The Beacon Hotel

4 stars
720 Ocean Drive, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
119 reviews
Prime location & Wonderful staff :)

The Beacon Hotel welcomes it's guests with top of the line service that makes anyone feel at home... See full review

  • Soon to be World Traveler
  • Jul 25, 2014
Yearly getaway

Everything was great. My Co-workers and I have visited south beach for the last four years around... See full review

  • oscar dela banana
  • Jun 10, 2014
The Beacon Hotel on Ocean Drive gives you South Beach how it is meant to be experienced. Here, you have direct access to seven miles of sand and surf, unrivaled nightlife, premier shopping, and exquisite cuisine. At the center of South Florida's premier vacation destination, the Beacon Hotel blends timeless Art Deco elegance with the best beaches, dining and entertainment that South Beach has to offer.

Sitting in the heart of a stylish beach community, the Beacon Hotel South Beach offers guests direct access to a wealth of recreation and entertainment. At 720 Ocean Drive, the Beacon Hotel is wedged between seven-miles of beach relaxation to the east and the trendy shopping of Collins Avenue and the nightlife of Washington Avenue to the west. Other notable destinations - including the Lincoln Road pedestrian mall, the Miami Beach Convention Center, and the Jackie Gleason Theater - are a short distance away.

Additional amenities include Complimentary beach chairs and beach towels.

The Beacon Hotel Rooms

Deluxe Double Room
Presents views of the city and a vibrant nightlife, two top of the line perfect sleeper full size beds by Serta, Mascioni luxury Italian linen, resort spa amenities by Aveeda, in-room safe, personalized in-room temperature control, laundry valet services, Flat Panel LCD television, Cable TV, IP Phones with voicemail and data port features, in-room mini-bars, in-room safety boxes, beach towels, beach chairs and marble floors.
Run of House
Presents views of the city and a vibrant nightlife, a run of the house room with two full size, one king size, or one queen size top of the line perfect sleeper bed by Serta, Mascioni luxury Italian linen, resort spa amenities by Aveeda, in-room safe, personalized in-room temperature control, laundry valet services, Flat Panel LCD television, Cable TV, IP Phones with voicemail and data port features, in-room mini-bars, in-room safety boxes, beach towels, beach chairs and marble floors.
Ocean Front King Room
Offers breathtaking vistas of the turquoise waters of the Atlantic, ultra-comfortable presidential king size bed by Serta, Mascioni luxury Italian linen, resort spa amenities by Aveeda, in-room safe, personalized in-room temperature control, laundry valet services, Flat Panel LCD television, Cable TV, IP Phones with voicemail and data port features, in-room mini-bars, in-room safety boxes, beach towels, beach chairs and marble floors.
Deluxe King Room
Presents views of the city and a vibrant nightlife, ultra-comfortable presidential king size bed by Serta, Mascioni luxury Italian linen, resort spa amenities by Aveeda, in-room safe, personalized in-room temperature control, laundry valet services, Flat Panel LCD television, Cable TV, IP Phones with voicemail and data port features, in-room mini-bars, in-room safety boxes, beach towels, beach chairs and marble floors.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Hotel Map

25.7771 -80.1309
Area served
720 Ocean Dr. South Miami Beach
Nearby airports
Miami International Airport and Fort Lauderdale International Airport
Area description
From Miami International Airport take highway 836 South 10 miles and from Fort Lauderdale take I-95 North 22 miles.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
On-site Ocean View Meeting Space up to 12 persons.

Dining

The Place Restaurant
The Beacon's new indoor/outdoor restaurant has instantly become one of the Deco District's most frequented dining spots. Serving an arrangement of international cuisine the Place's beachfront terrace also serves up the best views on Ocean Drive.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (119)

Ratings and reviews for The Beacon Hotel

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
119 out of 119
Amenities:
3.6
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4.8
Value:
3.9

90% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Beacon Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Depps
Business
Minneapolis
Mar 21, 2013

Great Staff!

