$149 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 29, 2014 Check-out: Jul 30, 2014

The Beacon Hotel

4 stars
720 Ocean Drive, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
204 reviews
Yearly getaway

Everything was great. My Co-workers and I have visited south beach for the last four years around... See full review

  • oscar dela banana
  • Jun 10, 2014
Terrific hotel

Great staff- especially Derek and Marisa. Friendly and helpful. Immaculate hotel. Great location.... See full review

  • Sandylane
  • Feb 23, 2014
The Beacon Hotel on Ocean Drive gives you South Beach how it is meant to be experienced. Here, you have direct access to seven miles of sand and surf, unrivaled nightlife, premier shopping, and exquisite cuisine. At the center of South Florida's premier vacation destination, the Beacon Hotel blends timeless Art Deco elegance with the best beaches, dining and entertainment that South Beach has to offer.

Sitting in the heart of a stylish beach community, the Beacon Hotel South Beach offers guests direct access to a wealth of recreation and entertainment. At 720 Ocean Drive, the Beacon Hotel is wedged between seven-miles of beach relaxation to the east and the trendy shopping of Collins Avenue and the nightlife of Washington Avenue to the west. Other notable destinations - including the Lincoln Road pedestrian mall, the Miami Beach Convention Center, and the Jackie Gleason Theater - are a short distance away.

Additional amenities include Complimentary beach chairs and beach towels.

Hotel Map

25.7771 -80.1309
Area served
720 Ocean Dr. South Miami Beach
Nearby airports
Miami International Airport and Fort Lauderdale International Airport
Area description
From Miami International Airport take highway 836 South 10 miles and from Fort Lauderdale take I-95 North 22 miles.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Beacon Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5

The Beacon Hotel Rooms

Deluxe Double Room
Presents views of the city and a vibrant nightlife, two top of the line perfect sleeper full size beds by Serta, Mascioni luxury Italian linen, resort spa amenities by Aveeda, in-room safe, personalized in-room temperature control, laundry valet services, Flat Panel LCD television, Cable TV, IP Phones with voicemail and data port features, in-room mini-bars, in-room safety boxes, beach towels, beach chairs and marble floors.
Run of House
Presents views of the city and a vibrant nightlife, a run of the house room with two full size, one king size, or one queen size top of the line perfect sleeper bed by Serta, Mascioni luxury Italian linen, resort spa amenities by Aveeda, in-room safe, personalized in-room temperature control, laundry valet services, Flat Panel LCD television, Cable TV, IP Phones with voicemail and data port features, in-room mini-bars, in-room safety boxes, beach towels, beach chairs and marble floors.
Ocean Front King Room
Offers breathtaking vistas of the turquoise waters of the Atlantic, ultra-comfortable presidential king size bed by Serta, Mascioni luxury Italian linen, resort spa amenities by Aveeda, in-room safe, personalized in-room temperature control, laundry valet services, Flat Panel LCD television, Cable TV, IP Phones with voicemail and data port features, in-room mini-bars, in-room safety boxes, beach towels, beach chairs and marble floors.
Deluxe King Room
Presents views of the city and a vibrant nightlife, ultra-comfortable presidential king size bed by Serta, Mascioni luxury Italian linen, resort spa amenities by Aveeda, in-room safe, personalized in-room temperature control, laundry valet services, Flat Panel LCD television, Cable TV, IP Phones with voicemail and data port features, in-room mini-bars, in-room safety boxes, beach towels, beach chairs and marble floors.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Dining

The Place Restaurant
The Beacon's new indoor/outdoor restaurant has instantly become one of the Deco District's most frequented dining spots. Serving an arrangement of international cuisine the Place's beachfront terrace also serves up the best views on Ocean Drive.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
On-site Ocean View Meeting Space up to 12 persons.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (204)

Ratings and reviews for The Beacon Hotel

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
204 out of 204
Amenities:
3.5
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4.8
Value:
3.9

89% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Beacon Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Maggie and Anne
St. Louis, MO
Aug 27, 2012

Great South Beach Vacation

Great getaway for 2 young girlfriends despite approaching tropical storm. Hotel was in a great location. We were able to hit the clubs and either walk or take a short cab ride back. The beach is also right across the street which was great. The hotel was clean and quiet. Couldn't ask for much more.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Try Mango (restaurant/club) during the afternoon. Down a block or two on Ocean Dr. Live music, very colorful and lots of fun!

