$233 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Mar 2, 2015 Check-out: Mar 5, 2015

The Beacon Hotel

4 stars
View map of 720 Ocean Drive, Miami Beach, FL 33139

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
124 reviews
Loved It!

The staff was very nice, the food was great! and everything was very clean! See full review

  • Diandra A.
  • Nov 22, 2014
A Great South Beach Experience

First of all, this is a great location in the heart of South Beach. It could be a little loud at... See full review

  • Chef7A
  • Nov 17, 2014
The Beacon Hotel on Ocean Drive gives you South Beach how it is meant to be experienced. Here, you have direct access to seven miles of sand and surf, unrivaled nightlife, premier shopping, and exquisite cuisine. At the center of South Florida's premier vacation destination, the Beacon Hotel blends timeless Art Deco elegance with the best beaches, dining and entertainment that South Beach has to offer.

Sitting in the heart of a stylish beach community, the Beacon Hotel South Beach offers guests direct access to a wealth of recreation and entertainment. At 720 Ocean Drive, the Beacon Hotel is wedged between seven-miles of beach relaxation to the east and the trendy shopping of Collins Avenue and the nightlife of Washington Avenue to the west. Other notable destinations - including the Lincoln Road pedestrian mall, the Miami Beach Convention Center, and the Jackie Gleason Theater - are a short distance away.

Valet Parking available for $25 per car per day.

Additional amenities include Complimentary beach chairs and beach towels.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Beacon Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5

The Beacon Hotel Rooms

Deluxe Double Room
Presents views of the city and a vibrant nightlife, two top of the line perfect sleeper full size beds by Serta, Mascioni luxury Italian linen, resort spa amenities by Aveeda, in-room safe, personalized in-room temperature control, laundry valet services, Flat Panel LCD television, Cable TV, IP Phones with voicemail and data port features, in-room mini-bars, in-room safety boxes, beach towels, beach chairs and marble floors.
Run of House
Presents views of the city and a vibrant nightlife, a run of the house room with two full size, one king size, or one queen size top of the line perfect sleeper bed by Serta, Mascioni luxury Italian linen, resort spa amenities by Aveeda, in-room safe, personalized in-room temperature control, laundry valet services, Flat Panel LCD television, Cable TV, IP Phones with voicemail and data port features, in-room mini-bars, in-room safety boxes, beach towels, beach chairs and marble floors.
Ocean Front King Room
Offers breathtaking vistas of the turquoise waters of the Atlantic, ultra-comfortable presidential king size bed by Serta, Mascioni luxury Italian linen, resort spa amenities by Aveeda, in-room safe, personalized in-room temperature control, laundry valet services, Flat Panel LCD television, Cable TV, IP Phones with voicemail and data port features, in-room mini-bars, in-room safety boxes, beach towels, beach chairs and marble floors.
Deluxe King Room
Presents views of the city and a vibrant nightlife, ultra-comfortable presidential king size bed by Serta, Mascioni luxury Italian linen, resort spa amenities by Aveeda, in-room safe, personalized in-room temperature control, laundry valet services, Flat Panel LCD television, Cable TV, IP Phones with voicemail and data port features, in-room mini-bars, in-room safety boxes, beach towels, beach chairs and marble floors.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
On-site Ocean View Meeting Space up to 12 persons.

Dining

The Place Restaurant
The Beacon's new indoor/outdoor restaurant has instantly become one of the Deco District's most frequented dining spots. Serving an arrangement of international cuisine the Place's beachfront terrace also serves up the best views on Ocean Drive.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
3:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (124)

Ratings and reviews for The Beacon Hotel

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
124 out of 124
Amenities:
3.6
Cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4.8
Value:
3.9

90% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Beacon Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Love the Beach!
Business
Michigan
Mar 10, 2010

