$202 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Mar 30, 2015 Check-out: Mar 31, 2015

The Beacon Hotel

4 stars
View map of 720 Ocean Drive, Miami Beach, FL 33139

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for The Beacon Hotel

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
125 out of 125
Amenities:
3.6
Cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4.8
Value:
3.9

90% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Beacon Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mad Cat 56
pennsylania
Nov 24, 2012

Nice Hotel

It is a very nice, friendly, and clean boutique hotel. THe bathroom is a bit small but you spend minimal time in the room so it is not an issue.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

there are so many good restaurants within walking distance from the hotel. All offer 2 for 1 drinks specials and many offer "discounts" on their meals.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Beacon Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Miami, FL
Aug 11, 2009

Excellent Location for the price

Great location. This is my annual spot. Hotel is right in the heart of South Beach. Literally in the middle of all the action (perfect location). Friendly staff - Small rooms but very comfortable pillow top bed. I rested peacefully. Eat at Johnny Rocket next door or Lincoln Park Rd. Mall spots for reasonable dining. We paid $115 for two drinks and one appetizer at an outside hotel restaur. near the Beacon. It was a "shocker" to say the least. Drinks were $26 each.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Go to Lincoln Rd. Mall area. The further you are away from Ocean Drive the more money you will save.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Beacon Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chicago
Jul 27, 2009

Great location

this art deco hotel is in a very good location. it is in the heart of the South beach/ocean drive area. the hotel is clean. Although the room we stayed in was small (the bathroom was even tinier) it did have the necesary amenities.the air conditioning did not cool as well as it could have but it was adequate. This hotel has ground floor lobby area that has a restaurant/bar area for eating/drinking and people watching.it is close to other area hotels which also have nice restaurants/bars to eat at and enjoy.The beach is right across the street. So if the beach and good location is a high priority for you then I would recommend visting this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Beacon Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Springfield VA
Jul 21, 2009

Great service, but small rooms

great service but the rooms were not as good as expected. Small bathrooms wish they had a coffee machine in rooms

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Alot of good spots around from food to night life

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Beacon Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Lance romance
Business
West Florida
Jul 18, 2009

Great location and quality for the price

Clean good rooms and nice staff. Drinks are not bad either

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Good food and large drinks

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Beacon Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
PGT
Business
Atlanta, GA
Jul 15, 2009

Not bad, really nice place & people

Initially, I was shocked at the appearance of the hotel. The online photo was somewhat exaggerated. The rooms are small but, keep in mind this hotel has been renovated and was originally built in 1937. I enjoyed the fact that we were right in the mist of everything but, once you retreated to your room there was no noise to be heard. The bathrooms are extremely small as well--only one person at a time. The beds were comfortable. Overall the hotel was nice and the staff was very accomodating.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Dining, shopping, entertainment & the beach all within short walking distance.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Beacon Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Brooklyn, NY
Jul 1, 2009

Beacon Hotel

The Beacon Hotel was very convenient in the sense that it was in the heart of South Beach! You had the beach across from you and restaurants and entertainment right down the block from the hotel. I really enjoyed my stay and my boyfriend and I can't wait to go back!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Everyone has to hit the spot called Mango's! It really gets you going and puts the topping on your Miami trip!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Beacon Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
30th Bday in Miami
Business
Cambridge, MA
Jun 22, 2009

Great Deal!!!

It`s the best deal for the location - right on Ocean Dr., where everything happens! It`s a simple hotel, but clean and with a very nice crew. Great deal!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Clevelanders: great bar, very close, no lines, (relatively) cheap drinks, good music - must see! Great for before or after dancing!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Beacon Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
rice0roni
Business
New York, NY
Jun 17, 2009

Worth the price

My significant other and I decided to take a vacay to MIA for 4 days. The beacon hotel is pretty nice; good service, clean rooms. The bathroom is a bit small though. The location is great! It is located right across from the beach and right next to Johnny Rockets!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Beacon Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
North Jersey
Jun 10, 2009

Nice hotel, very accommodating

Having just gotten off a 7-day cruise with friends, the hotel manager recognized our need for space and offered us available handicapped-accessible rooms. They were huge and accommodated our luggage, souvenirs, us and more. During the day, the rooms were terribly noisy since they are next to the service areas, storage and maintenance equipment. However they quieted down sometime after 10pm. We also dined at the Beacon and thought the food was wonderful - well worth the money. I would stay there again in a heartbeat and recommend it to others!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

In SoBe, everything is happening right around you. What a great place.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Beacon Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Algonquin, IL
May 26, 2009

nice night for the 2 of us

We stayed here on a Sunday night before a Monday cruise. The hotel is truly right in the middle of everything! A very nice beach is right across the street. The hotel provides towels and beach chairs. There is shopping 2 blocks over, but no reasonably priced drug stores, so make sure to bring your toothpaste-the hotel does not have any necessities. Restaurants are good, but expensive. Great place to party! There were still people on the streets drinking at 2:00 am on a Sunday! Our room was in the back, so it did not bother us. Would not recommend this area for families.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Be prepared to people watch right outside your front door. Have appetizers at several places instead of one big meal.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top