$228 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 7, 2015 Check-out: Jan 8, 2015

The Beacon Hotel

4 stars
720 Ocean Drive, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
121 reviews
Loved It!

The staff was very nice, the food was great! and everything was very clean! See full review

  • Diandra A.
  • Nov 22, 2014
A Great South Beach Experience

First of all, this is a great location in the heart of South Beach. It could be a little loud at... See full review

  • Chef7A
  • Nov 17, 2014
The Beacon Hotel on Ocean Drive gives you South Beach how it is meant to be experienced. Here, you have direct access to seven miles of sand and surf, unrivaled nightlife, premier shopping, and exquisite cuisine. At the center of South Florida's premier vacation destination, the Beacon Hotel blends timeless Art Deco elegance with the best beaches, dining and entertainment that South Beach has to offer.

Sitting in the heart of a stylish beach community, the Beacon Hotel South Beach offers guests direct access to a wealth of recreation and entertainment. At 720 Ocean Drive, the Beacon Hotel is wedged between seven-miles of beach relaxation to the east and the trendy shopping of Collins Avenue and the nightlife of Washington Avenue to the west. Other notable destinations - including the Lincoln Road pedestrian mall, the Miami Beach Convention Center, and the Jackie Gleason Theater - are a short distance away.

Additional amenities include Complimentary beach chairs and beach towels.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Beacon Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5

The Beacon Hotel Rooms

Deluxe Double Room
Presents views of the city and a vibrant nightlife, two top of the line perfect sleeper full size beds by Serta, Mascioni luxury Italian linen, resort spa amenities by Aveeda, in-room safe, personalized in-room temperature control, laundry valet services, Flat Panel LCD television, Cable TV, IP Phones with voicemail and data port features, in-room mini-bars, in-room safety boxes, beach towels, beach chairs and marble floors.
Run of House
Presents views of the city and a vibrant nightlife, a run of the house room with two full size, one king size, or one queen size top of the line perfect sleeper bed by Serta, Mascioni luxury Italian linen, resort spa amenities by Aveeda, in-room safe, personalized in-room temperature control, laundry valet services, Flat Panel LCD television, Cable TV, IP Phones with voicemail and data port features, in-room mini-bars, in-room safety boxes, beach towels, beach chairs and marble floors.
Ocean Front King Room
Offers breathtaking vistas of the turquoise waters of the Atlantic, ultra-comfortable presidential king size bed by Serta, Mascioni luxury Italian linen, resort spa amenities by Aveeda, in-room safe, personalized in-room temperature control, laundry valet services, Flat Panel LCD television, Cable TV, IP Phones with voicemail and data port features, in-room mini-bars, in-room safety boxes, beach towels, beach chairs and marble floors.
Deluxe King Room
Presents views of the city and a vibrant nightlife, ultra-comfortable presidential king size bed by Serta, Mascioni luxury Italian linen, resort spa amenities by Aveeda, in-room safe, personalized in-room temperature control, laundry valet services, Flat Panel LCD television, Cable TV, IP Phones with voicemail and data port features, in-room mini-bars, in-room safety boxes, beach towels, beach chairs and marble floors.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Dining

The Place Restaurant
The Beacon's new indoor/outdoor restaurant has instantly become one of the Deco District's most frequented dining spots. Serving an arrangement of international cuisine the Place's beachfront terrace also serves up the best views on Ocean Drive.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
On-site Ocean View Meeting Space up to 12 persons.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (121)

Ratings and reviews for The Beacon Hotel

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
121 out of 121
Amenities:
3.6
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.4
Room comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.8
Value:
4

90% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Beacon Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
PGT
Business
Atlanta, GA
Jul 15, 2009

Not bad, really nice place & people

Initially, I was shocked at the appearance of the hotel. The online photo was somewhat exaggerated. The rooms are small but, keep in mind this hotel has been renovated and was originally built in 1937. I enjoyed the fact that we were right in the mist of everything but, once you retreated to your room there was no noise to be heard. The bathrooms are extremely small as well--only one person at a time. The beds were comfortable. Overall the hotel was nice and the staff was very accomodating.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Dining, shopping, entertainment & the beach all within short walking distance.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Beacon Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Brooklyn, NY
Jul 1, 2009

