$129 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 8, 2014 Check-out: Sep 9, 2014

The Beacon Hotel

4 stars
720 Ocean Drive, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
118 reviews
Prime location & Wonderful staff :)

The Beacon Hotel welcomes it's guests with top of the line service that makes anyone feel at home... See full review

  • Soon to be World Traveler
  • Jul 25, 2014
Yearly getaway

Everything was great. My Co-workers and I have visited south beach for the last four years around... See full review

  • oscar dela banana
  • Jun 10, 2014
The Beacon Hotel on Ocean Drive gives you South Beach how it is meant to be experienced. Here, you have direct access to seven miles of sand and surf, unrivaled nightlife, premier shopping, and exquisite cuisine. At the center of South Florida's premier vacation destination, the Beacon Hotel blends timeless Art Deco elegance with the best beaches, dining and entertainment that South Beach has to offer.

Sitting in the heart of a stylish beach community, the Beacon Hotel South Beach offers guests direct access to a wealth of recreation and entertainment. At 720 Ocean Drive, the Beacon Hotel is wedged between seven-miles of beach relaxation to the east and the trendy shopping of Collins Avenue and the nightlife of Washington Avenue to the west. Other notable destinations - including the Lincoln Road pedestrian mall, the Miami Beach Convention Center, and the Jackie Gleason Theater - are a short distance away.

Additional amenities include Complimentary beach chairs and beach towels.

Hotel Map

25.7771 -80.1309
Area served
720 Ocean Dr. South Miami Beach
Nearby airports
Miami International Airport and Fort Lauderdale International Airport
Area description
From Miami International Airport take highway 836 South 10 miles and from Fort Lauderdale take I-95 North 22 miles.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Beacon Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5

The Beacon Hotel Rooms

Deluxe Double Room
Presents views of the city and a vibrant nightlife, two top of the line perfect sleeper full size beds by Serta, Mascioni luxury Italian linen, resort spa amenities by Aveeda, in-room safe, personalized in-room temperature control, laundry valet services, Flat Panel LCD television, Cable TV, IP Phones with voicemail and data port features, in-room mini-bars, in-room safety boxes, beach towels, beach chairs and marble floors.
Run of House
Presents views of the city and a vibrant nightlife, a run of the house room with two full size, one king size, or one queen size top of the line perfect sleeper bed by Serta, Mascioni luxury Italian linen, resort spa amenities by Aveeda, in-room safe, personalized in-room temperature control, laundry valet services, Flat Panel LCD television, Cable TV, IP Phones with voicemail and data port features, in-room mini-bars, in-room safety boxes, beach towels, beach chairs and marble floors.
Ocean Front King Room
Offers breathtaking vistas of the turquoise waters of the Atlantic, ultra-comfortable presidential king size bed by Serta, Mascioni luxury Italian linen, resort spa amenities by Aveeda, in-room safe, personalized in-room temperature control, laundry valet services, Flat Panel LCD television, Cable TV, IP Phones with voicemail and data port features, in-room mini-bars, in-room safety boxes, beach towels, beach chairs and marble floors.
Deluxe King Room
Presents views of the city and a vibrant nightlife, ultra-comfortable presidential king size bed by Serta, Mascioni luxury Italian linen, resort spa amenities by Aveeda, in-room safe, personalized in-room temperature control, laundry valet services, Flat Panel LCD television, Cable TV, IP Phones with voicemail and data port features, in-room mini-bars, in-room safety boxes, beach towels, beach chairs and marble floors.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Dining

The Place Restaurant
The Beacon's new indoor/outdoor restaurant has instantly become one of the Deco District's most frequented dining spots. Serving an arrangement of international cuisine the Place's beachfront terrace also serves up the best views on Ocean Drive.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
On-site Ocean View Meeting Space up to 12 persons.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (118)

Ratings and reviews for The Beacon Hotel

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
118 out of 118
Amenities:
3.6
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.4
Room comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.8
Value:
3.9

90% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Beacon Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
rice0roni
New York, NY
Jun 17, 2009

Worth the price

My significant other and I decided to take a vacay to MIA for 4 days. The beacon hotel is pretty nice; good service, clean rooms. The bathroom is a bit small though. The location is great! It is located right across from the beach and right next to Johnny Rockets!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of The Beacon Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
North Jersey
Jun 10, 2009

Nice hotel, very accommodating

Having just gotten off a 7-day cruise with friends, the hotel manager recognized our need for space and offered us available handicapped-accessible rooms. They were huge and accommodated our luggage, souvenirs, us and more. During the day, the rooms were terribly noisy since they are next to the service areas, storage and maintenance equipment. However they quieted down sometime after 10pm. We also dined at the Beacon and thought the food was wonderful - well worth the money. I would stay there again in a heartbeat and recommend it to others!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

In SoBe, everything is happening right around you. What a great place.

