$228 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 7, 2015 Check-out: Jan 8, 2015

The Beacon Hotel

4 stars
720 Ocean Drive, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
121 reviews
Loved It!

The staff was very nice, the food was great! and everything was very clean! See full review

  • Diandra A.
  • Nov 22, 2014
A Great South Beach Experience

First of all, this is a great location in the heart of South Beach. It could be a little loud at... See full review

  • Chef7A
  • Nov 17, 2014
The Beacon Hotel on Ocean Drive gives you South Beach how it is meant to be experienced. Here, you have direct access to seven miles of sand and surf, unrivaled nightlife, premier shopping, and exquisite cuisine. At the center of South Florida's premier vacation destination, the Beacon Hotel blends timeless Art Deco elegance with the best beaches, dining and entertainment that South Beach has to offer.

Sitting in the heart of a stylish beach community, the Beacon Hotel South Beach offers guests direct access to a wealth of recreation and entertainment. At 720 Ocean Drive, the Beacon Hotel is wedged between seven-miles of beach relaxation to the east and the trendy shopping of Collins Avenue and the nightlife of Washington Avenue to the west. Other notable destinations - including the Lincoln Road pedestrian mall, the Miami Beach Convention Center, and the Jackie Gleason Theater - are a short distance away.

Additional amenities include Complimentary beach chairs and beach towels.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Beacon Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5

The Beacon Hotel Rooms

Deluxe Double Room
Presents views of the city and a vibrant nightlife, two top of the line perfect sleeper full size beds by Serta, Mascioni luxury Italian linen, resort spa amenities by Aveeda, in-room safe, personalized in-room temperature control, laundry valet services, Flat Panel LCD television, Cable TV, IP Phones with voicemail and data port features, in-room mini-bars, in-room safety boxes, beach towels, beach chairs and marble floors.
Run of House
Presents views of the city and a vibrant nightlife, a run of the house room with two full size, one king size, or one queen size top of the line perfect sleeper bed by Serta, Mascioni luxury Italian linen, resort spa amenities by Aveeda, in-room safe, personalized in-room temperature control, laundry valet services, Flat Panel LCD television, Cable TV, IP Phones with voicemail and data port features, in-room mini-bars, in-room safety boxes, beach towels, beach chairs and marble floors.
Ocean Front King Room
Offers breathtaking vistas of the turquoise waters of the Atlantic, ultra-comfortable presidential king size bed by Serta, Mascioni luxury Italian linen, resort spa amenities by Aveeda, in-room safe, personalized in-room temperature control, laundry valet services, Flat Panel LCD television, Cable TV, IP Phones with voicemail and data port features, in-room mini-bars, in-room safety boxes, beach towels, beach chairs and marble floors.
Deluxe King Room
Presents views of the city and a vibrant nightlife, ultra-comfortable presidential king size bed by Serta, Mascioni luxury Italian linen, resort spa amenities by Aveeda, in-room safe, personalized in-room temperature control, laundry valet services, Flat Panel LCD television, Cable TV, IP Phones with voicemail and data port features, in-room mini-bars, in-room safety boxes, beach towels, beach chairs and marble floors.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
On-site Ocean View Meeting Space up to 12 persons.

Dining

The Place Restaurant
The Beacon's new indoor/outdoor restaurant has instantly become one of the Deco District's most frequented dining spots. Serving an arrangement of international cuisine the Place's beachfront terrace also serves up the best views on Ocean Drive.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (121)

Ratings and reviews for The Beacon Hotel

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
121 out of 121
Amenities:
3.6
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.4
Room comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.8
Value:
4

90% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Beacon Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Maggie and Anne
St. Louis, MO
Aug 27, 2012

Great South Beach Vacation

Great getaway for 2 young girlfriends despite approaching tropical storm. Hotel was in a great location. We were able to hit the clubs and either walk or take a short cab ride back. The beach is also right across the street which was great. The hotel was clean and quiet. Couldn't ask for much more.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Try Mango (restaurant/club) during the afternoon. Down a block or two on Ocean Dr. Live music, very colorful and lots of fun!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Beacon Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New York, NY
Apr 23, 2009

The Beacon Hotel--Good Times!!

My friend and I stayed at the Beacon Hotel on a Monday night after returning from our cruise. We arrived early in the morning and the hotel staff held our bags until our room was ready at 2:30. We walked on the beach and were disappointed to find Portuguese Man of War washed up on the beach. We didn't want to risk going into the ocean and getting stung so it would have been awesome if the hotel had a pool. I had previously stayed at the Wave Hotel (which was ok for the price and also on Ocean Drive) and The Palms Hotel (Which was a really nice hotel but not in the most "happening" location). The Beacon was a happy medium between the other two hotels. Complimentary breakfast was offered at Johnny Rockets next door...this was nice although there weren't too many options. You can get a bagel and cereal and an orange juice/coffee. The rooms were really clean and the beds were super comfy. They were putting in porches across from the 2nd floor rooms while we were there. The final product was a nice little place to sit and relax with a open roof to soak in the sun/watch the stars. Check-in/out went smoothly and the staff members were really friendly. Would def. stay here next time I'm at Miami Beach.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

