$172 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 28, 2014 Check-out: May 1, 2014

The Beacon Hotel

4 stars
720 Ocean Drive, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
114 reviews
Terrific hotel

Great staff- especially Derek and Marisa. Friendly and helpful. Immaculate hotel. Great location.... See full review

  • Sandylane
  • Feb 23, 2014
the wonderful spectacular beacon hotel

great view clean rooms nice size rooms everyone was so nice valet parking only $20 a day cannot... See full review

  • Dee 58 years old
  • Jul 24, 2013
Boutique beauty on legendary Ocean Drive near nightlife, shopping

This 75-room hotel is located on neon-lit Ocean Drive. It entices guests with a true South Beach experience. The boutique hotel boasts lovely Art Deco touches such as inlaid tile floors and etched glass.  The hotel is oceanfront and packs value into the price. Guests receive free Wi-Fi, beach towels and chairs to use during their stay, free coffee Seattle's Best coffee in the mornings and a free continental breakfast at Johnny Rockets next door.

Highlights
  • Boutique Art Deco hotel on legendary Ocean Drive, the center of South Beach nightlife
  • Walk to Collins and Washington avenues and Lincoln Road
  • Sidewalk dining at The Place Restaurant, plus continental breakfast at Johnny Rockets next door
  • Free Wi-Fi, in-room beach towels, beach chairs and Seattle's Best coffee  
Rooms

The lobby is a show of neon light, geometric upholstery and a stunning mezzanine. The 73 rooms and two VIP suites, however, are more subtle in style. Some rooms benefit from beach views and all are decorated in a tasteful palette of beige and white. Marble floors keep feet cool after a long day at the beach.

 

Guests rest on 320-thread count Italian linens and Serta Perfect Sleeper Beds. In every room, free Wi-Fi, LCD flatscreens and IP phones are standard. Room service is also available.

Features

As a nightlife destination, South Beach is an undisputed capital. But there's people watching to be done from this hotel, too. Request a sidewalk table at The Place for some of the best entertainment on Ocean Drive, live music and fresh mojitos from The Bar.

 

Prime oceanfront space isn't the only draw. Travelers on the budget will be grateful for the free continental breakfast at Johnny Rockets next door (9 a.m. to 11 a.m.), free Seattle's Best coffee (7 a.m. to 11 a.m.) and free beach towels and chairs to use during their stay.

Transportation
  • Fort Lauderdale/Hollywood International Airport (27 miles)
  • Miami International Airport (10 miles)
  • Miami Beach Convention Center (1 mile)
Attractions
  • Ocean Drive
  • Mansion
  • Nikki Beach
  • Lummus Park
  • Star Island
  • Port of Miami
  • Collins Avenue
  • Lincoln Road
  • Jackie Gleason Theater
  • Gianni Versace's Casa Casuarina
Business
  • 24-hour business center with desktop computers
  • Free Wi-Fi throughout the property

The Beacon Hotel Rooms

Deluxe Double Room
Presents views of the city and a vibrant nightlife, two top of the line perfect sleeper full size beds by Serta, Mascioni luxury Italian linen, resort spa amenities by Aveeda, in-room safe, personalized in-room temperature control, laundry valet services, Flat Panel LCD television, Cable TV, IP Phones with voicemail and data port features, in-room mini-bars, in-room safety boxes, beach towels, beach chairs and marble floors.
Run of House
Presents views of the city and a vibrant nightlife, a run of the house room with two full size, one king size, or one queen size top of the line perfect sleeper bed by Serta, Mascioni luxury Italian linen, resort spa amenities by Aveeda, in-room safe, personalized in-room temperature control, laundry valet services, Flat Panel LCD television, Cable TV, IP Phones with voicemail and data port features, in-room mini-bars, in-room safety boxes, beach towels, beach chairs and marble floors.
Ocean Front King Room
Offers breathtaking vistas of the turquoise waters of the Atlantic, ultra-comfortable presidential king size bed by Serta, Mascioni luxury Italian linen, resort spa amenities by Aveeda, in-room safe, personalized in-room temperature control, laundry valet services, Flat Panel LCD television, Cable TV, IP Phones with voicemail and data port features, in-room mini-bars, in-room safety boxes, beach towels, beach chairs and marble floors.
Deluxe King Room
Presents views of the city and a vibrant nightlife, ultra-comfortable presidential king size bed by Serta, Mascioni luxury Italian linen, resort spa amenities by Aveeda, in-room safe, personalized in-room temperature control, laundry valet services, Flat Panel LCD television, Cable TV, IP Phones with voicemail and data port features, in-room mini-bars, in-room safety boxes, beach towels, beach chairs and marble floors.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Beacon Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5

