$129 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 22, 2014 Check-out: Sep 23, 2014

The Beacon Hotel

4 stars
720 Ocean Drive, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
118 reviews
Prime location & Wonderful staff :)

The Beacon Hotel welcomes it's guests with top of the line service that makes anyone feel at home... See full review

  • Soon to be World Traveler
  • Jul 25, 2014
Yearly getaway

Everything was great. My Co-workers and I have visited south beach for the last four years around... See full review

  • oscar dela banana
  • Jun 10, 2014
The Beacon Hotel on Ocean Drive gives you South Beach how it is meant to be experienced. Here, you have direct access to seven miles of sand and surf, unrivaled nightlife, premier shopping, and exquisite cuisine. At the center of South Florida's premier vacation destination, the Beacon Hotel blends timeless Art Deco elegance with the best beaches, dining and entertainment that South Beach has to offer.

Sitting in the heart of a stylish beach community, the Beacon Hotel South Beach offers guests direct access to a wealth of recreation and entertainment. At 720 Ocean Drive, the Beacon Hotel is wedged between seven-miles of beach relaxation to the east and the trendy shopping of Collins Avenue and the nightlife of Washington Avenue to the west. Other notable destinations - including the Lincoln Road pedestrian mall, the Miami Beach Convention Center, and the Jackie Gleason Theater - are a short distance away.

Additional amenities include Complimentary beach chairs and beach towels.

Hotel Map

25.7771 -80.1309
Area served
720 Ocean Dr. South Miami Beach
Nearby airports
Miami International Airport and Fort Lauderdale International Airport
Area description
From Miami International Airport take highway 836 South 10 miles and from Fort Lauderdale take I-95 North 22 miles.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Beacon Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5

The Beacon Hotel Rooms

Deluxe Double Room
Presents views of the city and a vibrant nightlife, two top of the line perfect sleeper full size beds by Serta, Mascioni luxury Italian linen, resort spa amenities by Aveeda, in-room safe, personalized in-room temperature control, laundry valet services, Flat Panel LCD television, Cable TV, IP Phones with voicemail and data port features, in-room mini-bars, in-room safety boxes, beach towels, beach chairs and marble floors.
Run of House
Presents views of the city and a vibrant nightlife, a run of the house room with two full size, one king size, or one queen size top of the line perfect sleeper bed by Serta, Mascioni luxury Italian linen, resort spa amenities by Aveeda, in-room safe, personalized in-room temperature control, laundry valet services, Flat Panel LCD television, Cable TV, IP Phones with voicemail and data port features, in-room mini-bars, in-room safety boxes, beach towels, beach chairs and marble floors.
Ocean Front King Room
Offers breathtaking vistas of the turquoise waters of the Atlantic, ultra-comfortable presidential king size bed by Serta, Mascioni luxury Italian linen, resort spa amenities by Aveeda, in-room safe, personalized in-room temperature control, laundry valet services, Flat Panel LCD television, Cable TV, IP Phones with voicemail and data port features, in-room mini-bars, in-room safety boxes, beach towels, beach chairs and marble floors.
Deluxe King Room
Presents views of the city and a vibrant nightlife, ultra-comfortable presidential king size bed by Serta, Mascioni luxury Italian linen, resort spa amenities by Aveeda, in-room safe, personalized in-room temperature control, laundry valet services, Flat Panel LCD television, Cable TV, IP Phones with voicemail and data port features, in-room mini-bars, in-room safety boxes, beach towels, beach chairs and marble floors.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Dining

The Place Restaurant
The Beacon's new indoor/outdoor restaurant has instantly become one of the Deco District's most frequented dining spots. Serving an arrangement of international cuisine the Place's beachfront terrace also serves up the best views on Ocean Drive.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
On-site Ocean View Meeting Space up to 12 persons.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (118)

Ratings and reviews for The Beacon Hotel

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
118 out of 118
Amenities:
3.6
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.4
Room comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.8
Value:
3.9

90% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Beacon Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Sporty1
New York, NY
Jan 10, 2010

