The Beacon Hotel

4 stars
View map of 720 Ocean Drive, Miami Beach, FL 33139

Hotel Overview

4/5

Overall score

89%

Would recommend

Amenities:
3.6
Cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4.8
Value:
3.9
The Beacon Hotel on Ocean Drive gives you South Beach how it is meant to be experienced. Here, you have direct access to seven miles of sand and surf, unrivaled nightlife, premier shopping, and exquisite cuisine. At the center of South Florida's premier vacation destination, the Beacon Hotel blends timeless Art Deco elegance with the best beaches, dining and entertainment that South Beach has to offer.

Sitting in the heart of a stylish beach community, the Beacon Hotel South Beach offers guests direct access to a wealth of recreation and entertainment. At 720 Ocean Drive, the Beacon Hotel is wedged between seven-miles of beach relaxation to the east and the trendy shopping of Collins Avenue and the nightlife of Washington Avenue to the west. Other notable destinations - including the Lincoln Road pedestrian mall, the Miami Beach Convention Center, and the Jackie Gleason Theater - are a short distance away.

Valet Parking available for $25 per car per day.

Additional amenities include Complimentary beach chairs and beach towels.

The Beacon Hotel Rooms

Deluxe Double Room
Presents views of the city and a vibrant nightlife, two top of the line perfect sleeper full size beds by Serta, Mascioni luxury Italian linen, resort spa amenities by Aveeda, in-room safe, personalized in-room temperature control, laundry valet services, Flat Panel LCD television, Cable TV, IP Phones with voicemail and data port features, in-room mini-bars, in-room safety boxes, beach towels, beach chairs and marble floors.
Run of House
Presents views of the city and a vibrant nightlife, a run of the house room with two full size, one king size, or one queen size top of the line perfect sleeper bed by Serta, Mascioni luxury Italian linen, resort spa amenities by Aveeda, in-room safe, personalized in-room temperature control, laundry valet services, Flat Panel LCD television, Cable TV, IP Phones with voicemail and data port features, in-room mini-bars, in-room safety boxes, beach towels, beach chairs and marble floors.
Ocean Front King Room
Offers breathtaking vistas of the turquoise waters of the Atlantic, ultra-comfortable presidential king size bed by Serta, Mascioni luxury Italian linen, resort spa amenities by Aveeda, in-room safe, personalized in-room temperature control, laundry valet services, Flat Panel LCD television, Cable TV, IP Phones with voicemail and data port features, in-room mini-bars, in-room safety boxes, beach towels, beach chairs and marble floors.
Deluxe King Room
Presents views of the city and a vibrant nightlife, ultra-comfortable presidential king size bed by Serta, Mascioni luxury Italian linen, resort spa amenities by Aveeda, in-room safe, personalized in-room temperature control, laundry valet services, Flat Panel LCD television, Cable TV, IP Phones with voicemail and data port features, in-room mini-bars, in-room safety boxes, beach towels, beach chairs and marble floors.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Hotel Map

25.7771 -80.1309
Area served
720 Ocean Dr. South Miami Beach
Nearby airports
Miami International Airport and Fort Lauderdale International Airport
Area description
From Miami International Airport take highway 836 South 10 miles and from Fort Lauderdale take I-95 North 22 miles.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
On-site Ocean View Meeting Space up to 12 persons.

Dining

The Place Restaurant
The Beacon's new indoor/outdoor restaurant has instantly become one of the Deco District's most frequented dining spots. Serving an arrangement of international cuisine the Place's beachfront terrace also serves up the best views on Ocean Drive.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
3:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (127)

Ratings and reviews for The Beacon Hotel

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
127 out of 127
Amenities:
3.6
Cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4.8
Value:
3.9

89% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Beacon Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Frederick, MD
Jan 3, 2011

Girls Trip to the Beach

A friend and I went to get some beach time and for the nightlife. We had a great time and walked to everything. Shopping, bars, food...everything was in walking distance. It was great

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Beacon Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
bambammmvp00
Business
Montclair, NJ
Nov 2, 2010

Great Loacation!!