All of the places on Ocean Drive have good food. I would recommend walking all the way down and finding the best deals before deciding...they always have 2 for one drinks or a food special. Ocean Drive can be pricy so be sure that you look at the menus and be clear on what the deals really entail. On Lincoln Drive the best food I have found is at "Nexxt" restaurant. We got French bread with guacamole and melted brie with sun-dried tomatoes as an appetizer (we agreed that if we had to eat one thing for the rest of our lives, this would be it). So good! I had the Thai Chicken Pasta and she had a salmon dish...both very good and HUGE (we had our meal for lunch and dinner).

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Beacon Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Son of a beach
Business
Fort Worth, TX
Mar 3, 2009

beacon hotel

Staff was good, and location was great. The beach was literally across the street. The only flaw was the frosted see-thru glass bathroom door. Some things are just not meant to be that intimate when you're going to the bathroom. Other than that, you get a small room priced for its location. But since you'll be on south beach, the room size doesn't really matter since you'll only be sleeping in it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Joe's Stone Crab is a must. But be prepared to wait a long time.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Beacon Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Punta Gorda, FL
Oct 29, 2008

Boy's Trip at the Beacon

Great place to stay in the middle of all that is happening on South Beach. Beach right across the street and each room had 2 beach chairs for guest's use. Rooms were all modern with a great lobby bar. Not much of a view but that is just outside their front door. Our small group that stayed there, just off a cruise, all over sixty, would stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Not Applicable

Everything one needs from nightlife, resturants and shopping is all when in easy walking distance.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Beacon Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Sep 14, 2008

good for party

If you want to be in the hart of South beach, is perfect, you are there, waking distance from the party....... we enjoy the afternoon waking the ocean Drive, had dinner and aroun midnight we went to dance, excellent night life, secure waking late, etc. Very nice, good location of the hotel. We recomended for honey mooners of for cuples that need a gateaway from rutine.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

if you are latin, go to dance to Macondo.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Beacon Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Houston, TX
Jul 23, 2008

Delightful Beach Stay

The Beacon hotel was a great surprise. I was expecting something completely different. The Beacon Hotel's location was unbeatable, everything was within walking distance from great restaurants, clubs, shopping, best of all it is located across the street from the Beach.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Beacon Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Los Angeles
Jul 7, 2008

Very friendly

Everything was wonderful except the room didn't have any mirrors in it except for the bathroom mirror. So I was unable to see how I looked everyday until i got into the hallway of the hotel. Definitely needs to add at least one full length mirror.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

There is a Johnny Rockets next door!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Beacon Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Fort Worth
Jun 23, 2008

Excellent

The Beacon was awesome! It's located at the heart of the party....Can't go wrong with that.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Beacon Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Layton
Jun 16, 2008

Adult friendly

We had a very pleasant stay there. The staff was very pleasant, helpful, room small but clean.It was very comfortable. Close walk to beach, eating establishments all within walking distant, nice in hotel establishment just way on the pricy side and should have known with no prices. Expensive but very good. This is not a hotel with children.Rooms are small, there are no pools, or anything to entertain them.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

All kinds from cheap to very expensive all up and down the street in walking distance.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Beacon Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
philadelphia
May 13, 2008

CONVEINCE,UP TO DATE DECOR

I WAS VERY PLEASED WITH MY CHOICE SO MUCH THAT IM GOING BACK TO MIAMI LAST WEEK OF JUNE AND IM STAYING AT SAME HOTEL.....

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

RIGHT ACROSS FROM THE BEACH ON OCEAN DRIVE CAN GET NO BETTER THAN THAT...ALSO HAD 2 BEACH CHAIRS IN ROOM FOR GUEST TO USE...THAT WAS A PLUS

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Beacon Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
May 11, 2008

HORRIBLE HOTEL AND WORSE SERVICE!!!!

The is the worst hotel stay I have ever had. Fist we had to wait hours past the check in time to get into our room. Then they sent us to a disgusting room. After lugging our luggage throughout the hotel twice we finally arrived in the room. The room was not clean at all. Hair was all over the bath tub and the toilet had pee stains on it. Then when we tried to use the toilet, it was broken. After contacting the front desk again they said they would fix it while we went out for dinner. Two hours later we arrived back and they never even came to the room. After complaining again they sent someone up with a plunger who didn't do anything to fix the toilet. So we spent the rest of the night in a room with no toilet, a dirty bathroom, smelly room because there was no where else to put us. I advised the staff that this was a special night for us because we were celebrating our 10 year wedding anniversary. What a great way to spend it. NOW IT GETS BETTER!! After complaining to the staff, they finally gave us a free night for another trip. We scheduled it for Saturday August 30th. When we arrived they had no room for us. Word to the wise... SAVE YOUR MONEY! DONT STAY! Spend your hard earned money somewhere else!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top