Great staff. Everyone was very helpful, professional & courteous. They really wanted to make sure that I was happy. The room was great - clean, large and surprisingly quiet given all the action happening on the street. My only negative is the hostess & server in the restaurant. I know that breakfast is included w/my room, but don't seat me at a bad table below a loud speaker & then ignore me. She took my order & I never saw her again. No water. No "how is everything?". Nothing. They were more focused in getting people off the street at the expense of paying guests.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Beacon Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Brain Lab
Business
Oregon
Feb 12, 2013

Great location for fun

Great location, easy access to the beach. Valet parking takes too long. You have to plan ahead when you leave with the car.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Beacon Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Luxy412
Business
Boston, Ma
Jan 5, 2013

Tiny Room

Tiny room, absolutely NO counter space in the bathroom!! I'm a girl.. where am i supposed to put my makeup? my blow dryer? toiletries? ect... The location is good if you want to be in a tourist trap area, over pay for average food and have people smoking at the table next to you while eating as well as pedestrians bumping your chair. Ocean drive is for amateurs! Stay at a better hotel on Collins!! The room is not worth the price. I won't ever stay here again. The only good thing about this hotel is the water shower pressure and free breakfast. Also they tell you they provide chairs on the beach for you... BE AWARE this means there are 2 beach chairs in your hotel that you must lug back and forth to the beach yourself... BOOO!!! This should be a 2 star hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Go to Lincoln Road for a variety of food, shopping and people watching.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Beacon Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mad Cat 56
Business
pennsylania
Nov 24, 2012

Nice Hotel

It is a very nice, friendly, and clean boutique hotel. THe bathroom is a bit small but you spend minimal time in the room so it is not an issue.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

there are so many good restaurants within walking distance from the hotel. All offer 2 for 1 drinks specials and many offer "discounts" on their meals.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Beacon Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
nindo
Business
UK
Sep 2, 2012

great location

hotel was very clean, staff very helpful. beds changed everyday, beach towels and beach chairs provided by hotel, the beach was across the road great location and great value with breakfast included. The only negative was that the bathroom was very small

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

ocean drive is full of all types of bars and restaurants

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Beacon Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Maggie and Anne
Business
St. Louis, MO
Aug 27, 2012

Great South Beach Vacation

Great getaway for 2 young girlfriends despite approaching tropical storm. Hotel was in a great location. We were able to hit the clubs and either walk or take a short cab ride back. The beach is also right across the street which was great. The hotel was clean and quiet. Couldn't ask for much more.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Try Mango (restaurant/club) during the afternoon. Down a block or two on Ocean Dr. Live music, very colorful and lots of fun!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Beacon Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
NCW14
Business
Washington dc
Jun 18, 2012

Good for Short trips

The hotel was definitely in an awesome location if u have never been to south beach and want it all within walking distance. The hotel was clean but it was ALWAYS FREEZING but I guess hot as the devil would have been worse. Only real complaint was that it was very difficult to get towels and wash clothes. When we arrive they only gave us one wash clothes and it took numerous called to get them to bring us more. It was three people on the room. Great bonus was the complimentary daily breakfast and delicious food right at ur doorsteps. I'd stay again in future.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Beacon Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
hawkey
Business
Boston, MA
May 21, 2012

Great Location, Great Value

The location is absolutely perfect. Strongly recommended for couples or young adults. Only downfall was that we couldn't get the temperature correct in the room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Beacon Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Nanco
Business
Richmond, VA
Jan 31, 2012

Anniversary getaway

My husband and I love South Beach, try to go for our grownup getaway every year. We had been staying in boutique hotels on Collins for years, but decided to try the Beacon for our 10th anniversary trip. We absolutely loved it! Most boutique hotels in SoBe have small rooms and tiny bathrooms, but the Beacon's was much more spacious than we were used to over on Collins. The bed was really comfy and except for the trash trucks backing up in the alley at 5 am, very quiet. We don't mind being right in the heart of things, although it was a little annoying getting accosted by all the restaurant folks every time we went back and forth to the hotel, but that's the price of convenience! The staff was really friendly, especially the front desk. We had a late afternoon flight out, they kept our bags for us so we could go shopping and have lunch, then had a car ready for us when it was time to head to the airport. We are going to SoBe for my husband's birthday in June and will be staying at the Beacon.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Puerto Sagua, 700 Collins Ave. We walk there for breakfast every morning when we're in SoBe! They have authentic Cuban food, but if you want a full American breakfast you can get one for about $8.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Beacon Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
YoungCoupleGetaway
Business
Chicago, IL, USA
Dec 27, 2011

Great Getaway

My wife and I stole a weekend in Miami and returned to the Beacon after almost 9 years. The updates are great and the staff is very friendly. We will be back at the Beacon as soon as possible.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top