$169 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Jul 14, 2015 Check-out: Jul 15, 2015

The Beacon Hotel

4 stars
View map of 720 Ocean Drive, Miami Beach, FL 33139

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for The Beacon Hotel

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
147 out of 147
Amenities:
3.6
Cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4.8
Value:
3.9

90% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Beacon Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Boston to Korea
Business
Stoneham
Feb 27, 2015

Room by the beach

Over all the hotel was ok, but the air conditioning was very loud.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Beacon Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
gino super man
Business
everett
Feb 23, 2015

Just ok

The room too small. the shower was ok , no fan on the restroom.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Beacon Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jason eric
Business
New York
Jan 22, 2015

Great night over

Room/hitel did the trick for what I was looking for. Central south beach location. Very clean room. Breakfast wasn't the greatest but was included and got the job done. Staff was courteous and great

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Beacon Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Diandra A.
Business
Maryland
Nov 22, 2014

Loved It!

The staff was very nice, the food was great! and everything was very clean!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

everything is just around the corner!

Review of The Beacon Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Chef7A
Business
Jacksonville, FL
Nov 17, 2014

A Great South Beach Experience

First of all, this is a great location in the heart of South Beach. It could be a little loud at night but keeping the ceiling fan on low blocked out all the noise. We slept great! The bed and pillows were extremely comfortable as well. Of course, a big part of any stay at a hotel is the staff. And we were greeted with a smile and a sincere willingness to assist at every turn. Our needs were not large but the valet, front desk staff and bellman were gracious, courteous and friendly. A free breakfast buffet was offered each morning. The food was good; eggs, potatoes, bacon, sausage, toast and bagels. Our waitress promptly brought us orange juice and coffee and kept them refilled as long as we sat there. With South Beach prices rather high, it was a fine start to the day for a $5 tip. Well worth it. Our checkout was seamless. Car brought quickly. Luggage moved from the room quickly. And they helped to load the car until we were ready to pull away. You may be saying that these folks were just doing their job. But in the world we live in and the service level we've become accustomed to, doing that job with a genuine caring heart and a smile goes a long way. This is an older boutique hotel on South Beach. The room is small but very clean and updated. There is no pool but there is one of the most amazing beaches in the country directly across the street. And if you come to South Beach to spend time in the room, you may want to consider another destination. We had a GREAT stay and I wouldn't hesitate to recommend the Beacon to anyone looking for a great South Beach getaway.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Buy your alcohol at the Walgreen's liquor store on 5th. The prices are the same as you pay in non tourist locations.

Review of The Beacon Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
gino super man
Business
Washington
Nov 6, 2014

Hunted hotel

at night we heard many noises and sometimes TV volume turn off and on... no vans in the restroom... too small boxy room. bad experience

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Beacon Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Exotic25
Business
Washington, DC
Oct 14, 2014

I'd stay here again

I really appreciate the complimentary breakfast and wifi, even in the room. Not many SoBe hotels provide that. Worth the money.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Beacon Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jambo01
Business
Hampshire UK
Aug 13, 2014

Fantastic 2 night break!

This was a fantastic start to our holiday. We had two nights in Miami before travelling to Orlando. The staff were very welcoming when we arrived. The location is fantastic, right on the beach. Hotel provided beach chairs and towels which was perfect for spending a few hours on the beach. Ocean Drive was really lively and fun and it was great to step out of your hotel right into the hustle and bustle of it all. Due to the location, parking was difficult. We drove from airport but were unable to pull up outside the hotel as it was so busy but we found a public car park just round the corner. Would definitely reccomend this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Take a boat tour from Bayside to take you around Biscayne Bay. Great views of Miami skyline and seeing all the famous houses on Star Island. Nice way to spend an hour and a half in the sunshine.

Review of The Beacon Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Soon to be World Traveler
Business
Los Gatos, California
Jul 25, 2014

Prime location & Wonderful staff :)

The Beacon Hotel welcomes it's guests with top of the line service that makes anyone feel at home and that they are getting what they paid for. Upon our arrival we were given chilled water bottles to cool us off from the Miami heat and then given complimentary "Welcome Mojitos" for the evening that really hit the spot. In our cozy king sized hotel room for two, we were supplied with comfy beach chairs and cozy towels that were replaced everyday of our visit. In addition, the room we stayed in was a great size for two, including the bathroom which is hard to find a nice size one while in South Beach, given the Art Deco design. Now this hotel is full of international and local travelers alike, but every staff person there is able to make every guests feel like there at their home away from home, requesting cars or taxis if you need, making reservations and providing their guests lists of local activities. I would recommend this hotel to any family or friends traveling to South Beach that are in hopes of a great vacation filled with amazing views, a chance to explore the location where the hotel was used for the movie Scarface, and much more. Again thank you so much to the front desk staff: Marisa, Juan, and the great bartender that works evenings! I just simply cannot wait to return to the Beacon Hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Although all the cafés that line Ocean Drive look great, they are a tourist trap for overpriced meals and alcohol. So just be sure to look down the side streets of Ocean for great restaurants that do delivery as well as pick up like Spaghetto!

Review of The Beacon Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Tennismom15
Business
Orlando, FL
Jul 15, 2014

Great couple getaway

This is an old hotel - don't expect a lavish lobby or huge rooms. What you do get is a clean room, with great little amenities (like beach towels) and a fantastic location if you want to be in the heart of South Beach. I wouldn't receommend this location for families - not due to the hotel, but because there's lots of drinking and skin being shown. My teen age kids were shocked at what they saw in South Beach.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Have dinner at the Espanola Way, little boutique restaurants dinning al fresco. Eating on Ocean Drive can get very busy.

Back to menu Return to top