Hotel Map

25.7771 -80.1309
Area served
720 Ocean Dr. South Miami Beach
Nearby airports
Miami International Airport and Fort Lauderdale International Airport
Area description
From Miami International Airport take highway 836 South 10 miles and from Fort Lauderdale take I-95 North 22 miles.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
On-site Ocean View Meeting Space up to 12 persons.

Dining

The Place Restaurant
The Beacon's new indoor/outdoor restaurant has instantly become one of the Deco District's most frequented dining spots. Serving an arrangement of international cuisine the Place's beachfront terrace also serves up the best views on Ocean Drive.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (114)

Ratings and reviews for The Beacon Hotel

Overall score

3.9 / 5
114 out of 114
Amenities:
3.5
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4.8
Value:
3.9

89% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Beacon Hotel

Reviewer score

5
Maggie and Anne
St. Louis, MO
Aug 27, 2012

Great South Beach Vacation

Great getaway for 2 young girlfriends despite approaching tropical storm. Hotel was in a great location. We were able to hit the clubs and either walk or take a short cab ride back. The beach is also right across the street which was great. The hotel was clean and quiet. Couldn't ask for much more.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Try Mango (restaurant/club) during the afternoon. Down a block or two on Ocean Dr. Live music, very colorful and lots of fun!

Review of The Beacon Hotel

Reviewer score

5
Anonymous
Layton
Jun 16, 2008

Adult friendly

We had a very pleasant stay there. The staff was very pleasant, helpful, room small but clean.It was very comfortable. Close walk to beach, eating establishments all within walking distant, nice in hotel establishment just way on the pricy side and should have known with no prices. Expensive but very good. This is not a hotel with children.Rooms are small, there are no pools, or anything to entertain them.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

All kinds from cheap to very expensive all up and down the street in walking distance.

Review of The Beacon Hotel

Reviewer score

4
Anonymous
philadelphia
May 13, 2008

CONVEINCE,UP TO DATE DECOR

I WAS VERY PLEASED WITH MY CHOICE SO MUCH THAT IM GOING BACK TO MIAMI LAST WEEK OF JUNE AND IM STAYING AT SAME HOTEL.....

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

RIGHT ACROSS FROM THE BEACH ON OCEAN DRIVE CAN GET NO BETTER THAN THAT...ALSO HAD 2 BEACH CHAIRS IN ROOM FOR GUEST TO USE...THAT WAS A PLUS

Review of The Beacon Hotel

Reviewer score

1
Anonymous
USA
May 11, 2008

HORRIBLE HOTEL AND WORSE SERVICE!!!!

The is the worst hotel stay I have ever had. Fist we had to wait hours past the check in time to get into our room. Then they sent us to a disgusting room. After lugging our luggage throughout the hotel twice we finally arrived in the room. The room was not clean at all. Hair was all over the bath tub and the toilet had pee stains on it. Then when we tried to use the toilet, it was broken. After contacting the front desk again they said they would fix it while we went out for dinner. Two hours later we arrived back and they never even came to the room. After complaining again they sent someone up with a plunger who didn't do anything to fix the toilet. So we spent the rest of the night in a room with no toilet, a dirty bathroom, smelly room because there was no where else to put us. I advised the staff that this was a special night for us because we were celebrating our 10 year wedding anniversary. What a great way to spend it. NOW IT GETS BETTER!! After complaining to the staff, they finally gave us a free night for another trip. We scheduled it for Saturday August 30th. When we arrived they had no room for us. Word to the wise... SAVE YOUR MONEY! DONT STAY! Spend your hard earned money somewhere else!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Review of The Beacon Hotel

Reviewer score

4
Anonymous
Austin, TX
May 6, 2008

Small bathroom

The hotel is pretty nice in general, great location. However, the bathroom has no counter space at all..so it's kinda tough for 3 girls trying to get ready at the same time!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Even though all the restaurants are nearby, I will go to Lincoln road for food. Coz it's just simply way overprice on ocean drive.

