$149 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 29, 2014 Check-out: Jul 31, 2014

The Beacon Hotel

4 stars
720 Ocean Drive, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
203 reviews
Yearly getaway

Everything was great. My Co-workers and I have visited south beach for the last four years around... See full review

  • oscar dela banana
  • Jun 10, 2014
Terrific hotel

Great staff- especially Derek and Marisa. Friendly and helpful. Immaculate hotel. Great location.... See full review

  • Sandylane
  • Feb 23, 2014
The Beacon Hotel on Ocean Drive gives you South Beach how it is meant to be experienced. Here, you have direct access to seven miles of sand and surf, unrivaled nightlife, premier shopping, and exquisite cuisine. At the center of South Florida's premier vacation destination, the Beacon Hotel blends timeless Art Deco elegance with the best beaches, dining and entertainment that South Beach has to offer.

Sitting in the heart of a stylish beach community, the Beacon Hotel South Beach offers guests direct access to a wealth of recreation and entertainment. At 720 Ocean Drive, the Beacon Hotel is wedged between seven-miles of beach relaxation to the east and the trendy shopping of Collins Avenue and the nightlife of Washington Avenue to the west. Other notable destinations - including the Lincoln Road pedestrian mall, the Miami Beach Convention Center, and the Jackie Gleason Theater - are a short distance away.

Additional amenities include Complimentary beach chairs and beach towels.

Hotel Map

25.7771 -80.1309
Area served
720 Ocean Dr. South Miami Beach
Nearby airports
Miami International Airport and Fort Lauderdale International Airport
Area description
From Miami International Airport take highway 836 South 10 miles and from Fort Lauderdale take I-95 North 22 miles.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Beacon Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5

The Beacon Hotel Rooms

Deluxe Double Room
Presents views of the city and a vibrant nightlife, two top of the line perfect sleeper full size beds by Serta, Mascioni luxury Italian linen, resort spa amenities by Aveeda, in-room safe, personalized in-room temperature control, laundry valet services, Flat Panel LCD television, Cable TV, IP Phones with voicemail and data port features, in-room mini-bars, in-room safety boxes, beach towels, beach chairs and marble floors.
Run of House
Presents views of the city and a vibrant nightlife, a run of the house room with two full size, one king size, or one queen size top of the line perfect sleeper bed by Serta, Mascioni luxury Italian linen, resort spa amenities by Aveeda, in-room safe, personalized in-room temperature control, laundry valet services, Flat Panel LCD television, Cable TV, IP Phones with voicemail and data port features, in-room mini-bars, in-room safety boxes, beach towels, beach chairs and marble floors.
Ocean Front King Room
Offers breathtaking vistas of the turquoise waters of the Atlantic, ultra-comfortable presidential king size bed by Serta, Mascioni luxury Italian linen, resort spa amenities by Aveeda, in-room safe, personalized in-room temperature control, laundry valet services, Flat Panel LCD television, Cable TV, IP Phones with voicemail and data port features, in-room mini-bars, in-room safety boxes, beach towels, beach chairs and marble floors.
Deluxe King Room
Presents views of the city and a vibrant nightlife, ultra-comfortable presidential king size bed by Serta, Mascioni luxury Italian linen, resort spa amenities by Aveeda, in-room safe, personalized in-room temperature control, laundry valet services, Flat Panel LCD television, Cable TV, IP Phones with voicemail and data port features, in-room mini-bars, in-room safety boxes, beach towels, beach chairs and marble floors.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
On-site Ocean View Meeting Space up to 12 persons.

Dining

The Place Restaurant
The Beacon's new indoor/outdoor restaurant has instantly become one of the Deco District's most frequented dining spots. Serving an arrangement of international cuisine the Place's beachfront terrace also serves up the best views on Ocean Drive.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (203)

Ratings and reviews for The Beacon Hotel

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
203 out of 203
Amenities:
3.5
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4.8
Value:
3.9

89% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Beacon Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
2Palmer
Phoenix, AZ
Sep 22, 2009

In The Heart of The Action

The location is fantastic for being in the heart of South Beach. Close to clubs and fabulous food. Lots of action and great for people watching. Perfect for a short weekend trip. Downside is the lack of a pool and noisy because the hotel is old. The elevator is tiny and so are the bathrooms. Upside is it is right across from the beach.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of The Beacon Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Horst
Schaumburg, IL
Sep 12, 2009

One night stay at the Beacon!

We stayed one night at the Beacon before we drove to Key West. Nice hotel, rooms a little small. But good for couple nights or people who want to stay at the beach most of the day, beach a minute away.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of The Beacon Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
fornix
Austin, TX
Sep 10, 2009

Great hotel for a great price!

The staff here was wonderful. We first arrived WAY before check-in time (around 8:30am), so they held our bags for us while we went out and explored South Beach. They said they would call when our room was ready, but I finally called them instead around 1:00pm. They said they were about to call me (whether they actually were or not doesn't really matter to me), because our room was ready for us. I had read that some people had problems with the hotel calling them, so I took the initiative and called them first. No big deal if you are prepared. I recommend you do the same if you have to wait...just give them time. The first room they gave us was on the second floor at the very back of the hotel next to a set of stairs and the maid's closet. It was also the handicapped room. We were in there for 5 minutes and heard a lot of noise going on around us, so we asked to switch rooms. This wasn't a problem for them. The bellhop was incredibly helpful with our luggage and helped us move our stuff to the 5th floor. This room was MUCH better and was what I expected from reading the reviews about this hotel. It was very quiet up there, and everything looked fancy and nice. My girlfriend and I were MUCH happier there. I only have a few small complaints, though they definitely didn't ruin our experience: The room is small, the bed is a little TOO soft, and the bathroom is small (practically no sink top). All of this was expected (since it's an older building in the art deco district), so I loved the place anyway. It was the perfect little hotel for our short say in South Beach!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

I recommend renting a scooter to get around. There were many scooters on South Beach, and it is much easier to park it than a car. My girlfriend and I had SO much fun the first day we were there when we rented a scooter on a whim. We found a place a few blocks away from the hotel that rented scooters. I think it was called Scooter Super Shop. I had never driven one before but got the hang of it fairly quickly.