Beacon Hotel

The Beacon Hotel was very convenient in the sense that it was in the heart of South Beach! You had the beach across from you and restaurants and entertainment right down the block from the hotel. I really enjoyed my stay and my boyfriend and I can't wait to go back!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Everyone has to hit the spot called Mango's! It really gets you going and puts the topping on your Miami trip!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Beacon Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
30th Bday in Miami
Business
Cambridge, MA
Jun 22, 2009

Great Deal!!!

It`s the best deal for the location - right on Ocean Dr., where everything happens! It`s a simple hotel, but clean and with a very nice crew. Great deal!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Clevelanders: great bar, very close, no lines, (relatively) cheap drinks, good music - must see! Great for before or after dancing!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Beacon Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
rice0roni
Business
New York, NY
Jun 17, 2009

Worth the price

My significant other and I decided to take a vacay to MIA for 4 days. The beacon hotel is pretty nice; good service, clean rooms. The bathroom is a bit small though. The location is great! It is located right across from the beach and right next to Johnny Rockets!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Beacon Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
North Jersey
Jun 10, 2009

Nice hotel, very accommodating

Having just gotten off a 7-day cruise with friends, the hotel manager recognized our need for space and offered us available handicapped-accessible rooms. They were huge and accommodated our luggage, souvenirs, us and more. During the day, the rooms were terribly noisy since they are next to the service areas, storage and maintenance equipment. However they quieted down sometime after 10pm. We also dined at the Beacon and thought the food was wonderful - well worth the money. I would stay there again in a heartbeat and recommend it to others!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

In SoBe, everything is happening right around you. What a great place.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Beacon Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Algonquin, IL
May 26, 2009

nice night for the 2 of us

We stayed here on a Sunday night before a Monday cruise. The hotel is truly right in the middle of everything! A very nice beach is right across the street. The hotel provides towels and beach chairs. There is shopping 2 blocks over, but no reasonably priced drug stores, so make sure to bring your toothpaste-the hotel does not have any necessities. Restaurants are good, but expensive. Great place to party! There were still people on the streets drinking at 2:00 am on a Sunday! Our room was in the back, so it did not bother us. Would not recommend this area for families.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Be prepared to people watch right outside your front door. Have appetizers at several places instead of one big meal.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Beacon Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Los Angeles, CA
May 23, 2009

Great vacation location for the price.

The hotel is ideally located and within easy walking distance to many venues. Outstanding staff - very friendly and accommodating. Our ocean view room was pristine and the decor lent itself to the bygone era. We would definitely stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Fabulous restaurants, nighttime entertainment and the magnificent beaches are all within walking distance.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Beacon Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
King of Scandinavia
Business
Europe
May 8, 2009

Cosy - next to action

I would not recommend this (location) for families with small children. Otherwise everything was good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Beacon Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Sugar Land, TX
May 2, 2009

A great place to stay!

We were in Miami to attend a funeral and stayed at the Beacon. The staff was very helpful, the room was deco and immaculate, and the venue was awesome. There are plenty of places to eat and dance. I would highly recommend this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Beacon Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Woodbridge, NJ
May 2, 2009

Great Stay

The Beacon Hotel was perfect for our stay. We are in our early twenties and knew we wouldn't be spending a lot of time in the room and wanted some place in a great location and The Beacon Hotel was a great choice. The room was clean and the Front Desk was very helpful, especially our friend [...]! It is right on Ocean Dr. but we didn't hear noise from our room. The only issues were minor issues which didn't bother us much. For example, no room in mini-bar fridge for extra bottles of water that we brought in and no ventilation in the bathroom so it got steamy after a shower. We enjoyed that fact that we could walk across the street to get to the beach and the hotel offered beach towels. We would definitely stay there again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Look at the menus of the restaurants directly on Ocean Drive before choosing. They are very expensive and don't usually offer a huge selection. You are better off walking back to Collins or Washington for cheaper food but still tastes great.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top