$138 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Nov 30, 2014 Check-out: Dec 1, 2014

The Beacon Hotel

4 stars
720 Ocean Drive, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
121 reviews
Loved It!

The staff was very nice, the food was great! and everything was very clean! See full review

  • Diandra A.
  • Nov 22, 2014
A Great South Beach Experience

First of all, this is a great location in the heart of South Beach. It could be a little loud at... See full review

  • Chef7A
  • Nov 17, 2014
The Beacon Hotel on Ocean Drive gives you South Beach how it is meant to be experienced. Here, you have direct access to seven miles of sand and surf, unrivaled nightlife, premier shopping, and exquisite cuisine. At the center of South Florida's premier vacation destination, the Beacon Hotel blends timeless Art Deco elegance with the best beaches, dining and entertainment that South Beach has to offer.

Sitting in the heart of a stylish beach community, the Beacon Hotel South Beach offers guests direct access to a wealth of recreation and entertainment. At 720 Ocean Drive, the Beacon Hotel is wedged between seven-miles of beach relaxation to the east and the trendy shopping of Collins Avenue and the nightlife of Washington Avenue to the west. Other notable destinations - including the Lincoln Road pedestrian mall, the Miami Beach Convention Center, and the Jackie Gleason Theater - are a short distance away.

Additional amenities include Complimentary beach chairs and beach towels.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Beacon Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5

The Beacon Hotel Rooms

Deluxe Double Room
Presents views of the city and a vibrant nightlife, two top of the line perfect sleeper full size beds by Serta, Mascioni luxury Italian linen, resort spa amenities by Aveeda, in-room safe, personalized in-room temperature control, laundry valet services, Flat Panel LCD television, Cable TV, IP Phones with voicemail and data port features, in-room mini-bars, in-room safety boxes, beach towels, beach chairs and marble floors.
Run of House
Presents views of the city and a vibrant nightlife, a run of the house room with two full size, one king size, or one queen size top of the line perfect sleeper bed by Serta, Mascioni luxury Italian linen, resort spa amenities by Aveeda, in-room safe, personalized in-room temperature control, laundry valet services, Flat Panel LCD television, Cable TV, IP Phones with voicemail and data port features, in-room mini-bars, in-room safety boxes, beach towels, beach chairs and marble floors.
Ocean Front King Room
Offers breathtaking vistas of the turquoise waters of the Atlantic, ultra-comfortable presidential king size bed by Serta, Mascioni luxury Italian linen, resort spa amenities by Aveeda, in-room safe, personalized in-room temperature control, laundry valet services, Flat Panel LCD television, Cable TV, IP Phones with voicemail and data port features, in-room mini-bars, in-room safety boxes, beach towels, beach chairs and marble floors.
Deluxe King Room
Presents views of the city and a vibrant nightlife, ultra-comfortable presidential king size bed by Serta, Mascioni luxury Italian linen, resort spa amenities by Aveeda, in-room safe, personalized in-room temperature control, laundry valet services, Flat Panel LCD television, Cable TV, IP Phones with voicemail and data port features, in-room mini-bars, in-room safety boxes, beach towels, beach chairs and marble floors.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Dining

The Place Restaurant
The Beacon's new indoor/outdoor restaurant has instantly become one of the Deco District's most frequented dining spots. Serving an arrangement of international cuisine the Place's beachfront terrace also serves up the best views on Ocean Drive.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
On-site Ocean View Meeting Space up to 12 persons.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (121)

Ratings and reviews for The Beacon Hotel

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
121 out of 121
Amenities:
3.6
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.4
Room comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.8
Value:
4

90% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Beacon Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
orlando, fl
Jan 3, 2010

not good

I was at Beacon's hotel for one night, it was awful there was a bug in the room, bath tub was clogged, some noises at night..

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Beacon Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Stamford, CT
May 10, 2010

Bed bugs, bed bugs, bed bugs

Family with a 3 year old. Bed bugs ate us alive. Poor service and dirty hotel are the other reasons that made us check out earlier than planned. Only reason this hotel still in service is the location. I would not recommend this hotel to anyone.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Beacon Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
May 11, 2008

HORRIBLE HOTEL AND WORSE SERVICE!!!!