Review of The Beacon Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Algonquin, IL
May 26, 2009

nice night for the 2 of us

We stayed here on a Sunday night before a Monday cruise. The hotel is truly right in the middle of everything! A very nice beach is right across the street. The hotel provides towels and beach chairs. There is shopping 2 blocks over, but no reasonably priced drug stores, so make sure to bring your toothpaste-the hotel does not have any necessities. Restaurants are good, but expensive. Great place to party! There were still people on the streets drinking at 2:00 am on a Sunday! Our room was in the back, so it did not bother us. Would not recommend this area for families.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Be prepared to people watch right outside your front door. Have appetizers at several places instead of one big meal.

Review of The Beacon Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Los Angeles, CA
May 23, 2009

Great vacation location for the price.

The hotel is ideally located and within easy walking distance to many venues. Outstanding staff - very friendly and accommodating. Our ocean view room was pristine and the decor lent itself to the bygone era. We would definitely stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Fabulous restaurants, nighttime entertainment and the magnificent beaches are all within walking distance.

Review of The Beacon Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
King of Scandinavia
Europe
May 8, 2009

Cosy - next to action

I would not recommend this (location) for families with small children. Otherwise everything was good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of The Beacon Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Woodbridge, NJ
May 2, 2009

Great Stay

The Beacon Hotel was perfect for our stay. We are in our early twenties and knew we wouldn't be spending a lot of time in the room and wanted some place in a great location and The Beacon Hotel was a great choice. The room was clean and the Front Desk was very helpful, especially our friend [...]! It is right on Ocean Dr. but we didn't hear noise from our room. The only issues were minor issues which didn't bother us much. For example, no room in mini-bar fridge for extra bottles of water that we brought in and no ventilation in the bathroom so it got steamy after a shower. We enjoyed that fact that we could walk across the street to get to the beach and the hotel offered beach towels. We would definitely stay there again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Look at the menus of the restaurants directly on Ocean Drive before choosing. They are very expensive and don't usually offer a huge selection. You are better off walking back to Collins or Washington for cheaper food but still tastes great.

Review of The Beacon Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Sugar Land, TX
May 2, 2009

A great place to stay!

We were in Miami to attend a funeral and stayed at the Beacon. The staff was very helpful, the room was deco and immaculate, and the venue was awesome. There are plenty of places to eat and dance. I would highly recommend this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of The Beacon Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
New York, NY
Apr 23, 2009

The Beacon Hotel--Good Times!!

My friend and I stayed at the Beacon Hotel on a Monday night after returning from our cruise. We arrived early in the morning and the hotel staff held our bags until our room was ready at 2:30. We walked on the beach and were disappointed to find Portuguese Man of War washed up on the beach. We didn't want to risk going into the ocean and getting stung so it would have been awesome if the hotel had a pool. I had previously stayed at the Wave Hotel (which was ok for the price and also on Ocean Drive) and The Palms Hotel (Which was a really nice hotel but not in the most "happening" location). The Beacon was a happy medium between the other two hotels. Complimentary breakfast was offered at Johnny Rockets next door...this was nice although there weren't too many options. You can get a bagel and cereal and an orange juice/coffee. The rooms were really clean and the beds were super comfy. They were putting in porches across from the 2nd floor rooms while we were there. The final product was a nice little place to sit and relax with a open roof to soak in the sun/watch the stars. Check-in/out went smoothly and the staff members were really friendly. Would def. stay here next time I'm at Miami Beach.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

All of the places on Ocean Drive have good food. I would recommend walking all the way down and finding the best deals before deciding...they always have 2 for one drinks or a food special. Ocean Drive can be pricy so be sure that you look at the menus and be clear on what the deals really entail. On Lincoln Drive the best food I have found is at "Nexxt" restaurant. We got French bread with guacamole and melted brie with sun-dried tomatoes as an appetizer (we agreed that if we had to eat one thing for the rest of our lives, this would be it). So good! I had the Thai Chicken Pasta and she had a salmon dish...both very good and HUGE (we had our meal for lunch and dinner).

Review of The Beacon Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Son of a beach
Fort Worth, TX
Mar 3, 2009

beacon hotel

Staff was good, and location was great. The beach was literally across the street. The only flaw was the frosted see-thru glass bathroom door. Some things are just not meant to be that intimate when you're going to the bathroom. Other than that, you get a small room priced for its location. But since you'll be on south beach, the room size doesn't really matter since you'll only be sleeping in it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Joe's Stone Crab is a must. But be prepared to wait a long time.

Review of The Beacon Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Punta Gorda, FL
Oct 29, 2008

Boy's Trip at the Beacon

Great place to stay in the middle of all that is happening on South Beach. Beach right across the street and each room had 2 beach chairs for guest's use. Rooms were all modern with a great lobby bar. Not much of a view but that is just outside their front door. Our small group that stayed there, just off a cruise, all over sixty, would stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Not Applicable

Everything one needs from nightlife, resturants and shopping is all when in easy walking distance.

Back to menu Return to top

Change search