Great Location

Have stayed at the Beacon many times. It can't be beat for it's location. They've put new beach chairs in the rooms that have backpacks built in and have enough room to pack a full day's worth of beach going gear. The rooms are small (consistent with the other South Beach boutique hotels) but the beds are very comfortable. I hope the roof top deck gets its certificate of occupancy soon--what a great place to lay in the sun if it's too windy for the beach. The only caution is to watch your credit card statements very carefully. The last 3 times I've stayed there I've found charges for the mini-bar--which I never use. They've removed the charges each time after I called and told them I do not use this service. It's still an irritation to find I was mistakenly charged for something--on THREE separate stays.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

If you get dinner at a sidewalk cafe before 8pm many offer a 50% discount. Makes dining on Ocean Drive very affordable. There are tons of dining choices available.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Beacon Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Dennytn
Business
Nashville, TN
Feb 27, 2010

"Location Rocks"

The Hotel is small but the staff really goes out of their way to know you by name. The location is "awsome" you are right in the middle of the "South Beach Lifestyle". I have been to several parts of Florida and it may have been the prettiest water yet.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Beacon Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Mo.
Feb 24, 2010

Stay at The Beacon !

We went for a weekend of fun and NO stress. The Beacon is a great place to do just that. Directly across from the beach, everything from burgers to seafood within walking distance. The staff gets special mention--awesome. The rooms at front of the hotel can be noisy at night, so the views are great but don't plan on going to bed early.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Beacon Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Boston,MA
Feb 18, 2010

Trip to Miami

Nice and comfortable. Rooms are small and old hotel feel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Beacon Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Atlanta
Feb 16, 2010

Fun time

We went down for the boat show and had great time. Hotel was great for a couple, but thankfully we left the kids at home. The only bad thing was the trash trucks waking you up if your room is on the alley side.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Beacon Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Ray from New Jersey
Business
Plainsboro, NJ
Feb 6, 2010

A Beacon of light.

We had a great experince. One day it rained and we came back from the beach while the room was being cleaned. When we left for dinner the maid came back and freshened up the room with new towels etc. This is service above and beyond normal.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Try to eat at the hotel resturant. The food is excellent.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Beacon Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Sporty1
Business
New York, NY
Jan 10, 2010

The Beacon Hotel

The front desk staff went above and beyond, even in so far as providing a hotel umbrella in your room for your use. It came in very handy for us as it poured on us one day. Upon inquiring where the nearest laundry was to dry our clothes, the front desk staff immediately took them from me and had them dried for us and returned to our room, warm and dry. We only stayed for two evenings but the accomodations were very nice and comfortable. Both my husband and myself were unfortunately under the weather during our stay, and while we tried to cancel our reservation to return home early due to illness, the hotel has a "no cancel/refund for any reason policy" and I was unwilling to forfeit the prepaid reservation. The only reason I would hesitate to stay at this hotel again would be in consideration of their "no cancel/refund policy" which, their general manager, was unwilling to budge on. Otherwise, the hotel is very nice and I would recommend it. The front desk staff is super. Kudos to [...] and the rest of the front desk staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Beacon Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Boston, MA
Jan 8, 2010

good hotel

The hotel is good. Good location and friendly staff. The bathroom seems a little bit small. There are some constructions in the beach so I cannot see the view of whole beach and ocean, but the original view is pretty good. Good taste of the restaurant. The hotel provides free WIFI and nice breakfast.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Beacon Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
orlando, fl
Jan 3, 2010

not good

I was at Beacon's hotel for one night, it was awful there was a bug in the room, bath tub was clogged, some noises at night..

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Beacon Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Texan who loves Miami
Business
Austin, TX
Jan 2, 2010

Small hotel but great location

Just booked one night for New Years Eve. Never stayed at this hotel but it was one of the only ones without a minimum night stay for the holiday. Did not know what to expect. When I arrived the front desk attendant was very friendly and informative. The room was very clean and when I arrived in the room there was a rose on the bed and a personal note from the staff for a Happy New Year. Very nice touch. The hotel was very quiet even though of being in the heart of South Beach right on Ocean Drive. Location fantastic with the beach across the street. I wish I could have stayed longer. I will definitely visit the Beacon hotel again for my quick trips.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Being on Ocean Drive makes it an easy walk to best nightlife!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top