$202 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Mar 31, 2015 Check-out: Apr 1, 2015

The Beacon Hotel

4 stars
View map of 720 Ocean Drive, Miami Beach, FL 33139

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for The Beacon Hotel

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
125 out of 125
Amenities:
3.6
Cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4.8
Value:
3.9

90% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Beacon Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
A.GetsBooGiE
Business
New York, NY
Oct 2, 2009

Beacon Hotel

EVERYTHING about this trip was extremely enjoyable. My friends and I didnt have any complaints about the hotel, the location was great it was in the center of everything. This was our first trip to Miami and glad that We chose to stay at the Beacon Hotel. The staff was extremely helpful and polite and the rooms were very clean. Shopping just a few seconds away and nightlight just a few blocks down the road! Would recommend this hotel to anyone would wants to be close to everything, nightlife lasts a pretty long time in Miami and theres always something going on, so if ur planning to get some rest or if u have babies i wouldnt recommend staying here. Otherwise there were no complaints!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Beacon Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
2Palmer
Business
Phoenix, AZ
Sep 22, 2009

In The Heart of The Action

The location is fantastic for being in the heart of South Beach. Close to clubs and fabulous food. Lots of action and great for people watching. Perfect for a short weekend trip. Downside is the lack of a pool and noisy because the hotel is old. The elevator is tiny and so are the bathrooms. Upside is it is right across from the beach.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Beacon Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Horst
Business
Schaumburg, IL
Sep 12, 2009

One night stay at the Beacon!

We stayed one night at the Beacon before we drove to Key West. Nice hotel, rooms a little small. But good for couple nights or people who want to stay at the beach most of the day, beach a minute away.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Beacon Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
fornix
Business
Austin, TX
Sep 10, 2009

Great hotel for a great price!

The staff here was wonderful. We first arrived WAY before check-in time (around 8:30am), so they held our bags for us while we went out and explored South Beach. They said they would call when our room was ready, but I finally called them instead around 1:00pm. They said they were about to call me (whether they actually were or not doesn't really matter to me), because our room was ready for us. I had read that some people had problems with the hotel calling them, so I took the initiative and called them first. No big deal if you are prepared. I recommend you do the same if you have to wait...just give them time. The first room they gave us was on the second floor at the very back of the hotel next to a set of stairs and the maid's closet. It was also the handicapped room. We were in there for 5 minutes and heard a lot of noise going on around us, so we asked to switch rooms. This wasn't a problem for them. The bellhop was incredibly helpful with our luggage and helped us move our stuff to the 5th floor. This room was MUCH better and was what I expected from reading the reviews about this hotel. It was very quiet up there, and everything looked fancy and nice. My girlfriend and I were MUCH happier there. I only have a few small complaints, though they definitely didn't ruin our experience: The room is small, the bed is a little TOO soft, and the bathroom is small (practically no sink top). All of this was expected (since it's an older building in the art deco district), so I loved the place anyway. It was the perfect little hotel for our short say in South Beach!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

I recommend renting a scooter to get around. There were many scooters on South Beach, and it is much easier to park it than a car. My girlfriend and I had SO much fun the first day we were there when we rented a scooter on a whim. We found a place a few blocks away from the hotel that rented scooters. I think it was called Scooter Super Shop. I had never driven one before but got the hang of it fairly quickly.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Beacon Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Big K.
Business
Raleigh, NC
Sep 8, 2009

Hotel with good location; not much else

Nothing really went the way it had been described. Oceanview is not oceanview at all; I could only see the buildings. Internet was down for the entire time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Beacon Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chicago
Sep 8, 2009

The Good, the Bad, the UGLY!

We stayed at the hotel while visiting friends. The Good: Hotel is in the middle of everything that's happening on the beach and there is a complimentary breakfast of bagel, cereal, coffee/juice, OR bagel, yogurt, coffee/juice. Beach chairs and towels are also provided free. The Bad: The room is extremely small. Update attempt to the bathroom, but not very practical. The round bowl top sink does not allow for counter space to apply makeup, curl hair, or to place items. Nor is the teeny-tiny spotlight over the sink to apply makeup. The large shower head had no pressure, the lowboy toilet was slow flushing and often ran all night, and the marble floors were unclean. The UGLY: We were told the outdoor lounge chairs were for diners or drinkers only, even though moments before we had spent more than $100 for dinner and drinks. The attitude was, If you're not spending, you're not welcomed. I would not do again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Beacon Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Massaro!
Business
San Diego
Aug 28, 2009

Great Location and Great value!

Great Location, good price. Room and bathroom were small but clean and good enough considering it is a boutique hotel. Walking distance to everything in Southbeach. Complimentary breakfast at Johny Rockets next door is kind of cheap but its better than nothing. Sometimes you get what you pay for, in this case the beacon was a great value deal!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Beacon Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Pieterek
Business
Palmetto Florida
Aug 19, 2009

The worst hotel on the best location

We got a very stinking room

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Beacon Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chicago.Il
Aug 15, 2009

great location

everything was great, great room , great location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

bar Clevender

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Beacon Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Arlington, Va
Aug 14, 2009

Wonderful

The trip was really wonderful, we showed up and checked us in and they upgraded us to a suite from a regular king bedroom. It was in the middle of South Beach and there were tons of things going on. The only thing that would have made it more enjoyable was if there were always two people manning the check-in desk, when we were there they were busy, but it was not a long wait.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top