$233 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 28, 2015 Check-out: Apr 29, 2015

The Beacon Hotel

4 stars
View map of 720 Ocean Drive, Miami Beach, FL 33139

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for The Beacon Hotel

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
125 out of 125
Amenities:
3.6
Cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4.8
Value:
3.9

90% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Beacon Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New York
Mar 18, 2010

Solid Hotel

In the heart of south beach and right next to the beach. Great service and helpful for recommendations about places to go/eat. Rooms were nice but bathroom could have been a little bigger.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Beacon Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Love the Beach!
Business
Michigan
Mar 10, 2010

Great Location

Have stayed at the Beacon many times. It can't be beat for it's location. They've put new beach chairs in the rooms that have backpacks built in and have enough room to pack a full day's worth of beach going gear. The rooms are small (consistent with the other South Beach boutique hotels) but the beds are very comfortable. I hope the roof top deck gets its certificate of occupancy soon--what a great place to lay in the sun if it's too windy for the beach. The only caution is to watch your credit card statements very carefully. The last 3 times I've stayed there I've found charges for the mini-bar--which I never use. They've removed the charges each time after I called and told them I do not use this service. It's still an irritation to find I was mistakenly charged for something--on THREE separate stays.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

If you get dinner at a sidewalk cafe before 8pm many offer a 50% discount. Makes dining on Ocean Drive very affordable. There are tons of dining choices available.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Beacon Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Dennytn
Business
Nashville, TN
Feb 27, 2010

"Location Rocks"

The Hotel is small but the staff really goes out of their way to know you by name. The location is "awsome" you are right in the middle of the "South Beach Lifestyle". I have been to several parts of Florida and it may have been the prettiest water yet.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Beacon Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Mo.
Feb 24, 2010

Stay at The Beacon !

We went for a weekend of fun and NO stress. The Beacon is a great place to do just that. Directly across from the beach, everything from burgers to seafood within walking distance. The staff gets special mention--awesome. The rooms at front of the hotel can be noisy at night, so the views are great but don't plan on going to bed early.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Beacon Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Boston,MA
Feb 18, 2010

Trip to Miami

Nice and comfortable. Rooms are small and old hotel feel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Beacon Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Atlanta
Feb 16, 2010

Fun time

We went down for the boat show and had great time. Hotel was great for a couple, but thankfully we left the kids at home. The only bad thing was the trash trucks waking you up if your room is on the alley side.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Beacon Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Ray from New Jersey
Business
Plainsboro, NJ
Feb 6, 2010

A Beacon of light.

We had a great experince. One day it rained and we came back from the beach while the room was being cleaned. When we left for dinner the maid came back and freshened up the room with new towels etc. This is service above and beyond normal.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Try to eat at the hotel resturant. The food is excellent.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Beacon Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Sporty1
Business
New York, NY
Jan 10, 2010

The Beacon Hotel

The front desk staff went above and beyond, even in so far as providing a hotel umbrella in your room for your use. It came in very handy for us as it poured on us one day. Upon inquiring where the nearest laundry was to dry our clothes, the front desk staff immediately took them from me and had them dried for us and returned to our room, warm and dry. We only stayed for two evenings but the accomodations were very nice and comfortable. Both my husband and myself were unfortunately under the weather during our stay, and while we tried to cancel our reservation to return home early due to illness, the hotel has a "no cancel/refund for any reason policy" and I was unwilling to forfeit the prepaid reservation. The only reason I would hesitate to stay at this hotel again would be in consideration of their "no cancel/refund policy" which, their general manager, was unwilling to budge on. Otherwise, the hotel is very nice and I would recommend it. The front desk staff is super. Kudos to [...] and the rest of the front desk staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Beacon Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Boston, MA
Jan 8, 2010

good hotel

The hotel is good. Good location and friendly staff. The bathroom seems a little bit small. There are some constructions in the beach so I cannot see the view of whole beach and ocean, but the original view is pretty good. Good taste of the restaurant. The hotel provides free WIFI and nice breakfast.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Beacon Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
orlando, fl
Jan 3, 2010

not good

I was at Beacon's hotel for one night, it was awful there was a bug in the room, bath tub was clogged, some noises at night..

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top