$198 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Feb 1, 2015 Check-out: Feb 4, 2015

The Beacon Hotel

4 stars
720 Ocean Drive, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
122 reviews
Loved It!

The staff was very nice, the food was great! and everything was very clean! See full review

  • Diandra A.
  • Nov 22, 2014
A Great South Beach Experience

First of all, this is a great location in the heart of South Beach. It could be a little loud at... See full review

  • Chef7A
  • Nov 17, 2014
The Beacon Hotel on Ocean Drive gives you South Beach how it is meant to be experienced. Here, you have direct access to seven miles of sand and surf, unrivaled nightlife, premier shopping, and exquisite cuisine. At the center of South Florida's premier vacation destination, the Beacon Hotel blends timeless Art Deco elegance with the best beaches, dining and entertainment that South Beach has to offer.

Sitting in the heart of a stylish beach community, the Beacon Hotel South Beach offers guests direct access to a wealth of recreation and entertainment. At 720 Ocean Drive, the Beacon Hotel is wedged between seven-miles of beach relaxation to the east and the trendy shopping of Collins Avenue and the nightlife of Washington Avenue to the west. Other notable destinations - including the Lincoln Road pedestrian mall, the Miami Beach Convention Center, and the Jackie Gleason Theater - are a short distance away.

Valet Parking available for $25 per car per day.

Additional amenities include Complimentary beach chairs and beach towels.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Beacon Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5

The Beacon Hotel Rooms

Deluxe Double Room
Presents views of the city and a vibrant nightlife, two top of the line perfect sleeper full size beds by Serta, Mascioni luxury Italian linen, resort spa amenities by Aveeda, in-room safe, personalized in-room temperature control, laundry valet services, Flat Panel LCD television, Cable TV, IP Phones with voicemail and data port features, in-room mini-bars, in-room safety boxes, beach towels, beach chairs and marble floors.
Run of House
Presents views of the city and a vibrant nightlife, a run of the house room with two full size, one king size, or one queen size top of the line perfect sleeper bed by Serta, Mascioni luxury Italian linen, resort spa amenities by Aveeda, in-room safe, personalized in-room temperature control, laundry valet services, Flat Panel LCD television, Cable TV, IP Phones with voicemail and data port features, in-room mini-bars, in-room safety boxes, beach towels, beach chairs and marble floors.
Ocean Front King Room
Offers breathtaking vistas of the turquoise waters of the Atlantic, ultra-comfortable presidential king size bed by Serta, Mascioni luxury Italian linen, resort spa amenities by Aveeda, in-room safe, personalized in-room temperature control, laundry valet services, Flat Panel LCD television, Cable TV, IP Phones with voicemail and data port features, in-room mini-bars, in-room safety boxes, beach towels, beach chairs and marble floors.
Deluxe King Room
Presents views of the city and a vibrant nightlife, ultra-comfortable presidential king size bed by Serta, Mascioni luxury Italian linen, resort spa amenities by Aveeda, in-room safe, personalized in-room temperature control, laundry valet services, Flat Panel LCD television, Cable TV, IP Phones with voicemail and data port features, in-room mini-bars, in-room safety boxes, beach towels, beach chairs and marble floors.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Dining

The Place Restaurant
The Beacon's new indoor/outdoor restaurant has instantly become one of the Deco District's most frequented dining spots. Serving an arrangement of international cuisine the Place's beachfront terrace also serves up the best views on Ocean Drive.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
On-site Ocean View Meeting Space up to 12 persons.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (122)

Ratings and reviews for The Beacon Hotel

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
122 out of 122
Amenities:
3.6
Cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.8
Value:
4

90% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Beacon Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mad Cat 56
pennsylania
Nov 24, 2012

Nice Hotel

It is a very nice, friendly, and clean boutique hotel. THe bathroom is a bit small but you spend minimal time in the room so it is not an issue.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

there are so many good restaurants within walking distance from the hotel. All offer 2 for 1 drinks specials and many offer "discounts" on their meals.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Beacon Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
fornix
Business
Austin, TX
Sep 10, 2009

Great hotel for a great price!