Review of The Beacon Hotel

Reviewer score

5
Anonymous
Hartford, CT
Apr 17, 2008

Great Stay

I had a very good experience at the Beacon Hotel. In addition to having a great location, the hotel also had a wonderful staff. I vacationed by myself and the hotel staff went out of their way to ensure that I was comfortable and was enjoying myself. Although check-in time is 3pm, they were able to quickly find me a room when I showed up at 10am. The people at the front desk greated me by name each day and were more than willing to accomodate my requests and questions. The room was small, but comfortable and clean - the bed was an absolute dream. I absolutely loved the fact that all I had to do was cross the street to get to the beach and simply turn to the right or left to find a tasty meal. They had beach towels in the room and also offered beach chairs at no cost, it was great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of The Beacon Hotel

Reviewer score

4
Anonymous
New York, NY
Apr 11, 2008

nice staff

Staff was nice, rooms were clean. Hotel is old and needs some updating but the location was great. good value

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

joe's stone crab is the best

Review of The Beacon Hotel

Reviewer score

3
Anonymous
San Francisco, CA
Apr 7, 2008

one night stay is fine

Beacon Hotel in South Beach it was not what we expected. The stuff was nice, but wasn't helpfully about question beyond hotel. Very small rooms and very small beds, it's to small for 2 ppl sleeping together in one. There weren't no view from the window. If you stay they for one night it's ok. No swimming pool or parking. Valet parking is $20 bucks. The only good think was location. Forget it about this breakfast at Jonny Rocket.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Review of The Beacon Hotel

Reviewer score

2
Anonymous
Boston, MA
Mar 27, 2008

ok

The room was really small and not room for any toiletries in the bath room. right next to an alley and the trash was picked upt really early in the morning. it was also hard to regulate the temp in the room. beware there is a step right outside the door, when the hotel door closes it pushes you out. i fell and spranged my ankle. the staff is really nice though

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

ahopping and a lot of food are near by

Review of The Beacon Hotel

Reviewer score

5
Anonymous
Chicago, IL
Mar 21, 2008

Beautiful and great for everyone

The Stay at the beacon was very satisfying, the staff was the best, they told us of attractions and of cool places to go,they were extreamly helpful and curtious. We were at the heart of everything south beach! The only flaw, the room wasnt as big as I thought it would be, by boy are those beds comfy! I would definitely recommend Beacon hotel and I will definitely be staying there again myself!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Larios Has the best food and isnt to bad with prices... And Beware oceans 10! I paid $100 for lunch for two people and all i ordered crab and my friend ordered a small pizza, was not worth my bill!

Review of The Beacon Hotel

Reviewer score

4
Anonymous
USA
Feb 17, 2008

Grear Location

The Beacon was clean and in a great location. The rooms are small but comfortable, we had an ocean view and we thought it was quite nice. The air conditioner could not keep the air cool in Feb. so this could be a concern. Provided beach towels and had folding chairs for the beach in the room. Close to everything...beach, clubs, dining...staff is nice. The discount breakfast at Johhny Rockets was a rip off. They were going to give 20% off a menu item or free cold meal. They never took the food discount off their ticket. ( Found this happened a lot at the different eating places-check ticket carefully) Enjoyed the trip and will come back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
2
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

We like the Oceans 10 and the Ritz Carlton bar and restaurant by the ocean. The News Cafe was a favorite and very close to the hotel. Lots of night life nearby.

Back to menu Return to top