The Beacon Hotel

4 stars
720 Ocean Drive, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
204 reviews
Prime location & Wonderful staff :)

The Beacon Hotel welcomes it's guests with top of the line service that makes anyone feel at home... See full review

  • Soon to be World Traveler
  • Jul 25, 2014
Yearly getaway

Everything was great. My Co-workers and I have visited south beach for the last four years around... See full review

  • oscar dela banana
  • Jun 10, 2014
The Beacon Hotel on Ocean Drive gives you South Beach how it is meant to be experienced. Here, you have direct access to seven miles of sand and surf, unrivaled nightlife, premier shopping, and exquisite cuisine. At the center of South Florida's premier vacation destination, the Beacon Hotel blends timeless Art Deco elegance with the best beaches, dining and entertainment that South Beach has to offer.

Sitting in the heart of a stylish beach community, the Beacon Hotel South Beach offers guests direct access to a wealth of recreation and entertainment. At 720 Ocean Drive, the Beacon Hotel is wedged between seven-miles of beach relaxation to the east and the trendy shopping of Collins Avenue and the nightlife of Washington Avenue to the west. Other notable destinations - including the Lincoln Road pedestrian mall, the Miami Beach Convention Center, and the Jackie Gleason Theater - are a short distance away.

Additional amenities include Complimentary beach chairs and beach towels.

The Beacon Hotel Rooms

Deluxe Double Room
Presents views of the city and a vibrant nightlife, two top of the line perfect sleeper full size beds by Serta, Mascioni luxury Italian linen, resort spa amenities by Aveeda, in-room safe, personalized in-room temperature control, laundry valet services, Flat Panel LCD television, Cable TV, IP Phones with voicemail and data port features, in-room mini-bars, in-room safety boxes, beach towels, beach chairs and marble floors.
Run of House
Presents views of the city and a vibrant nightlife, a run of the house room with two full size, one king size, or one queen size top of the line perfect sleeper bed by Serta, Mascioni luxury Italian linen, resort spa amenities by Aveeda, in-room safe, personalized in-room temperature control, laundry valet services, Flat Panel LCD television, Cable TV, IP Phones with voicemail and data port features, in-room mini-bars, in-room safety boxes, beach towels, beach chairs and marble floors.
Ocean Front King Room
Offers breathtaking vistas of the turquoise waters of the Atlantic, ultra-comfortable presidential king size bed by Serta, Mascioni luxury Italian linen, resort spa amenities by Aveeda, in-room safe, personalized in-room temperature control, laundry valet services, Flat Panel LCD television, Cable TV, IP Phones with voicemail and data port features, in-room mini-bars, in-room safety boxes, beach towels, beach chairs and marble floors.
Deluxe King Room
Presents views of the city and a vibrant nightlife, ultra-comfortable presidential king size bed by Serta, Mascioni luxury Italian linen, resort spa amenities by Aveeda, in-room safe, personalized in-room temperature control, laundry valet services, Flat Panel LCD television, Cable TV, IP Phones with voicemail and data port features, in-room mini-bars, in-room safety boxes, beach towels, beach chairs and marble floors.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Hotel Map

25.7771 -80.1309
Area served
720 Ocean Dr. South Miami Beach
Nearby airports
Miami International Airport and Fort Lauderdale International Airport
Area description
From Miami International Airport take highway 836 South 10 miles and from Fort Lauderdale take I-95 North 22 miles.

Dining

The Place Restaurant
The Beacon's new indoor/outdoor restaurant has instantly become one of the Deco District's most frequented dining spots. Serving an arrangement of international cuisine the Place's beachfront terrace also serves up the best views on Ocean Drive.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
On-site Ocean View Meeting Space up to 12 persons.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (204)

Ratings and reviews for The Beacon Hotel

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
204 out of 204
Amenities:
3.5
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4.8
Value:
3.9

89% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Beacon Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Boston,MA
Feb 18, 2010

Trip to Miami

Nice and comfortable. Rooms are small and old hotel feel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of The Beacon Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Boston,MA
Feb 18, 2010

Trip to Miami

Nice and comfortable. Rooms are small and old hotel feel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of The Beacon Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Atlanta
Feb 16, 2010

Fun time

We went down for the boat show and had great time. Hotel was great for a couple, but thankfully we left the kids at home. The only bad thing was the trash trucks waking you up if your room is on the alley side.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of The Beacon Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Atlanta
Feb 16, 2010

Fun time

We went down for the boat show and had great time. Hotel was great for a couple, but thankfully we left the kids at home. The only bad thing was the trash trucks waking you up if your room is on the alley side.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of The Beacon Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Ray from New Jersey
Plainsboro, NJ
Feb 6, 2010

A Beacon of light.

We had a great experince. One day it rained and we came back from the beach while the room was being cleaned. When we left for dinner the maid came back and freshened up the room with new towels etc. This is service above and beyond normal.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Try to eat at the hotel resturant. The food is excellent.

Review of The Beacon Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Ray from New Jersey
Plainsboro, NJ
Feb 6, 2010

A Beacon of light.

We had a great experince. One day it rained and we came back from the beach while the room was being cleaned. When we left for dinner the maid came back and freshened up the room with new towels etc. This is service above and beyond normal.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Try to eat at the hotel resturant. The food is excellent.

Review of The Beacon Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Sporty1
New York, NY
Jan 10, 2010

The Beacon Hotel

The front desk staff went above and beyond, even in so far as providing a hotel umbrella in your room for your use. It came in very handy for us as it poured on us one day. Upon inquiring where the nearest laundry was to dry our clothes, the front desk staff immediately took them from me and had them dried for us and returned to our room, warm and dry. We only stayed for two evenings but the accomodations were very nice and comfortable. Both my husband and myself were unfortunately under the weather during our stay, and while we tried to cancel our reservation to return home early due to illness, the hotel has a "no cancel/refund for any reason policy" and I was unwilling to forfeit the prepaid reservation. The only reason I would hesitate to stay at this hotel again would be in consideration of their "no cancel/refund policy" which, their general manager, was unwilling to budge on. Otherwise, the hotel is very nice and I would recommend it. The front desk staff is super. Kudos to [...] and the rest of the front desk staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of The Beacon Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Sporty1
New York, NY
Jan 10, 2010

The Beacon Hotel

The front desk staff went above and beyond, even in so far as providing a hotel umbrella in your room for your use. It came in very handy for us as it poured on us one day. Upon inquiring where the nearest laundry was to dry our clothes, the front desk staff immediately took them from me and had them dried for us and returned to our room, warm and dry. We only stayed for two evenings but the accomodations were very nice and comfortable. Both my husband and myself were unfortunately under the weather during our stay, and while we tried to cancel our reservation to return home early due to illness, the hotel has a "no cancel/refund for any reason policy" and I was unwilling to forfeit the prepaid reservation. The only reason I would hesitate to stay at this hotel again would be in consideration of their "no cancel/refund policy" which, their general manager, was unwilling to budge on. Otherwise, the hotel is very nice and I would recommend it. The front desk staff is super. Kudos to [...] and the rest of the front desk staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of The Beacon Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Boston, MA
Jan 8, 2010

good hotel

The hotel is good. Good location and friendly staff. The bathroom seems a little bit small. There are some constructions in the beach so I cannot see the view of whole beach and ocean, but the original view is pretty good. Good taste of the restaurant. The hotel provides free WIFI and nice breakfast.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of The Beacon Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
orlando, fl
Jan 3, 2010

not good

I was at Beacon's hotel for one night, it was awful there was a bug in the room, bath tub was clogged, some noises at night..

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Back to menu Return to top