The staff here was wonderful. We first arrived WAY before check-in time (around 8:30am), so they held our bags for us while we went out and explored South Beach. They said they would call when our room was ready, but I finally called them instead around 1:00pm. They said they were about to call me (whether they actually were or not doesn't really matter to me), because our room was ready for us. I had read that some people had problems with the hotel calling them, so I took the initiative and called them first. No big deal if you are prepared. I recommend you do the same if you have to wait...just give them time. The first room they gave us was on the second floor at the very back of the hotel next to a set of stairs and the maid's closet. It was also the handicapped room. We were in there for 5 minutes and heard a lot of noise going on around us, so we asked to switch rooms. This wasn't a problem for them. The bellhop was incredibly helpful with our luggage and helped us move our stuff to the 5th floor. This room was MUCH better and was what I expected from reading the reviews about this hotel. It was very quiet up there, and everything looked fancy and nice. My girlfriend and I were MUCH happier there. I only have a few small complaints, though they definitely didn't ruin our experience: The room is small, the bed is a little TOO soft, and the bathroom is small (practically no sink top). All of this was expected (since it's an older building in the art deco district), so I loved the place anyway. It was the perfect little hotel for our short say in South Beach!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

I recommend renting a scooter to get around. There were many scooters on South Beach, and it is much easier to park it than a car. My girlfriend and I had SO much fun the first day we were there when we rented a scooter on a whim. We found a place a few blocks away from the hotel that rented scooters. I think it was called Scooter Super Shop. I had never driven one before but got the hang of it fairly quickly.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Beacon Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Big K.
Business
Raleigh, NC
Sep 8, 2009

Hotel with good location; not much else

Nothing really went the way it had been described. Oceanview is not oceanview at all; I could only see the buildings. Internet was down for the entire time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Beacon Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chicago
Sep 8, 2009

The Good, the Bad, the UGLY!

We stayed at the hotel while visiting friends. The Good: Hotel is in the middle of everything that's happening on the beach and there is a complimentary breakfast of bagel, cereal, coffee/juice, OR bagel, yogurt, coffee/juice. Beach chairs and towels are also provided free. The Bad: The room is extremely small. Update attempt to the bathroom, but not very practical. The round bowl top sink does not allow for counter space to apply makeup, curl hair, or to place items. Nor is the teeny-tiny spotlight over the sink to apply makeup. The large shower head had no pressure, the lowboy toilet was slow flushing and often ran all night, and the marble floors were unclean. The UGLY: We were told the outdoor lounge chairs were for diners or drinkers only, even though moments before we had spent more than $100 for dinner and drinks. The attitude was, If you're not spending, you're not welcomed. I would not do again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Beacon Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Massaro!
Business
San Diego
Aug 28, 2009

Great Location and Great value!

Great Location, good price. Room and bathroom were small but clean and good enough considering it is a boutique hotel. Walking distance to everything in Southbeach. Complimentary breakfast at Johny Rockets next door is kind of cheap but its better than nothing. Sometimes you get what you pay for, in this case the beacon was a great value deal!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Beacon Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Pieterek
Business
Palmetto Florida
Aug 19, 2009

The worst hotel on the best location

We got a very stinking room

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Beacon Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chicago.Il
Aug 15, 2009

great location

everything was great, great room , great location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

bar Clevender

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Beacon Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Arlington, Va
Aug 14, 2009

Wonderful

The trip was really wonderful, we showed up and checked us in and they upgraded us to a suite from a regular king bedroom. It was in the middle of South Beach and there were tons of things going on. The only thing that would have made it more enjoyable was if there were always two people manning the check-in desk, when we were there they were busy, but it was not a long wait.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Beacon Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Miami, FL
Aug 11, 2009

Excellent Location for the price

Great location. This is my annual spot. Hotel is right in the heart of South Beach. Literally in the middle of all the action (perfect location). Friendly staff - Small rooms but very comfortable pillow top bed. I rested peacefully. Eat at Johnny Rocket next door or Lincoln Park Rd. Mall spots for reasonable dining. We paid $115 for two drinks and one appetizer at an outside hotel restaur. near the Beacon. It was a "shocker" to say the least. Drinks were $26 each.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Go to Lincoln Rd. Mall area. The further you are away from Ocean Drive the more money you will save.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Beacon Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chicago
Jul 27, 2009

Great location

this art deco hotel is in a very good location. it is in the heart of the South beach/ocean drive area. the hotel is clean. Although the room we stayed in was small (the bathroom was even tinier) it did have the necesary amenities.the air conditioning did not cool as well as it could have but it was adequate. This hotel has ground floor lobby area that has a restaurant/bar area for eating/drinking and people watching.it is close to other area hotels which also have nice restaurants/bars to eat at and enjoy.The beach is right across the street. So if the beach and good location is a high priority for you then I would recommend visting this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Beacon Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Springfield VA
Jul 21, 2009

Great service, but small rooms

great service but the rooms were not as good as expected. Small bathrooms wish they had a coffee machine in rooms

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Alot of good spots around from food to night life

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top