Review of The Beacon Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Houston
Sep 20, 2010

miami trip

accomodations were great with nice added features like beach equipment for relaxing on the beach.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

close to shops dining and beach

Review of The Beacon Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
mrp in FTL
Pompano Beach, FL
Jul 15, 2010

Ocean Drive without the Hype

Met with friends who live on Miami Beach for dinner, which naturally included the clubs afterwards; so the best thing was to 'get a room'. Didn't see a valet sign when I drove by, but no big deal, there was a public garage a couple blocks away that was probably cheaper in the long run. Check in was easy and the desk representative apologized for the lack of a valet sign, and all around a good guy. My second floor room facing Ocean Drive was clean with a huge bed, mini-bar, plasma and a couple chairs. I was a little worried about the noise factor, but it was actually quiet. The bath was fine for me, but somebody over 6' might have a problem with the ceiling height in there, but was actually very clean and had the art deco feel it was originally designed with. The free continental breakfast required stopping at the desk and requesting your comp, and heading to the front terrace. The coupon allows a selection of basics, but all fine. Check out was a breeze and the desk clerk remembered my name from our prior interaction, nice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

If you don't see the valet sign, just pull up and you'll be taken care of

Review of The Beacon Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
mrp in FTL
Pompano Beach, FL
Jul 15, 2010

Ocean Drive without the Hype

Met with friends who live on Miami Beach for dinner, which naturally included the clubs afterwards; so the best thing was to 'get a room'. Didn't see a valet sign when I drove by, but no big deal, there was a public garage a couple blocks away that was probably cheaper in the long run. Check in was easy and the desk representative apologized for the lack of a valet sign, and all around a good guy. My second floor room facing Ocean Drive was clean with a huge bed, mini-bar, plasma and a couple chairs. I was a little worried about the noise factor, but it was actually quiet. The bath was fine for me, but somebody over 6' might have a problem with the ceiling height in there, but was actually very clean and had the art deco feel it was originally designed with. The free continental breakfast required stopping at the desk and requesting your comp, and heading to the front terrace. The coupon allows a selection of basics, but all fine. Check out was a breeze and the desk clerk remembered my name from our prior interaction, nice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

If you don't see the valet sign, just pull up and you'll be taken care of

Review of The Beacon Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Sf, CA
Jun 6, 2010

Decent hotel with some minor issues.

I had a reservation for 2 room but I requested double beds months in advance. When we got there, we were not able to get even one double bed room. The staff brought in air mattresses for us, but we discovered two live cockroaches in one! It was gross, but otherwise the room was ok. The location is great and there is plenty of stuff to do nearby.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

BED had great quality food and was a fun experence overall. We were not really impressed with other food in this city but BED was a nice exception.

Review of The Beacon Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Sf, CA
Jun 6, 2010

Decent hotel with some minor issues.

I had a reservation for 2 room but I requested double beds months in advance. When we got there, we were not able to get even one double bed room. The staff brought in air mattresses for us, but we discovered two live cockroaches in one! It was gross, but otherwise the room was ok. The location is great and there is plenty of stuff to do nearby.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

BED had great quality food and was a fun experence overall. We were not really impressed with other food in this city but BED was a nice exception.

Review of The Beacon Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Virginia Beach, VA
May 20, 2010

Excellent Hotel

The staff was extremely friendly, professional, and helpful. I was very impressed with their level of service. I loved that the hotel was right on the beach and among so many places to eat and shop. The hotel was very quiet and clean. It was not the nicest, or the most luxurious hotel I've ever stayed at, but it was not bad for the money. I would definitely consider staying at this hotel again in the future.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There are tons of places to eat, and all are pretty comparable in quality. Just select one with a menu that looks good to you.

Review of The Beacon Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Virginia Beach, VA
May 20, 2010

Excellent Hotel

The staff was extremely friendly, professional, and helpful. I was very impressed with their level of service. I loved that the hotel was right on the beach and among so many places to eat and shop. The hotel was very quiet and clean. It was not the nicest, or the most luxurious hotel I've ever stayed at, but it was not bad for the money. I would definitely consider staying at this hotel again in the future.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There are tons of places to eat, and all are pretty comparable in quality. Just select one with a menu that looks good to you.

Review of The Beacon Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Stamford, CT
May 10, 2010

Bed bugs, bed bugs, bed bugs

Family with a 3 year old. Bed bugs ate us alive. Poor service and dirty hotel are the other reasons that made us check out earlier than planned. Only reason this hotel still in service is the location. I would not recommend this hotel to anyone.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Review of The Beacon Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Stamford, CT
May 10, 2010

Bed bugs, bed bugs, bed bugs

Family with a 3 year old. Bed bugs ate us alive. Poor service and dirty hotel are the other reasons that made us check out earlier than planned. Only reason this hotel still in service is the location. I would not recommend this hotel to anyone.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Review of The Beacon Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Harleyguy
Salem,Mass.
Mar 28, 2010

Great location.

Excellent location. Great resturant.Friendly people. There's nothing bad to say about this place.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Back to menu Return to top