$137 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 31, 2015 Check-out: Jun 1, 2015

The Beacon Hotel

4 stars
View map of 720 Ocean Drive, Miami Beach, FL 33139

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
145 reviews
Great couple trip

The service was excellent and they are equipped with amenities that are needed to go to the beach... See full review

  • Cliff H.
  • May 14, 2015
South Beach

The staff is what makes this Hotel wonderful. From Julio the bellman, to Reynaldo and Silvana at... See full review

  • Julia M
  • May 5, 2015
The Beacon Hotel on Ocean Drive gives you South Beach how it is meant to be experienced. Here, you have direct access to seven miles of sand and surf, unrivaled nightlife, premier shopping, and exquisite cuisine. At the center of South Florida's premier vacation destination, the Beacon Hotel blends timeless Art Deco elegance with the best beaches, dining and entertainment that South Beach has to offer.

Sitting in the heart of a stylish beach community, the Beacon Hotel South Beach offers guests direct access to a wealth of recreation and entertainment. At 720 Ocean Drive, the Beacon Hotel is wedged between seven-miles of beach relaxation to the east and the trendy shopping of Collins Avenue and the nightlife of Washington Avenue to the west. Other notable destinations - including the Lincoln Road pedestrian mall, the Miami Beach Convention Center, and the Jackie Gleason Theater - are a short distance away.

Valet Parking available for $25 per car per day.

Additional amenities include Complimentary beach chairs and beach towels.

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Beacon Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5

The Beacon Hotel Rooms

Deluxe Double Room
Presents views of the city and a vibrant nightlife, two top of the line perfect sleeper full size beds by Serta, Mascioni luxury Italian linen, resort amenities by Pascal Morabito, in-room safe, personalized in-room temperature control, laundry valet services, Flat Panel LED television, Cable TV, IP Phones with voicemail and data port features, in-room mini-bars, in-room safety boxes, beach towels, beach chairs, and marble floors.
Run of House
Presents views of the city and a vibrant nightlife, a run of the house room with two full size, one king size, or one queen size top of the line perfect sleeper bed by Serta, Mascioni luxury Italian linen, resort amenities by Pascal Morabito, in-room safe, personalized in-room temperature control, laundry valet services, Flat Panel LED television, Cable TV, IP Phones with voicemail and data port features, in-room mini-bars, in-room safety boxes, beach towels, beach chairs and marble floors.
Ocean Front King Room
Offers breathtaking vistas of the turquoise waters of the Atlantic, ultra-comfortable presidential king size bed by Serta, Mascioni luxury Italian linen, resort amenities by Pascal Morabito, in-room safe, personalized in-room temperature control, laundry valet services, Flat Panel LED television, Cable TV, IP Phones with voicemail and data port features, in-room mini-bars, in-room safety boxes, beach towels, beach chairs, and marble floors.
Deluxe King Room
Presents views of the city and a vibrant nightlife, ultra-comfortable presidential king size bed by Serta, Mascioni luxury Italian linen, resort amenities by Pascal Morabito, in-room safe, personalized in-room temperature control, laundry valet services, Flat Panel LED television, Cable TV, IP Phones with voicemail and data port features, in-room mini-bars, in-room safety boxes, beach towels, beach chairs and marble floors.

Amenities

  • Free buffet breakfast
  • Free internet
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Dining
Free buffet breakfast
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Internet
Free internet
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Wheelchair accessible elevators
Ramp access to buildings
Brailled elevators

Dining

The Place Restaurant
The Beacon's indoor/outdoor restaurant has instantly become one of Art Deco's most frequented dining spots. Serving an arrangement of international cuisine, the Place's beachfront terrace also serves up the best views on Ocean Drive.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
3:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Ratings and reviews for The Beacon Hotel

Overall score

3.3 / 5
5.01.0
16 out of 145
Amenities:
3.4
Cleanliness:
3.8
Hotel staff:
4.1
Comfort:
3.3
Location:
4.6
Value:
3.3

69% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Beacon Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
ANTHONY H.
Business
N/A
Apr 21, 2015

Great wife and husband get away

Great location perfect staff very nice breakfast was right on time

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Beacon Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
gino super man
Business
Washington
Nov 6, 2014

Hunted hotel

at night we heard many noises and sometimes TV volume turn off and on... no vans in the restroom... too small boxy room. bad experience

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Beacon Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jambo01
Business
Hampshire UK
Aug 13, 2014

Fantastic 2 night break!