The Beacon Hotel

The front desk staff went above and beyond, even in so far as providing a hotel umbrella in your room for your use. It came in very handy for us as it poured on us one day. Upon inquiring where the nearest laundry was to dry our clothes, the front desk staff immediately took them from me and had them dried for us and returned to our room, warm and dry. We only stayed for two evenings but the accomodations were very nice and comfortable. Both my husband and myself were unfortunately under the weather during our stay, and while we tried to cancel our reservation to return home early due to illness, the hotel has a "no cancel/refund for any reason policy" and I was unwilling to forfeit the prepaid reservation. The only reason I would hesitate to stay at this hotel again would be in consideration of their "no cancel/refund policy" which, their general manager, was unwilling to budge on. Otherwise, the hotel is very nice and I would recommend it. The front desk staff is super. Kudos to [...] and the rest of the front desk staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Beacon Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Boston, MA
Jan 8, 2010

good hotel

The hotel is good. Good location and friendly staff. The bathroom seems a little bit small. There are some constructions in the beach so I cannot see the view of whole beach and ocean, but the original view is pretty good. Good taste of the restaurant. The hotel provides free WIFI and nice breakfast.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Beacon Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
orlando, fl
Jan 3, 2010

not good

I was at Beacon's hotel for one night, it was awful there was a bug in the room, bath tub was clogged, some noises at night..

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Beacon Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Texan who loves Miami
Austin, TX
Jan 2, 2010

Small hotel but great location

Just booked one night for New Years Eve. Never stayed at this hotel but it was one of the only ones without a minimum night stay for the holiday. Did not know what to expect. When I arrived the front desk attendant was very friendly and informative. The room was very clean and when I arrived in the room there was a rose on the bed and a personal note from the staff for a Happy New Year. Very nice touch. The hotel was very quiet even though of being in the heart of South Beach right on Ocean Drive. Location fantastic with the beach across the street. I wish I could have stayed longer. I will definitely visit the Beacon hotel again for my quick trips.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
2
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Being on Ocean Drive makes it an easy walk to best nightlife!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Beacon Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Charlotte, NC.
Dec 14, 2009

Great Hotel in a perfect location

What can I say besides we are looking forward to staying here again. Right in the middle of the public section of South Miami Beach, beach access is simple. The hotel supplies beach towels and beach chairs, so you're set for a day in the sun and sand. The location is at the lower end of the Art Deco section of Miami Beach, beautifully situated and easy to get to from the McArthur Causeway. The staff was helpful and friendly. Rooms were complete with quality linens, towels and had terrycloth bathrobes as an additional comfort. Our room was small but comfortable, clean and was equipped with an in room safe and wet-bar. For movie buffs, one memorable scene from The Godfather was shot here.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

You are right in the middle of many fine outdoor restaurants here. A short walk to the North and not only are there more places to eat, the club action is hot. A great area if you like food and late night clubbing.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Beacon Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Andresty
Philadelphia, PA
Dec 3, 2009

Fun and not so fun

While in Miami we shopped and went out to party and to the beach. I went shopping on saturday and had to catch my flight early on Sunday morning, and just happen to forget a gift that I bought my mother for her Birthday. I forgot to pack it while I was in a hurry to catch my flight, and the staff keeps saying that they didn't find anything in the room... Meanwhile 4 of my other friends remember seeing me with the bag in the room. Very unprofessional.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
2
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

shopping right around the area is great. It ranges from steve madden to urban outfitters...

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Beacon Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
monga711
dc
Dec 1, 2009

DCA to MIA

nice location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Beacon Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jana K
Strongsville, OH
Dec 1, 2009

Great place!

We arrived early but they had a room for us all ready and let us go up. The room was very unique, very retro! It was a pleasant surprise. The only thing that went wrong was that the man at the desk forgot to notify the valet that we needed the car the next morning at 6 am. Rooms are clean, roomy, everything was perfect! They even supply beach chairs and towels.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Beacon Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Eurodavis
Baltimore, MD
Nov 16, 2009

Great hotel, great location

This hotel was in a fabulous location on Ocean Drive. The room was spotless, and although there was music playing out front, none of the noise carried up to the room. The staff bent over backwards to accomodate us, and overall it was a great experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Beacon Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Serving overseas
Nov 14, 2009

Great service! and righteous staff!

Can't find a better location if you're looking for fun on South Beach. Great park & beach view, right on the strip, walking distance to all the restaurants, bars, clubs. Great value given the location - given the great price, the rooms are modest but clean & comfy. Quite despite noise from the strip nearby. Great for me & anyone primarily there to hang out on the beach. The staff is fanstastic - like an idiot, I left my company BlackBerry in the room; they not only tracked it down & found it for me but also painlessly arranged to send it to me overseas.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top

Change search