The service was amazing! We loved our stay. Would give 5 stars but they gave us a Queen room even though I booked a King room because they had no more Kings left.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Beacon Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Davis, California
Nov 1, 2010

Good location, good price

This is solid three star hotel in the prime location of South Beach. I liked the fact that everything was included in the price (beach towels and chairs, internet, small breakfast), no hidden charges

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Beacon Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Ft. Myers, Fl
Oct 21, 2010

Great Escape

Rooms were adequate for a few days but the bathroom is "oh so small." The staff at the hotel were very accomodating and gave great restaurant recommendations. The drinks at the hotel bar were very expensive, $36 for 2. Beds were very comfortable and towels and bathroom amenities were very nice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Two very good restaurants are "Grazie" and "DeVitos". Both are Italian but have a nice variety of other dishes.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Beacon Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Houston, TX
Oct 18, 2010

Attentive Service in South Beach

The location is perfect - across Ocean Drive from the beach. The art deco styling captures the spirit of South Beach. I love that beach towels and beach chairs are already in the room ready for your use. The staff members were so quick to take care of our needs! A light bulb burned out in my room, and they were changing the bulb within 5 minutes. The batteries in the remote control for the air conditioner also gave out, but they were also there within 5 minutes to fix it. The hotel provides free breakfast from 9-11 at the restaurant - not everything on the menu, but a satisfying continental breakfast. Sunday night there was a fantastic classical guitar player on the front steps of the hotel and a talented dancer performing flamenco and belly dancing - they were amazing! My only regret is that I didn't even think about parking until I arrived. You can take your chances at a city lot or pay for valet at the hotel, which ended up working out well. I now see there is a "valet parking package" I could have booked ahead of time on the hotel website to save some money. I would highly recommend the Beacon Hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Beacon Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Broward County, FL
Oct 3, 2010

Wonderful one-night stay

My girlfriend and I decided to celebrate four years of togetherness by spending a night down in South Beach. Less than an hour drive for us, we arrived a little over an hour before check in time (3pm)We were able to get into our room immediately and took advantage of the beach chairs and towels provided in the room and headed accross the street to the beach. If you want to be in the heart of South Beach you'd be hard-pressed to find a better location for the price. The room was a bit on the small side, but well appointed and clean. Flat screen t.v., free wireless, bathrobes, ironing board & iron, safe are all provided. No coffee-maker in the room, but from 7-11am there is complimentary coffee, tea and hot chocolate in a lovely 2nd floor lounge. The bed and bedding were very comfy, the bathroom small but modern and spotless, towels and washcloths were high quality. Air conditioning (window unit) a little noisy compared to central air, but no big deal. It cooled the room down very quickly. I would definitely stay there again and will keep my eyes open for a good deal - great weekend getaway. I

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Beacon Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Houston
Sep 20, 2010

miami trip

accomodations were great with nice added features like beach equipment for relaxing on the beach.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

close to shops dining and beach

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Beacon Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
mrp in FTL
Business
Pompano Beach, FL
Jul 15, 2010

Ocean Drive without the Hype

Met with friends who live on Miami Beach for dinner, which naturally included the clubs afterwards; so the best thing was to 'get a room'. Didn't see a valet sign when I drove by, but no big deal, there was a public garage a couple blocks away that was probably cheaper in the long run. Check in was easy and the desk representative apologized for the lack of a valet sign, and all around a good guy. My second floor room facing Ocean Drive was clean with a huge bed, mini-bar, plasma and a couple chairs. I was a little worried about the noise factor, but it was actually quiet. The bath was fine for me, but somebody over 6' might have a problem with the ceiling height in there, but was actually very clean and had the art deco feel it was originally designed with. The free continental breakfast required stopping at the desk and requesting your comp, and heading to the front terrace. The coupon allows a selection of basics, but all fine. Check out was a breeze and the desk clerk remembered my name from our prior interaction, nice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

If you don't see the valet sign, just pull up and you'll be taken care of

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Beacon Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Sf, CA
Jun 6, 2010

Decent hotel with some minor issues.

I had a reservation for 2 room but I requested double beds months in advance. When we got there, we were not able to get even one double bed room. The staff brought in air mattresses for us, but we discovered two live cockroaches in one! It was gross, but otherwise the room was ok. The location is great and there is plenty of stuff to do nearby.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

BED had great quality food and was a fun experence overall. We were not really impressed with other food in this city but BED was a nice exception.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Beacon Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Virginia Beach, VA
May 20, 2010

Excellent Hotel

The staff was extremely friendly, professional, and helpful. I was very impressed with their level of service. I loved that the hotel was right on the beach and among so many places to eat and shop. The hotel was very quiet and clean. It was not the nicest, or the most luxurious hotel I've ever stayed at, but it was not bad for the money. I would definitely consider staying at this hotel again in the future.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There are tons of places to eat, and all are pretty comparable in quality. Just select one with a menu that looks good to you.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top