This was a fantastic start to our holiday. We had two nights in Miami before travelling to Orlando. The staff were very welcoming when we arrived. The location is fantastic, right on the beach. Hotel provided beach chairs and towels which was perfect for spending a few hours on the beach. Ocean Drive was really lively and fun and it was great to step out of your hotel right into the hustle and bustle of it all. Due to the location, parking was difficult. We drove from airport but were unable to pull up outside the hotel as it was so busy but we found a public car park just round the corner. Would definitely reccomend this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Take a boat tour from Bayside to take you around Biscayne Bay. Great views of Miami skyline and seeing all the famous houses on Star Island. Nice way to spend an hour and a half in the sunshine.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Beacon Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Tennismom15
Business
Orlando, FL
Jul 15, 2014

Great couple getaway

This is an old hotel - don't expect a lavish lobby or huge rooms. What you do get is a clean room, with great little amenities (like beach towels) and a fantastic location if you want to be in the heart of South Beach. I wouldn't receommend this location for families - not due to the hotel, but because there's lots of drinking and skin being shown. My teen age kids were shocked at what they saw in South Beach.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Have dinner at the Espanola Way, little boutique restaurants dinning al fresco. Eating on Ocean Drive can get very busy.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Beacon Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Sandylane
Business
Scarsdale, New York
Feb 23, 2014

Terrific hotel

Great staff- especially Derek and Marisa. Friendly and helpful. Immaculate hotel. Great location. Steps from beach. Would highly recommend this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

We went to Juvia for dinner. Gorgeous view. Memorable in every way.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Beacon Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
KCT. W
Business
New York, NY
Jan 2, 2014

Great hotel

Great location. Friendly staff. We had a good time!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Beacon Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
nindo
Business
UK
Sep 2, 2012

great location

hotel was very clean, staff very helpful. beds changed everyday, beach towels and beach chairs provided by hotel, the beach was across the road great location and great value with breakfast included. The only negative was that the bathroom was very small

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

ocean drive is full of all types of bars and restaurants

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Beacon Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Washington D.C
May 8, 2011

Nice staff but hotel is not that great

The staff at the hotel were very nice, however, I have stayed at other SoBe hotels and the Beacon was the worst as far as the room and environment. The room looked old, the bed frame and dresser looked like something my grandparents would have. Now I know most SoBe hotels have small rooms that have not been updated; old bathrooms, but the room at the Beacon was depressing. No vibrancy to the room at all. Dull beige walls, a view of rooftop to another building. The worst of all was the constant noise from doors being slammed. You could hear everytime someone came in or left their room, the worst was the noise from the exit doors at the end of each hallway. I looked out the room to see what the hell was going on, and noticed you can hear doors being slammed on floors your not even on. I read reviews on the Beacon before booking my room, and most of the reviews were really good....not sure who's writing those reviews. My sister and I were looking for fun, we had to venture to other hotels and enjoy their vibrant lobby. The bar at the Beacon was always empty. Even on the days that we were rained in, the bar was still empty. There was a flood warning so we couldn't really go out and we couldn't relax in the room due to the constant sound of slamming doors, so we took a cab ride to Dolphin mall. I was so ready to go that my flight didn't leave until 12:15pm, my sister's flight was leaving at 7:45am. I was so ready to go that I got up at 5am and left with her to go to the airport. I would never stay there again. I'd rather stay at hotel Shelly again or the Catalina. I complained to the guy at the front desk about the noise but he just smiled. No use in arguing with him, there was nothing he could do besides have better doors installed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Beacon Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Washington D.C
May 8, 2011

Nice staff but hotel is not that great

The staff at the hotel were very nice, however, I have stayed at other SoBe hotels and the Beacon was the worst as far as the room and environment. The room looked old, the bed frame and dresser looked like something my grandparents would have. Now I know most SoBe hotels have small rooms that have not been updated; old bathrooms, but the room at the Beacon was depressing. No vibrancy to the room at all. Dull beige walls, a view of rooftop to another building. The worst of all was the constant noise from doors being slammed. You could hear everytime someone came in or left their room, the worst was the noise from the exit doors at the end of each hallway. I looked out the room to see what the hell was going on, and noticed you can hear doors being slammed on floors your not even on. I read reviews on the Beacon before booking my room, and most of the reviews were really good....not sure who's writing those reviews. My sister and I were looking for fun, we had to venture to other hotels and enjoy their vibrant lobby. The bar at the Beacon was always empty. Even on the days that we were rained in, the bar was still empty. There was a flood warning so we couldn't really go out and we couldn't relax in the room due to the constant sound of slamming doors, so we took a cab ride to Dolphin mall. I was so ready to go that my flight didn't leave until 12:15pm, my sister's flight was leaving at 7:45am. I was so ready to go that I got up at 5am and left with her to go to the airport. I would never stay there again. I'd rather stay at hotel Shelly again or the Catalina. I complained to the guy at the front desk about the noise but he just smiled. No use in arguing with him, there was nothing he could do besides have better doors installed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Beacon Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Stamford, CT
May 10, 2010

Bed bugs, bed bugs, bed bugs

Family with a 3 year old. Bed bugs ate us alive. Poor service and dirty hotel are the other reasons that made us check out earlier than planned. Only reason this hotel still in service is the location. I would not recommend this hotel to anyone.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top