$138 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Nov 25, 2014 Check-out: Nov 26, 2014

The Beacon Hotel

4 stars
720 Ocean Drive, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
120 reviews
A Great South Beach Experience

First of all, this is a great location in the heart of South Beach. It could be a little loud at... See full review

  • Chef7A
  • Nov 17, 2014
Prime location & Wonderful staff :)

The Beacon Hotel welcomes it's guests with top of the line service that makes anyone feel at home... See full review

  • Soon to be World Traveler
  • Jul 25, 2014
The Beacon Hotel on Ocean Drive gives you South Beach how it is meant to be experienced. Here, you have direct access to seven miles of sand and surf, unrivaled nightlife, premier shopping, and exquisite cuisine. At the center of South Florida's premier vacation destination, the Beacon Hotel blends timeless Art Deco elegance with the best beaches, dining and entertainment that South Beach has to offer.

Sitting in the heart of a stylish beach community, the Beacon Hotel South Beach offers guests direct access to a wealth of recreation and entertainment. At 720 Ocean Drive, the Beacon Hotel is wedged between seven-miles of beach relaxation to the east and the trendy shopping of Collins Avenue and the nightlife of Washington Avenue to the west. Other notable destinations - including the Lincoln Road pedestrian mall, the Miami Beach Convention Center, and the Jackie Gleason Theater - are a short distance away.

Additional amenities include Complimentary beach chairs and beach towels.

Hotel Map

25.7771 -80.1309
Area served
720 Ocean Dr. South Miami Beach
Nearby airports
Miami International Airport and Fort Lauderdale International Airport
Area description
From Miami International Airport take highway 836 South 10 miles and from Fort Lauderdale take I-95 North 22 miles.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Beacon Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5

The Beacon Hotel Rooms

Deluxe Double Room
Presents views of the city and a vibrant nightlife, two top of the line perfect sleeper full size beds by Serta, Mascioni luxury Italian linen, resort spa amenities by Aveeda, in-room safe, personalized in-room temperature control, laundry valet services, Flat Panel LCD television, Cable TV, IP Phones with voicemail and data port features, in-room mini-bars, in-room safety boxes, beach towels, beach chairs and marble floors.
Run of House
Presents views of the city and a vibrant nightlife, a run of the house room with two full size, one king size, or one queen size top of the line perfect sleeper bed by Serta, Mascioni luxury Italian linen, resort spa amenities by Aveeda, in-room safe, personalized in-room temperature control, laundry valet services, Flat Panel LCD television, Cable TV, IP Phones with voicemail and data port features, in-room mini-bars, in-room safety boxes, beach towels, beach chairs and marble floors.
Ocean Front King Room
Offers breathtaking vistas of the turquoise waters of the Atlantic, ultra-comfortable presidential king size bed by Serta, Mascioni luxury Italian linen, resort spa amenities by Aveeda, in-room safe, personalized in-room temperature control, laundry valet services, Flat Panel LCD television, Cable TV, IP Phones with voicemail and data port features, in-room mini-bars, in-room safety boxes, beach towels, beach chairs and marble floors.
Deluxe King Room
Presents views of the city and a vibrant nightlife, ultra-comfortable presidential king size bed by Serta, Mascioni luxury Italian linen, resort spa amenities by Aveeda, in-room safe, personalized in-room temperature control, laundry valet services, Flat Panel LCD television, Cable TV, IP Phones with voicemail and data port features, in-room mini-bars, in-room safety boxes, beach towels, beach chairs and marble floors.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
On-site Ocean View Meeting Space up to 12 persons.

Dining

The Place Restaurant
The Beacon's new indoor/outdoor restaurant has instantly become one of the Deco District's most frequented dining spots. Serving an arrangement of international cuisine the Place's beachfront terrace also serves up the best views on Ocean Drive.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (120)

Ratings and reviews for The Beacon Hotel

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
58 out of 120
Amenities:
3.8
Room cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.5
Room comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.9
Value:
4.1

95% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Beacon Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Chef7A
Business
Jacksonville, FL
Nov 17, 2014

A Great South Beach Experience

First of all, this is a great location in the heart of South Beach. It could be a little loud at night but keeping the ceiling fan on low blocked out all the noise. We slept great! The bed and pillows were extremely comfortable as well. Of course, a big part of any stay at a hotel is the staff. And we were greeted with a smile and a sincere willingness to assist at every turn. Our needs were not large but the valet, front desk staff and bellman were gracious, courteous and friendly. A free breakfast buffet was offered each morning. The food was good; eggs, potatoes, bacon, sausage, toast and bagels. Our waitress promptly brought us orange juice and coffee and kept them refilled as long as we sat there. With South Beach prices rather high, it was a fine start to the day for a $5 tip. Well worth it. Our checkout was seamless. Car brought quickly. Luggage moved from the room quickly. And they helped to load the car until we were ready to pull away. You may be saying that these folks were just doing their job. But in the world we live in and the service level we've become accustomed to, doing that job with a genuine caring heart and a smile goes a long way. This is an older boutique hotel on South Beach. The room is small but very clean and updated. There is no pool but there is one of the most amazing beaches in the country directly across the street. And if you come to South Beach to spend time in the room, you may want to consider another destination. We had a GREAT stay and I wouldn't hesitate to recommend the Beacon to anyone looking for a great South Beach getaway.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Buy your alcohol at the Walgreen's liquor store on 5th. The prices are the same as you pay in non tourist locations.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Beacon Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Soon to be World Traveler
Business
Los Gatos, California
Jul 25, 2014