The is the worst hotel stay I have ever had. Fist we had to wait hours past the check in time to get into our room. Then they sent us to a disgusting room. After lugging our luggage throughout the hotel twice we finally arrived in the room. The room was not clean at all. Hair was all over the bath tub and the toilet had pee stains on it. Then when we tried to use the toilet, it was broken. After contacting the front desk again they said they would fix it while we went out for dinner. Two hours later we arrived back and they never even came to the room. After complaining again they sent someone up with a plunger who didn't do anything to fix the toilet. So we spent the rest of the night in a room with no toilet, a dirty bathroom, smelly room because there was no where else to put us. I advised the staff that this was a special night for us because we were celebrating our 10 year wedding anniversary. What a great way to spend it. NOW IT GETS BETTER!! After complaining to the staff, they finally gave us a free night for another trip. We scheduled it for Saturday August 30th. When we arrived they had no room for us. Word to the wise... SAVE YOUR MONEY! DONT STAY! Spend your hard earned money somewhere else!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Beacon Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Pieterek
Business
Palmetto Florida
Aug 19, 2009

The worst hotel on the best location

We got a very stinking room

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Beacon Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Washington D.C
May 8, 2011

Nice staff but hotel is not that great

The staff at the hotel were very nice, however, I have stayed at other SoBe hotels and the Beacon was the worst as far as the room and environment. The room looked old, the bed frame and dresser looked like something my grandparents would have. Now I know most SoBe hotels have small rooms that have not been updated; old bathrooms, but the room at the Beacon was depressing. No vibrancy to the room at all. Dull beige walls, a view of rooftop to another building. The worst of all was the constant noise from doors being slammed. You could hear everytime someone came in or left their room, the worst was the noise from the exit doors at the end of each hallway. I looked out the room to see what the hell was going on, and noticed you can hear doors being slammed on floors your not even on. I read reviews on the Beacon before booking my room, and most of the reviews were really good....not sure who's writing those reviews. My sister and I were looking for fun, we had to venture to other hotels and enjoy their vibrant lobby. The bar at the Beacon was always empty. Even on the days that we were rained in, the bar was still empty. There was a flood warning so we couldn't really go out and we couldn't relax in the room due to the constant sound of slamming doors, so we took a cab ride to Dolphin mall. I was so ready to go that my flight didn't leave until 12:15pm, my sister's flight was leaving at 7:45am. I was so ready to go that I got up at 5am and left with her to go to the airport. I would never stay there again. I'd rather stay at hotel Shelly again or the Catalina. I complained to the guy at the front desk about the noise but he just smiled. No use in arguing with him, there was nothing he could do besides have better doors installed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Beacon Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Luxy412
Business
Boston, Ma
Jan 5, 2013

Tiny Room

Tiny room, absolutely NO counter space in the bathroom!! I'm a girl.. where am i supposed to put my makeup? my blow dryer? toiletries? ect... The location is good if you want to be in a tourist trap area, over pay for average food and have people smoking at the table next to you while eating as well as pedestrians bumping your chair. Ocean drive is for amateurs! Stay at a better hotel on Collins!! The room is not worth the price. I won't ever stay here again. The only good thing about this hotel is the water shower pressure and free breakfast. Also they tell you they provide chairs on the beach for you... BE AWARE this means there are 2 beach chairs in your hotel that you must lug back and forth to the beach yourself... BOOO!!! This should be a 2 star hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Go to Lincoln Road for a variety of food, shopping and people watching.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Beacon Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Andresty
Business
Philadelphia, PA
Dec 3, 2009

Fun and not so fun

While in Miami we shopped and went out to party and to the beach. I went shopping on saturday and had to catch my flight early on Sunday morning, and just happen to forget a gift that I bought my mother for her Birthday. I forgot to pack it while I was in a hurry to catch my flight, and the staff keeps saying that they didn't find anything in the room... Meanwhile 4 of my other friends remember seeing me with the bag in the room. Very unprofessional.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

shopping right around the area is great. It ranges from steve madden to urban outfitters...

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Beacon Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Boston, MA
Mar 27, 2008

ok

The room was really small and not room for any toiletries in the bath room. right next to an alley and the trash was picked upt really early in the morning. it was also hard to regulate the temp in the room. beware there is a step right outside the door, when the hotel door closes it pushes you out. i fell and spranged my ankle. the staff is really nice though

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

ahopping and a lot of food are near by

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Beacon Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
nomadic89898
Business
new york
Feb 11, 2014

Great location but not so great value

the stay was good, especially considering the location, which was unbeatable. however the hotel room is small, a bit stuffy, and the sound insulation was not good. in future I would go a little farther from South Beach and find a better valued hotel. staff are very helpful though.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Beacon Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Horst
Business
Schaumburg, IL
Sep 12, 2009

One night stay at the Beacon!

We stayed one night at the Beacon before we drove to Key West. Nice hotel, rooms a little small. But good for couple nights or people who want to stay at the beach most of the day, beach a minute away.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top