature control, laundry valet services, Flat Panel LCD television, Cable TV, IP Phones with voicemail and data port features, in-room mini-bars, in-room safety boxes, beach towels, beach chairs and marble floors.
Ocean Front King Room
Offers breathtaking vistas of the turquoise waters of the Atlantic, ultra-comfortable presidential king size bed by Serta, Mascioni luxury Italian linen, resort spa amenities by Aveeda, in-room safe, personalized in-room temperature control, laundry valet services, Flat Panel LCD television, Cable TV, IP Phones with voicemail and data port features, in-room mini-bars, in-room safety boxes, beach towels, beach chairs and marble floors.
Deluxe King Room
Presents views of the city and a vibrant nightlife, ultra-comfortable presidential king size bed by Serta, Mascioni luxury Italian linen, resort spa amenities by Aveeda, in-room safe, personalized in-room temperature control, laundry valet services, Flat Panel LCD television, Cable TV, IP Phones with voicemail and data port features, in-room mini-bars, in-room safety boxes, beach towels, beach chairs and marble floors.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
On-site Ocean View Meeting Space up to 12 persons.

Dining

The Place Restaurant
The Beacon's new indoor/outdoor restaurant has instantly become one of the Deco District's most frequented dining spots. Serving an arrangement of international cuisine the Place's beachfront terrace also serves up the best views on Ocean Drive.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (204)

Ratings and reviews for The Beacon Hotel

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
204 out of 204
Amenities:
3.5
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4.8
Value:
3.9

89% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Beacon Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Tennismom15
Orlando, FL
Jul 15, 2014

Great couple getaway

This is an old hotel - don't expect a lavish lobby or huge rooms. What you do get is a clean room, with great little amenities (like beach towels) and a fantastic location if you want to be in the heart of South Beach. I wouldn't receommend this location for families - not due to the hotel, but because there's lots of drinking and skin being shown. My teen age kids were shocked at what they saw in South Beach.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Have dinner at the Espanola Way, little boutique restaurants dinning al fresco. Eating on Ocean Drive can get very busy.

Review of The Beacon Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
oscar dela banana
Ithaca, New York
Jun 10, 2014

Yearly getaway

Everything was great. My Co-workers and I have visited south beach for the last four years around the same time and we plan on staying there again next year. Staff made us all feel at home service was excellent!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Mangos night life was really fun and the food was great

Review of The Beacon Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Sheru
Philadelphia, PA
Mar 4, 2014

Nice & Comfortable stay

I would say it was nice and comfortable stay with good staff .. very close to all attractions on south beach ... definitely recommend this hotel for others

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

LIV

Review of The Beacon Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Sandylane
Scarsdale, New York
Feb 23, 2014

Terrific hotel

Great staff- especially Derek and Marisa. Friendly and helpful. Immaculate hotel. Great location. Steps from beach. Would highly recommend this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

We went to Juvia for dinner. Gorgeous view. Memorable in every way.

Review of The Beacon Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
nomadic89898
new york
Feb 11, 2014

Great location but not so great value

the stay was good, especially considering the location, which was unbeatable. however the hotel room is small, a bit stuffy, and the sound insulation was not good. in future I would go a little farther from South Beach and find a better valued hotel. staff are very helpful though.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of The Beacon Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
KCT. W
New York, NY
Jan 2, 2014

Great hotel

Great location. Friendly staff. We had a good time!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of The Beacon Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Dee 58 years old
Gloucester Virginia
Jul 24, 2013

the wonderful spectacular beacon hotel

great view clean rooms nice size rooms everyone was so nice valet parking only $20 a day cannot park yourself on Ocean Drive it is so crowded to park The Beacon hotel has a wonderful staff to park your car my valet gentleman was not only cute but took very good care of my car that's all you have to do is called the hotel and tell them you need your car and its right there at the front of hotel the view is spectacular the food is so great that's all you have to do is go down the steps of the hotel and you can eat at the hotel which has great food or you can go anywhere there seafood steak some hot dogs to Mexican wonderful entertainment the beach is beautiful you have to see it for yourself I cannot wait to go back to the Beacon had a great view for the 4th of July did not even have to leave my room they have a mini bar in your room food in your room your choice it's wonderful I cannot wait to go back again The Beacon hotel will definitely see me it is a wonderful place to be the view is spectacular everything around is spectacular from the management to the management to the valet parking to the ladies that clean the room to the waitresses and the bartenders thank you I cannot wait to come back Dee Gloucester Virginia

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

everything is at your front door at the Beacon hotel from dining entertainment shopping anything you want

Review of The Beacon Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Depps
Minneapolis
Mar 21, 2013

Great Staff!

Great staff. Everyone was very helpful, professional & courteous. They really wanted to make sure that I was happy. The room was great - clean, large and surprisingly quiet given all the action happening on the street. My only negative is the hostess & server in the restaurant. I know that breakfast is included w/my room, but don't seat me at a bad table below a loud speaker & then ignore me. She took my order & I never saw her again. No water. No "how is everything?". Nothing. They were more focused in getting people off the street at the expense of paying guests.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of The Beacon Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Brain Lab
Oregon
Feb 12, 2013

Great location for fun

Great location, easy access to the beach. Valet parking takes too long. You have to plan ahead when you leave with the car.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of The Beacon Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Luxy412
Boston, Ma
Jan 5, 2013

Tiny Room

Tiny room, absolutely NO counter space in the bathroom!! I'm a girl.. where am i supposed to put my makeup? my blow dryer? toiletries? ect... The location is good if you want to be in a tourist trap area, over pay for average food and have people smoking at the table next to you while eating as well as pedestrians bumping your chair. Ocean drive is for amateurs! Stay at a better hotel on Collins!! The room is not worth the price. I won't ever stay here again. The only good thing about this hotel is the water shower pressure and free breakfast. Also they tell you they provide chairs on the beach for you... BE AWARE this means there are 2 beach chairs in your hotel that you must lug back and forth to the beach yourself... BOOO!!! This should be a 2 star hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Go to Lincoln Road for a variety of food, shopping and people watching.

Back to menu Return to top