Review of The Beacon Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
fornix
Austin, TX
Sep 10, 2009

Great hotel for a great price!

The staff here was wonderful. We first arrived WAY before check-in time (around 8:30am), so they held our bags for us while we went out and explored South Beach. They said they would call when our room was ready, but I finally called them instead around 1:00pm. They said they were about to call me (whether they actually were or not doesn't really matter to me), because our room was ready for us. I had read that some people had problems with the hotel calling them, so I took the initiative and called them first. No big deal if you are prepared. I recommend you do the same if you have to wait...just give them time. The first room they gave us was on the second floor at the very back of the hotel next to a set of stairs and the maid's closet. It was also the handicapped room. We were in there for 5 minutes and heard a lot of noise going on around us, so we asked to switch rooms. This wasn't a problem for them. The bellhop was incredibly helpful with our luggage and helped us move our stuff to the 5th floor. This room was MUCH better and was what I expected from reading the reviews about this hotel. It was very quiet up there, and everything looked fancy and nice. My girlfriend and I were MUCH happier there. I only have a few small complaints, though they definitely didn't ruin our experience: The room is small, the bed is a little TOO soft, and the bathroom is small (practically no sink top). All of this was expected (since it's an older building in the art deco district), so I loved the place anyway. It was the perfect little hotel for our short say in South Beach!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

I recommend renting a scooter to get around. There were many scooters on South Beach, and it is much easier to park it than a car. My girlfriend and I had SO much fun the first day we were there when we rented a scooter on a whim. We found a place a few blocks away from the hotel that rented scooters. I think it was called Scooter Super Shop. I had never driven one before but got the hang of it fairly quickly.

Review of The Beacon Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Chicago
Sep 8, 2009

The Good, the Bad, the UGLY!

We stayed at the hotel while visiting friends. The Good: Hotel is in the middle of everything that's happening on the beach and there is a complimentary breakfast of bagel, cereal, coffee/juice, OR bagel, yogurt, coffee/juice. Beach chairs and towels are also provided free. The Bad: The room is extremely small. Update attempt to the bathroom, but not very practical. The round bowl top sink does not allow for counter space to apply makeup, curl hair, or to place items. Nor is the teeny-tiny spotlight over the sink to apply makeup. The large shower head had no pressure, the lowboy toilet was slow flushing and often ran all night, and the marble floors were unclean. The UGLY: We were told the outdoor lounge chairs were for diners or drinkers only, even though moments before we had spent more than $100 for dinner and drinks. The attitude was, If you're not spending, you're not welcomed. I would not do again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Review of The Beacon Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Big K.
Raleigh, NC
Sep 8, 2009

Hotel with good location; not much else

Nothing really went the way it had been described. Oceanview is not oceanview at all; I could only see the buildings. Internet was down for the entire time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of The Beacon Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Big K.
Raleigh, NC
Sep 8, 2009

Hotel with good location; not much else

Nothing really went the way it had been described. Oceanview is not oceanview at all; I could only see the buildings. Internet was down for the entire time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of The Beacon Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Chicago
Sep 8, 2009

The Good, the Bad, the UGLY!

We stayed at the hotel while visiting friends. The Good: Hotel is in the middle of everything that's happening on the beach and there is a complimentary breakfast of bagel, cereal, coffee/juice, OR bagel, yogurt, coffee/juice. Beach chairs and towels are also provided free. The Bad: The room is extremely small. Update attempt to the bathroom, but not very practical. The round bowl top sink does not allow for counter space to apply makeup, curl hair, or to place items. Nor is the teeny-tiny spotlight over the sink to apply makeup. The large shower head had no pressure, the lowboy toilet was slow flushing and often ran all night, and the marble floors were unclean. The UGLY: We were told the outdoor lounge chairs were for diners or drinkers only, even though moments before we had spent more than $100 for dinner and drinks. The attitude was, If you're not spending, you're not welcomed. I would not do again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Review of The Beacon Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Massaro!
San Diego
Aug 28, 2009

Great Location and Great value!

Great Location, good price. Room and bathroom were small but clean and good enough considering it is a boutique hotel. Walking distance to everything in Southbeach. Complimentary breakfast at Johny Rockets next door is kind of cheap but its better than nothing. Sometimes you get what you pay for, in this case the beacon was a great value deal!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of The Beacon Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Massaro!
San Diego
Aug 28, 2009

Great Location and Great value!

Great Location, good price. Room and bathroom were small but clean and good enough considering it is a boutique hotel. Walking distance to everything in Southbeach. Complimentary breakfast at Johny Rockets next door is kind of cheap but its better than nothing. Sometimes you get what you pay for, in this case the beacon was a great value deal!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Back to menu Return to top