$202 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Mar 30, 2015 Check-out: Apr 1, 2015

The Beacon Hotel

4 stars
View map of 720 Ocean Drive, Miami Beach, FL 33139

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for The Beacon Hotel

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
125 out of 125
Amenities:
3.6
Cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4.8
Value:
3.9

90% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Beacon Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Maggie and Anne
St. Louis, MO
Aug 27, 2012

Great South Beach Vacation

Great getaway for 2 young girlfriends despite approaching tropical storm. Hotel was in a great location. We were able to hit the clubs and either walk or take a short cab ride back. The beach is also right across the street which was great. The hotel was clean and quiet. Couldn't ask for much more.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Try Mango (restaurant/club) during the afternoon. Down a block or two on Ocean Dr. Live music, very colorful and lots of fun!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Beacon Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Los Angeles, CA
May 23, 2009

Great vacation location for the price.

The hotel is ideally located and within easy walking distance to many venues. Outstanding staff - very friendly and accommodating. Our ocean view room was pristine and the decor lent itself to the bygone era. We would definitely stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Fabulous restaurants, nighttime entertainment and the magnificent beaches are all within walking distance.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Beacon Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
King of Scandinavia
Business
Europe
May 8, 2009

Cosy - next to action

I would not recommend this (location) for families with small children. Otherwise everything was good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Beacon Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Sugar Land, TX
May 2, 2009

A great place to stay!

We were in Miami to attend a funeral and stayed at the Beacon. The staff was very helpful, the room was deco and immaculate, and the venue was awesome. There are plenty of places to eat and dance. I would highly recommend this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Beacon Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Woodbridge, NJ
May 2, 2009

Great Stay

The Beacon Hotel was perfect for our stay. We are in our early twenties and knew we wouldn't be spending a lot of time in the room and wanted some place in a great location and The Beacon Hotel was a great choice. The room was clean and the Front Desk was very helpful, especially our friend [...]! It is right on Ocean Dr. but we didn't hear noise from our room. The only issues were minor issues which didn't bother us much. For example, no room in mini-bar fridge for extra bottles of water that we brought in and no ventilation in the bathroom so it got steamy after a shower. We enjoyed that fact that we could walk across the street to get to the beach and the hotel offered beach towels. We would definitely stay there again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Look at the menus of the restaurants directly on Ocean Drive before choosing. They are very expensive and don't usually offer a huge selection. You are better off walking back to Collins or Washington for cheaper food but still tastes great.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Beacon Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New York, NY
Apr 23, 2009

The Beacon Hotel--Good Times!!

My friend and I stayed at the Beacon Hotel on a Monday night after returning from our cruise. We arrived early in the morning and the hotel staff held our bags until our room was ready at 2:30. We walked on the beach and were disappointed to find Portuguese Man of War washed up on the beach. We didn't want to risk going into the ocean and getting stung so it would have been awesome if the hotel had a pool. I had previously stayed at the Wave Hotel (which was ok for the price and also on Ocean Drive) and The Palms Hotel (Which was a really nice hotel but not in the most "happening" location). The Beacon was a happy medium between the other two hotels. Complimentary breakfast was offered at Johnny Rockets next door...this was nice although there weren't too many options. You can get a bagel and cereal and an orange juice/coffee. The rooms were really clean and the beds were super comfy. They were putting in porches across from the 2nd floor rooms while we were there. The final product was a nice little place to sit and relax with a open roof to soak in the sun/watch the stars. Check-in/out went smoothly and the staff members were really friendly. Would def. stay here next time I'm at Miami Beach.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

All of the places on Ocean Drive have good food. I would recommend walking all the way down and finding the best deals before deciding...they always have 2 for one drinks or a food special. Ocean Drive can be pricy so be sure that you look at the menus and be clear on what the deals really entail. On Lincoln Drive the best food I have found is at "Nexxt" restaurant. We got French bread with guacamole and melted brie with sun-dried tomatoes as an appetizer (we agreed that if we had to eat one thing for the rest of our lives, this would be it). So good! I had the Thai Chicken Pasta and she had a salmon dish...both very good and HUGE (we had our meal for lunch and dinner).

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Beacon Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Son of a beach
Business
Fort Worth, TX
Mar 3, 2009

beacon hotel

Staff was good, and location was great. The beach was literally across the street. The only flaw was the frosted see-thru glass bathroom door. Some things are just not meant to be that intimate when you're going to the bathroom. Other than that, you get a small room priced for its location. But since you'll be on south beach, the room size doesn't really matter since you'll only be sleeping in it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Joe's Stone Crab is a must. But be prepared to wait a long time.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Beacon Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Punta Gorda, FL
Oct 29, 2008

Boy's Trip at the Beacon

Great place to stay in the middle of all that is happening on South Beach. Beach right across the street and each room had 2 beach chairs for guest's use. Rooms were all modern with a great lobby bar. Not much of a view but that is just outside their front door. Our small group that stayed there, just off a cruise, all over sixty, would stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Not Applicable

Everything one needs from nightlife, resturants and shopping is all when in easy walking distance.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Beacon Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Sep 14, 2008

good for party

If you want to be in the hart of South beach, is perfect, you are there, waking distance from the party....... we enjoy the afternoon waking the ocean Drive, had dinner and aroun midnight we went to dance, excellent night life, secure waking late, etc. Very nice, good location of the hotel. We recomended for honey mooners of for cuples that need a gateaway from rutine.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

if you are latin, go to dance to Macondo.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Beacon Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Houston, TX
Jul 23, 2008

Delightful Beach Stay

The Beacon hotel was a great surprise. I was expecting something completely different. The Beacon Hotel's location was unbeatable, everything was within walking distance from great restaurants, clubs, shopping, best of all it is located across the street from the Beach.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Beacon Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Los Angeles
Jul 7, 2008

Very friendly

Everything was wonderful except the room didn't have any mirrors in it except for the bathroom mirror. So I was unable to see how I looked everyday until i got into the hallway of the hotel. Definitely needs to add at least one full length mirror.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

There is a Johnny Rockets next door!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top