Prime location & Wonderful staff :)

The Beacon Hotel welcomes it's guests with top of the line service that makes anyone feel at home and that they are getting what they paid for. Upon our arrival we were given chilled water bottles to cool us off from the Miami heat and then given complimentary "Welcome Mojitos" for the evening that really hit the spot. In our cozy king sized hotel room for two, we were supplied with comfy beach chairs and cozy towels that were replaced everyday of our visit. In addition, the room we stayed in was a great size for two, including the bathroom which is hard to find a nice size one while in South Beach, given the Art Deco design. Now this hotel is full of international and local travelers alike, but every staff person there is able to make every guests feel like there at their home away from home, requesting cars or taxis if you need, making reservations and providing their guests lists of local activities. I would recommend this hotel to any family or friends traveling to South Beach that are in hopes of a great vacation filled with amazing views, a chance to explore the location where the hotel was used for the movie Scarface, and much more. Again thank you so much to the front desk staff: Marisa, Juan, and the great bartender that works evenings! I just simply cannot wait to return to the Beacon Hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Although all the cafés that line Ocean Drive look great, they are a tourist trap for overpriced meals and alcohol. So just be sure to look down the side streets of Ocean for great restaurants that do delivery as well as pick up like Spaghetto!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Beacon Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Sheru
Business
Philadelphia, PA
Mar 4, 2014

Nice & Comfortable stay

I would say it was nice and comfortable stay with good staff .. very close to all attractions on south beach ... definitely recommend this hotel for others

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

LIV

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Beacon Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
nomadic89898
Business
new york
Feb 11, 2014

Great location but not so great value

the stay was good, especially considering the location, which was unbeatable. however the hotel room is small, a bit stuffy, and the sound insulation was not good. in future I would go a little farther from South Beach and find a better valued hotel. staff are very helpful though.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Beacon Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Brain Lab
Business
Oregon
Feb 12, 2013

Great location for fun

Great location, easy access to the beach. Valet parking takes too long. You have to plan ahead when you leave with the car.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Beacon Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mad Cat 56
Business
pennsylania
Nov 24, 2012

Nice Hotel

It is a very nice, friendly, and clean boutique hotel. THe bathroom is a bit small but you spend minimal time in the room so it is not an issue.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

there are so many good restaurants within walking distance from the hotel. All offer 2 for 1 drinks specials and many offer "discounts" on their meals.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Beacon Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
hawkey
Business
Boston, MA
May 21, 2012

Great Location, Great Value

The location is absolutely perfect. Strongly recommended for couples or young adults. Only downfall was that we couldn't get the temperature correct in the room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Beacon Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Nanco
Business
Richmond, VA
Jan 31, 2012

Anniversary getaway

My husband and I love South Beach, try to go for our grownup getaway every year. We had been staying in boutique hotels on Collins for years, but decided to try the Beacon for our 10th anniversary trip. We absolutely loved it! Most boutique hotels in SoBe have small rooms and tiny bathrooms, but the Beacon's was much more spacious than we were used to over on Collins. The bed was really comfy and except for the trash trucks backing up in the alley at 5 am, very quiet. We don't mind being right in the heart of things, although it was a little annoying getting accosted by all the restaurant folks every time we went back and forth to the hotel, but that's the price of convenience! The staff was really friendly, especially the front desk. We had a late afternoon flight out, they kept our bags for us so we could go shopping and have lunch, then had a car ready for us when it was time to head to the airport. We are going to SoBe for my husband's birthday in June and will be staying at the Beacon.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Puerto Sagua, 700 Collins Ave. We walk there for breakfast every morning when we're in SoBe! They have authentic Cuban food, but if you want a full American breakfast you can get one for about $8.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Beacon Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
YoungCoupleGetaway
Business
Chicago, IL, USA
Dec 27, 2011

Great Getaway

My wife and I stole a weekend in Miami and returned to the Beacon after almost 9 years. The updates are great and the staff is very friendly. We will be back at the Beacon as soon as possible.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Beacon Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
sokol
Business
East Brunswick, NJ, USA
Nov 14, 2011

Good, if you like night life.

Good, overall. Small rooms, small bathrooms.Clean hotel, after renovation . Food is very good at the hotel restaurant , but pricey. Stay away from ocean view rooms( very noisy at night).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top